(2002) Brides of year 2002

Lollipop,

I found them at Scotts Shopping Centre I think on the 3rd floor. This pair is with "Diamonds" though. The brand is Hue I think.

I would see if my Bridesmaid have any objections to the dresses that I saw at Tangs yesterday. If they don't really like the one that I saw then perhaps I'll drop by Roxy Sq... will let you know.

hi jie jie horsie,

yup...tink really haf to save wherever we can....ji shao cheng duo mah :P

tink i'll really pamper myself after the wedding man !!!!!!!!

Hi Dawn,
Understand Hue offers lots of great looking shoes. Perhaps I'll drop by one of these days.

Reg Roxy Sq, you or your bridesmaid can look through mag to see what designs they like, then have them shown to the lady, oops, her name is Peck Suan.

Very xian ah!
yawn.gif

hi gals, it's the start of another new week!

sheep, the videographers i spoke to all said 3 months b4 wedding is fine, cos videography is still not very popular.
i booked the package yesterday. so glad to strike another item off the list.

hi septembergal,

i agree with kat22. my personal preference will be merchant court. it's cheaper mah.
but this is just my preference lah.

which ballrm did pan pac offer u? when i approached pan pac with 34 tables last yr, they told me i will be given the ballrm upstairs. that ballrm is not as nice as the downstairs one, where all the pix of pan pac were taken.

but u should check if the mrt line near merchant court will be ready by then. else that area can be quite inaccessible to pple who dun drive. it's a concern especially since u r hving ur banquet on a weekday (or did my memory fail me?). my mum waited 30 min for a cab after attending a dinner there. finally she gave up n called for a cab. she was hopping mad after that, kept complaining abt how ridiculously inaccessible the place is. in which case, maybe pan pac is better. pretty ballrm or not, at least it's convenient n well known.

halo... i went to the above-mentioned website. saw that the itinerary/schedule from London to Edinburgh is ...10 hours. *FAINTED*

Chan brothers have this Britain Self-Drive Packages (about 2000 SGD). seemed quite worth it but not sure if the prices will be extended beyond March 02. Besides airfare, includes a car + petrol and a 7/8 nights accomodation pass. sounds cool huh...

Hello septembergal,
My sis is staying with me and my parents right now, that's why it is vacant. To be convenient for her son to go to school which is near to our house. Hi Kat22, you will be shifting over to Bukit Merah. I'm staying in Bukit Merah now! Your wedding date is on 22 Sept 02, right! Scarly, we might meet on the actual day. You come to Bukit merah and I'm going to Bukit Batok.

Hi och,
Have you heard of Saints Wedding Services. They do provide videography and photography. Price reasonable too but not very sure about their service. Ive been to their shop for viewing samples. Right now, I'm busying looking for videographers and photgraphers. Do you think it's advisable to use freelancers? How about Image Maker - Nick Goh? Heard about it?

if u r on a budget tour, that's how u can save.
have u driven in london/scotland b4??? even though my hubby drives, we won't take up this self-drive pkg, it's so tiring. but if u guys r adventourous enuff, it shd be quite fun

hi, LMF!

Yup, we r getting married on the SAME day! Wah, if timing is right, we might really bump into each other on our wedding day!!
i dun suppose u oso stay in bukit merah view???

hi lmf!

i din do a lot of homework to find my videographer, as u can probably tell fr my postings.
so i'm afraid i hvn't heard of nick goh. i've heard of saints wedding services though, but never asked for their quotes. what's their pricing like?

i usually dun hv qualms abt engaging freelancers, as long as they come recommended by trusted parties and/or i've seen a consistent stream of work fr them. my actual day photographer is hilarion goh. i dun know, do u consider him a freelancer? i like his pictures a lot, clear n sharp.

do u intend to get ur photographer n videographer fr the same shop? cos i think it's more urgent to get a photographer soon. most couples will engage a photographer, but not all engage a videographer.

Hi lollipop, snowflakes & crayon2512,

I went 4 my 1st appt last sat & i realli enjoy it. My designer is so experience. From 1 look, she can immediately tell me wat kind of gown suits me. The gown she let me try really look good in me.

My WG will b spagetti w V-neck & realli BARE back all e way 2 the hips... & my EG will be bustier w bare back oso. I tink on dat day, when my MIL c me in so revealing gown, she'll faint men... hehehe

hi gals!
sorry didnt write for so long cuz juz started new job, always running around, so cannot access internet / email.

angelia, i think yahoo is up for a while will try to send u the thing asap.

blossom, u must earn big bucks man!!! heheh...that's smehting to be envied!

kat, och, i think i am more keen on Merchant court as well cuz cheaper mah...pan pac offered me the use of the ballrm downstairs cuz my list may go up to 40 tables at end of the day.

but hor, even if they give u pacific 2 and 3, they will still sell pacific 1 if tehre are people booking for that day. i find it's not v. ideal anyway cuz people are using the same reception area, and it's v. confusing for the poor guests

not to mention, pan pac is really v. expensive (618+++) and it's definitely out of my budget as i relaly want to have a honeymoon trip to EUR. (short one also can)

i agree w that bit abt merchant court. bo pian lah..seems that that is the best hotel deal so far.

LMF, i went to yun nan restaurant and the ballrooom looks really fantastic, i think u've made a good choice!! (u have a lot of tables, i presume?)

they would not let us use the ballroom unless we had more than 50 or 60 tables, and they said that they cldnt confirm until 2-3 mths before the dinner if we booked only 40 tables, so we cldn't follow up on that.

gals, this wedding thing is juz plain stressing me out. i'm v. unhappy with FILs becuz at first they want only 15 tables for their side and now end up their side go up to 20 tables and my list go from 30-35 to 35-40 tables.

i'm v. upset cuz i dont want to sacrifice my honeymoon juz becuz want to invite more poeple!!!

btw, want to ask all ur opinions, is it very bad to choose the 8 course menu as compared to the 9 course menu? i juz want to know what is the expectation becuz FILs think that 8 course menu @ Merchant court is v. 'pathetic' and thinks that we should not 'stinge' on the dinner....they even wanted seat covers!! (@ $2 per seat, that's adding mroe and more cost to my bill)

i felt that nothing wrong with 8course dinner since it's a week day and i dont think people wanna stay back to finish 9 courses?

but i know i cld be wrong so someone, pls tell me if i am wrong? and is it indeed very pathetic to opt for 8 course menu?

hi septembergal,

dun stress. my wedding list went fr 28 tables to 42 tables.
i dun think there's anything wrong with 8 course dinner, but i know my parents n in-laws think otherwise. what does ur fh think? i think it's more impt that both of u agree amongst urself.

wah, pan pac is really expensive nowadays. think hyatt's weekday package is only $648! if ur fil really insists on the seat covers, why dun u try asking merchant court if they can give seat covers to u at a flat price, even better if they can give it to u free.
seat covers cost very little to hotels, all they need to do is to iron n put them onto the seats. it's usually a easier to bargain for.

where in europe do u want to go? i'm going to london, as a transit pt.
maybe we can share notes? i love to daydream abt travelling. the thot of a long honeymoon keeps my spirits during all this preps.

Hi Kat22,
Oh my goodness, why so "zun"! I'm staying in bukit merah view. Which blk are you going to marry to? Don't tell me it's those five storeys low rise HDB flats???

Good morning och,
It's ok. As for saints wedding, their price for videography is $600 using digital camera with some effects like wiping, overlapping, etc. Not a bad choice (quality) but it's just the service. Still in doubt. Have to do more homework. Hilaron Goh, I know him. He quoted me too but very expensive about $1K for photography alone. I've budgeted myself to $1.2-1.5K for photography and videography. That's why I'm looking for freelance. Freelancers do not own a shop. If they do, their price will not be that low. Whether to get both professions from 1 shop, still don't know yet. It depends whether can meet my budget.

hi, LMF!

aiyoh, i hv a feeling we might really bump into each other that day! me going to stay at Blk 126...u leh? wah, i must look out for u that day!!

hi, septembergal!
dun feel stressed. it's like that one...guest numbers will always start ballooning. mine oso growing!

Since ur wedding on weekday, try asking the hotel to throw in freebies like the seat covers, free flow of beer, waive corkage, etc. normally they r pretty flexible on dat. in any case, i am sure u will break even lah so dun worry!

Daisy,

Divine Couture's trademark is bare-back gowns. And if you have it, flaunt it! Glad your appt turned out ok and that you have enjoyed it. So what did your FH say about your WG and EG?

Gals, I may not log on as often as before but rest assured I will go through all these postings and reply.

Keep them coming!

I am back from my leave...
Went to HK...ate and shop, ate and shop....
Got very good bargains for suits from G2000 and the cutting is indeed very good.

Anyway, sheep.. for videographer... no worries.. I dun have any lobang.. cos I intend to engage my friend to help me...
But as for Saints Simon Wedding... I did receive a feedback before.. the guy can be rather dramatic... and a fren's actual photographer was commenting to me that the videographer was booking the shots !!!

Hello septembergal,
you went to Yunnan. Who is the one who serve you? Is it Ivy? She's better. Have you seen the smaller ballroom which is just right beside? Do you really liked the place? I might have an idea for you to confirm the ballroom straight away. Not necessary to wait 2-3 mths before the dinner. If you're keen, email me and I tell you the possible ways.

So you're going to Eur for honeymoon. I've always wanted to go there for honeymoon. It seems very romantic places like london which I've already been there, venice, paris, switzerland. The best is to go everywhere in eur but I'm afraid that my FH will vomit blood. Hi Hi Hi!!!

AS for the 8 or 9 course, I think it's up to individuals and it depends on what kind of food they're serving. In the 8 course they might serve fish like "garoupa". In 9 course dinner, they might serve fish like sea bass. Now what do you think? Which is better? I personally think the "garoupa" is better although it is 8 course. I heard from others that fish is the main dish to test the quality. i believe it's true. And remember, your guests want to have quality food and not quantity food. So don't let 8 or 9 course bother you so much. Remember to email me leh, still waiting for your mail!!

Hi lollipop,

So sad u can't login as often. Is yr work very busy lately???

u r rite. Divine is famous 4 their bare back. That's Y i choose them. Well, my hubby say so long i like it, go ahead.

Daisy,
Glad to hear that your fittings goes well!! U have already selected all your gowns liao!! Good for u!! U must have very nice back...coz all your gowns so sexy!!!

hi daisy,

wahhhh....so envious....u make me jealous liao lah....can wear watever u want !!!!!! my hubby lets me wear lah but too bad my mum say no-no....so me got to change my WG from bustier to spaghetti....hmmmm...but tink for my EG me gonna haf the bustier lor .... dun care since it's not in church !!!!!!!!!!

but glad u enjoyed ur appt....so is urs mtm or otr ????

Hi Kat22,
I'm staying very near to you. Blk 113 low rise building. I will look out for u too!

Hi Daisy
Wat colour is your EG?

Hi Snowflake
I think Daisy gowns must be MTM right? If not,i dun think she needs to go down to bridal shop so early.

Hi..ladies
Any advice on what we should do on our first appt?
I just made an appt with the bridal next Sat..not sure wat to do?

Hi crayon2512,

For the very first appt, probably what you could do, if your gowns are MTM, is to scout for nice designs. Have an idea of what colour for WG and EG too. For my first appointment where I was scheduled to find my gowns, I prepared by compiling some pictures/photos/magazine pages of the gowns that I fancy. But have varied designs eg spagetti strapped, bustier etc in case the designer / consultant gives his/her opinion that a particular design may not be suitable for you. You have to be open to opinions as they are the experts after all!

Think also of some questions that you might have regarding the package items. Probably, you may need to clarify if fresh flowers are used for Studio etc etc etc. You get it lah huh?

That's probably abt it. Anyway, it's only the first appointment, things that need to be KIVed can always be discussed later.

Hope I did help you somehow!

But then again, different bridal shops do things slightly differently. If you need to and are concerned, call them and confirm if you need to do any preparations at all.

Hi Snowflake,
Yes, methinks Daisy's pkg is mtm also.

Crayon, fill us in reg your appt ok? Dun worry too much, if you have already picked some designs out from mag, bring them along and show them to your designer. Your designer will let you try gowns even if you have no idea what you want. After a few attempts of various gowns, your designer will be able to design the ultimate WG for you. Enjoy!

Hi snowflake, crayon2512 & lollipop.

Smart girls. Mine is MTM. I've not decide on the color 4 my EG. My designer say if i trust her, she'll choose a color & fabric that suit my skin tone. Actually my back is so so only lah. Not veri perfect. But my designer say can put powder & shiny shiny thing on my back.

Snowflake, indeed i veri lucky. no restriction from mum & MIL on wat 2 wear. In fact, i tink my mum would rather me wear revealing gowns....Cos when my sis married, 1 of her EG is Cheogsan kind but w high slit at the side. My mum complaint its too conservative liao.. haha...

Crayon2512,
Dun worry redarding 1st appt. Me 2 hv e same problem. but when i went 4 my 1st appt, my designer advise me on wat i shd wear & not. She give me some design & ask me 2 decide on which design i like.

Lollipop,

Seems like u still login quite often lei... hehe...

hi lmf,

is $600 for vhs quality only? it says on their website (which was updated like in 2000) it's $600 for vhs. or r my notes wrong again?

i got a quote fr a freelancer. vhs was also abt $600. but i wun recommend vhs. the quality is quite poor. if u want ccd, the freelancer charges $800. novex media, which listed in another thread charges $1200 for 3 ccd videography only, $350 for montage n abt $300 for converting to dvd. think novex also has 1ccd technology that goes for a lower price. novex has a shop to maintain, so the charges r slightly higher. but i think their quality is really there. the studio i'm using charges $680 for 1ccd videography only. it's still within ur budget.

tell me if u want any of the contacts listed abv.

hv u asked monica eng for a quote on photography? her prices r quite reasonable. or what abt andrew tay? the prices quoted by brides in other threads r abt $600 or so as well.

hi chemson,

welcome back!
do u miss us?

Hi Dawn & Daisy,
Thanks for the useful infor.
Beside the 1st Appt enquiries, would like to know who is doing the actual day photography for u?
My bridal shop charging me $500..for the service, negative and film are to be paid and develop by us.

Hi och,

Yep.. of course... miss u gals...

Hi LMF,

Speaking of Andrew Tay... I did enquire of his rates... he charges $650 for coloured.. I think for 6 rolls and then....his comprehensive package is $1800 for both B & W and coloured. I have actually engaged Monica Eng to be my actual day photographer.. her rates are reasonable and you are in safe hands...

Hi Crayon2512,

I also still headache over this. I've ask 4 alot of quotations & it seems like the price differs a lot. Here are some of the price range.

1) Name : Hilarion Goh
Tel : 90618389
Price : $1000 incl 8 rolls
Remarks : $50/add roll, $30/half hr b4 7am & after 11pm

2) Name : Wyn (Berryhappy)
Tel : 9479-0461
Price : $999 incl 10 rolls

3) Name : Scott Tan (White Light)
Tel : 9731-7239
Price : $500
Remarks : $35/roll

4) Name : Ray Ong (Photolanguage)
Tel : 844-8575
Price : $1200 incl 10 rolls
Remark : $50/add roll, $50/add hr

5) Name : Monica Eng (Vivid shots)
Tel :9848-8199
Price : $800 incl 8 rolls
Remarks : $40/add roll,

6) Name : Robin (Robin Photography)
Tel : 323-1823
Price : $1,200 incl 10 rolls

Hope its useful to U.

Whoa Daisy, your mum must be really open-minded leh!

What to do? Miss you pple mah, that's why busy also manage to post short msg here.

You pple should be touched. very touched.

Hi och & chemson,
$600 is using digital camera not VHS. As for how many ccd (1 or 3), i have no idea at all. What is 1ccd or 3ccd? Are these using digital cameras too? You are saying that novex do have 1ccd technology. Is it from VHS or digital? Confused with 1ccd, 3ccd, digital, VHS??? Is your studio using digital camera for 1ccd? May I have the contacts for your videographer?

I did ask Monica for quotation. Firstly, she quoted me $800 for 8 rolls which exceeds my budget. Secondly, she was already been booked on my day. So...! Keep looking!

Hi LMF,

Hope this helps:

Andrew Tay (The Edge) - $650
8 rolls colour with album (4R)

2) Mirages Pictures, Eric hp : 97615104
videography, includes 1 VCD n 2 video tapes

hi JasTan,

brought ur customary forward? then u hv 1 mth less to prepare!!

of cos u'r still welcome in here.

my brother hv been to Qian Xi for wedding dinner, think he commented the food not very nice. but well, his fren's has over 30 tables, maybe that's why. rob urs will be ok.

Hi Chemson,

Do you have the contact number for Andrew Tay from The Edge ? Any comments on their photos ? Does the package above include both colour and b/w or just colour ?

Hi Meimei,

The package I mentioned is only for coloured only. If you want B & W... you would have to add in. He has the comprehensive one as mentioned earlier... $1800 for coloured and B & W journalistic. If you have seen sunny's photo... you can get a rough gauge of his actual day.

So, when is your wedding ? Have you chosen your bridal package and booked banquet yet?

Andrew can be contacted on his pager at 93045520 or handphone at 96867894. Or drop him a mail at [email protected].

Hi Chemson,
Thanks for your info. I heard that andrew tay is good. And guess what, I'm having an appointment with Eric (Mirage Pictures) later in the evening. Any feedbacks about him? Good or bad?

I saw his work before... kinda good.... and he won't interfere with the photographer.. what I meant.. obstruct the photographer...

hi lmf,

i'm not much wiser too. i think the difference between 3ccd n 1ccd lies in the quality of colour. higher ccd, better colour. that's abt it. so far as i know, vhs is analogue. maybe my information on saint's outdated. afterall it came fr their website last yr n the info was last updated in 2000!

my videographer: eric 97615104.
$680
using 1 ccd minidv or digi8.
2 vcd of edited footage.
whole day with no limit on starting n ending time
i asked him if he could give u a discount, he said he will give u $50 off. try bargaining for $80 off lor.

novex media, john tan 94887709.

desmond (freelance) 96934243. he's currently overseas.

hallo LMF,
sorry cldnt write earlier. yahoo is down again, i dont know why! keep getting that HTTP 500 internal error. will write later in the week oki? have to go for dinner now...take care!

Hi Crayon2512,

My actual photography is done by my bridal studio. And I paid abt $550+ for 8 rolls and additional roll at abt $40 (I think...this I need to check).

Probably I got a good deal since I'm signed up with them too for the package.

hi kat22,
good to see u ard too. me not earning big bucks la, probably my boss. i am only a small employee... my company is also cutting costs, will not be travelling but still very busy.

i am very tired now.
yawn.gif
just came back and decide to pop in. looks like everyone is very busy with the preparations. i can only think abt sleeping now. zzzzzzzz......

Hi Daisy
Wah!! U indeed make a lot of checking on the photographer..most of them seem to charge separately for the film? I saw the forum topic under actual day photography, saw one lady,Cleo who recommended her photographer..charges are quite cheap $250 but not sure how's the skill like?

Think its quite impt to have a photographer on the actual day..coz if ask friend, he/she must be very committed..follow u around..all the time including dinner..

How soon must we book the photographer? i felt like seeing how my photos turn out at the bridal first then decide

och!
u got videographer hor?
Am searching for one now, at last min! Do u mind to share more abt ur videographer? Looks interesting.

May i have his contact no n address? Is he using those professional type digital videocam? For the package, will he give u back the master tape as well?

Will i be able to get further discount from him? I will have my wedding banquet & tea ceremony seperated into two days. So wonder if there is surcharge..

Lots of questions to u.

Hi Dawn
Think yours is a great deal! $550 with free rolls of films somemore..where to find!! Think to buy and develop photos would cost abt $20-25 per roll liao..

hi lmf,

how was ur visit to eric (mirage pictures)?
the answer to ur question is no. dvd r not normally given in packages rite? but eric provides the service for a nominal charge, think it is $200-$300. remember to ask for a discount.
he has a package using dvcam cameras. it's $1080 n it includes 1 dvd n 2 vcd. that's the one i booked.

hi blossom,

u sound really tired. hope u are feeling better today.
it's a brand new day!

can i just do a poll.... how is everyone doing in their gowns design? i had my 3rd design appt yesterday, i've finally decided on my eg designs! how do ur gowns/dream gowns look like?