(2002) Brides of year 2002

JenJen, dunno whether i receive the list bo, but even so tink i deleted liao soli soli
me still using the same yellowapple email

calla,

No wonder lah ... u have to maintain yr figure so that both of u are compatible mah ...

For me, think i prefer my hubby to have some flesh ... a bit fat never mind lah ... I like!

joker,

Wah, u still want to study ah ... for me, enough liao ... Think I'm never going to study again ... NEVER! Unless i don't have to work lah ... then I'll go & study my fine arts course

Pegsfur,
You same as me, like guys to have a bit flesh. But hor, my hubby so skinny. It looks like I always snatch his food even though he snatch mine

Ah ya, it's not tat I wan to study, but it's jux the way to survive in this soceity mah. But hor, I have been pushing off for few years liao. Really don know whether the $$$ & time is worth or not.

So when's yr new flat coming?

Joker

joker,

Hahaha...
U r very funny .... talk abt he snatch yr food ...

My flat shld be completed by end of this year if early ... if not, shld be ready by early next year lor
So u see lah, my ah lao still want to have baby as soon as possible ... where got $$$ to feed the baby?

Pegsfur,
Ah yo, why all guys same same huh! My ah lao also wan to have baby ASAP. I also ask him, then our baby eat wat huh?

So yr flat going to be ready. At least you all can start saving now mah. So yr MIL staying wif you all, right? Is yr ah lao the only child? Last time my sis always tell me, even though staying wif MIL, must have a flat under our name. There is a difference bet. staying wif them and them staying wif us, get Wat I mean? FIL not around liao?

Heehee..... see I so concern about you. Aks so many qns liao

Joker

I hv signed up wif flamingo last nite! Lucky enuf, i managed to find a OTR WG i like, so can save $400.
My EG will b MTM and shirley, my designer, is really gd, she did not ask me wat i like and she proposed something that i wanted!

At least, this is more or less settled. Mandarin will be sending me the contract to sign this week.

Jowie: As for msia's dinner, my hubby told my FIL that we only gave him RM5000 for the whole event, he has to manage w/in this budget. I tink better to tell them our budget, if not cannot imagine the bill at teh end of the day!

Angelia: Thanx for the websites, but can't seem to access the photographer one leh. Hey, saw your fitting experience posting in the WN thread....exciting huh?

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cher</FONT>
pai-sei, pai-sei, here goes again :

site http://hedhodge.tripod.com/weddingportfolio
his pricing as below :

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Price: $820
Includes:
1. 8 rolls of colour negative film (36 exp each), returnable to you.
2. Processing and developing to 4R size photos
3. Photos arranged chronologically in pocket size albums

Options:
1. Additional $40 per extra roll of colour film used
2. Reduction of $20 per roll of colour film not used
3. Additional $60 per roll of black and white film used
4. Additional of $120 for professionally bound hardcover photo album for 20 5R size photos of your choice.</FONT>

wah, so lucky to get OTR WG. but hor, the EG, is she proposing something OTR, then tell u it's MTM?? some shops does it like dat lor..

eh, u smart leh, tell ur FIL only got RM$5000 to work with...

my fitting exp.. not really exciting lah, a bit tiring, cos the gowns like not to my likings lor...

so what's ur WG like, and what EG design do u hv in mind??

joker,

Yeah lah, my ah lao is the only son ... the current hse we are staying is under my MIL's name, my ah lao is only listed as an occupant. Naturally we applied for flat under our names

Oh yes, I get wat u mean ... I think my MIL also has that kind of thinking cos she's saying she doesn't want to sell her flat after moving to our house .... think she scared later kena kick out by me then she got no place to stay liao
FIL already 'sell salted duck egg' long time ago

Hahaha...
yeah lah, yeah lah, u very concern abt me lah ..... Let me ask u now ... if yr mil insist she wants to stay with u then how?

Pegsfur,
If I'm yr MIL, I also will still keep the flat in case really kanna kick out by you

Actually ever since I know my ah lao, I'm already so prepared to stay wif his mom. Even up to the day our hse is ready, I did not change my mind.

There's once whereby she quarrel wif my hubby's sis, she made herself very miserable as in don join them in any outing and keep calling my ah lao for chit-chatiing. I felt sad for her and ask my ah lao to invite her to stay wif us since she is not happy there. In the end, she ask my ah lao interfere her life becos she couldn't let go his pregnant sis and the 2 kids.

As far as in my position, I have done my part as a FDIL (not married then) During reunion dinner, she din even intend to come to our place to eat wif my hubby. She ask my hubby to go to his sis place for dinner.

The sis all the while is very nasty to me. When she come ask me to her place for reunion dinner (becos they know my ah lao won't join them if I don go) She said 'Joker, you come my hse for dinner hor. If not don say I call one never call two'

The day before our wedding day, the mom din prepared to come and see whether she can do any last min preparation. Instead she came at 10pm becos the sis's maid came on tat day.

Wat would you do if you were me?

JOker

Heehee..... long winded me haven answer yr qn.

Of cos if one of these days she kanna chase out by the daughter, then no choice I will let her stay wif us. if not I will jux tell her that the sis family needs her more since she work more like a maid in tat family.

Joker

angelia,

yeap, got in the website liao...not bad leh. Now i'm very confused, dunno which photographer to use for actual day.

the EG is mtm frm scratch. she scratched the design on the spot last nite and i chose the colour &amp; type of material. i dun think flamingo is like dat lor as they r well known for mtm gowns. there wil be 3 fittings from the lining to the final one, so it's original mtm.

i can't really describe my WG lah, but that's only KIV lor, she said they will be a few more gowns coming back next month, i still can change my mind.

As for EG, it will be a bustier, semi-straight cut with a small train. it will hv a satin base wif high split by the side. 2 layers of contrasting colours organza. there will be beadings or embroidery sewn on the neckline and the hem of the organza. It will be greenish/blueish gray.

No choice, got to be firm wif my FIL, if not he'll end up inviting the whole 'kampong'.

Looks like your bridal shop is very 'luan' now leh, so many pple leaving &amp; coming. better be careful wif them, be sure wat is being communicated &amp; commited to you.

joker,

We are really very similar leh ... rite from the start I also prepared to stay with MIL liao cos he's the only son ... I understand mah.

But when we select our flat, she kept hinting that we don't want to live with her &amp; always emphasize that she wants to keep her house. Doesn't she know that if she sell the house &amp; help us out with the reno of new flat, our burden wld be lessen?

I mean it's not that we really want her $$$ from the flat. I've spoke to my hubby b4 &amp; we both agree that we r not going to sell her flat to use the $$ on our reno. If she really sell &amp; help us out, we'll really appreciate it. But if she doesn't, no choice lor ... no dream house for us. But from the tone she's talking, it's as if we r eyeing her $$$. ..... as if .....

Aiyah, everybody has diff encounters with their mils hor?

But for yr case quite complicated hor? Yr sis-in-law sounds very nasty leh ... So u all visit yr mil regularly or wat?

Pegsfur,
I totally get wat you are trying to put across. Sometimes it's not the $$$ tat is in our concern, but it's from $$$ whereby we know how much they care.

The sis attitude change totally when she knows we decide on our hse. I guess she felt insecure becos she is afraid tat her mom will come over &amp; stay wif us. Basically the mom is the one who took care of her kids and cook every meal for them. Best part, the sis not working too and now engage a maid. So 3 adults looking after 3 kids.

When we got married, the mom din take any interest in the preparation. She gave us $12 each during the tea ceremony. You know, it's really not the $$$ but we will know where we stand from wat she did.

Best part, the sis &amp; her husband din come 4 the tea ceremony becos she say she pregnant cannot come. The whole family come wif no Ang Bao during the dinner too.

Frankly, from the day we got married till now, we din visit the mom becos we don wan to go to the sis's place. Then now the sis jux gave birth to a son, my hubby's mom don even remember tat she has a son liao.

Actually in my heart, I don recognise them at all. I really can't bring myself to call her 'mom'. Of cos unless face to face then no choice loh.

Lucky thing is tat my hubby saw all tat had happen. In fact he is the one who is much more disappointed. He knows tat he only have me to stand by him.

Pai sei ah, so long winded.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit</FONT>
no lah, it's juz that the gowns my co-ordinator brought to me seems a bit old and not the type i like lor...
maybe becos i didn't let her know what i like (cos i oso dunno what i want. or maybe cos i took the cheapest pkg, and then still offset some amt from the lucky draw voucher, so they try not to give me newest gown)... but then hor, she kept saying those she didn't bring to me are "too big, if alter then will not be nice", "not suitable for u". luckily i managed to browse the rack at the last min and found 2 which i like, really really like..

so now i KIV 3 gowns lor. this fri going down to confirm.. i think i'm more into the "sweet sweet" kind of gowns....

actually only the photographer issue affects me, the designer, i not hving MTM, so no issue.

ya, i always make sure they put down on the invoice whatever they mention.. and i will sure request to meet the photographer when fixing an appt and prior to photoshoot, so that can talk to him...

wah, so gd, they let u KIV for 1 mth!! mine, when i say i wanna KIV first, she told me "KIV ah? when u want to confirm? within the week can or not?" etc..... i think this time round, i want to tell her i wanna KIV first, next mth try others then decide... but hor, if she dun allow, i also boh-pian!!!

actial day photographer wise, u can try Tien CF. saw his site, pretty good, and very cheap... but i forgot the site liao...

Angeline,

Monica Eng ah? i was checking with her the other time too cos my fren just had her for her actual day but when i was asking her, she increased her rates and it was such a significant increase (increased by at least $300) that i decided not to go for her.

But her oics are not bad, its just that she became too expensive. Guess my fren had a good deal cos she engaged her before her price increased

joker,

Wah, they really 'sat sat bo chio' ..... come to dinner without angbao.... I understand how u feel ... i think if i were u, I wld have behaved the same way too.

For me, sometimes i feel that some of my relatives are biased against my hubby .... but i don't care lor ... I just thot the most important thing is to be together with him, whether they like him or not... ultimately, I'm marrying him, not them.

Don't worry, u r not long winded. Sometimes it's difficult to tell friends or family of such things ... just take it that we r comforting each other lor
cos I guess we'r more or less in the same boat.

Starfruit,

How much did your fren paid?

I booked her Traditional Actual Day Wedding Package - $800
- 8 rolls of films
- 4R prints wz white border
- 1 large album
- Negatives returnable
- $30 charge per extra hour
- $45 per additional roll

Actual Day Videography ( Digital ) - $800
- 1 master tape
- 1 editted tape
- 1 set of VCD

We actually wanted to take up her $1200 package which include 5 rolls of B/W fotos, we only wish to have some many rolls of B/W fotos, so Monica advise us to take up the coloured one

Pegsfur,
Tat's why loh. I'm really damn pissed off by them. Even now, the sis gave birth liao, I was like struggling whether to visit her or not. In the end I chose not to go.

Wow piang, yr case stretch so far ah? Relatives bias against yr ah lao? Wat has it got to do wif them man? Anyway, how often you meet them. Who cares whether they like yr hubby! As long as you like, can liao.

Ya lor ya lor. My mom keep asking me not to be too mean to them. But hor I really no 'feelings' 2wards them lah.

At least at the moment, I know I don have to stay wif my hubby's mom. For you, you got to stay wif her thruout. But I believe things will be better once yr have yr own flat. At least you more say mah.

Joker

Sori haven been toking in this thread since I 1st introduced myself...coz bz choosing bridal package...I'm more active in Flamingo thread. So yes, i've signed wif Flamingo and choosen my OTR WG and designed my EG. Photoshoot will be by The Edge on 3rd July. 1st fitting will be early May...cun wait.

Yvonne - Thanks for sending me ur pictures...u look so beautiful and radiant...I hope I can smile as natural as u.

Julia - can i have a look at ur photos too? my email address: [email protected] thanks!
You've most things completed, how many months did you take to complete so many things?

Chemson - Thanks for compiling Sept brides profile and the check list really great help. Do u think we can add other details in Sept Brides profile like photoshoot, gown fitting, card printing, food tasting dates, WG n EG desc etc to keep each other in pace? I dun mind helping to compile too...wat say u?

Hi moonie,

I guess the reason why I compiled this current list is to include the most important bits for all of us to refer to. As for what you have mentioned.. I think it will be too much and m... I guess everyone is comfy with the way and I believe we want to preserve a little of our privacy, right?

Hi moonie,
Yah, I agree with Chemson. Let's keep the list short and sweet. I think it is good enough that all the pertinent info are there already. Very busy leh, if we have to constantly update on all the nitty details. What about we just post our current "status" like who will be going for photoshoot, fitting, etc here to share with all?
Agree?

joker,

Actually I meet my relatives quite often as they r pretty close to my family.... it's like they will visit my parents over the weekend, &amp; any celebrations like birthday lah ... strike 4D lah ... we always have gathering one lor ... It wld be no prob at all if we don't meet that often.

Yeah, I sure hope things get better when we move but I'm sure more problem will arise, esp. regarding the 'guan yin' statue. Sure have alot of restrictions like must face window or door, must have rite time to move the statue in ... the list goes on .... sianz ....

So who does the housework in yr house? Yr hubby rite?

Hi Kittycat,
I think the wheather should be alright in July...
We don't really have much worries.

Hi Sparks.
Hey, really excited, it's 3 mths more to my wedding too.
hahaha.... guess most of the important things are done already.
The printer are printng my cards &amp; will be collecting next week.
What about you??

Cheers:
Carol

Hi Angeline,

yet to decide.
just complete my venture in looking for house and we've finally bought one.
One that we like, and his mother likes...........

Quite a hard time when searching. Coz got to travel and then got to look and think. His mother got so many thing to say.........
so xian

Irene

Julia - thank u 4 showing me ur pictures, wow u have so many gowns to wear...very shiok. Did u MTM all ur gowns...they look very good on u!

Cowie - yup, i agree with Chemson too...really too tedious to update n privacy also impt. ok let's just keep pace as and when we progress it'll be fun!

Hi moonie,

Err... I believe you are the one who wanted other details in Sept Brides profile like photoshoot, gown fitting, card printing, food tasting dates, etc so as to keep one another inform. And personally I agree with Cowie and yourself that it is too tedious..
Just felt the need to clarify this point ! But I do agree that we just post our fittings and wedding preps as and when it arises...
More exciting mah..

Angeline,

My new house is in Serangoon. near future MRT, unblocked.
Nope, we staying alone. Can't imagine if i stay with her. A bit scared. She actually ask me to plant a few pots of flower at the corridor infuture/... (reason-according to my FH, she scared people cross over to our territory).

Don't know what to say.

Irene

Hi carol,

Woa...so fast collecting the printed cards?
We're getting stressed now...so many things not done yet. Our wedding is in 2+ months time and we've not collected the cards or printed them yet. Not even found a printer yet...really worried.

Will be spending this whole weekend doing all this and our guest list too...

Stress...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Irene</FONT>

congrats!! me still searching... now like no one selling units in those blks i wanted... prob gotta wait for next BE in july liao.....

Hi Mo,

I haven't collected my wedding cards too. But I understand that printing is quite fast. Neither hv we settled our guest list!
We're taking it easy..... I haven't even seen my WG and EG.

I haven't been posting anything for awhile...am going for my first fitting next week and collecting cards from hotel soon. Last week I tried making corsages for my helpers and it was quite fun, good to do while watching TV! Want to try making wrist corsages but haven't found nice flowers for it!

Btw...if anyone is looking for cheap tracing paper, so far Popular at Bras Basah is the cheapest! Think it was $6.50 for 40 sheets.

quite excited to see what gown will look like...is anyone else out there having strange wedding related dreams like me? must be subconsciously worried about stuff...dreamt about flowers the other day!

Angelia: Yup, flamingo is very personalised &amp; flexible. they r not so $$-minded, more customer-oriented. i think u just have to negotiate wif your coordinator lor. ok i wil check out Tien CF's website.

Irene: congrats on your new house! Luckily u dun hv to stay wif ur ILs. I oso cannot imagine if i hv to stay wif my ILs too!

Angeline: when is your wedding? i thot of using monica too, but considering her price....still thinking leh.

Hi Aileen,
Wow, collecting cards already? That's fast

I guess you must be really excited and also stressed about the wedding....having weird dreams already.....
Not experiencing that yet, but I think I will start having nightmare soon cause have not done anything related to the wedding for a long, long, long time!!!

Hi Chemson,

no worries...i truly understood ur pt and whole-heartedly agree with u.
You are right, let's make our wedding prep a fun n exciting process! Updating each other as and when it arises will give a surprise element too.
Thanks for being true n honest, u r a true friend.

Aileen - i'm a dreamer by nature...every night i'm sure to dream...no dreamless nights....so ever since i start my wedding prep....i had weird dreams too...but forgot the details liao. It's like the chinese proverbs "u'll usually dream at night wat u think of in the day." It's normal actually...so do learn to relax in the day too. take care

Irene,

Congrats too

Elderly are always like that, my FMIL oso tell me to put some flower pots!
so when gonna start reno?

Mine is at Woodlands.

Angelia,

Good luck to u, hope u find your dream house soon

Cher,

Mine is on 19 Nov 2002. Which package u r interested in?
Im taking the Traditional Package which cost $800. I actually wanted to take the $1200 package but it include " 5 rolls " of B/W fotos which i dun want so many rolls of B/W fotos lor.
Im taking the videogeraphy package from her too

I find Monica very friendly &amp; easy to talk, she someone whom i can joke with, not like those stern photographer lor. She's more to natural shots than those photographers who keep telling u to pose here &amp; there.

I had a weird dream once as well... that my gowns did not turn out well... I was a little perturbed by the dream... but Phew !!! It turned out beautifully...
Guess this is all part and parcel of wedding preps, huh ? But then we must all try to enjoy your preps as this is only once in a lifetime, right?

Hi Angeline,

the completion of my house in HDB transaction will be in Early September coz owner looking for house now.
So, we came into term for that.
And renovation would starts as soon as they moves out.
But nothing much to do. Except, toilets, windows, rewiring and built in wardrobe.

Should be in time. coz HDB only allows 1 month for renovation.

Irene

I hv weird dreams but not related to wedding. Prob too stress at work.......always hv tis dream whereby my whole body is covered with leech!! Blood sucker!!

Pegsfur,
OIC. ANyway, like wat I said earlier, Who cares as long as you are happy

Ya ya ay , I get wat you mean again. hai..... we really 'tong 2 shi4 tian1 ya2 luen2 luo4 ren2'. Tat time we had the same argument wif my hubby's mom, not the 'guan yin', but my ah lao's altar.

The mom wan it at our place but I feel tat we will not have the comitment towards it. Besides if next time she also not around, then it's going to be our 'baby' for the rest of our life. My tots is why can't we jux put it in a temple to make life easy for everyone.

Then she everyday call &amp; nag, everyday cannot eat, then fall sick then I gave in. Then got big day, she will bring the sis whole family over and we got to do spring cleaning after they left.

Pegsfur, you are sooooooo clever!! How you guess is my poor hubby?
. Frankly, I never do hsework in my life leh. Then hor, I tried being a good wife and sweep &amp; mop the floor. But after tat me 'yao1 suan1 bei4 tong4'. SO in the end my ah lao 'yin1 xiong2 jiu4 mei3' do everything for me liao. I only wash &amp; iron clothes. Then he will do the hanging.

You leh?

Joker