(2002) Brides of year 2002

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jowie,</FONT>

u juz tell her u recommended by me from Wedding News... i juz called her last wk, hope she still remembers me..

send u the no. after this.

some info on Combing of Hair

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">
Combing of Hair

It is customary for both the bride and groom to go through this ritual the night before the actual wedding for <FONT COLOR="ff0000">good luck and prosperity</FONT>. A woman of supposed good fortune is hired to comb their hair in their respective homes. Before this is done, they are to <FONT COLOR="ff0000">take a shower, change into a fresh set of clothes, and burn some incense</FONT>. In addition to the above, the <FONT COLOR="ff0000">bride, in particular, needs to have her hair combed under the moonlight</FONT>.

Both the bride and groom's hair needs to be <FONT COLOR="ff0000">combed 4 times respectively</FONT>. Each time carries a different symbolism: <FONT COLOR="ff0000">the first round connotes 'from beginning to end', the second 'harmony from now till old age', the third 'sons and grandsons all over the place' and the finally the fourth symbolizes 'good wealth and a long-lasting marriage'</FONT>. In this modern day context, many couples would rather choose to skip this event all together.</FONT>

some info on Returning to Bride's Home (hui niang jia)

<FONT COLOR="119911">Bride's Return

Traditionally, the bride is to return to visit her family 3 days after the wedding. The groom often accompanies her, with gifts for her family.
</FONT>

hi gemi,
i also miss everybody!!

i can't really help you on the slide show, most pple use powerpoint presentation or engage to do a video montage, so i guess its really up to you lor. actually i would advise u to buy ur stuff earlier so that u won't have too many things on mind what to buy later on. less stressful mah.

berypig,
what do you intend to choose for ur "si dian jin" white gold or yellow gold or diamonds???hehhee..

polar cakes are not bad, good choice! i working in s'pore land tower.

angelia...is she good? i called sandy(saw her names at other thread) but she's 7mths pregnant...i will go tonite for the trial and c how

Oredi told my mil that i prefer white gold. Will be going with her to choose the white gold + diamonds. My mum will give me yellow gold

Where is S'pore Land Tower huh? Where do u usually have your lunch? Most of the time i go to goldenshoe or china square ...

i got Sandy for my ROM in Feb.. she's good also, very natural.. din recommend her cos of the reason u mentioned!

as for <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Jessie,</FONT> 3 brides had her for studio &amp; actual &amp; i had her for studio &amp; all of us only hv praises for her. &amp; she dun only does makeup, she'll help with the little things. e.g. she once help a bride to sew on her shawl (which the bridal din do) to the dress so that it don't fall off so easily. she's also a nice lady to talk to.

oops....

seems like no one giving me a summary....

nevermind...I'll just read through all next week when i have time.

Jowie,

if u want to get sandy, better check with ur MIL and ur mum first coz I ever spoke to sandy and she say some old people are patang coz she pregnant.

Jenjen,

me also not done with house yet still got the kitchen cabinet in KIV situation.
my ang pow also not bao yet.....

Irene

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">i finally finished glueing all the insert, &amp; finished writing almost all invites for my frenz... but i din bring enuff envelopes to office, so gotta go home &amp; continue...

tonite go back continue with my list, then tmr wkend can start on hubby's frenz &amp; mum's frenz.. after that will need to do the relatives one liao.. jia-lat, still hvn't figure out how to "address" them!!

</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">irene,</FONT>
a lot of topics going on so cannot give u summary.. later give liao, u still gotta read long long.. so might as well u "hardworking" a bit &amp; read thru past postings.

btw, i found ur brochure liao.. how to pass to u? or i scan then send to u can??

wow..so good, got the best of both worlds!!!hehehe....

actually hor i also don't know where is tung centre..i go golden shoe quite often, but not china square, a bit too far out for me, my building is next to caltex house lah...

oh... so ur building quite near my building ! Actually my building is also near caltex house and HSBC building. Heee... next time can go for lunch together at goldenshoe...

yah, jowie... i oso din recommend sandy becos of that reason... anyway, even if ur families not pantang... she will not want to do the full job as her back aches if she stands too long...

Strawberry - miss you also leh. So, when will you be going for the manicure then? BY the way, hav eyou printed your order of service for church wedding too? Is GMC really moving to sengkang?

Have your bought the si di jin? Went shopping with my MIL last sunday and she insisted that I get gold, so no choice lor. Tried to choose the more modern designs.....

Bery - wow...polar....nice nice.....yummy...how much per box har? You have their contacts? How many boxes did you order?

Gemi - seem like you enjoyed your trip. Wow drop two red bombs liao....very fast..... Guess you are as disciplined as me to be able to control the album size...heehee.....

Joanne - Think you have to start to draft out your invitations liao. Start to select the printer you want to use too leh. Think we hav eto start giving the cards out by end of nov lor.

tks gals and CL...discuss wif my FH, we shall stick wif the replacement artist, no budget for unnecessary expense..sigh

the trial makeup is still acceptable altho not very satisfactory, but dun tink i got a choice...

angelia,
yah.... later she cut your wedding gown so better dun make noise..... but how r u getting the 4R album?

Hope u managed to finsih glueing your cards.

Jowie,

Perhaps u can roughly describe to the replacement makeup artist that u prefer wat kind of styling &amp; makeup

Dont be sad, perhaps she will do a great job on your big day leh, stay happy &amp; recover soon!!

<FONT COLOR="119911">Er...got new members liao must update the list right? hehe btw, hi gals,</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">Here goes:
2nd wk - Strawberry (14 Dec), Choco (15 Dec)
3rd wk - Joanne (22 Dec)
4th wk - Sunshines (25 Dec), gemi (26 Dec), Val / romona (27 Dec), Corie (28 Dec), Berypig (29 Dec)
5th week - Pinky (30 Dec)</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Oi Berypig, have you sourced for your projector and screen? Just realise that the hotel dun have this facility...I'm having 2nd thots abt doing presentation liao...very rush and dunno where to get the screen...
10831.gif

My MIL also just bought me 1 pair of bangles (gold with white gold rim) and a white gold necklace with diamonds...hehe quite like...
10832.gif
Cos we are hokkien so only bought this 2 lor...</FONT>

hi blossom,

my case quite similar. il dun want some relatives to get photos, even though we think those relatives will want photos. so in the end.... we decided to follow our il opinion. if the relatives r not close to our parents/us, then it's unlikely that they will keep the photo well too.

anyone of you bought paintings to furnish your hse? where can i get nice and affordable paintings?

anyone has framed cross stitch before? can tell me where to get nice frames? actually, i wanted to get framing shops to do it, but it is rather expensive... more costly than the cross stitch itself... so thinking of doing it myself if possible...

hi och,
yup, somehow i agree with my mom's decision. the relatives are probably interested in looking at the photos rather than keeping them.

i will feel very sad if they din keep my photos properly....
so might as well dun give.

you know we have those loose copies of studio photos, i saw one lying on the floor when i visit my mom and i got really upset. how can they treat my precious photos like this?!
i din say anything... no point starting a quarrel over a small thing but i felt a bit hurt though...

Hi gals... I remember someone who was talking abt the song "I believe"... who is it har?? Using for march in?? do you know the meaning of the lyrics??

Wow!!! TGIF and a long weekend!!! Jowie, Starfruit and Apple, All the best for your weddings!!! Dun worry, definitely something unexpected will happen somehow be it how much we plan but in the end, will definitely “finish off” the night and be HAPPILY MARRIED!! Just HACK and our job is only to be “MEI MEI” on that BIG DAY!! Cant imagine all those yakking and finally it’s coming…. SOON! *Twilight Zone Sound Track*
Best Wishes!!

angeline..,tks

bluechin...last nite so frustrated, but now FH say can find a new makeup artist if i wan

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">gals...any recommendations??</FONT>

Angelia...jessie is booked on my day at 5am liao

Hi JenJen,

It's me but my cousin gf (She is Korean) has not come back to me with the meaning. What I listen or guess I think is not approriate to use it.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Seem quite sad one, maybe is waiting for someone who didn't appear and he believe the day will come.</FONT> <FONT COLOR="119911">This is what I guess.</FONT>

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jen,</FONT>
there's another Jap song oso title "I Believe" (from the series OverTime). but i oso dunno the lyrics, so strike it off the list lor..

Hi Corie, i have not ordered the cakes yet but have decided to order from polar. I will be ordering the sugar and chocolate rolls instead of a whole cake. Each piece cost $0.70 which makes up to $7 per box of 10 rolls. Kinda expensive hor.. but since i am only getting 20 boxes, so still quite ok lah ..hee

Val, seems like a lot of hotels do not provide projector huh... My restaurant banquet manager told me that the white screen will be provided but not the projector. My boss has agreed to lend the projector to me liao. So the problem is solved.

Jowie,starfruit,apple,

All the best... Happy marriage and "zhao sheng gui zi"...

Jowie, dont worry.. all will turn well...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
cos they ever promised me!! so muz try lor.. dun think they'll do anything lah, i hvn't paid full yet!!

finished glueing the inserts, &amp; also finished writing most of my guests' invites (during office hours yesterday).. sent out some last evening.. today will continue with my mum's frenz' invites.. but relatives.. hiaz..

wah, <FONT COLOR="ff6000">jessie</FONT> so hot ah? maybe u try <FONT COLOR="ff6000">kelly</FONT>, the one <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Chin Leng</FONT> recommended..

Hi Blossom,
Sorry to hear about the photo you saw on the floor. Give them the benefit of doubt ok? Maybe the photo fell on the floor without them knowing it when they took the pile out to see and admire

As for the cross-stitch pieces, getting shops to do framing is indeed more expensive, but I know the art and craft shop (a very old one) at AMK central (Elsie's Department Store, I think) do pretty good framing with borders etc.... If you are thinking of doing DIY framing, can try to get frames from Gift Land. They have several branches around. Their frames are meant for jigsaw puzzles but if you find a suitable size, why not
But one thing about framing it yourself is that you may get some loose cloth in the middle of the art piece...not at taut and nice as professionally framed ones.....Uhm, hope you get what I mean

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Jowie/Starfruit/Apple</FONT>

10850.gif

have a blissful marriage, don't kan cheong and stay radiant!

Angelia, I know, but that song is a little old leow... hehhe...

Cherly, I found this... perhaps it will interest you...
But basically, it did not make sense to me... someone can enlighten me??
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">
<FONT SIZE="+2"><U>I Believe</U></FONT>

<FONT SIZE="+1">Composed / Lyrics / Sung by Shin Seung Hoon</FONT>

I believe... When you are not with me there are no stars in the sky.
I believe... The way back to you will feel a little far.
I'll carry all those memories deep inside me.
I'll feel pain, it'll make tears fall.

When I won't cry you will leave me
With no change and no tears.
Someday again the tears will come around
You know it
I'll believe that you are waiting.
I do it for you.

I believe... It'll hurt me to see, you can't cry.
I believe... My tears will fall, you should turn back to me again.
Again I'll glimpse you come into my sight
And it'll make my tears fall.

When I won't cry you will leave me
With no change and no tears.
Someday again the tears will come around
You know it
I'll believe that you are waiting.
I do it for you.

Before I knew you, the world was dazzling.
From that sky I got left with tears.
I will care for that person.

You are the only reason...
To me the wait gives me enough happiness.
Love is the only reason...
As days pass by,
If you forget the way, I'll be waiting
I do it for you.
</FONT>

JenJen,

U are so great!! But hor, it didn't make sense to ne too. I think I will forget abt this.

What abt another song sing by local artist "Yong Bang" - "You are the one I love the most" is a chinese song. Sorry my HanYuPinYin is terrible, can only use English version..

jowie,

wanna try calling ANN my makeup artist?
I can sms u her number if u want.

Angelia,

no choice lor but a bit lazy and tired..
maybe i could just hop in here.

Irene

Cherly, that chinese song will is nice too... but I felt that it is overused as march in... I am still considering using "I Believe"...

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">anyone knows if i were to write the (chinese) names on the chinese section of the invites, where do i put huh??</FONT>

hi blossom,

oh dear, but dun take it to heart. like cowie said, it may be an accident.

the only decorative piece we hang on our walls is a clock that is also a decorative artwork. we got it fr evershine galleries. it's v nice, always a talking point but rather ex. we will be hanging landscape pictures of our honeymoon next. we plan to hang 3 photos with very striking colours (e.g. red, orange n blue) in nice frames on a single wall to give our living rm more colour.

ikea has some modern paintings that r quite cheap. n they come in all sorts of colours n themes to suit different home decors. alternative, u can frame jigsaw puzzles or buy some nice art work overseas. it all depends on the theme of ur house. i've framed cross stitch b4, but it was with framing shops.

tks irene...i found a guy, david lim, he's available tis sunday, tonite go meeting him
all bad tings come together...my FH company van broke down...this is the 3rd vehicle he drive and broke down within this week!
later still need to go mani places...really no mood liao

berypig,
on! i'm thinking of going manicure at oub centre. u want to join me?

hi corie,
i also don't know when leh, cos me very very busy these days, a bit gan cheong for the Big Day liao..my church programme not done yet. opps, forgotton to check whether the church is really shifting to sengkang. by the way, i went to compass point to look look, sengkang is very new!

hai..u gals are very fortunate, i guess i can forget abt my "si dian jin" my MIL didn't mention it at all...guess she won't be buying for me...

hi val,
thanks for updating the list..

glad that u like your "si dian jin". how much did u spend in total for two items like this?

Angelia,

I did not write the chinese side.
i write only for the english side.... even chinese name i also write there,

jowie,

it's ok. glad u found 1.

Irene

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">irene,</FONT>
i noe a lot of people write the chinese names oso on the English Section.. but i tot makes more sense if i were to put it at the Chinese Section mah..

maybe shouldn't creat more work for myself!!! will juz put it at the English Section then.

Berypig,
Wah so good...at least prob solve liao...sigh me dunno where to get that white screen...

Strawberry, hm...I think mine is "liang dian jin" only hehe...Erm..costs slightly less than 2k. Is it a norm or too ex or wat? Not that the monetary value matters but just thot of asking only..cos in any case, I'm the one who chose it...