(2002) Brides of year 2002

i heard from my cousin that some of my relatives waiting for me to give them the dinner photos but my mom say no need lah... can i just act blur???
10746.gif

hi girls..
damn stress man... now sorting out the liquor for the night.. *sigh*.. need to go buy somemore cos DFS not allowed. hubby shirt also have not buy yet, ang pow not packed yet.. die liao, dunno how to get married on monday

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Jenjen &amp; ohno</FONT> : How many bottles of liquor did u girls prepare?

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">jowie</FONT>: all ok on ur end?

bluechin...my FH even more sick than me...fever, headache, soar throat, block nose...when he's helping nothing! so much things not done yet and he's sick!!

starfruit...got some hiccups wif bridal shop but can't be undone
besides dat everything is still ok...haven't pack ang bao, haven't collect air tickets, ROM cert, buy lipstick, prepare all the cheques...

do u all know dat when younger siblings serve tea during the ceremony, both of us have to give 1 ang bao each? my FH's younger bro is married and we need to give to both his bro and his wife an ang bao each ie. 4 ang baos! *faint*

Good morning gals,

Have an agruement with my hubby last night. Becos he told me he was thinking to do whatever "Work Scope" that his mother supposed to do on behalf, including preparing ang bao for her to distribute. I was so mad
why being kind till this extend? I will have to pay both side's buffet, prepare some drinks and of course need to buy some cakes for actual day breakfast for him. I believe most of you all need to worry abt all this and yet his mother sitting there everyday to watch TV and shake leg
. She is staying at home whole day whole night and do nothing, can't she help a bit. And now, have to use our saving to pack ang bao for her, how can I don angry?
She didn't contribute anything, don even bother to ask us whether need help or need her to do anything.

Can imagine how to stay with her together but quite sure that she has spoilt the relationship from here. How to deal with her huh??

We have run out the budget, still haven't paid our air tickets and the $1000 I changed for ang bao is not enough now, need to change another $400 to pack ang bao.

Cherly,

Sad too hear that, perhaps u can have a good talk with your hubby, urge him to talk to his mother &amp; get her to do what she's suppose to do! She cant be sitting there &amp; shake legs, so unfair to u &amp; your hubby!!

Dun think so much nor be angry, not worth it!! Dun let her cause both of u to quarrel!
Stay happy &amp; be a happy bride!!

hey blossom,

why not tell ur mom what ur cousin said n ask her for her opinion. if she still says no need, then.... act blur.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">cherly,</FONT>
i think it's alrite if ur hubby "bao" the angpows on behalf of ur IL. for my case, hubby will be preparing the angpows for his side, half of the si dian jin (i only got a diamond pendant from my MIL, ring is my own, so he buying me the earrings &amp; bracelet), GDL stuff, &amp; everything else.. imagine we still hv the hse reno &amp; furnishing..

for my side, i'll also be paying for my own dowry, buy gold necklace for my younger brother (it's said that elder siblings muz leave buy some gold for younger siblings), big angpow for my brother during tea ceremony, prepare my (mum) share of angpows, &amp; also not forgetting those our own share (to give to helpers, etc)

basically, the 2 of us are paying for EVERYTHING, except the diamond pendant &amp; the gold necklace my mum is going to get me.. but then, i prob will "subsidize" her with the angpow i suppose to give her

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">btw, we hvn't even book our honeymoon (be it short or long) cos now we dun even noe how much will we be left after all expenses... so now dun even dare go book.. then hor, for our new home, also a lot of furniture still KIV cos no $$ to buy!</FONT>

Jowie, according to my auntie, if the FH younger brothers or sisters are married, the bridal couple must serve the brothers+wives and sisters+hubbies tea and get ang pao from them. Not they serve us. They only serve us if they are not married.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">starfruit,</FONT>
nope, i hvnt met up with <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Nick</FONT>. guess i'm way behind schedule.. hvn't arrange to meet anyone yet.. jia-lat.. better drop <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Daniel</FONT> a mail later...

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin,</FONT>
but then hor, i scared later i make noise, they do something to my wedding gown then die lah

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jowie,</FONT>
guess it's the weather + the haze.. really hope all of us can <FONT COLOR="ff0000">go through</FONT> the event smoothly!!

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">jen,</FONT>
that shop so bad?!!! lucky i nvr buy from them.. think i did went in to see see look look.. cos the name beri familiar..

guys are always like that.. nvr like to prepare for <FONT COLOR="0000ff">juz in case</FONT>. my hubby also sama, sama.. when we ordered our sofa at the expo exhibition, they say put $400 deposit.. i find it a bit too much, but hubby says never mind.. anyway, in the end i still tell them we put only $200 max
my hubby dun mind pay full b4 delivery, but i'll also nag &amp; nag.. hehehe..

but hor.. for P&amp;R bedframe set, i BLUR leh.. dunno why pay full!! aiyo, then after we step out of the shop then remembered u told me u din pay full!! hiaz.. that lady lah, ask us to fill in the membership form, fill until i blur blur..

now jia-lat lor.. worried that if got defects, i won't be able to get them to change as fast as like urs..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">agnes,</FONT>
i think it shld be in order of "bei fen" &amp; not whether married or not..

if it's the way ur aunt suggested, then if i hv an auntie or elder sister who's not married, do we serve her tea, or she serve us tea since she not married??

starfruit, did u get my sms?? I haven't decided how many bottles... u preparing how many??

cherly... i haven't packed angpow yet... aiyah... if ur hubby want to pack for her... let him lor... u just wash ur hands off the matter from here onwards...

for my case, i was pretty angry when my hubby wanted to pay for all the losses borne by his parents... even when his savings is now running very very low... and i felt they could jolly well afford the losses... so now, I dun care how he's going to deal with the $$ stuff... when his savings is dry, I'm sure he'll still come back to me to discuss the problem...

so just leave it as it is... and dun stress urself... oke?? also, the angpows on actual days oso throw to ur hubby to pack... u should not be the one coming out with the $$ in the first place... wait he desperate leow then will beg ur help!!

cherly, don't get mad.. u get more angry lines, and pimples, not "mei mei"... I also have the problem since my MIL said "she dun know to everything". Like you I have run out of funds, have not pay contractor and many other bills, so I cut down on the amount on the ang pao. Instead of $12, I give $8. If friends thinks I am stingy, its just too bad, at least I get to see who is the REAL friend and who is the "zhu peng gou you".

angelia, I think its all depends on the dialect. I will follow what my auntie say (in cantonese), "Sum pao char is very jian, gotto serve everyone"... good also la.. take ang bao instead of giving.

angelia, when my younger brother married in Jan 02, they did not serve me tea cos my mother and auntie said I cannot drink the tea since I am not married.

is P&amp;R = Picket &amp; Rail???
They dun have install plan... but if u buy from the warehouse, they give a lot of free gift

i c..

yup, P&amp;R = Picket &amp; Rail.. u mean they got warehouse?? where huh?

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">me now sourcing for dining table.. saw a set i wanted at Harvey Norman Millemium, but worried too ex.. but can't find at other shops, how?!!!
</FONT>

hi och,
i already told my mum and she insists there is no need to do so (she doesn't like them...). but i dunno whether my relatives will be unhappy... they dunno my mum say dun want, they may think i am not thoughtful. im not really close to the relatives lah... but if they gossip behind me over such a small thing, a bit pai seh also.
i think i will act blur becos i dun want to anger my mom.

Thanks for providing the solution and advise, will do like JenJen said, wash hand from now on, let the mother and son do whatever they want to do....

beri bad running nose now...weather so hot and i still sneezing away

mayb tomolo take half day to rest, if i can finish everything...

where exactly is the location?? u got the address??

the prices there oso same as their retail outlet izzit? only got more freebies huh??
now very broke, whatever can get free, will try to get.. very cheapo hor?!

only few days to ur wedding, u better take care..

work will nvr be finished.. but u muz take care, &amp; be mei mei on ur BIG DAY.. it's once a lifetime!!

Jowie... take MC la.. then u can rest and still do your wedding stuffs....

Angelia, yes prices is the same but got freebies better then no freebies right?? Also, sometimes they have sales of last season items going like 50%. 2 weeks ago, I bought 2 book shelves, 1 shoe bench, 1 bed side table at total $330... very wu hua... shh... dun tell everyone cos if too many ppl ask.. they wont sell or give that price. My friend working there.. laggi better... sell pillows to me at $5 each.

The location is at:
http://www.picketandrail.com/stores/factory.htm

Seems like alot of things to do.
And I seems so free leh. A bit worry now.
May I know how much hongbao should we give to our helpers? My mother says she is giving so we don't need to give. Then what abt drivers, makeup artist, photo and video grapher?
Think got to prepare different hongbao for different people if not will mix up.

i am getting married in dec 22 2002. i have not even get my invitation card printed... is it too late ????? i really need that advice

joanne

hi joanne,

Nope, not too late yet
U should start to choose your card design now bcos u will need some time to go through the draft to check for errors. T-dragon or Hi-tech will have the cards ready by a few days after u confirm with them.
I have gotten my cards now but it is still too early to send out. Hope that helps.

BLOSSOM,
me oso wat.. going to develop photos but got to co-ordinate with both families which photos they want cos' they already 'intructed' before hand..

Sighh...sighh.. dun u think hor.. Prior wedding we headache for seating arrangement scared they not happy with the arrangments and now after wedding liao also headache.. photo issue also got to think of others..

Somtimes hor really feel like everything bo-chap and act blur..like tat not so much of headache liao..

angelia...all pimples come out leh, cannot tahan, usually dun have

agnes...cannot take MC leh but my FH got 2days, throat infection..so he's running those last mins errands now hehee

i also wonder about the ang bao...last nite tok to my frends, one told me if my FH younger bro in law is married, he and his wide serve tea to us, each of us muz give them an ang bao each, dat means total 4 ang baos! and the other siblings also 1 ang bao from us each, so 2 ang baos for 1 young siblings...*faint*

and we are preparing all the ang baos...my mom did ask me she need to prepare or not but i dunno also, tink my ILs also din prepare

angelia, we were not inform of the sales.. happen to stumple upon it... lucky start.

Jowie, I also having all pimples poping out (very unusual).. the big painful ones. How to clear them??

I think I am getting sick too... throat feel funny and head very heavy.... any way to prevent falling sick??

agnes...drink more water!!! i ask my mom to make the yeo seng drink(normally i hate dat) to stop the heatiness...but my running nose no cure, muz take time...

hi gals!!!

sorry to mia so long, me on course for the past 2 days, that's why didn't come in, &amp; i have so much work to do in the morning, finally i have the time now....

corie,
no i didn't go for the manicure on tues cos my course ended pretty late. that's why didn't contact berypig for dinner. hope you're feeling better.

hi gemi,
you're back!!! seems like you're pretty happy with your trip!! have u prepared for your guo da li things?

hi berypig,
first time u page for me heheheh...so have u collected ur cards already? T-dragon called me yesterday to say my cards are ready liao...so i'm collecting on sat. remember to ask for free gifts ok?
i've finally selected my photos...but album will only be ready 4 days before my wedding.. but i also tried to be discipline...had a total of 40 photos..

hi joanne,
i think u should start sourcing for your printers now and choose designs for ur card already.. the timing now is just right!..

where's pinky and the rest??? we shld all be pretty excited that our wedding are coming soon!

hi loreal,
agree with u... it is only through this wedding that i realise there are a lot of xin1 bing4 between my parents &amp; relatives; among relatives etc. it's not easy to maintain good relationship with everyone so i learn to cherish relationship more.

i'm oso a dec bride(15 dec). Can I know when will the parents discuss on the number of tables for the brides family etc.. ? Or should it be already dicussed. My MIL say they will do the ti-ching on last week on nov and send the cakes in early 1st week of Dec... it is too late.
In fact, my parents are not too happy cos it seem that everything is left to the last minute... my MIL - own-time-own-target....
How?

choco

hi strawberry !! miss u so much.. hehehe
Wah, ur company so good... send u for courses. What courses did u attend?

Yup, i went to collect my cards yesterday. The free gift they gave are 10q cards, some ang baos and few stickers lor.

So have u gals prepared everything? Last weekend, i went to chinatown with my mum to buy dowry (jia zhuang). Now left with "si dian jin" haven buy yet .. and also haven order caterers and cakes to distribute to the relatives. I also haven done my presentation slides... die liao.. gan cheong now

Hi Strawberry,

Welcome back. Everyone misses you so much. Well, I haven't got the things yet, nothing much to buy lah..maybe buy in Dec. Anyway, my wedding end of Dec, so got lots of time.

Hi Berypig,
What jiazhuang did you buy? And which cakeshop did you order your cakes from?

I'm trying to think how to make the wedding banquet interesting leh...how to have interesting slide show, without needing to engage external vendor to do it for you?

hi bery!!!
heheheh... miss me then call me lah...

ai yoh, good meh, this is the first course i attended since i joined this company u know, 2 years liao..its a short simple course on web page designing lah...

so exciting hor got cards already.. heheheh...don't panic, still got time, are u going to buy the "si dian jin" with your MIL? think give yourself a deadline for ordering the cakes and caterers loh, then you'll not feel gan cheong..

which building u work, maybe we meet for lunch?

hi choco,
wow, your wedding is one day after mine!!
well, since your MIL has already told you her schedule of ti-ching and sending of cakes, its better to stick to her timing loh, but i do agree with you that its a bit rush, things that can be done early is worth doing it earlier to save trouble and stress...maybe u can suggest to her to bring forward by one week and see what she says..as for the no.of tables she's giving your side, its best to discuss soon cos u'll need to know the no.of tables you're allocating to ur friends, colleagues etc , you'll need to work out your total no of tables, for guest list loh... : ) hope it helps!

I am so mad with my father. He tell me that if his guest did not turn up, its only 1 or 2 seats waited. No need to confirm with them!!! Thats like $80 wasted on each pax!!!!

tell ur dad, if 1 person din come, u get $80 from him, if 2 din turn up, $160...
.. kidding lah..

why cannot take MC?!

angelia, I find this is very sickening cos if he is going to waste the seat, then I might as well invite more of my friends. I am cutting down 4-8 friends so that he can have the seats to invite the friends. In the first place when I agree to a dinner is that he will not play me out like what he did to my brother. It was agree upon that he will confirm with his friends. Somehow dun see it happening.

dun be angry.. that's how our parents' generation work.. they dun RSVP, &amp; they dun confirm with others.. always assuming their frenz won't go tour, won't hv something else on that day, if they invite only couple, only the couple will come &amp; not bring kids, etc.. etc...

my mum oso same thing.. so i kept pestering her to "release news" (some 1 mth ago) of my wedding date to our relatives &amp; those people she intends to invite.. until she buah tahan &amp; picked up the phone to call...
sometimes i feel so bad.. pressure her to do things against her norm!! but i oso no choice, restaurant only allowed us to reserve 1 table, so i muz keep loss to minimum

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">MY BRIDAL SHOP JUST CALLED AND SAID SHE CAN't DO MY MAKEUP!!!!!!! SHE GOTTO ADMIT HOPSPITAL FOR OPERATION 3DAYS! shit manz i am so boiled now!!!</FONT> but she will arrange another one to do trial for me tonite....
anyone got any makeup artist to recommend just in case??

u wanna try the makeup artiste i couldn't get (cos <FONT COLOR="ff6000">jaslyn</FONT> booked her? i not sure how much she charging, but the other brides were all praises abt her...

Hi choco, the norm is abt 2 wks b4 ur wedding lor. My mil told me that my "guo da li" will be 2 weeks before my wedding day. Btw, i suppose "ti qing" is the same as "guo da li" hor?? Maybe u can propose to ur mil to bring forward the date?

Gemi, i only bought the sewing kit, 4 "xi" stickers, a small paper fan and 2 side table lamps (battery operated). Actually still have other things, but my mom said no need cos old fashion oredi :p I have decided to order polar cakes cos they are yummy ...heehee

Strawberry, i am working in Tung centre. u leh?

some info to share on Dowry
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">
Dowry
This is normally sent to the groom's family a couple of days before the actual wedding day, or simply brought along by the bride on the wedding day itself. The bride's dowry normally consists of items such as valuable jewelry, kitchen utensils, and bridal linen such as sheets, pillowcases and clothes. In some instances, the bride's dowry could also include some ornaments for the bridal room.</FONT>

some info to share on an chuang
<FONT COLOR="119911">
Preparation of the Bridal Bed
A man of good fortune will be hired to move the bridal bed to the right place in the bridal room while a woman of supposed good fortune will make the bed and also place certain foods and fruit that symbolize good fortune on the bed. Children are also invited onto the bed on the day of the wedding to symbolize the blessing of fertility upon the couple. <FONT COLOR="ff0000">Red dates. Oranges, lotus seeds, peanuts and pomegranates</FONT> are scattered all around the bed for the same purpose. The modern simplified way is to just change the bed linen to a traditional red colour for good luck and prosperity.</FONT>