Jen.C

Hello BTBs,

I just started my online research a couple of weeks ago and I'm still feeling very lost, super happy to have found this forum thread! I just spent the whole night reading all 10 pages.

Current plan is to wed in late 2018, most likely doing ROM and banquet together. We are open to lunch/dinner and chinese/western/buffet.

We are currently deciding on a FSM to calculate the dates for us, shortlisted master long and master tong but both charge the same price and have equally good reviews online, it is really difficult to decide on one. A little worried because they can only do the consultation in approx 2 months' time. Which FSM did u ladies engage?

I am also intensively researching on hotels and venues, and I have a some noobie questions and will be really glad if someone can help me:
1) how do you decide on your budget since we will recover an unknown amount from the angbaos?
2) why high ceiling and pillarless? Is it for aesthetic purposes only?
3) is there room for negotiation even after signing the contract? Because I see some are comparing the packages after signing..
4) what happens if I signed a contract and can"t meet the minimum number of tables due to unforeseen circumstances? Will it be possible to trade for similar priced items/services like menu upgrade or additional nights of hotel stay?
5) do you all pay to attend the wedding shows or simply attend the FOC ones only?
6) how many hotels do you ladies visit before deciding on one? How long does each visit take and is it advisable to visit more than one hotel a day?
7) apart from the cost of tables, what other costs should i expect to pay to the hotel? Will they charge for the venue on top of the per table cost? Is AV equipment inclusive in the package?
8) how do you do the nego for the package? Do we tell them what we want directly and it is a straight yes/no thing? Any tips? :p

Sorry for the spam of questions and thanks in advance!

Hello. I'm a March 2018 bride.
I engaged Master Long for wedding dates as I can use them for all purposes like new home, start reno dates, guo da li, an chuang, wedding etc. There's 3 years worth of dates available to choose from.

1. Not sure how others set their budget but cause i still have reno to do concurrently, so my budget is way lower than usual which limits my choice.

2. Pillarless ballroom so your guest will not be blocked. When taking photograph and video is better too, i think, in terms of angle etc. high ceiling and pillarless ballroom has a more sophisticated feel, making it spacious and not so cramp.

3. Try to nego as much as possible before you signed. Most will not add extra perks after you sign but can only request for things like extra tables at recep, flower petals as decor- these lind of low cost things

4. They will usually ask how many tables u looking at. Have a rough idea how many guests will be invited first. Tell them your minimum table. They can try to see if they can meet your needs. You can add tables after signing the package but you can't reduce. So tell them your minimum first.

5. Wedding shows are usually foc if u register with them. Have not seen wedding shows that charges yet. The coordinates usually will email me the invite and i'll rsvp.

6. I visited restaurants and hotels. Restaurants just 15-20min. No package to talk about.
1st visit to hotel will usually take about 1hr. To see the venue, their themes, invitation design, choice of wedding favours, what's included in package, nego for more perks etc. then go home and slowly discuss with fiancé/fiancée and family.

7. Gst and service charge not inclusive in the price u see for their table charge. So add them in to see if they fits in your budget.
Additional beer and wine drank that exceed what they offer you.
Some places charge extra for venue used for solemnisation, like i know faver peak does. Hotels might give complimentary function room for solemnisation and tea ceremony. AV equipment provided for hotels but not restaurants. Usually they will state in their brochure/pamphlets.

9. I'll ask "is ..... included?", "what about .......?", "i know some hotels provide ....., do you also provide?"
Usually they will say check with management for u and get back to u. Sometimes they can tell you on the spot. Some places can't nego much then will tell you can't. Sonat the end of the day u got to compare which is better and suits your needs and budget.

These are what i feel when i was going through the bookings. Might be true or some btb might not agree as different people might have ldifferent ways of doing and experiences.

BabyJoanneXin

Hey ladies.. Im Oct 2018 BTB! .. Solemnization n AD on the same day.. So wan to seek advice.. How long in advance shld I contact and book our JP?

Jen.C

Hey ladies.. Im Oct 2018 BTB! .. Solemnization n AD on the same day.. So wan to seek advice.. How long in advance shld I contact and book our JP?
I tried to booked 9mths ahead but they say it's too early. Some JP allow us to softbook till nearer the date (like 4-5 mths before wedding day) then confirm.

kytheon

Hello BTBs,

I just started my online research a couple of weeks ago and I'm still feeling very lost, super happy to have found this forum thread! I just spent the whole night reading all 10 pages.

Current plan is to wed in late 2018, most likely doing ROM and banquet together. We are open to lunch/dinner and chinese/western/buffet.

We are currently deciding on a FSM to calculate the dates for us, shortlisted master long and master tong but both charge the same price and have equally good reviews online, it is really difficult to decide on one. A little worried because they can only do the consultation in approx 2 months' time. Which FSM did u ladies engage?

I am also intensively researching on hotels and venues, and I have a some noobie questions and will be really glad if someone can help me:
1) how do you decide on your budget since we will recover an unknown amount from the angbaos?
3) is there room for negotiation even after signing the contract? Because I see some are comparing the packages after signing..
4) what happens if I signed a contract and can"t meet the minimum number of tables due to unforeseen circumstances? Will it be possible to trade for similar priced items/services like menu upgrade or additional nights of hotel stay?
5) do you all pay to attend the wedding shows or simply attend the FOC ones only?
6) how many hotels do you ladies visit before deciding on one? How long does each visit take and is it advisable to visit more than one hotel a day?
7) apart from the cost of tables, what other costs should i expect to pay to the hotel? Will they charge for the venue on top of the per table cost? Is AV equipment inclusive in the package?
8) how do you do the nego for the package? Do we tell them what we want directly and it is a straight yes/no thing? Any tips? :p

Hi Fish,

Firstly congrats to you.

I choose my AD date from consulting a head monk in a temple. Turns out not necessary to go to FSM unless you are really really particular. All i did was drop donations of whateva amount i feel is reasonable. You may want to consult both parents and see what is their opinion. ALWAYS remember that wedding is not about you n HTB, it is the union of 2 families. Communication between 2 families is very very important and it is not easy as a little misunderstanding might lead to leaving a bad impression of each other on both families. (i learned it the hard way.)

So answers to your question:
1) Work with the amount of savings that you have. If you also have a bto coming (like me), think about the possible debts that could occur. For my case, as my bto is coming first before the wedding, i decided to put most of my savings into my bto n use whateva amount i have left (about 10% of my savings) into my wedding. Also, decide your wants and needs. Apparently, my bto is a need compared to my wedding stuffs which is a want. Hence, more money into bto.
2) high celling im not so sure, but pillarless is to ensure the view are not blocked. im sure you want all eyes to be on you on AD :)
3) Some hotels maybe. But mostly no. Thats why there are alot of people selling packages and getting another. it is important to read reviews and compare packages before signing.
4) not really sure, as me and HTB estimated the guestlist before signing.
5) i only attend FOC ones. if got friends working in the hotel who is able to waive off the cost, then i will go. so far, i only been to the FOCs ones and reading this forum many times.
6) me n htb looked at the wedding package prices of each hotel before deciding which to visit. As budget and food review is of vital importance, we looked around and read up on the reviews before enlisting 2 hotels. we just went in and checked out the venue. (we went on weekday) around 1 hour should be enough for you to decide if you like the venue or not.
7) mostly all cost should be covered in the package. unless you want more things (mine was top up for a bigger room as bridal suite). Hence, it is better to sign with the hotel during their hotel roadshows which this forum constantly update the schedules. Bargain for the things that you want (AV equipment, projectors, screens etc) and make sure they include in the package. Read carefully before signing.
8) go with friends who are married recently or who is also planning marriage. Can usually use the "i bring my friends to know also, can give me discount or more freebies". That's what my htb did. Got what i wanted for free and more things.

Best for you now is ask your family what do they want. it is a long process, but communication is a must. I did not know this, and faced alot of problems end up now bad impression on both sides. Best is get FSM (if u can afford the wait) or go a trusted temple/religious leader to get advice. In this way, both families hard to dispute on the things required and process flow. Also, reading this forum helps me alot too. Spend time to read up.

All the best :)

Jessie.Y

Hello BTBs,

1) how do you decide on your budget since we will recover an unknown amount from the angbaos? -> Well you can first decide on your scale of the banquet, like how grand / posh you want your hotel to be, how many tables you need, and approximately how much are you expecting your guests to give in order to recover from the banquet. Then from there you get a rough idea of how much the total cost is gonna be at, then you work out for the repayment to hotel (usually 75% is required before 1 month of your AD) etc.

2) why high ceiling and pillarless? Is it for aesthetic purposes only? -> Well apart for aesthetic purposes, pillarless allows your guests to have unblock view of the whole wedding, coupled with high ceilings contribute to the whole experience your guests gets to enjoy.

3) is there room for negotiation even after signing the contract? Because I see some are comparing the packages after signing.. -> Usually once the contract is signed, few hotels are open for further negotiations on the number of additional perks and all. Unless you're talking about changing of wedding theme / increasing number of tables kind, which hotels usually compromise.

4) what happens if I signed a contract and can"t meet the minimum number of tables due to unforeseen circumstances? Will it be possible to trade for similar priced items/services like menu upgrade or additional nights of hotel stay? -> I am not sure for other hotels, but the one i signed states that if i failed to meet the min number of tables, the hotel will still charge me based on the minimum committed number for the relevant ballroom.

5) do you all pay to attend the wedding shows or simply attend the FOC ones only? -> I attended both for experience, but of cos, I only go for those that i am comfortable with the banquet price.

6) how many hotels do you ladies visit before deciding on one? How long does each visit take and is it advisable to visit more than one hotel a day? -> I made like around 3 appointments which i shortlisted. Each visit is around 30-45mins the most which includes touring of the bridal suite + ballroom + sales talk.

7) apart from the cost of tables, what other costs should i expect to pay to the hotel? Will they charge for the venue on top of the per table cost? Is AV equipment inclusive in the package? -> AV equipment are already included in the package, other costs may include special diets for your guests, additional barrel of beers / house wines, corkage fees if thats not included in your perks and probably overtime fees if your banquet hasnt end by the stimulated time.

8) how do you do the nego for the package? Do we tell them what we want directly and it is a straight yes/no thing? Any tips? :p -> Do more research, give them concrete evidence that XXX hotels are providing this and that, can they offer the same or better attractive perks for you?

Hi Fishpokpok, congrats to your upcoming wedding! :) Well its not entirely noobie questions afterall its our first time getting married and stepping into a new phase totally. I'll try to answer your questions to the best of my knowledge. :p

BabyJoanneXin

I tried to booked 9mths ahead but they say it's too early. Some JP allow us to softbook till nearer the date (like 4-5 mths before wedding day) then confirm.
haha.. since its oct 2018.. now book like a bit too kiasu.. i guess no JP will entertain me also.. hehehex

Chl0e_89

I am a March 2018 BTB. We are planning to have a banquet lunch at Grand Hyatt. We have done our prewed shoot and booked/paid for the banquet.

I am a little lost and clueless now about the bridal studio. Could anyone please share with me the rough cost for 1 WG, 1 evening dress and 1 kua? I have emailed several of the well known bridal studios out there, and the quote was >2.5K for 2 dresses and 1 kua.

Plan to go down to Digio and Gown Warehouse to try and inquire about their packages....Hope to receive some advice from other BTB! :)

TIA!

hxtj

I am a March 2018 BTB. We are planning to have a banquet lunch at Grand Hyatt. We have done our prewed shoot and booked/paid for the banquet.

I am a little lost and clueless now about the bridal studio. Could anyone please share with me the rough cost for 1 WG, 1 evening dress and 1 kua? I have emailed several of the well known bridal studios out there, and the quote was >2.5K for 2 dresses and 1 kua.

Plan to go down to Digio and Gown Warehouse to try and inquire about their packages....Hope to receive some advice from other BTB! :)

TIA!

You can try french wedding if you want!

sylim.bride

I'm a 2018 bride too!

:( but... having accommodation problem as we are waiting for our house to be ready few years later. My parents are willing to let us live in the house for the time being but... His parents stated that an chuang must be done in his house. I don't like that fact that after an chuang, we have to dismantle the bed and transport to my house. I feel it is so inauspicious but I don't know what else to do.

Could any one of you advise me?

Yi En

I am a 2018 BTB. Started looking for venue since May 18 when a lot of them still had my preferred date available but now suddenly find myself limited to few choices -.- Didn't think 2 mths will make a difference. Signed up with La Belle for the bridal package.

lwzc88

TIA!

Think prices are around there. I'm renting 3 gowns too, cost around 3k! Signed with LaBelle

Hello kytheon, Jen.C and Jessie.Y, really appreciate that you girls bothered to reply my noob questions, I have learnt a lot! :)

Jen.C: We decided to engage master long too! He mentioned that he will meet us after he is done with the calculations, and the queue is 2 months long. Any idea if he will confirm the meeting date upfront (it has been about 2 weeks since I sent him my details) or 2 months later?

Going to have our first visit to a hotel later, really excited to see the ballrooms and even the wedding favours haha! :) However, our dates are not ready yet so we won't be able to confirm anything yet.

Also, we visited a bridal boutique along Tj Pagar one or two weeks back, it was not a good experience and I felt sooo tired after leaving the shop. It was a guy who served us, and I didn't get to look at any gowns in the 2 hours we were there but tried to hardsell us. He said that since our wedding is in 2018, no point looking at the current gowns available. (Many colleagues told me the main point of visiting bridal boutiques is to select gowns that we like...) We also asked for their available packages since we are unsure of what we need/want, and he nagged at us for asking for packages and branded the shop as a non-package shop that cater to the new generation's customised needs. And after all the nagging, he has a package that costs $10k. This was how I felt then ---> -__-. Wondering if other Tj Pagat shops are like that too? :p

Togepi

Hi Topegi, able to share your package with me? Most likely will go with them. Thanks in advance!
Hi Yi En! Sure, i'll PM you. Please share with me your package from La Belle too.. I'm starting to look at bridal packages. =)

Togepi

Hi babes, did anybody signed up with Rico-O-Mona recently? Can you share your package details with me? Thanks!

Jen.C

Hello kytheon, Jen.C and Jessie.Y, really appreciate that you girls bothered to reply my noob questions, I have learnt a lot! :)

Jen.C: We decided to engage master long too! He mentioned that he will meet us after he is done with the calculations, and the queue is 2 months long. Any idea if he will confirm the meeting date upfront (it has been about 2 weeks since I sent him my details) or 2 months later?

Going to have our first visit to a hotel later, really excited to see the ballrooms and even the wedding favours haha! :) However, our dates are not ready yet so we won't be able to confirm anything yet.

Also, we visited a bridal boutique along Tj Pagar one or two weeks back, it was not a good experience and I felt sooo tired after leaving the shop. It was a guy who served us, and I didn't get to look at any gowns in the 2 hours we were there but tried to hardsell us. He said that since our wedding is in 2018, no point looking at the current gowns available. (Many colleagues told me the main point of visiting bridal boutiques is to select gowns that we like...) We also asked for their available packages since we are unsure of what we need/want, and he nagged at us for asking for packages and branded the shop as a non-package shop that cater to the new generation's customised needs. And after all the nagging, he has a package that costs $10k. This was how I felt then ---> -__-. Wondering if other Tj Pagat shops are like that too? :p
Hihi! Long shi fu did not take long to confirm a date to meet me. I sent him my fiancé and my details then the following day, he told us that he is done calculating and set a date about 7 weeks away from the day he said was done. Maybe you can drop a text and ask if he has received your text? :)

Ahh ok! It has been 12 days since I sent my details.. Whatsapp-ed him 2 days back and SMS-ed him this afternoon and I did not get any reply >< Think I might need to give him a call in a few days.. How do you usually contact him? Text or call?

kytheon

Ahh ok! It has been 12 days since I sent my details.. Whatsapp-ed him 2 days back and SMS-ed him this afternoon and I did not get any reply >< Think I might need to give him a call in a few days.. How do you usually contact him? Text or call?

Just my thoughts, i find that there are other alternatives for the dates calculation. You may want to visit your own religious leaders for advice. As my family are taoism (pray to the deities) we went to a temple (parents frequent the temple) and got the head monk to advice our dates. They even adviced us on other things like what-to-do-before-opening-bto-door, guo da li dates and what to dos etc etc. and a small donation was given to the temple.

Some of my other friends did the same too, hence i took their advice and went to a temple instead of approaching the masters. The advice from the temple was so clear, i now know exactly what i am suppose to prepare and do.

Just my two cent thoughts :)

walkwithme

Hello BTBs,

Hi! I booked with Marina Mandarin for March 2018

haha here are my inputs

I chose the cheapest option that can satisfy my in-laws. Given a choice I would have been happy with Ban Heng, Peony Jade, SAFRA, Temasek club etc. but anyway MM dinner seemed quite value for money (it's the same price as my friend's GWP lunch).

I believe so....personally that's not impt for me.

Guess it depends on your coordinator....

I checked with my coordinator before signing - she said we can use the extra $ to buy alcohol or top up menu

Didn't attend - we compared prices online/via email then decided on MM. Went down to see MM before agreeing on the package

We went to look at other hotels around the marina area (PP, Conrad etc) just to kaypoh.

The contract should include use of AV equipment

for us it was a straight yes/no

Just my thoughts, i find that there are other alternatives for the dates calculation. You may want to visit your own religious leaders for advice. As my family are taoism (pray to the deities) we went to a temple (parents frequent the temple) and got the head monk to advice our dates. They even adviced us on other things like what-to-do-before-opening-bto-door, guo da li dates and what to dos etc etc. and a small donation was given to the temple.

Some of my other friends did the same too, hence i took their advice and went to a temple instead of approaching the masters. The advice from the temple was so clear, i now know exactly what i am suppose to prepare and do.

Just my two cent thoughts :)

hi kytheon, appreciate your time to share! I am a freethinker so I didn't think of that previously!

btw, the FSM has got back to us and set up a meeting date 2 months later. however, i know of another couple who approached him a week after we did, and their appointment date is one day before mine. quite sian now :(

Hi! I booked with Marina Mandarin for March 2018

haha here are my inputs

I chose the cheapest option that can satisfy my in-laws. Given a choice I would have been happy with Ban Heng, Peony Jade, SAFRA, Temasek club etc. but anyway MM dinner seemed quite value for money (it's the same price as my friend's GWP lunch).

I believe so....personally that's not impt for me.

Guess it depends on your coordinator....

I checked with my coordinator before signing - she said we can use the extra $ to buy alcohol or top up menu

Didn't attend - we compared prices online/via email then decided on MM. Went down to see MM before agreeing on the package

We went to look at other hotels around the marina area (PP, Conrad etc) just to kaypoh.

The contract should include use of AV equipment

for us it was a straight yes/no

hi walkwithme, thank you for sharing! wow you are very decisive, visiting MM only and deciding on them! I am just really lost right now although I compared prices online, kept thinking that there will be unwritten perks that I have to personally nego for, so quite difficult to compare online..

Juneohzn

I'm a 2018 bride too!

:( but... having accommodation problem as we are waiting for our house to be ready few years later. My parents are willing to let us live in the house for the time being but... His parents stated that an chuang must be done in his house. I don't like that fact that after an chuang, we have to dismantle the bed and transport to my house. I feel it is so inauspicious but I don't know what else to do.

Could any one of you advise me?

Hi Sylim,

I'm also deep in thought about an chuang issues now. Similarly my BTO will only be ready about a year after our customary wedding. 2 options I have so far, 1 is an chuang at my BF place and then bring it over to our new house when it's ready. 2 is just get a cheap mattress for the purpose of an Chuang and then get a new bed everything for new house.

After reading your comment, I do also feel inauspicious about removing the new bed from my BF current house but this auntie selling bed kind of convinced me that it does not really matter. Because a lot of ppl move house and nothing happened too.

For the 2nd option, it seems to be more cost effective as I do not have to engage a mover to shift the bed.

Let me know your thoughts as I'm also unsure what to do.

Thank!

auntylala

Wondering if anyone has attended or going to hold your AD at any of these venues below. Will you be kind to share any feedback or recommendation on which is the better choice? Or can anyone share your negotiated packages with me?

I have tried to email Faber Peak and Fullerton, and realised that they just purely sent me their PDF price lists which can be found on their websites too. Since they have upcoming showcases of their venues, we were encouraged to drop by for discussion. However I'm afraid that once we drop by, we may end up signing with the first venue due to those sales talk etc.

- Faber peak
- Sofitel Sentosa
- One degree 15 Marina
- Fullerton
- Fairmont

My HTB and I are looking at an intimate wedding lunch with just my side of relatives and friends with his immediate family. Likely 10 tables wedding luncheon is what we looking at.

I'm having wedding lunch at Fairmont on 23 Dec 2017. :)

auntylala

Hi Sylim,

I'm also deep in thought about an chuang issues now. Similarly my BTO will only be ready about a year after our customary wedding. 2 options I have so far, 1 is an chuang at my BF place and then bring it over to our new house when it's ready. 2 is just get a cheap mattress for the purpose of an Chuang and then get a new bed everything for new house.

After reading your comment, I do also feel inauspicious about removing the new bed from my BF current house but this auntie selling bed kind of convinced me that it does not really matter. Because a lot of ppl move house and nothing happened too.

For the 2nd option, it seems to be more cost effective as I do not have to engage a mover to shift the bed.

Thank!

Im going to an the chuang at my htb's house while waiting for my flat to be ready. Most of my friend bought new bed for their new house but i'm quite budget lah so i'm going to move the ang chuang to my new house. Thinking this bed has been "blessed" before should be okay. hahaha

auntylala

Recently, i tried calling Master long a few time but no pick up as well. So, i guess im not the only can't get in touch with him.

sylim.bride

Hi Sylim,

Thank!

(,") actually, you are right. In fact, people move houses and nth inauspicious happened.

My colleagues actually suggested to have the new bed frame to be placed in my current house (bec that's where we are gg to sleep most of the days, we are only gg back to my HTB place on weekends) while the bed frame in my HTB house is as a spare. So after an chuang at my HTB's place, we will only move the mattress and not the whole bed to my current place.

Not sure if that's a good idea...

sylim.bride

Im going to an the chuang at my htb's house while waiting for my flat to be ready. Most of my friend bought new bed for their new house but i'm quite budget lah so i'm going to move the ang chuang to my new house. Thinking this bed has been "blessed" before should be okay. hahaha

Hehe yes. Esp when people always say that the bed will blessed us with good marriage and offspring! Hehe.

ddoves

Recently, i tried calling Master long a few time but no pick up as well. So, i guess im not the only can't get in touch with him.

My HTB manage to contact Master Long about a week ago for him to get our date calculated. The waiting time for the dates was 2 months, now we're just patiently waiting while looking for my AD gown.

auntylala

My HTB manage to contact Master Long about a week ago for him to get our date calculated. The waiting time for the dates was 2 months, now we're just patiently waiting while looking for my AD gown.
Actually i have already met up with him before which was a year ago, so i forgot about the advice which he has given. Since he is the shifu i went to take the auspicious date for my wedding. i thought of calling him back to ask some of the question. Maybe he dont answer anymore question after meet up with him. :( Better ask and write down all the advice he has said when meet up with him.

happypotato

Actually i have already met up with him before which was a year ago, so i forgot about the advice which he has given. Since he is the shifu i went to take the auspicious date for my wedding. i thought of calling him back to ask some of the question. Maybe he dont answer anymore question after meet up with him. :( Better ask and write down all the advice he has said when meet up with him.
Long shifu said we can still call him if we ever forget or have any issues. Because he understand it was too much to take in for us during the consultation session. Maybe you wanna try calling him to ask? :)

ddoves

Alright. Thanks for the advice! Will take note to ask during the meet up. Was the "report" he gave very detailed? I understand that he will provide the dates for guo da li, an chuang and so on. But does he also tell us what time to do so?

auntylala

Alright. Thanks for the advice! Will take note to ask during the meet up. Was the "report" he gave very detailed? I understand that he will provide the dates for guo da li, an chuang and so on. But does he also tell us what time to do so?
Hi @ddoves , there will be a booklet given. In fact, i think the information given on guo da li and an chuang are the same for all couples because i did google before and saw the instruction given are the same. The only difference i think will be the timing... i guess he will advise you what are the best time range to do all these...

auntylala

Long shifu said we can still call him if we ever forget or have any issues. Because he understand it was too much to take in for us during the consultation session. Maybe you wanna try calling him to ask? :)
sigh... i just called him... no one pick up. Btw, do you know if we should lit the 龙凤烛 before my mother cover the veil or cover the veil after lighting the candle?

Jessie.Y

Hi all BTBs, i needed some advice on my current situation. As you all know, we're all gonna be wed in 2018, but for my case, i will be praying to gods and offering tea only to parents early this Oct first as its the auspicious date calculated by our shifu. We'll only offer tea to elders and relatives in 2018 on the banquet day. So technically speaking, my wedding day is actually Oct this year as i am married to my husband in the eyes of gods though we hold the banquet only next year. Here comes the problem. My brother so coincidentally has to be enlisted on the same date on my wedding day, and my mum finds it hard not to send my brother off and be there for him on his enlistment day. Hence, my parents actually decided that they will split, my dad will accompany me on my wedding day while my mum will be accompanying my brother. If thats the case, my mum will miss the tea ceremony and the praying procedure. We'll re offer the tea to her when she is back from camp. We did checked with the shifu and he said that both parents must be around for the tea ceremony. However, my mum told me that we can be "flexible" for the tradition. Deep down in my heart i find it totally hard and inauspicious to only offer tea to 1 parent during the actual tea ceremony, and re offer it to my mum at a later timing. But what else can i do? My mum is adamant to sending my brother off and told me that this is the best "win-win solution for all". Please advise. Sighs.

Juneohzn

Hi all BTBs, i needed some advice on my current situation. As you all know, we're all gonna be wed in 2018, but for my case, i will be praying to gods and offering tea only to parents early this Oct first as its the auspicious date calculated by our shifu. We'll only offer tea to elders and relatives in 2018 on the banquet day. So technically speaking, my wedding day is actually Oct this year as i am married to my husband in the eyes of gods though we hold the banquet only next year. Here comes the problem. My brother so coincidentally has to be enlisted on the same date on my wedding day, and my mum finds it hard not to send my brother off and be there for him on his enlistment day. Hence, my parents actually decided that they will split, my dad will accompany me on my wedding day while my mum will be accompanying my brother. If thats the case, my mum will miss the tea ceremony and the praying procedure. We'll re offer the tea to her when she is back from camp. We did checked with the shifu and he said that both parents must be around for the tea ceremony. However, my mum told me that we can be "flexible" for the tradition. Deep down in my heart i find it totally hard and inauspicious to only offer tea to 1 parent during the actual tea ceremony, and re offer it to my mum at a later timing. But what else can i do? My mum is adamant to sending my brother off and told me that this is the best "win-win solution for all". Please advise. Sighs.

huh..... Possible to arrange the tea ceremoney to a time when your mom is back from sending your brother?

Juneohzn

(,") actually, you are right. In fact, people move houses and nth inauspicious happened.

My colleagues actually suggested to have the new bed frame to be placed in my current house (bec that's where we are gg to sleep most of the days, we are only gg back to my HTB place on weekends) while the bed frame in my HTB house is as a spare. So after an chuang at my HTB's place, we will only move the mattress and not the whole bed to my current place.

Not sure if that's a good idea...

Hmm.. meaning to say new bed frame to be placed at your current house while the mattress placed at ur HTB place. An Chuang also at your HTB place. then after an chuang u straight away move the bed to ur current place? haha

Juneohzn

Likely that will be what i'll be doing too...

sylim.bride

Hmm.. meaning to say new bed frame to be placed at your current house while the mattress placed at ur HTB place. An Chuang also at your HTB place. then after an chuang u straight away move the bed to ur current place? haha

Haha. Still thinking thinking~

sylim.bride

Jessie.Y, have you booked your banquet venue?

If yes, could your brother call CMPB and ask for advices?

If no, then it's flexible as you could look at other auspicious dates for banquet before the enlistment day...

Snowbellwee

Hi all, I'm a Dec BTB. Taking my pre-wedding photoshoot in new zealand in June. Can anybody advice how cold is winter in June? Any tips to keep warm during the photoshoot but still look pretty? :p

Jessie.Y

huh..... Possible to arrange the tea ceremoney to a time when your mom is back from sending your brother?

Hi, that was the plan my mum suggested, but i find it inauspicious and and defeat the purpose of a tea ceremony to re offer tea to my mum after the whole ceremony ended. More of like a "do-for-the-sake-of-doing".

Jessie.Y

Jessie.Y, have you booked your banquet venue?

If yes, could your brother call CMPB and ask for advices?

If no, then it's flexible as you could look at other auspicious dates for banquet before the enlistment day...

Hi, yes banquet venue has been booked. Banquet will be held in 2018, but my praying of gods and tea ceremony will be done in October 2017 as that is the auspicious date calculated and i only have this particular date as the rest of the dates are considered less auspicious to me and my HTB.

I'm reckoning CMPB side might get tricky, afterall, my solemnization will only take place in 2018 together with the banquet, and hence no legal proof for my brother to postpone his enlistment date. He cant be requesting the change of enlistment date without giving concrete proof. Sighs.

ing1

Hi, that was the plan my mum suggested, but i find it inauspicious and and defeat the purpose of a tea ceremony to re offer tea to my mum after the whole ceremony ended. More of like a "do-for-the-sake-of-doing".
Why can't do Tea ceremony w dad and mom after mom comes back from the send off? U dun hv to do it separately w each parent then, so it's not "inauspicious".

Jessie.Y

Why can't do Tea ceremony w dad and mom after mom comes back from the send off? U dun hv to do it separately w each parent then, so it's not "inauspicious".

Hi, because there's specific timing as suggested by our shifu, and the groom family would prefer to heed the shifu's advice & instructions, afterall their family has been listening to this shifu for many years. Shifu said to offer tea to both parents else it will not be perfect and we're also unable to do the tea ceremony twice, its inauspicious. Like getting married twice kind of thing.

ing1

Hi, because there's specific timing as suggested by our shifu, and the groom family would prefer to heed the shifu's advice & instructions, afterall their family has been listening to this shifu for many years. Shifu said to offer tea to both parents else it will not be perfect and we're also unable to do the tea ceremony twice, its inauspicious. Like getting married twice kind of thing.
Oh, u meant there is an auspicious time for tea ceremony. Wow, I din noe that. Just curious hor, what the shifu's name?

Jessie.Y

Oh, u meant there is an auspicious time for tea ceremony. Wow, I din noe that. Just curious hor, what the shifu's name?

I am not sure if others had a specific timing for the tea ceremony & praying, but i do. I am not sure of the shifu's name actually, he's situated in Malaysia and we always address him as Shifu.