2017 brides

aralex

I haven decide on venue. Just emailed the banquet and get the package details. I think their package wouldn't change much, just price change. Maybe can go check out how the ballroom look like. Recee first lo.
If you don't intend to sign up and say want to go in take a look at ballroom, they allow you to do so?

miojojo

If you don't intend to sign up and say want to go in take a look at ballroom, they allow you to do so?

I guess you can express interest in visiting but don't say not intending to sign? See doesn't mean must sign with them ma hahaha. But you may want to shortlist based on budget first. Else there are too many hotels to visit.

Angela Tan88

Hi all, I am planning to hold my wedding in 2017. I am currently looking into a few venues (Carlton, Marriot Tang Plaza etc) and bridal shops (Louvre Bridal, MDW).
Any recommendations?

Alytsl88

For everyone that's considering 1 July 2017, I will like to share that I initially wanted that date and started sourcing a few months back. But because the date is easy to remember, and it's also 8th day of 6th month in the lunar calendar, it is really quite huat, and some places have already been booked. Either that, or some hotels will raise the minimum number of tables that are required to secure the ballroom, or if not less willing to extend perks to you because they are confident of selling that date to other couples. So unless you'd really want that date or aren't particular about the venues look and feel, or have a very comfortable budget, I will think it might be better to explore other dates that the hotels are willing to extend flexibility towards. oh and one last thing, there might be weddings that clash with yours, then the friends/relatives you invite might be torn as to which wedding to attend too. haha just my two cents worth :)

Alytsl88

I'm now having a few vendors to source for my wedding between Dec 16 - March 17 (still waiting for geomancer to provide me the date).

Live Band + Emcee
Rental Car for AD
Videographer for AD

Try Vetta Quartet, have done some corporate events with them. They're really good and professional.

lhxChloe

That's very fast! anyone has any idea what can be done for entertainment during the banquet?

Hahahaha still planning in progress thou. But at least most of it are settled, just left with confirming & booking of the stuff hehehe!!

Entertainment? I'm not too sure, probably a live band/magic show? But I'm not doing one.

Hi 2017 BTB, any of you know what is the cost for bridal packages without pre-wedding shoot? I'm planning to do an overseas prewed shoot with local freelance photographer so not sure whether it is worth it to take packages without prewed. TIA :)

JM89

Hi 2017 BTB, any of you know what is the cost for bridal packages without pre-wedding shoot? I'm planning to do an overseas prewed shoot with local freelance photographer so not sure whether it is worth it to take packages without prewed. TIA :)
I am also planning to do ala carte but have not start sourcing for gowns. Would there be packages for gowns only?

santajean

I always tell my friends who are getting married to be kiasu, because I booked 13 months in advance but my desire hotels all taken. My preferred make up artist also taken.

Yah! Cos we never know if the date you are given is a "hot date". In case preferred hotel or other vendors are taken. My FHB also said why need to plan so early. So his co-workers was like telling him off that this has to be done at least 1.5 yrs before. Then he move to get the planning go. LOL

crea

Oh shyt... just noticed there's a very nice ballroom from South Bridge Hotel opening next year. Btbs who have not book venue can consider :(

Hello!! An update... I met up with Master Long today and finally can start picking the date! He charges $120 :) agree with all of you that he is a fatherly figure.

Hahaha ! Still don't know what to ask leh :/ Can know what you ask him?
Haha i asked him:

1) if it is ok to have friends who are married as bridesmaid --no issue

2) wedding day need both parents to come the hair -- one will do, he laughed and said two comb tgt will be troublesome

3) whether the candles (long fung candles) need to put at the altar -- depends on our folks but not necessary, just place in living room, any table.

4) An chuan: need to put the fruits together as a couple at the four corners of the bed? -- no need

some of the Chinese custom you will learn more about it when you meet him :)

Muffinsaurs

I booked my church before the course. Just look for the church you want and make sure that the time slot and venue is available for you on your desired date and book it asap.
The father will ask for all the necessary documents to be presented to him before you can get marry in church. Give him all he need and the receipt of you booking the CEE course.
After the course, submit the original cert to the church.
Securing a slot in the church is very important, have to be kiasu and book early :)

Thanks for they advice honey! May I also check with you if you booked your own church? Cos I am eyeing at some good looking ones :x is it hard to get your pastor to move over to hold the ceremony?[/QUOTE]

Apparently the priest will advise you to book your parish church. But you can still try to visit and ask the church of your choice. They can book the date for you before your CEE or MPC. After you attend either one then provide the cert to confirm your booking. I'm guessing you are not Catholic? Before they confirm you must agree to the priest that your future kids will be raised as Catholics etc.

crea

Apparently the priest will advise you to book your parish church. But you can still try to visit and ask the church of your choice. They can book the date for you before your CEE or MPC. After you attend either one then provide the cert to confirm your booking. I'm guessing you are not Catholic? Before they confirm you must agree to the priest that your future kids will be raised as Catholics etc.

Ya lo, in the end booked my htb's parish church at holy trinity. Other churches don't accept booking unless we r from there..

Yup non cath~ previously friends of the same case also held there haha... at least book le now can have a peace of mind

nauhcis

Hi 2017 BTB,
we are planning to have our wedding nov/dec 2017.. haven started planning anything... saw a roadshow, vivi bride/taiwan yesterday.. anyone hear about them?

chiamchiam23

My preffered dates are around Oct/Nov 2017. Don't know if I start to find all the banquet and bridal etc is it too early? Don't know what shall I start to do too. Anyone can advise?

JM89

My preffered dates are around Oct/Nov 2017. Don't know if I start to find all the banquet and bridal etc is it too early? Don't know what shall I start to do too. Anyone can advise?
Mine is on May 2017 and I booked my banquet in July this year. I think the most important is to confirm your date and book your banquet as soon if u have a preferred venue.

ivy93

Mine is on Feb 2017. Its not too early to plan actually. 2016 is coming real soon so you can start to research and book already. Anyway, its good to book early to avoid your preferred date being taken up

chiamchiam23

Mine is on May 2017 and I booked my banquet in July this year. I think the most important is to confirm your date and book your banquet as soon if u have a preferred venue.

Thanks thanks. Any good bridals to recommend? Saw a few nice ones like Z, but heard that it's very costly too.

GellyMong

I'm going to look for one bridal shop at IMM.. double up. But I heard from some people their gowns are abit China style and old fashion. Anyone has any bridal shop in mind?

ivy93

I'm going to look for one bridal shop at IMM.. double up. But I heard from some people their gowns are abit China style and old fashion. Anyone has any bridal shop in mind?
I booked my bridal package with beautiful love. Affordable and the staff there are really friendly too.

Mine is end nov 2017 and I just started shortlisting the hotels and will be going for banquet site visits in jan 16 haha! I'm also thinking whether im starting it too early but my bto is coming in june 2017 so i thought since i have the time now, i should start researching :p