Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre

eiko

Yah.. The hotel very clever, but I believe that even though it's 7th month, some dates are still auspicious in that month. And also other ethics group may want to get married there! It's really good deal! And Crystal ballroom is really pretty too!

Using SingaporeBrides app

I think if I'm a non Chinese I will defnitely book it durin 7th month! Is it 500++ for dinner too?

hidamari

anybody took lunch for Holiday inn ? Its only 7 course meal. will the guest feel shortchange for just 7 course? usually is 8 course .

Wedding Planner

A wedding dinner is not a business or commercial transaction. If guests choose to view it as a commercial transaction, they will definitely feel 'short-change' even if it's a 9 course dinner. Imagine paying $120 per person for a 9 course dinner just for a mouthful per dish. 1 slice of roast pork, 1 slice of duck... 1 bowl of noodles, 1 piece of fish.
Hence there is no need to worry about guest feeling short change. Only narrow minded people will view a wedding dinner as a transaction.

Ladyj

A wedding dinner is not a business or commercial transaction. If guests choose to view it as a commercial transaction, they will definitely feel 'short-change' even if it's a 9 course dinner. Imagine paying $120 per person for a 9 course dinner just for a mouthful per dish. 1 slice of roast pork, 1 slice of duck... 1 bowl of noodles, 1 piece of fish.
Hence there is no need to worry about guest feeling short change. Only narrow minded people will view a wedding dinner as a transaction.

Well said Wedding Planner, but it's a pity that most guests are viewing them as a paid-for-dinner kind of occasion and even couples are using their wedding to 'earn' money. I just came from a colleague's wedding and all she's talking about is how she's not earning money and cant believe her frens are just giving XX amount. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

I'm a proud HIOCC BTB, so even when i received comments from people like "OH, holiday inn? Cheap lah!" - when i told them my hotel, i try to ignore them. Honestly, it's close to 1.3K per table and i'm not sure their definition of cheap is what but to me, as long as i can afford it and i like the service there, i'm not very bothered. So @hidamari, people who genuinely wanna give you their blessings, they wont even think about course meal or whatsoever. It's not so easy i know....but, it's your wedding! Have fun planning yeah~

Ladyj

Ladyj, what was the factor that made you decide to sign up? Can share with us?
Eiko, sure. Very simple factors actually.

1. Patience. i could ask the most ridiculous questions and asked to see the ballroom + bridal suite umpteen times but the coordinator was very nice and obliged w/o showing me any nasty faces or actions that indicated impatient.
2. Timely response. Emails queries and smses were responded and replied within a few hours - great.
3. Price. This wasnt the cheapest hotel (more ex than CP) but it was reasonable. The hotel facade may not look awesome if you compared to other town hotels, neither does the name (like holiday INN...) sounds appealing but price versus what they offered was good enough for me to nod head.
4. Venue. It's right smack in between 2 mrts lines and right in town. What's not to love?

;)

Scholes

I just signed up a wedding banquet at Holiday Inn, Orchard.

Anyone can share his/her experience and is there anything I need to take note of?

How is the food?

eiko

Thanks to Ladyj's review I signed up too! Not too sure about the food but the ballroom is awesome and yes its near the MRT station!

Ladyj

Thanks to Ladyj's review I signed up too! Not too sure about the food but the ballroom is awesome and yes its near the MRT station!
Haha...dont make me stress leh...but i signed up after various reviews which i read it here too.

My frens who attended the wedding at HIOCC mentioned that the food was not too bad - ok for me lah! as long as they didnt say it's bad! lol.

congrats again yeah! Who's your coordinator btw?

Crystal12

I just went to Holiday Inn to take a look... and fell in love with the Crystal Ballroom. I'm very tempted to sign up.
My coordinator is Vasanthi.

Any more recent food reviews about the place?

Ladyj

I just went to Holiday Inn to take a look... and fell in love with the Crystal Ballroom. I'm very tempted to sign up.
My coordinator is Vasanthi.

Any more recent food reviews about the place?

Oh Vasanthi! She's very nice! hehe...

I dont know about the food reviews, but whenever I tell my frens about my hotel for wedding this year, their replies were quite unison: "Oh! The food not bad!". That's about it...at least it's a positive reply. Haha..

eiko

Haha Ladyj don't be stressed! I signed up after various reviews, and after we went to the wedding workshops, I'm not sure about the food reviews though, none of my friends attended weddings there before, only 1 acquaintance and he said the food's not nice :( oh wells, we can't please everyone right?

Crystal12

I signed up too. Had the $88 off each table so it costed only $700NETT per table. Quite a good deal i think. I went to many hotels, but none could quite beat the perks that Holiday Inn Orchard offered.

eiko

I signed up too. Had the $88 off each table so it costed only $700NETT per table. Quite a good deal i think. I went to many hotels, but none could quite beat the perks that Holiday Inn Orchard offered.
Oh when is your wedding? This promo is fantastic! What other perks they offered?

Crystal12

The perks (Wedding Lunch):
1. Enjoy $88 off per table for any wedding packages.
2. One hour usage of Photo Booth with unlimited prints
3. Two types of canapes during cocktail reception
4. Complementary use of function room for solemization
5. Room service credit of $88 NETT usage during your stay
6. Waiver of corkage for all hard liquor and wines brought in
7. Complementary food tasting for up to 10 persons.

*Offers are valid for new bookings made between 20 Jan - 6 Feb 2015

Haha Ladyj don't be stressed! I signed up after various reviews, and after we went to the wedding workshops, I'm not sure about the food reviews though, none of my friends attended weddings there before, only 1 acquaintance and he said the food's not nice :( oh wells, we can't please everyone right?
I have signed up w Holiday Inn Orchard for the Crystal Ballroom in early Jan during the BOWS fair. I must say their perks are the best. I didnt to enj $88 off each table as they were offering age of bride + groom off each table. Nett each table is $1,235. Flow flow beer & wine. An hr free photo booth, 2 nights free stay, free dancing foor & many more. Reviews about food fr my sis & friends are not too bad.

eiko

I have signed up w Holiday Inn Orchard for the Crystal Ballroom in early Jan during the BOWS fair. I must say their perks are the best. I didnt to enj $88 off each table as they were offering age of bride + groom off each table. Nett each table is $1,235. Flow flow beer & wine. An hr free photo booth, 2 nights free stay, free dancing foor & many more. Reviews about food fr my sis & friends are not too bad.

WOW u get 2 nights free stay! You booked dinner?

dlsy

seem like alot of good review on holiday inn orchard. I am considering to sign up with them. Anyone to share the perks ? Mine will be on a sunday dinner. Current perks they gave is free flow of wines/beers, 1hr photobooth with unlimited prints, free printing of invitation cards, 1 night stay in bridal suite and helper room. I am actually hoping they can extend one more night stay in bridal suite hehe overall their price is reasonable.

Hey babe, on top on what u mentioned, i have got free 2nd night free. Tats base on committed no. of tables for bigger ballroom crystal ballroom.

dlsy

Hi Terence Yong, Thanks for sharing. Seem like Holiday Inn Orchard do provide a good package. I will try to nego for 2nd night stay in bridal suite hehe and consider to sign them up

Yes. Fioeve here (using shared HTB account w Terence Yong) finds Holiday Day Inn Orchard offering the best peaks after i compared with hotels like M Hotel, Orchard Hotel, Novetel, Amara, York Hotel etc. I had a more hotel that I wanted to explore bt stopped at Holiday Inn cos the peaks are really good. And because I signed up during fair, I have baby shower voucher to be used in the hotel.

Hey Eiko, dun be discouraged. I signed up during BOWS held in Jan 2015 . AD is 24Oct15. I sincerely wish u have a happy wedding planning & dun look.back to packages u hav committed. Jia u!! FIOEVE

All BTS, hotel no longer offer 2nd night stay free. Pls dun do not use my name & offer as a yardstick. As the package was signed under a different promo & case by case basis. Hope u all understand. Some of u used my name to talk to hotel & caused me alot of inconveniences. Without the 2nd night stay, the hotel still offer 1 of the best perks. Pls support them. Thanks.

kqd

hi all, im selling my wedding lunch banquet at holiday inn orchard on 19 dec 2015 for 25 tables. anyone keen please pm me for more information. Thanks!

Don't worry, I did not use your name and definitely will not encourage BTB to do so. Anyway I also do not want to stay so many nights. What I requested for was actually something different tat was rejected before I even met u. Jiayou for your wedding too!
Thanks Eiko. Definitely not referring to u. Actuali some BTBs used my Terence & my name just 2weeks ago. The hotel called us up & caused us discomfort & inconveniences.

eiko

Thanks Eiko. Definitely not referring to u. Actuali some BTBs used my Terence & my name just 2weeks ago. The hotel called us up & caused us discomfort & inconveniences.

That's terrible to hear! I can't believe the hotel actually called you. :( After all, this is a forum and people shouldn't use this kind of means to do these things. How's your wedding preps so far? Found your bridal studio?

The hotel is just telling me what is going on which I respect that.Yes, I have settled my BS, PG, VG. Just renovated my HTB room. Staying w his family for 2.5 yrs while waiting new BTO flat. Currently attending 8-weeks pre-marriage course. Going for my pre-wed shoot in May. Trying gown in June. Collection of wedding bands in June.Food testing in July/August. Already invited my colleagues & friends in Feb. Hopefully can settle guest list & table arrangement in Sep. Guo da li in & AD cum church wedding in Oct. Hows urs?

eiko

The hotel is just telling me what is going on which I respect that.Yes, I have settled my BS, PG, VG. Just renovated my HTB room. Staying w his family for 2.5 yrs while waiting new BTO flat. Currently attending 8-weeks pre-marriage course. Going for my pre-wed shoot in May. Trying gown in June. Collection of wedding bands in June.Food testing in July/August. Already invited my colleagues & friends in Feb. Hopefully can settle guest list & table arrangement in Sep. Guo da li in & AD cum church wedding in Oct. Hows urs?

We've taken our pre wed shoot, selecting photos soon, choosing AD gowns in May, giving out invites in May too, food tasting in Jun, wedding before NDP. Hope the food is good for food tasting.

Oh wow, looks thgs all planned out. Jia u jia u! Our hotel does not have negative food reviews. Cant find online & fr word of mouth. Shld be fine.

Dear peep.. I really had a bad experience with Holiday Inn Orchard City. Mainly the coordinator .. I've read lots of good reviews here too but maybe just unlucky.. Wanted to change coordinator but we gave her a chance and regretted .. Shld have change from the start. So my advice is, if you are not comfortable with the coordinator, you can request to change. Dun stick with one till the last min cos too late to change by then. I will be too rush to get to know n discuss all over again.

Natsumer

Dear peep.. I really had a bad experience with Holiday Inn Orchard City. Mainly the coordinator .. I've read lots of good reviews here too but maybe just unlucky.. Wanted to change coordinator but we gave her a chance and regretted .. Shld have change from the start. So my advice is, if you are not comfortable with the coordinator, you can request to change. Dun stick with one till the last min cos too late to change by then. I will be too rush to get to know n discuss all over again.
Care to share what happen?

Crystal12

What happened? Who was your coordinator?
Do share so that we can take note if possible.

My coordinator is Gerryan Chia. It's a long story. Basically follow up was lousy, late on every meet up, arrangement wasn't made even day before my wedding. I've to chase her for every single details from contract to floor plan to room rates to planning. No proper handover to operation manager, did not even bother to meet up together, simply drop me a text to contact the operation manager myself, no show on my wedding day or after to check if everything turns out well.

And sad to even say, 3 days before my wedding she even mix up our meeting time which I've to wait for 3 hours.

I've read many good review here, maybe I'm just unlucky to be attended by her. Reallt left an unpleasant experience on my once a life time event.

But the operation manager Sufian was great, attentive and helpful. Not as smooth on the day of my banquet but to be fair to him, there is no proper walk through, and I can see that he is doing his best on little little details that hope to make my event better..

What happened? Who was your coordinator?
Do share so that we can take note if possible.

My friend help his wedding at the same place but diff coordinator, an Indian lady. She was great and even offer to let my friend check in one day earlier (evening time) so that they do not need to rush .. Also planning and handover was done professionally.. I would suggest that if you r considering this venue.. Look for the Indian coordinator .. Saw someone post her name in the earlier thread. Need to check

eiko

My coordinator is Gerryan Chia. It's a long story. Basically follow up was lousy, late on every meet up, arrangement wasn't made even day before my wedding. I've to chase her for every single details from contract to floor plan to room rates to planning. No proper handover to operation manager, did not even bother to meet up together, simply drop me a text to contact the operation manager myself, no show on my wedding day or after to check if everything turns out well.

And sad to even say, 3 days before my wedding she even mix up our meeting time which I've to wait for 3 hours.

I've read many good review here, maybe I'm just unlucky to be attended by her. Reallt left an unpleasant experience on my once a life time event.

But the operation manager Sufian was great, attentive and helpful. Not as smooth on the day of my banquet but to be fair to him, there is no proper walk through, and I can see that he is doing his best on little little details that hope to make my event better..

Is Gerryan a new coordinator?

My banquet manager is Wai Ling, hope things turn out fine. How's the food?

Is Gerryan a new coordinator?

My banquet manager is Wai Ling, hope things turn out fine. How's the food?

I dun think she is new, she even arranged the floor plan wrongly. It's my mistake that I did not check beforehand. Only on the way itself my sisters realized it and tell the operation manager n they rearrange the name number. Food was alright, no complain from my guest but the soft drinks no gas. The server did not ask around if anyone wana drink wine. I ended up with more than 80% of red wine untouch.

Futunoe

Hi, I am pretty surprise with the comments. I had my wedding two weeks ago and everything went on very well. Initially, I signed up the wedding banquet with another sales person at a wedding show and I was introduced to Gerrayn who is the wedding planner for my big day. At that point, I was pretty worried as I was already comfortable with the initial sales person but however after speaking to her and from the way that she has responded to me was prompt and friendly. She is not only a wedding planner but the way she portray herself, she is friendly and provide me some good advice for my customary and wedding dinner. Coincidentally, I had a friend whom wed at holiday inn last year December has shared the same way as I do.

I dun think she is new, she even arranged the floor plan wrongly. It's my mistake that I did not check beforehand. Only on the way itself my sisters realized it and tell the operation manager n they rearrange the name number. Food was alright, no complain from my guest but the soft drinks no gas. The server did not ask around if anyone wana drink wine. I ended up with more than 80% of red wine untouch.
Hi, I am pretty surprise with the comments. I had my wedding two weeks ago and everything went on very well. Initially, I signed up the wedding banquet with another sales person at a wedding show and I was introduced to Gerrayn who is the wedding planner for my big day. At that point, I was pretty worried as I was already comfortable with the initial sales person but however after speaking to her and from the way that she has responded to me was prompt and friendly. She is not only a wedding planner but the way she portray herself, she is friendly and provide me some good advice for my customary and wedding dinner. Coincidentally, I had a friend whom wed at holiday inn last year December has shared the same way as I do.

Well I can just count myself unlucky. Perhaps she was way too busy to handle few event at one go, I also had my wedding 2 weeks ago. What happened already happened can't turn back but indeed it has caused an unpleasant experience for me and it's a once a life time event. Was pretty upset and disappointed how it turn out to be. That's y all btb must feel comfortable with the coordinator right from the start, if the feeling is wrong you have your rights to ask for a change. Eventually its your event, your big day.

hi all, i decide to let go of my dinner bqt on 18 oct 2015 (sunday) at the crystal ballroom ,min 25 tbls only.

pkg prices are pretty attractive becos i managed to get additional huge discount.

deposit made was only $3500 instead of $5000... real gd deal !!

please contact me @ 84996947. tks!

i hv a dinner bqt at holiday inn orchard to let go for free.. attractive rates and additional bonus discount off the total bill. you can choose from 4 types of lightings to customize your atmosphere.min tbl : 25

pls contact me @ 84996947