Yvonne Creative

• Thread starter Thread starter sok leng
  • Start date Start date
hi josl.. i see.. i have not check out any of the printers yet.. i will check it out soon..

hi mehmeh & josl,

i went to choose photos just now. was very excited as so you guys know but now i am slightly disturbed. ok i shortlisted 38. keno said that the ablum is standard 15 pages so by right can only put 30 photos. then i was also told that i need to pay extra $400 for design. cos i have 38 so of cos need to have some designs here & there lor. i find that freaking ex. that is equivalent to choosing 6 photos leh! this to me is hidden cost cos i wasnt told of initially and thus did not budget for it. how? i need to verify with you all.

Hi minssy,
not that sure abt the top up for design, mehmeh will be better coz she paid extra for design.Mine is mag style...u add 6 pixs can do mag style liao ar...

did u have a tough time shortlisting the pixs??So how now, did u give the go ahead or on hold currently?

hi josl,

yah mag style need 45 rite? so that means u dun have to pay that extra $400 for the so called design?

a.. we used 2 1/2 hrs or so. out of the 100+, we had a round 2 and that were 67. (it was relatively easy cos those that have either one of us not looking right then we immediately fail it).

then at round 3, we chose 38. it was a little tough for me to cut to 35 (which was my ideal) cos there were some single shots of me and i feel that i am pretty! ahahahhah!

then its a super pity keno only took 4 pathetic shots of my FH in his black suit. sigh

i put on hold first cos i dun feel comfortable having to pay extra $400 for the design. i find that ex leh. if $200 i dun mind. but just now i forget to negotiate lah! probably too shocked by this $400.

Hi Minssy,
yup, 45 and no need to top up for 'design'...
i think the whole album abt half is all my single shots then the other 1/4 is hubby and the rest is couple shots...

Gotta wait for meh meh for the details liao...

If dun have design means juz a pixs thats all ar?

Helloooo meh meh,
come help help our Minssy here...calling once...

hi josl
aaa... i haven't got my invitation card from the hotel.. i schedule for the cards to be ready by end of this month.. do we have to go to the printers many times ah? cos my hubby working shift.. hard to have time to go together..

hi josl,

yah..if no design then all full page lor. i think keno did say that if i dun top up the $400, then i cant choose the ablum cover?

hi clouds,

end of the mth!? too late lah dear. u need to give yourself time in case of printing errors or whatever. unless u already confirm which printer you wanna use, then u may not need to go many times.. 2 of 3 times shd be ok already.

Hi cheery,

My MBR not very big so can't take pic of the WIW and the bed together... so u can't see loh. My hood is delizia and hob is ariston.

As for my album, the layout won't be out so soon, maybe Aug 20+. Maybe need to ask them to expedite cos I want to get the raw pic for my cards lei.

Hi minssy,

What do u mean by std 15 pages? I've not heard of that either lei..

hi littlelamb,

the standard black color album has 15 pieces or pages only lor. so it can contain 30 photos. so i chose 38 pics now and if i wan all full page photos, i need 19 pages. then they have to custom make for me.

btw for your raw pics, u shd be able to get them to return to you first since u gonna do your cards...

Hi minssy,

Hmmm... this is something new to me too... so if they custom make do u need to add $$?

I thougt i could collect the raw pic together when i see the layout but now think of it, might be too late then.

Hi mehmeh,

thks for ur mail... ur church invites is nice ...

hi minssy,

wah... so x $400 ... why not u talk to Yvonne n see wat she say .... or instead of 38 ... make it 45 to do mag ... isn't is more worth it ???

hi little lamb,

then quickly get them to give you the raw pics first....

hi cherry,

yah lor! its ex!

ok i have 8 extra now so i will need to pay $520 ($65 x 8). if its like you say i top up to 45 pieces, then i will need pay extra $455 ($65 x 7) on top of $520. wah so total is $975 ah!! faint! so its like instead of paying $400 for the blady design fee, i might as well top up for mag style and get the free design izzit?

aiyah mehmeh is not here yet else i can check with her on how much the design fee is.

Hi clouds,
go down twice,once to settle on the layout and the rest they will fax u and 2nd time to collect the printed cards.

Hi Minssy,
if i am not wrong meh meh paid $350 for her design.*i went to check the previous posts* heehee

Hi gers,

Sorry ah, today not feeling well. On MC again.. Sighs

Hi Minssy,

I read ur posting last night, but wanted to be sure of things before replying.
My album has 17 pieces/ 34 pages (counted just now) & I don't think I paid $400 leh. More like what josl's mentioned (very gd PI work). FH & I can't rem tt amount at all..

Also, like what Cheery has suggested, u might as well top-up to do magazine rite? I managed to stick so closely & tightly to the budget of $4k for the entire package, tt I gave up 3 pix.

U want to check again?? Btw, I didn't get to choose the album cover too, I took the black & horizontally-textured album

Shots of FH also very few, so when choosing couple pix, selected more of those shots which had a frontal view of him at least. For my album, it consists, mainly couple shots. Coz I felt it shd be about 2 of us, no emphasis shd be placed on the bride, though conventionally it is so

Harlow josl,

U call me at 1am? Alamak, I koon oredi! Anyway very gd PI work huh? heehee..

HiHi Littlelamb,

See if u can get the soft-copy of the raw photos 1st. I cld get the touched-up one, coz my PS was half year ahead of AD, so when viewing & doing up album, I had plenty of time & cld wait for the touched-up pix

Harlow Cheery,

Glad u like it

Hi Clouds,

Like what josl has mentioned, if u're referring to the dinner cards, just 1 visit to decide on layout. Wait for the fax & re-fax with corrections if needed, & subsequently pick them up. Quite fuss free if at the 1st visit, everything is clear.

I had an easy time, coz I used a sample Helen showed & just changed the names, date & some small details. Took the exact same layout as sample.

Hi Minssy,

Just to add further. My album at home has 5 pages with the collage-style. But had a max of 2 pix per page for those pages. The $350(?) was to have the album done without the silver trimming tt is used on my sample album in YC, and pix printed on the pages itself. Apparently, if not the pix wld be printed then stuck onto the album with the not so cool silver trimmings.

It was tough to decide 3 pix to eliminate, but between the 3 pix and the top-up, I felt tt how the entire album was presented was more crucial to me. Discuss further with FH?

hi josl,

aww.. so nice of you! muacks!!! *hugzz*

hi mehemh,

thanx for your replies even though you are still sick... *hugzz too*

i think the $350 is to have some collage style design else like you mentioned. keno did specify that they will do the artwork and then we will go down and choose see again. ok he quote $400 so that gives room for negotiation? hee....

i seriously still thinking abt topping up cos my basic package is already $3788 with my 2 MTM gowns. if i top extra for mag style, then my whole package will be high $4k+. zzzzzzz. yah.. discussing with FH now.

Hi Minssy,

No problem.. Still can think, but feel drowsy after the medication. The plus point about falling sick, is tt I can lose a tiny little bit of weight.. haahaa

Keno did say we can check out the layout, those little bit of collage & how the pages flow. Rem I had a storyline of proposal, wedding, dinner & the honeymoon? What FH & I did was to write down which pix goes to which page etc

I didn't get to re-choose, but make further changes on the layout we saw & to identify if there were any errors.

U not conisdering to take 10R instead? I find the 10R a gd size to lug around. Since u're also more inclined to to take full-page, then I think 10R is a gd size. If magazine-style on 10R may make the pix abit too small to appreciate the finer details within?

Hey ger, rem I still had my $1k deposit at another BS? So in total, my wedding package is actually $5k. I think u shd be okie!

*Hugz* for you too! Don't fret too much, go with ur heart..

just wan to check is pungpol still open for photo taking ???

hi mehmeh,

u got to take good care of yourself ... ur big day is 1 mth plus away ... ask ur bf to cook some bird next for u lah ... heehee ...
.... BTW... do u still have many things to do for ur wedding ???

hi minssy,

can i take a look at ur PS pics ??? i will be having my PS next monday ...

hi mehmeh,

yeah.. i remember abt the story line u mentioned. hee...

well well, 10R seems a little small. i think their default is 15R rite? i find that abit big though. well another point to ponder
. whats your album size again?

Hi Cheery,

U mean u wld like to have the lallang look eh? Maybe tell the photographer? Then easier for him to take you to the location..

Btw, u very clever to take PS next Mon, coz can rest on Tue too!

I dun really have lotsa stuff to do, waiting for RSVPs, complete pew deco, pack stuff to shift over, burn songs into CD for the banquet, inform helpers of their various portfolios & go thru with them their roles, go for final fitting.. I think tt's all (I hope!)

I'm going to miss wedding preparations soso much

Hi Minssy,

10R's small ah? I think u bigger, so u can manage 15R well.. Heehee. You are also prob right tt 15R is the default size. I got 10R dear

Hi mehmeh,
hee think at 1am u will suddenly wake up and think somebody callin u mah hahaha...

How want my mags as ur wedding present hahaha???

Hi minssy,
yeah topping up to mag style seems better choice, can have more pics some more.

hi mehmeh & josl,

thanx again for clearing my doubts. hhhmm, when i was selecting the photos, keno did not bug me to take this & that that leh. he seemed like the passive sales type of photographer? hahaah

anyway, i will update you all once we decided on what to do.. thanx to cherry & little lamb too!

hey clouds,
i am going to kentrich tonight. i ask if got discount if we print together lah!

Hi Minssy,

Keno wun force u to take magazine.. Didn't happen to me as well. Afterall we're the ones paying rite, so we have the final say?

How are u intending to print for your dinner cards? Direct/hotstamp or inserts?

Harlow josl,

Magz as wedding pressies ah? Make sure u dun give me on the big day itself k? heehee, any present I wld also appreciate

hi mehmeh,

honestly, i am not impressed with their mag style. ok no offence to YC pple who are reading this thread! hahaha! i just dun like idea of like 3 small pictures on top of 1 big one. well well.. dunnoe man... looking at the samples there just doesnt gimme the 'wow' feeling lor..

dinner cards? gonna print inserts... then for church i will do a custom make one. i went to kentrich. a.. not so impressed. based on what my requirements, think it costs quite alot.

hi mehmeh,

u really sound like u really enjoy the whole wedding process
... but i should say that it is enjoyable but tiring esp with the renovating new house... then later got to buy so many things ... on top of this... i m too bz with work now... need to do OT everyday... I do believe that PS must be fun... I m afraid that i dun have enough sleep n look ugly on the photos...
kao_dizzy.gif

Hi all, the mag style album is the less bulky one right.. if i choose pics like mehmeh.. do YC have it in less bulky album ah? I kept asking them.. but they dun seem to know what I am trying to say..

Hi gers,

Today I'm back at work & I got no choice but to go back. Otherwise I wld be blacklisted for taking MC again.. But can't help it, the virus is making its merry-go-round in the staffroom! Sighsigh

Hi Minssy,

No worries abt not like the mag-style, u're the one paying the money, so u can decide what u feel like paying for.

I like big stuff! hahah, so full-page suits me much better. Can't imagine squinting to look at pix

Hi Cheery,

Oh dear, u gotta take care too k? I think I have it easier coz I dun have renos to look into. I def got OT, all the marking after sch hours.. Eeeww

Dun worry about PS, like I've mentioned before: Photoshop!

Hi Clouds,

My album is the normal album, it's not the slim type. I actually quite like tt size, otherwise looks too thin?

U show them what u want using their existing sample albums there?? Maybe u can get tt idea across better

hi clouds,

think mag style may not neccesary mean that is bulky leh. its just mean traffic jam if there are like 4 or 5 photos on the same page.

does YC have a less bulky album? ok put it this way. the standard default pages is 15. (that means 30 full page photo). mehmeh has 17 pages so they probably got their vendor to add 2 more pages? if you wan something lesser than 15 pages, then u gotta check with them if they can do it.

if you wan something not so bulky, then u can take 10R instead of 15R? like what mehmeh mentioned, its easier to lug around a 10R.

Hi mehmeh,
haha, give u the mags then the recep will think why so heavy this present, dunno wat 'gold' inside keke..

Hi Minssy,
i dun think it looks crowded leh, my is mostly 2 on 1 page still can see the pixs quite well.

Hi gals out there
Would like to seek some of your advice.
I will have my PS next week...after seeing the comments in the forum, realised that there are so many types of albums to choose from.
Does the standard package comes with the silver trimming ablum?? What are the alternatives available??

hi charleen,

that one u can worry later cos whether you can choose your album depends on the number of photos you take. if its only 30, then its the default black one. (like what mehmeh mentioned earlier).

pls dun take the one with silver trimmings.. errrm, not very fashionable. u will also have to decide whether you like cold or hot lamination. hot looks abit glossy. cold is more matty. they say hot can last longer though. not sure abt that.

Hi Charleen,

Actually the type of album wld be dependent on the no. of pix u intend to have?

If u choose to have mag-style, u wld get the hot lamination & thin album(?). Fr which, u can choose either the landscape or portrait version. Mag-style is more straight-fwd I think... josl: how's ur mag-style album like?

If you choose the normal album, it shd be cold lamination. For this it wld either be with or w/o the silver trimmings. Mine's tt with the matt surface & w/o silver trimmings.

Dun worry about this, ur PG wld allow you to select accordingly when u view ur pix. Also he wld show u the different albums as samples for u to make reference & to decide. Dun gan jiong k? Enjoy the PS 1st!

Hi minssy,

U prefer the matt or glossy? I quite like the matt type..

Hi meh meh,minssy,
Huh, how's my mag style album like, its 15R so landscape loh got portrait meh?? Guess 15R with landscape makes the pix looks bigger than 10R...i dunno abt the hot or cold lamination liao, its like matt and thin album.

hi mehmeh,

i must say again our taste are similar
i also like the matt type.

hi josl,

yours is matt ah? that means its cold lamination lor. i think its nicer.

Just want to share my experience with YC. Though they say u can choose either portrait or landscape and the layout u want, they will hard sell the landscape one. They will persuade you to choose at least 4 photos of the similar background so that they can match and make one combined page. I very much wanted to have it in portrait but they insisted it's not nice and not much variety in terms of layout. I do not agree with them cos I've seen nice portrait elsewhere. After a long talk with them, I gave in to them cos in my heart I was thinking if their mindset is that a portrait one won't be nice, then they will not do a nice one for me. I was also quite irritated by the fact that they insisted us to have at least 4 pic in a page. I told them for some pages, I'd like to make it simple just like those full page photo but they refuse to budge. sigh... so it's not really true that we have free choice in how we want our album to be...

hi little lamb,

ah that sucks! u mind telling me who u spoke to? if its not convenient, can PM me?

hi clouds,

ops. i misunderstand you. if its mag style thinness and only 1 photo 1 page, that means u only have 30 or lesser pics?

Hi minssy,

I've PM u.

Hi cloud,

I dun think they will do 1 photo 1 page for the mag style thinness cos when I wanted some pages to have a single photo for my mag style they say I might as well get the normal album. But u can always try to ask them.

Hi Clouds,

I think u might still be able to have thin-ness but prob have to pay for tt effect? I suppose it might just be like tt... But in tt sense, doesn't it also make more sense to do mag-style?

Maybe we can raise this issue when we drop by.. How we're frustrated by this lack of options? I think YC's service & products have won us over time & again, so has the level of transparency. But I think when it comes to the issue of pix, the only thing they informed us at the point of signing the contract is the no. of pix tt is required to do mag-style. And tt's pretty much tt, so in tt sense, we're uninformed-consumers & can only make choices within many limitations at so late a stage?

hi mehmeh... ya you are right... hai... they do want to earn money after all.. just that if they are able to earn money and meet our budget and meet our requirements.. its ok with me.

sounds like we have a certain level of frustration when it comes to photos part...

hi littlelamb,

got it. how many photos did you choose in the end and when will u get to see the layout?

Thanks soo much for your advices. Will take note of that when choosing my photos as well as the type of album. I too have a budget constraint so I hope they wouldn persuade me to getting more and more photos. My ideal would just be between 30 to 38 photos.