York Hotel

monet77

Hi Winnie,
depend on personal view lor...actually u should go down and have a look...before decision making. of course if u are comparing with those new and classy hotel it is consider old lor... But if u have higher budget, u will go for better 1 lor...like me... if i have higher budget i will get better 1...heheeee

I do not know about christine actually...Beside dueling with Alan, i did duel with tracy with my corordinator went for reservice lor. She is very friendly and helpful. As for my banquet manager, Alan, he is helpful and friendly...very understanding and try his best to fit to our request...heehee....i m very fussy la....but he manage well lor... But i believe tat most banquet managers there are pretty helpful...(so far i met two are ok)

As for the projector, York hotel does not have tat...they only have the external screen...not the high tech...1 tat mount on ceiling type..heehee...You can rent from them but usually they will not advise u as it is ex...it is cheaper to get from outside....

haahaa tat is all... chat again....

seesee

i think u can try n ask them to throw in the LCD projector, wen i went to talk to them, they actually throw in. But too bad... i didnt sign the contract wif them

tootsieroll

Yes, Tracy apparently is nice. My mom liked her. We're going to view another hotel on saturday....if that one can't make it, then we'll likely settle with York.

monet77

Hi see see,
just curious lor...LCD projector? u mean they supply for free..wow...can tat use for CDR? I know tat they rent projector

northgal

I attended a wedding dinner at York Hotel recently. The ball room is big and retangular plus it is unblocked from all view. In fact, I find that it serve the best food that I ever had for wedding dinner. Majority of the guests give their praises to the food too, and can't stop with the compliment. Thumb up !

seesee

hi monet tai,
it's true. cos the condinator there actually willing to throw that LCD projector in for me. btw how many tbls u taking? i'm not sure if it can be use for CDR. but can check with them.

monet77

Hi Seesee,
thanks for the advice...i will try again...may i know who is the one tat serve u? anyway i am having around 34 tables...heeeheee

so where are u having ur dinner?

seesee

hi monet tai,
i think her name is christine. wow... 34 tables... tat's a lot to me. i had ard 23-25 tbls. i had sign contract with Crown Prince but there's some problem wif now... might have to change a new venue. without knowing whether i'll get my deposit back...

sleeping_beauty

Hi monet,

Thanks for all your informations... Will try to talk to Christine.... I need that is because i'm having a video man on the actual day and would like to play the morning activities to all the guests while enjoying their food...

Hi northgal,

After reading your message, give me more confidence on York.... Will settle my banquet with York.

northgal

For those who are planning to go for the food selection, you may consider 'deep fried salad prawn' as one of the item for the cold dish. It is deep fried, with mayo n sesame. Very very delicious. The yam basket is nice too, and not forgetting the sliky 'three mushroom'. Yummy!

SeeSee : I understand the situation that crown price is in now. I have posted a small comment on the 'crown prince' thread too, thought it doesn't sound very encouraging. Given Crown Prince reputable status in S'pore, there will be over-whelming response from parties who are more than willing to take over it as an investment arm. Investor will not let go any money making opportunity rite? Not forgetting, this hotel is performing, just that other foreign investment bring the whole company into this poor stage.

northgal

hi Winnie,
I am only speaking from a guest view, only able to comment on the ballroom n the food, nothing else. I do recall that they play the morning activities to the guests.

sleeping_beauty

Hi northgal,

R you marry? What actually i can neg with the banquet coordinator?

I actually wanted these listed below:-

1) Extend my stay there & upgrade my room
2) LCD projector
3) Request for a coordinator room for those drankers and late check out for them.
4) pre-snack in the room for couples
5) lover dinner for couples after the banquet.
6) Waiver for all DFS wines.

Am i too much asking for these.... What else can i include in?

monet77

hi winnie,

the items u request i have tat as well...mind if i share with u:
1) Extend of stay....mt FH have request for another day stay but my coordinator can only extend to late hours check out till 5pm....
Upgrade room shouldnt be a problem... they have these offer where if u have 20, there 1 items given free..such as free barrel beer, upgrade room, another day stay or fress food tasting for 6 ppl...u can check with them
2) LCD projectir i not so sure as ii think different coordinator comes with different offer
3)if u book rooms for friwnds...or relatives can request for late chjeck out as well
4) presnake is with the package...
5) tat u have to ask...i didnt ask before
6)DFS drinks are free wavier but if u bringing in DFS drinks, they will pour into jars... instead of pouring directly from bottles...

tat is all....

chat again

sleeping_beauty

Hi monet,

Thanks for your info... How is your feeling now? you still have 10more days to go.... Is everything in order and have your bought those wedding stuffs.... Hey by the way, did you buy those traditional stuffs like candles, lamp etc... Is there any one stop shop that i can go? My FH is budget come 1st....

littlebobeep

hi verre and monet

May I knw wat songs U have used for your march in?

Wat's the estimated length of time for the march in?

Monet: getting nervous now? Btw, I thk it's possible to use potted plants instead for the wooden doors as the partition. In this way, the hall wld look more spacious. Maybe U wld like to confirm this with your banquet coordinator?

verre

Hi littlebobeep,

I have choosen Canon as 1st march in and Perfect moment as 2nd march in. If you are using carlton hall, you only use less than 1/3 of the song. hope that helps.

sleeping_beauty

Hi monet, verre and littlebobeep

Would like to check whether do you have any videographer on your AD? Do you have any in mind? Needed a budget package. Can recommend....

Up to now i still cant find a cheap and good videographer for my AD & ROM day...

Share with you something..... hahaha.... Good lobang....

I find a package that do photo montage at $88nett - up to 50 photos, up to 10 photos scanning FOC , extra DVD - $18 extra VCD - $12

Good lobang....? Or anyone have a better one pls recommend....

verre

Hi Winnie,

Sorry can't recommemd you on this as my hubby's fren was helping out as a videographer. So we only give him ang pao.

littlebobeep

hi verre

Thanks for your advice. Btw, how much did you give to your hubby's fren for ang pao?

Winnie, I also intend to ask my fren to help out as videographer too.

sleeping_beauty

Hi verre and littlebobeep,

Asking friend to help out on videographing is good idea... Tks for the idea!

hahaha....

Which package you took in york? I want to min my losses in banquet... Shld i take up the $548 package? Worth it?

verre

Hi littlebobeep,

We gave him $150.

Winnie: I took the Peach blossom package. Alot of ppl will give $60 each lor..

If you take $548, don't think got much benefits rite? Especially the barrel of beer. Just slowly think and see which one suits you better.

sleeping_beauty

Hi verre,

Do you give any tables to your mum? The angpow we cant take back right? My FH is giving 8tables... I need to use my FH's and mine tables to earn back ard $5K... I had a friend loss close to $10K on banquet itself only... That was really bad...

verre

Hi winnie,

Erm..we did not give any tables to my mum. But hubby let my mum to decide how much she want to take, how many ppl she want to invite. Everything is up to her. We did not object lor. As long she is happy, we are alrite.

Is your FH & you paying for the dinner? Normally ya..cannot take back lor. Unless your parents willing to give you back. How many tables are you having? Where is your fren's dinner? $10k is alot man..

sleeping_beauty

Hi verre,

My FH is paying... My honeymoon depend on the profit and losses. Hai... if loss to much then honeymoon no more... I have between 28 to 30 tables.

My friend's banquet is at Meritus Mandarin Singapore.(Opp HMV) Ard 30 tables @ $700++ (close to $800) per table. 6 person did not turn up so one of the table looks quite empty.

Btw when is your BIG day?

verre

Hi Winnie,

I see. Any idea where you planning to go for honeymoon? My big day oredi over..heehee. Don't worry too much gal, i'm bet your closed frens will give you more and thus you will be able to make a profit. Some of my tables aso quite empty lor and we still able to break even...so don't worry too much ok? So when is your big day?

monet77

Hi pals,
I am back....heeheee
so u guys been talking about the vediography?
I didnt get any professional to do the vedio for us...we actually got friend to help up....just give hongbao only...heeheee...because of this occasion, we bought a vediocam....;p

Hi winnie,
i am giving my parents 8 tables also...no getting back...but if u giving tables more, parents will not ask much for pin jin 1...:p dun worry too much...so have u seen the place?

monet77

Hi verre,
wat colors do they have then? black, grey or white?
can let me know where i can get it?

thank you....abit fan liao le

hai....

sleeping_beauty

hi verre,

I intend to go to NZ for honeymoon... It also depend on my losses on the banquet then can decide... My big day is on Nov 05..... What about you? where did you went for your honeymoon?

hi monet,

I'm going to see the banquet on this thurs hahaha... is the eve of your Big day....

monet77

Hi Winnie,
i have the intention of going NZ for honeymoon also....but have not confirm yet....
my leave almost used up liao...my hubby to be and i are gg next year
we have use up our money also.....;(

verre

Hi monet,

forgot to tell you i send u an email.
You dun fan ok? your AD coming...must look pretty.

Hi winnie,

i went to NZ for my honeymoon. I dun think you will spend much over thr lor. especially shopping. nothing much to buy...or maybe becos i went on winter tats y nothing to buy. haha. we had a free & easy trip..so we only spend on food, bus and some package tour.(we booked with the locals over thr directly). my AD was 11july04 lor. so have you decide on what package you want to take at yoke?

monet77

Hi verre,
I have ur mail liao and reply liao....heeehee thanks! *muck* i m on leave from tomolo liao...heehheeee
just hope i can catch enough sleep now....

Winnie,
so which hall are u gg to use then? which u intend to take?

sleeping_beauty

Hi monet,

I still not sure which hall i'm getting.... What do you think? i have ard 30tables... I don't want the ballroom look so small. Which room is bigger? Btw which room are you getting? Do you have a soft copy of your wedding photos? Can i take a look? email me: [email protected]

Hi verre,

I'm also interested in your wedding photos... You have a copy? Can i take a look? email me: [email protected]

Btw how many tables you have last time? Which room you took?

verre

Hi winnie,

i've not yet put my wedding photos for ppl to view. soorry been lazy and busy. When it's ready, will let you view ok?
I took carlton hall with 26tables.

sleeping_beauty

Hi verre,

I'm going to see the banquet coordinator, Christine, this evening.

Hahaha... will keep you update on what perks i have...

hi monet,

Tmr is your BIG day liao.... May you enjoy the day

sleeping_beauty

Hi verre,

How much you pay for your honeymoon package (NZ)? Should i go for free & easy or tour?

My FH intend to go after our banquet....

verre

Hi Winnie,

Ok sure! I opt for the free & easy. i tink we paid abt $2k+ for air tickets cum hotels. if you are the kind who like to visit tourist places, i would advise you to take up a package. But if you those who like to walk ard, look at map, go wherever you like, i would suggest you take a free & easy.

monet77

Hi pals,

I m back...heeheee
Verre, i manage to bought the ascott tie liao... actually i bought a similar type as urs but shorter le....wait i take photos and show u...i didnt take white nor red in the end as there are no white and my husband dont really like red also.... i bought light brown with dark brown line....thanks for the inform given.... i gg to sleep liao...

chat with u again k

sleeping_beauty

Hi verre,

Will take your advise on that. How many days you went? i intend to go ard 7-10 days... is it too long? FH says he's going to broke if go too long... hahaha

You pay about 2k+ per person? I most likely will be going on early nov.. Think is quite ex..

Hey gals

I thinking of rest now.... How? Hotel or rest good?

Rest quoted me few packages... From the range of $398nett to $548nett per table. Comes with:

Free flow of beer, stout, soft drinks, tea and Martell VSOP. But min tables are 35.

Should i take rest or york?

verre

Hi monet,

Welcome back! Tink i better start doing my fotos and let you see aso. haha. so long liao. so how's your wedding? everything go smoothly?

Hi winnie,

I went for 7days only. No..it's not too long...it's too short!!! Hahaha. Are you going christchurch? I feel it's nicer over there than in auckland. 2K+ is for 2 persons. Tat time booked thru a promotion on air tickets with hotel. I don't think you will spent much money thr except food and tour. Seems like nothing to buy thr...

Rest is not bad and confirmed you won't lose money. Food is nicer aso. Hotel is the atmosphere...make the place look nicer. I dun know. It's depend on your liking, budget and the kind of wedding you want...

sleeping_beauty

Hi verre,

We calculated already... if york we able to go NZ but if we take rest we are able to NZ then Aust then maybe 2 or 3days at hongkong for shopping.

Wow seems so good.... have not decided coz is too early to book the air ticket. Tell you something funny...
My FH & I went to get dates for wedding and ROM. Just nice both dates fall on a sunday, diff by one month. So happy but ROM never open..

have to go back again! I can wait to see your photos....

Hi monet,

How's your wedding? Feeling tired? Hey, what ways did your sisters ill treat your hubby before he is able to step in your house?

Are there any profits on your any pow?