Y.L.S. Buffet Catering

behappy

Dear Ah Ger

Really me did not see they also wavie the transportation charges, anyway kiki tried YSL catering two weeks so I will take advises.

Becos Yeh Lai Siang liek not one tried so dare not try.

blurz

Hi, I think i came across some recomendation on ya lai siang's food that's y I ordered. But i dun know yls not the same as ya lai siang. Anyway based on the website the recommender have given me, it shows ya lai siang not not yls.
And i have made a small studies on the two caterer.
yls provided 8 dishes(include drinks)
ye lai siang proivde 8 dish plus 1 drink ..

behappy

lynn

no lah YSL catering is 10 dishes + 1 fruit punch that is S$10 per person

same as Yeh Lai Siang, but i decided to take YSL catering liao as good comments on them

littlegirl

hi hi gals

My hb's 1st bro during wedd took Yeh Lai Siang, & she said was gd.

Her fren also took the same also was gd.

bt 2 bad in Changi so I'll give it a miss. By the time from Changi - Jurong, all the mee or bee hoon bcmes dbl the size liao.

whitebear

Saw the list of dishes from YLS....looks yummy and in fact some dishes looks 'expensive' but dun know whether taste good or not.

Anyone tried their duck before? Like the stewed duck with chestnut & fried mutton with green peper.......Oh yes, how about the prawns? Is it shell or unshell prawns?

littlegirl

whitebear,

some caterers shell off the body then leave the head & tail cos like 1) you tou you wei, 2) prawns look bigger & presentable.

Bt I think u can request to hv them totally shelled.

luckystars

I just had my wedding last month, and used YLS for my AD lunch buffet. I took 11 dishes. Relatives and friends commended food very delicious and portion is more than enough, especially the curry chicken.

behappy

hi lucky stars

I just ordered from YLS catering so happy after hearding your comment, hope my relatives and friends will like the foods too.

I also ordered curry chicken, is the curry chicken so good?

Luckstars what order food you ordered??

can let me know

littlegirl

hi hi everyone here

Just to chk, I stay in Jurong, & if I order food frm YLS which is in Bedok, will the quality of the food drop? Cos jin long jounney leh.

Even though they hv warmer, bt the deep fried stuff & if we order noodles will all turn soggy.

Pls advice.

Actually I dun wanna order so many, bt bcos FIL suddenly said 20 pax nt enuf, must order 40 pax wor............ day time got ppl eat so much one meh?

soupie

hi gals, my colleague just had YLS catering on sat for her wedding.. it was very disappointing.. the food wasn't nice and the prawns wasn't fresh... so i guess i'll give YLS a miss....

zhuzhu

Hi Soupie
The YLS catering is not yeh lai siang rite?
Now i read this thread..getting more n more blur..i think YLS and yeh lai siang had the same menu leh...

soupie

ah ger, i've answered the question before ur posting. my fren used yls catering which is disappointing... NOT yeh lai siang...

i have no comments abt yeh lai siang.. never try them before.... for those who did... maybe u would like to share

nervousgal

I have tried yeh lai siang for my ROM chalet. Was very disappointed with them cos the food was not enuff..
We order for 70 persons but the food that came look like for 30 persons only.
and with an hr all the trays are empty..
A lot of my guests did not had their fills. And dun have to mention those who came in later.
Though we do cater for bbq, but the bbq food was not fast eunff to cater to my customer's stomach...
I was so pai sai abt the food potion.
We called yeh lai siang up and they told us they prepare the food by weighing the quantity and not preparing for 70 ppl share.

I was think the weighing machine must be spoiled that day. Cos one look at the food bing delievered that day, no one would have believe that is for 70 persons..
I should have take some photos of the food and show it here...:<

ah_cat

I find YLS reasonable ok. Of cos, if you want the food to be really good, it's the money that counts. You cannot compare a $10 buffet with a $20 buffet rite?

Just my 2 cents tots here.

Hi Nervous,

Yue Lai Siang sound so terrible! I never hear such a scheming caterer! You should take a picture &amp; threaten them with some compensation.

nervousgal

Well its over anyway..
my Future MIL said its good to eat all the food up.. No left overs is a good sign. so we din persist with them.
But i jus angry at the fact that I order more than enuff but then the quantity is so disappointing.. Make me so pai sei..
That night I dun even know how to talk to my guests cos i can ask them enuff to eat or eat more.. cos practically there's nothing to eat...

Imagine cater for 70 ppl, but then all the dishes come in one tray only.. and each tray is not even fill to the top.
I told my fren i cater to 70 ppl, they dun even believe me..
Is it that i have to request for 2 sets of 30 persons menu then they willingly to give the correct quantity???
All my family members did not get to eat anything from the buffet.

However, no doubt the food is ok.. cos some of my friends who had managed to eat their yam paste and you tiao stuffed with err.. squid(forget already) said its v nice.. I din get to taste any..:<

babybbsg

HI Nervous,

I am intending to hold a ROM chalet, can u share with me ur experience in decorsting the plae, games etc.Need advice thanks a lot.U can pm me or email me at [email protected]
Can u tell me how much u spend roughly too?
xie xie

honeydew

I'm interested in getting YLS for my lunch buffet. Any brides used their svc recently? How's their food, svc &amp; presentation???

yukie

Hi gals...

i've tried YSL during my col hse warming last mth. The food was gd n value for money.

But the portion was really kind of small. Serious, i really mean small. Me n most of our col hv the huh??? look when we open the cover of the dishes(we were the 1st to start eating)... though the rice n bee hoon items is enough for at least 40 pax, but the other dishes was like enough for 20 pax only(my col ordered for 30 pax)....

not_firmed

Hi Yukie,

The portion really that small ha?? Ai yo, I'm also still considering this caterer leh.. But don know how many to order leh.. Heard that, we shldn't order the exact no. of ppl. How much shld I order?? Anyone can advise?? the $10 per pax is without the GST ha??

cookiencream

Hi Tweety,

I juz ordered lunch buffet from YLS on my wedding day tea ceremony (2 weeks ago) for 30 pax. On contrast wif Yukie's experience, the portion given to me was like 50 pax! There were quite an amt for leftover and my relatives requested to take away some of the food coz they were simply delicious! Except for the yum paste, it was finished up and everyone was singing praises of it!

I suppose the thumb of rule is to order less 10% of num of attendees. Shld be fine.

Another best point to note from YLS is tat there is no GST and transport cost! Overall my experience wif YLS is fantastic! Thumb up!!!!

icebaby0

As for YSL, I think it depends on what sort of food u order.

If u are ordering their roasted chicken, butter prawns, vegetable, mutton/chicken curry...their 30 pax is more than enough to feed 50 pax!

I used them many times before and it's pretty good price.

The other caterer that u can use is neogarden (20% if got someone's birthday is 7 days before/after - u need to check if they have tis offer. Or they have weekday menu offer). Thought the menu is limited, but the food is really good. Yesterday company ordered for 35 pax, enough to feed 40-45 pax. Food is extremely good (standard wise). Alittle more expensive but food quality is excellent to my standard.

icebaby0

oh...before i also forget. My friend is ordering YSL this Aug. She told me when she called YSL, they said that as long as it's 55 persons and above, food is per tray (not half trays).

From there, i think most can gauge the amount of food rite?

not_firmed

Hi cookie,
thanks for sharing... may I know which package u took?? $10/pax?? what r the food that u order??

Hi icebaby,
what do u mean by per tray ha?? i'm a bit blur blur.. sorry for that..

cookiencream

Hi tweety,

I took the $10/pax. For my order, I tried to avoid similar meat/vege that would be served at my evening banquet. The dishes i took were the Fried Bee Hoon, Fried Pineapple Rice, Sliced Fish w/ Dried Chilli, Curry Chicken, Braised Bean Curd,Pork w/ Plum Sauce Salad Prawn, Deep Fried Spring Roll, Spinach and Yam Paste.

My lesson learnt was no need to order both Fried Bee Hoon and Fried Pineapple Rice. Either one will do. I was so shocked by their giant portion! As I had some vegetarians guests, I sacrifice some "meat" items for vege dishes like spring roll &amp; bee hoon. But in the end, they did not dare to touch them coz not certified 100% meat oil free. Sigh~ Also to share was i didnt really like their salad prawn. I chose this because this was the only prawn dish that guests no need to shell the prawns. But not that nice leh.

Hi Icebaby, do you mean every dish will be served in individual tray? eg finger food for 30 pax can be quite few, can only filled half a tray, then they will combined with another item in one tray with a divider in the middle. Is that correct?

icebaby0

cookieNcream,

yes. Each dish will be served on individual tray if there is more than 55pax. But u will need to check with YSL again.

This was what she was told.

I tried their fish in thai sauce before, curry chicken, curry muton, fried pineable rice, spinach, etc. Quite alot of food. Generally quite good lah. Esp. theie yam paste...not too sweet!

not_firmed

Hi cookie n icebaby..

I really wanna order from YLS leh.. but my FMIL wanna order from her friend.. i"m so sad over this, but fh said he's in difficult position.. so I just drop it lor..

Really thanks for all yr infomation n sharing...

wyy

me oso looking for carterer....

just curious do they do church recept? is there any food tasting session conducted before i place my order?

not_firmed

Hi Wong..

I called them b4, they told me that no food tasting leh.. coz the price alr v good.. u may call them to verify again..

mooniiie

hi cookieNcream,

wanna ask.. you mentioned this "There were quite an amt for leftover and my relatives requested to take away some of the food coz they were simply delicious! Except for the yum paste, it was finished up and everyone was singing praises of it! "... erm is the yam paste not nice?

you all order online (by filling in the form), then they will call you back to confirm your order?
who did you liaise with?

also, wat is the duration of the buffet?
as in roughly they will come to collect the things how many hours later?

oh if it's less than 55 pax buffet, they will put 2 dishes on 1 tray?

hehe coz i intend to order from YLS for my house warming next month, so need to find out more =)
thks for helping!

cookiencream

Hi moonille,

What i meant was the yam paste was so nice that there was no more at the end of the day, all finished up by guests.

After you complete the online form, u can call them bk the next day to check if they didnt call u.

For mine, the buffet arrived at 11am and we requested them to collect at 4.30pm. As ours was a weekday, I think they were quite flexible wif the hrs. Weekend wise, u gotto check out with them.

s_lavender

i saw a $6 buffet menu (7-course) on their website.. anyone tried that??

i'm worried that food quality will be compromised since price is so low..

mashi20

I had a catering buffet with this Hxxxe Of Catxxxxx which i had found in the website. I had a great disappointment in them. On my weddin day, we ordered the buffet and they agreed to del at 12pm. However on the actual day, the buffet was del ard 1.30pm, they didnt even bother to call n apologised and didnt bother to ans our calls. When we told them tat most of the guests had already left and demand for an explanation, they started to gv stupid excuses and agreed to deduct $100. After a few days, they called us, insisted that we shld gv the full amount and mentioned that they didnt said anythin abt the reduction of price. They went to sue us for not paying and claimed that we had ordered 3 time from them and didnt pay at all. This is all rubbish...I really need to warn every1 here who intend to book for the catering not to approach this co. It really spoilt my wedding...

snowpooher

Anyone recently ordered buffet from YLS Catering? Need your feedback as I'm considering to order from them next mth.

Your valuable feedbacks are deeply apprecipated. Thanks.

sweatcorn

hi snowpooher, i ordered from YLS last mth... their curry chicken is very good... n they are quite prompt n professional in their service... they called me the day before to confirm delivery time and collected the barang barang without any hitches (cos i din get any complain from my mgt)...

ccleong

I just order YLS yesterday for buffer lunch. We are celebrate house warming. I order for 40people. my guest is around 50pp include kid. (I count 2 kid as 1 adult). i have some leave over food. 牛油鲜虾(Deep Fried Butter) and 红烧豆è…(Braised Bean Curd) both are the the worse. both of this have a lot of leave over. others than that all are quite nice. A lot of pp said 芋泥椰浆 Yam Paste w/ Coconut milk is very nice. but I never try bf bcos too busy for that afternoon. 炸å°ç¬¼åŒ… Deep Fried Xiao Long Pau also quite nice. I order 扣肉馒头(Braise Pork w/Bun) i like it also. look and taste good. My wedding ceremony on last year August. we order neo garden for lunch buffer. a lot of friend said the food is nice. yesterday one of my guess said YLS is better than neo garden. but I feel should not compare bcos is different type of dishes...the food that we order frm neo garden one is more western type of food and YLS one is more asian food. I like neo garden service. they very proffesional when we order the food. the person-in-charge always give in comment and advise.

nijikosan

I ordered my ROM buffet with YSL also.
My relatives and friends all said the food is nice....I ordered for 30pax and have no idea how many turn-out that day, i think more than 40 including kids. i only ordered the fried noodles (mee goreng) and cook some rice myself for the kids, no fried rice. my hubby friends stayed late and clear all food for us

my comment : good food, good price, worth it!!
will be ordering from them again for my AD lunch.