Y.L.S. Buffet Catering

jinglim

Hi, anyone tried YLS catering recently? Any comments on the food and service? Their price is very reasonable at only $10/pax for 11 courses buffet.
Would appreciate any comments.

cherly

I used their service on my last year wedding's day. All my guest commented their food is good and me & hubby tried and find it good. Their service is good too. Worth it.

thb

I also tried it last year at one of my friend's housewarming. My friends and i find that its good. Duno much abt their service so cant comment.

jinglim

Hi Cherly & tryinghard,
thanks for your feedbacks. hmm...last year...dunno whether any changes in standard.

Anyone tried them this year? recently?

pooh~

Hi Jingjing,
i tried this yr March for my hse warming.
Good food and service not bad. Specially the curry chicken all my guest say is nice.

vivace

i jus used them last month for my house warming

most of their food are good... service is good... v.worth it!

a little comment : if u want to engage them, dont choose the mix veg dish... but the spanish with mushroom and the curry chicken are delicious

cherly

So far I have tried many other caterer and find this one not bad. Will not hesitate to use them for other occassions.

luckystars

Anyone tried on YLS catering recently? Intend to use them for my wedding this year end but unsure of their quality, pls help.....

littlegirl

tot of reviving tis thread.

Anybody else had them recently? hw is the food? Still in top standard?

Their menu looks like a gd deal leh.

ah_cat

I had the lunch & hi-tea catering 3 mths ago. The food is gd & most importantly, value for money!

rihini

hi cat (and others who have catered with them),

Which dishes would you recommend, besides the chicken curry which alreday recieve compliments?

ah_cat

Normally, I will choose dishes that comes with "expensive" ingredients like sea cucumber. Of cos, mix with different varieties like spicy, non-spicy, braised, deep-fried etc. Dun repeat the same meat, & try to stick to their recommended dishes..heehee. Oh yah, must choose the yam paste dessert, very rare to have it as buffet.

littlegirl

so does it mean to say the $11 for 10 dishes, out of the 14 or 15 categories, we all can choose one arh?

I wun choose sea cucumebr in the day cos dinner time they will get to eat mah. Hv something diff so tat when they c, they wun feel "huh? same thing again" tat kinda feeling.

Yam paste - very rare? I saw a few caterers hv leh.............

Hmm.......... since so gd & value for $$, maybe will try for tat.

In the meantime, if there is anybody who has encounters w/ them, be it gd or bad, please feel free to input! Thanks.

ah_cat

Hi Ah ger,

When I mean rare is to get yam paste at this rate! Normally others provide longan jelly, fruit cocktail.. bla bla... Plus if you compare with other caterers, this is one of the cheapest & more varieties one. What more can I ask?

You can choose any one as long as it's within 10 dishes. As for the taste of the food, basically I find it not too bad but.... if you are a very fussy eater, prob can try four season or Jack's Place. Of cos, u pay with a price.

luckystars

Hi Cat,

Me also very keen to engage YLS catering for my AD this month. I intend to try YLS while my HD's place is using another caterer. Maybe u wanna share your menu and comments with me, beside the yam paste and chicken curry, at least I will know which dishes to go for.

For Duck, Fsh & Sotong section in Menu $10/pax, whcih are the dishes u have tried?

littlegirl

hi Cat

Thks for the feedback.
Yeah $10 menu w/ yam paste is quite a gd deal.

Ok, yest I saw their menu & was trying to decide wat I shld order? All so tempting....... *slurp*

Luckystars:
I m also thinking of doing tat, bt then again, if both side same caterer bt diff food then ok wat, then u get to eat more varieties.

I doubt I will order duck cos I c something more appetising. & I believe all these slightly more exp food, the portion may b lesser right?

ah_cat

Hi luckystars & Ah ger,

I order a lot of meaty dishes cos at the same time I cater another vegeterian buffet. I am a bit KS, as you can see a lot of dishes are chef recommended ones..heehee.

1) Fried pineappple rice
2) Curry Chicken
3) Duck w Sea Cucumber
4) Fried black pepper fish
5) Baked black pepper prawn
6) Pork w plum sauce
7) Lohan Vege
8) Sotong (can't rem which one)
9) Fried Chicken in Thai Style
10) Yam Paste

littlegirl

Hi Cat

Morning!

Wow, looks like a very wide spread........ *slurp*. makes me feel very hungry.

All of them are yummy?

ah_cat

Hi Ah ger,

Haha.. I am hungry too, can't wait for my lunch.

Well, I hardly eat lor as I am quite bz entertaining my frds & relatives. But then hor, I can't believe that they empty all the food! Left the duck bones & some little scraps for me...* sigh

Oh yah, just a little useful advise, dun order food at the exact amt of guests. Normally, I will minus abt 10 ppl for unexpected small eaters & never turn up guests.

littlegirl

Cat

yeah, tats wat I heard also. Bt if all finish up, does it mean the portion nt enuf?

Y bz entertaining, no time to eat? During my sis's wedd, she also got time to eat leh....

luckystars

Hi Cat & Ah ger,

Thanks for all your reply. In fact, I have drafted up the menu ($10/pax) and similar to yours, except the prawn. Hum...definitely go for YLS since received positive comment and their price is within my budget...

Good luck to both of you.

rihini

Hi people,
i'll likely go for YLS as well. they do offer a lot of dishes to choose from yah?

Am interested in yam paste but won't be ordering that cos will be having that for my banquet. Lest all the relatives say the whole day eat the same thing.
anyone tried the bobochacha or cheng teng?

BTW, is the price NET and really no transport charges?

littlegirl

hi luckystars

Yeah I think I will go for it, cos price matches my budget & best of all, wider variety of food selection. I hv also selected the food tat I want for AD. bt since it's still early I tot I might as well just drag bt @ the same time look c 1st.

Rihini:
I m nt having yam paste bt will choose tat for daytime if I m really ordering YLS.

To my understanding frm another gf, yes, no tpt charges. Y nt u call them & clarify? Then u can also update us here lor?

ah_cat

Hi Ah ger,

No choice lah, got to "jing cha" & entertain my 50-60 relatives! Really no time to eat.... My guests not enuff to eat? Impossible lah... I still have vege buffet & hi-tea buffet follow up on the way.....

Hi folks,

Just for your info, although there's no transport charges but you have to add GST.

littlegirl

Hi Cat

Wah - u got so many relatives arh? Heng me dunhv if nt sure *faint*

GST - so if I hv 30 x $10.50 lor?

Hmm..... thks for the info.

littlegirl

wedding999

Mini buffet - usually all caterers hv mah.

U can try KCK - search frm the web & u can get lots of caterers to choose from.

vonic

How abt the set-up by YLS Catering ? Any comment.... How is Yeh Lai Siang as compared to YLS Catering. Can't decide which 1 to consider.

littlegirl

Vonic

I also dunno wor. Yeh Lai Siang is @ Changi, the other is dunno ware.

I m trying to shortlist those closer to my hse. So tat when the food is here, doesn't take much time to warm up, + food wun b s soggy.

blurz

My Goodness,

Along i thot that YSL is yeh lai siang..
Oops... ANy one tried yeh lai siang before??
Any comments?

littlegirl

Lynn

I tot so too, untill hb's bro gave us another #, then I called & verified then they told us.

bt their menu is similar if u noticed using the abv websites.

behappy

So did you all tried the YSL catering at the end?

Good, me thinking to take them and dish can recommend?

kikilala22

My AD I ordered Y.L.S, my relative all say the food v nice. They like the Yam Paste v much & they finish all leh….the price is cheap oso can give it a try

blurz

Hi ALl

The Y.S.L you all referring is yeh lai siang or the other YSL?

Is so anyone tried Yeh Lai Siang before?
ANy comments?

behappy

Hi Kikilala22

Thanks for the comments, you are referring to YSL Catering not Yeh Lai Siang right?

becos Yeh Lai Siang do not have the Yam Paste as dessert?

Me ordering from YSL catering, can I know which dish you ordered and it good?

Thanks for the advise.

Hi Lynn, I think Kiki mentioned the catering is YSL catering and not Yeh Lai Siang.

kikilala22

girlgirl,

ya i'm referring to YSL Catering..

This is wht i order:

Fried Pineapple Rice **
Curry Chicken **
Fried Black Pepper Sliced Fish
Deep Fried Butter Prawn
Sweet & Sour Pork **
Spinach w/Mushroom (Veg alot cannot finish)
Sotong Fried w/ Dried Chili**
Sea Cucumber w/Mushroom (the sea Cucumber v small)
Fried Chicken in Thai Style**
Yam Paste w/Coconut Milk

** means(realtive say v nice)

the rest of the food should b ok oso...

behappy

Dear kiki

Sorry I really blur, what is AD mean?

Your ordered the buffet recently?

OK then I followed your menu, thank you very much for your help, this really solve my problems.

Who do you look for at YSL catering so I can attention my fax to her or him?

behappy

Hi kiki

forgot to asked you the pineapple rice big portion or not? Or I need to order another fried Mee Goreng?

Enough for 30 persons

kikilala22

girlgirl,

AD means: Actual Day
Ya i ordered the buffet 2week ago for my AD, the pineapple rice is in a big tray, dun need to order extra the food they give is more than enough for 30 persons, normaly ppl dun eat much for buffet, u can place ur order through website & they will call u 1 or 2day aft they receive ur order to comfrim with u....

http://www.ylscatering.com/

behappy

Hi AH Ger

YSL is located at Bedok North.

Hi Lynn but compare price still YSL cheaper becos they wavid the transportation charges.

Hi kiki

Oh I see, i blur lah.

ok then order pineapple rice will do ok will order their website, thank you very much your help and suggestion.