Wine

I think the wines are base on individual preference rather than by brands. Lots of new world wines tastes great, too.

besides Bottles & Bottles at Tanglin, Millies Wines in Changi Village is one of my preferred choice to buy wines/liquors. Both give good prices!

Hi JL

I got matthew lang from them...think their rate is one of the cheapest...heard wolfbass not bad also..but me not a wine drinker..so can't say much

my fren has excess from her wedding just over this sunday. 20 bottles of red wines she bought for $38.50ea and now willing to let go whole lot at half price ea. interested just give her a mail [email protected] lor - good luck everyone

I got mine from WineBos (www.winebos.com.sg).

they have quite an attractive pkg specially for weddings. each carton costs $220 nett ($18/bottle) and for every 1 carton u buy, u can get another on consignment. they also give free wine tasting unlike many other wine suppliers which require u to buy a bottle of wine just to taste. they will also deliver for u to the hotel free of charge but u will have to return any consignment bottles yourself.

I bought 3 cartons with 3 more on consignment. they will also put my wedding photo on 1 bottle as a momento for me. for my 1-month anniversary, they will give me a bottle of bruvee cuvee (champagne but made in Aus) FREE but only for consumption in their lounge.

since I also have a yahoo a/c, they gave me a bottle free for every carton I order as part of their promotion with yahoo!

do drop by their lounge at North Canal Rd to check it out. their staff are very friendly and knowledgable abt wines. u can also go there to chill out as it costs only $5 a glass for the wine and bottles start from $25 onwards.

Can any one give me the contacts for Bottles & Bottles at Tanglin-Turdor Court and Millie's at Changi V ?

Many Thanks...

u can chk out WineBos (www.winebos.com.sg).

they give free wine tasting. their wines are quite good and prices are reasonable ($18 each).
I have ordered my wine from them (3 confirmed cartons + 3 on consignment).

Here's the contacts for :

Bottles & Bottles
131 Tanglin Road
Tudor Court
Tel : 6735 5163

Millie's Bottle Shop
Block 5 Changi Village Road
#01-2051
Tel : 6542 9159

i got check it out.
They offer me Amesbury Shiraz Grenache. Is this wat you have got?
They also introduce Rossa Leggero Cabernet Merlot.

Did you go for the wine tasting? If yes, can u describe the taste of the one that you have got?

serene

ya, I took the Amesbury Shiraz Grenache. didn't like the Rossa Leggero coz to me, it didn't have any body or taste. tasted quite bland to me actually.

u didn't taste the wine despite going down??? how could u???? :ppp

demure, i did not go down for the wine tasting.
I just got the quote thru email.

By the way, does Amesbury Shiraz Grenache have a pepper taste? How does it taste like?Care to share with me?

serene

don't know how to define it leh...basically I prefer wines that are fruity and has no tannins. I don't really know wat is the pepper taste u mentioned. sorry hor....

anyway I found the Amesbury pleasant with a nice medium body. it will suit most palates from the newbie to the experienced drinkers, me thinks.

I strongly encourage u to go down for the tasting. its complimentary and no obligations also. then u can decide which one u like.

serene,
i learnt from one of the wine vendors.. as long as the wine bottle indicates "shiraz" it means "peppery taste".. I find that it a little difficult to drink.

Saw this posting in one of the thread...

In general, the grape type have the greatest influence on the "taste" of the wine. But the style the winemaker chooses has a great impact on what it turns out to be. For wedding banquest we probably want to focus most on the price of the wine and what wine MOST people (not just the couple) will like since it is meant for the guest.

Cabernet Sauvigon is has typically higher tannins and needs ageing to soften, it is least preferred for Chinese food because it overpowers the food. Beside, most Singaporeans don't like the obvious tannins (the mouth pluckering feeling when you drink very thick tea).

Merlot is lusher and smoother. Some wine purists may find it boring, but it is a better choice than Cabernet. Shiraz is also a better choice as it has less obvious tannins. It is usually have a pepper taste/smell and is also full bodied which actually is not that good for Chinese food.

My personal opinon is the best all round match for Chinese dinners is German/Austrian Riesling but many Singaporeans get impressed with fuller bodied red wines. I believe that Pinot Noir is the best red wine to have for the dinner. However decent Pinot Noir is pretty spendy, so better stick to budget.

If you insist on Cabernet, get a blend. Also taste the cheaper wines as they then to be thinner/less full bodied which makes it more suitable for Chinese food and most Singaporean tastebuds. Your wallet will thank you anyway.

Finally, if you know there is a table of wine "experts", you may want to get a special bottle for them to prevent them from tasting the cheap stuff that the rest of the guest are blissfully happy with anyway.

today I was at Olio Dome when I saw tat they were selling the wine tat I got for my wedding! wah biang, the prices were pretty scary. I paid only $220 per carton (ie $18 per bottle) for my Amesbury but Olio was selling it at $38.50++ per bottle! *faint*

f'more there were some white wines which I had bought from WineBos before to try n paid only $18 for it. they were selling at Olio for $52++ per bottle!!! *faint again*

Demure,

For your info, resturants and hotel will always sell wines and beer at a higher price than when you buy it yourself. This is because they charge premium for corkages.

That is why when we want to bring in our own wines, PP will charge high corkages.

Have you seen the wine list from PP, think minium price is at least $30 and up per bottle.

can someone intro me good red wine? intend to get two bottles for a table of wine experts and also a bottle of champagne for them...

My wedding was in dec04 and i got my wine consignment from a wholesaler in west area. His prices are 10%-20% below the market price. What's more, you can return him the unused bottles of wine that you bought from him earlier on and he will refund you the money, which i think is quite good. Just that he does not provide delivery and you will have to pick the wine up yourselves. Anyone interested, can drop me an email at [email protected].

I've got some wine left from my wedding a month ago. 10 bottles of red and 5 white :

Red : Rosemount Estate Diamond Label Shiraz 2003
White : Rosemount Estate Chardonnay 2003

If anyone's keen, do feel free to email me at [email protected]

For those looking for a good red wine, I must especially recommend this Rosemount Diamond Shiraz! Received a lot of praises from my relatives and friends. It's an award-winning wine (eg. 2004 Cowra Show Gold medal). Can go to all big supermarkets to check out

Hi little_ger,

I agree with you that German/Austrian riesling wines really goes well with Chinese food, very easy to drink too.
Just that for weddings, couples tend to pick reds maybe because it is more trendy.
I am considering having a mixture of whites and reds for my wedding

Hi Ashley, how did your wine tasting at Grotto go?

may i know how many litres of beer and bottles of wine for ard 22 tables?

est 12 tables for relatives.. not too sure abt bf relative consumption, my side both drink beer and wine..

hello ladies and eh, gentleman..
want to check ah, for 45tables, how many bottles of wine should i standby? i already have 2x 30L barrel of beer liao..
are there wine that are priced from $12 to max $15???

hi mgt,

it depends greatly on the guests and your budget. if u know that you have a lot of guests that will drink red wine, you may want to standby more... maybe 1-2 bottles per table... also depends on your budget...

as for where to get wine, you can consider winebos.... they have wedding wine packages and you can go for wine tasting before making decisions... i got my wine from there... you can call them to make appt for wine tasting...

Wine Bos Pte Ltd
47 North Canal Road
Singapore 059303
www.winebos.com

Thanks Eternity... how much was ur per bottle of wine?? which type did u go for?? do they charge at a lesser rate if purchasing more that 72bottles? or even on consignment?

Hi gals, i've been doing wine tasting recently with my another couple of frens who are getting married next yr too. We've been to Star Cellar @ Stamford Court & Wine Company @ Deampsy Road. Both serves great wine...

Need an advice from u gals...if i have abt 35tables, how many bots should i get as i have corkage waived off from my hotel??

Hi gals, just had my wedding 2 days ago.. had 40 tables, but consumed only 38 bottles of red wine.as a result, i had 22 bottles of wine left over cuz i bought 60 bottles with 25% on consignment basis. being thickskinned (and poor), i carted all my 22 bottles of wine to the place i bought it (Ca**efour), with my receipt, hoping to get some refunded. to my pleasant surprise, i was refunded all 22 bottles, although i was apparently allowed to return only 15 bottles which was on consignment. this was because Ca**efour has a full refund policy but only if u return your wines within 15 days of purchase. they also provide wine tasting and do have quite a large variety of wines.

gintonic- suggest u make a trip to Ca**efour and try some wines. for 35 tables, probably 4-5 cartons should be enough, depending on whether your guests are "alcoholics". if can't finish, can always return ALL the remnant bottles of wine.. but of cuz must buy within 15 days of the wedding lah. hope this helps...

Hi Jules,

So ca**efore can sell wines based on consignment basis?
Which wine did u get and how much was it?

hi vonn,
they definitely sell wines based on consignment basis. ie if u buy 4 cartons, can return 1 carton. but they also have this general full refund policy- ie u can potentially return anything that is still in its original packaging and in resaleable condition as long as its within 15 days of purchase. using this policy, u can return ALL bottles of unopened wine(labels intact of cuz) even if it's more that the 25% thats allowed else where. thats the good part! =)

i got australian red wine- kangaroo ridge cabernet sauvignon 2003. my guests said it was quite nice.. ladies may find it a bit strong though.

hey guys, i had cornerstone red and white for my wedding...the white is light and refreshing, very tasty indeed. the red is fantastic with chinese food. tried wolf blass eaglehawk - this tastes nice but the moment you take it with food the taste goes completely off! very bitter! Tried some cheap 13 bux wines from Bottles and Bottles as well but they taste bad...very hard to drink.

Anyone wants my contact for the Cornerstone, let me know. My supplier has wines from 15.50 - 20 bux...consignment about 20-30%.

Halo,

i am currently looking for cheap red wines ranging less than $15 lor...anyone can tell me where i can buy those wines? tks