Wine

kite~

Hi Ah ger,

sorry for my late reply. 1 bottle of wine (from my hotel) costs abt $17+++. cant remember well, so it's abt $20+.

Or shall i order maybe 20 bottles of wines for 30 tables? dun think enuff rite? bcos in e 1st time, we dun even thought of serving wine cos army guys sure drink alot alot like tap water. so hv to control. do u think its wise? which means after 20 bottles, no more wines. oni hard liquor and beer. any comments?

any lobangs on getting outside beer? cos my hotel really expensive leh. 30litres of beer costs $650+++ not worth it. meanwhile i wil check with my hotel what is the corkage charges for beer.

littlegirl

Kite
Ur hotel so funny. Get wine frm them also $17+++, then if u take frm outside corkage is $17????

Urs wkend or wkday? I m taking 30 - 36 btls of wine for abt 30 - 32 tables on a Sunday.

It all depends on ur guests consumption

Beer - I go hme search for the contacts then I let u know either 29 or 2mr ok? Think I hv 1 or 2, bt best u chk if they hv. In the meantime u also chk the corkage for beer.

kite~

Hiyee ah ger,

eh i think i better go n check e price 1st, i very forgetful one. paiseh ah. wil let you know again.

Mine is weekend, its a sunday.

littlegirl

hi Kite

My gf got wine from this man, nt sure if he sells beer also. His hp is 90031322 (David).

There is another one Thong Huat Pte Ltd 6471 7237/ 6472 2998. This was given to me by my ex-coll, person to contact is Cecile (not sure if she is still ard), tel: 67550330.

kite~

Hi Ah Ger,

Last nite, i checked my package liao.
Confirm the corkage charge for 1 bottle of wine costs $17.00+++. However, if buy from our hotel, cheaper, the cheapest costs $24. (Cornerstone Red Vin De Pays D’oc). This brand of red wine good anot? bcos i know nuts abt wines. And the most expensive one is Nottage Hills Cabernet Shiraz costs $32. thanks.

Ok thanks for the contact, wil call n check whether sells beer anot.

oh ya normally what kind of beer to be served for wedding dinner? tiger beer?

littlegirl

hi Kite

Personally I dun really like Cornerstone, bt it's ok lah, think it's a French wine. as for taking wine frm the hotel there's a risk lor, cos it's frm them mah, so naturally they wil wanna earn more $$, so if u notice, usually those who take wine frm the hotel, their consumption is very high. Nt sure if all hotels also 'cheat' lah, bt wine dealer said best nt to take lor.

Prob wat u can do it, if u hv a budget, tell them max hw many btls of wine u can go to. & perhaps c if u can neg w/ the hotel say eg u only wanna pay for 24btls, then in advance u hv someone take charge of the 24btls. Each time the person passes 4btls of wine to the waiters/waitress in xchange for 4 btls used up. I dunno if u can do tat, bt no harm asking.

me nt those expert wine drinkers, just drink & know wat i like or dun like lor. Comments given may b very subjective. Perhaps u call & ask if u can hv some tasting of the wine. I hv a gf who doesn't drink, bt yet she went w/ me for tasting sessions, & then frm there she also will give her feedback like hw she thinks abt the wine.

As for CornerStone, nt sure if there's a variety, bt I've seen @ Cold Storage Centrept tat they sell. Think per btl is $15+, less than $16. If hotel doesn't allow u to hv any wine tasting, then u go to supermkts to buy & try lor.

During a banquet, no need to get so exp wine, cos they drink for the sake of drinking, they dunr eally relax & appreciate wine like fine dining.

Beer - Tiger obviously costs more. Calsberg? Heineken? I m nt sure, think Calsberg (then u play "Can't Take My Eyes Off U")

I dun drink beer, hate the smell bt anyway I m allergic to it. So I dunno much. Sorry can't help much.

kite~

Hi Ah Ger,

thanks. well actually i know nuts abt wine n beer but at least now know abit.

btw alamak i asked my hotel, they told me if i getting beer from outside, there will be a huge corkage charges of $300+++/$400+++ for 20litre/30litres respectively.

FAINT!

so since 30litre barrel of beer from hotel costs $650+++ (90 glasses), do u think it's still wise to get from outside?

littlegirl

Kite:
ha ha ha..... knowledge of watever frm me also limited Co one, just tat when i go & do research i hear bits & pcs only.

U hv 30L of beer free = ~ 90 glasses. Hw much is 20L of beer? Cos by then already another 60 glasses, total 150 glasses. If u hv 30 of them who drink beer, then each of them hv 5 glasses already.

U still hv hard liquer right? On top of that 2gether w/ wine, more than enough.

My gf, who had her wedd las yr, she has a barrel of 30L free, then 20L she brought in, think nt even 1/2 consumed. Most of her guests drank wine & hard liquer. So u hv to know ur guests pref lor.

Anyway I guess by the time all these are finished, dinner almost 7788 liao.

Then another of my gf arh, her hotel said they will stop serving alcohol frm 5th or 6th dish onwards cos the dessert is coming, they do not want to spoil the taste. Perhaps you also want to follow this, then in a way ctrl ur costs.

kite~

Hi Ah Ger,

Actually our hotel will give us 30 litres barrel of beer FOC. Its not free flow. Subsequently, hv to buy or get from outside.

i hv checked the 20litres barrel of beer costs $480+++ (60 glasses).

Hmm how come i compare w my fren's hotel, their hotel beer costs not as expensive as my hotel leh.

the thing is the beer corkage charges really shocked me! so expensive.

i think i hv to do some homework n compare outside beer costing + corkage charges w hotel beer n see whether WU HUA anot.

last thing, paiseh, i made a mistake, just red my contract, my hotel allows duty paid n sealed hard liquor leh. but actually heard some hotels allow DFS hard liquor, rite? urs?

littlegirl

hi Kite

I nv said free flow arh, I said free.

It's like tat - higher class hotels usually charge more exp.

Mine arh - also hv to bring in duty paid liquer. Another option is trsf btl lor. Meaning u get DFS btls, then u trsf. Cos DFS is 1L, duty-paid is 750ml so u can easily tell even if u remv the sticker. Bt dun get 2 many DFS btls, cos had liquer once u open bt yet nt consumed, the liquer will be spoilt.

So wat I m getting is 4 btls, then can trsf to 6 btls. Since u hv beer, wine & hard liquer, it is more than enough le.

Ur table size is abt the same as mine & also a Sun, think prob u can follow mine. When's ur AD?

lol_lyn

I've got a question here, what does it means when they said the wine suppiler is on consignment with the hotel? Can anyone help?

littlegirl

Lynn

I've nv heard of tat b4.. maybe u wanna ask ur hotel instead, in case we give u the wrong info.

If it says consignment - tat mean sprob the hotel doesn't hold any wines in their premise. When u tel them approx hw many btls u wanna order frm the hotel, then they order frm their dealer. Then if anything unconsumed can b rtn w/o xtra charge lor.

best - ask the hotel

honeygem

Hi Lynn,

Consignment is the term of payment whereby only the consumed number of bottles are charged to the hotel. All unconsumed bottles will be returned to the wine supplier.

Hope that helps.

honeygem

ahger,

Something like that
Hotels mostly have the wines in premise if they work with the wine dealer. It is just that they have to agree beforehand that it is on consignment basis and they will add in stock accordingly (if not enough).

Just a note though, wine dealers accept only unconsumed bottles that have wine labels still intact. Meaning sometimes, when people chill extra wines in coolers etc and it gets wet/labels removed in the process, but not used, most dealers wont accept it. And you are liable to pay as well.

So if you have a strict budget, just make sure you dont overload in the coolers champagnes and white wines. Must discuss properly with the banquet manager beforehand.

hope that helps.

sweet_apple

I'm looking for supplier for wine for my wedding in Dec '04. Any cheap & good ones to recommend? I've heard of Winebos & Parkers, which is better? Any recommendation suitable type of red wine?

chio_eh

Hi Apple, I just got my wines few days ago @ a very good rate! If you are interested, do let me know & I will send u the details! Cheers!

heart

I personally also feel that order from hotel, more or less they will cheat.. but how to prevent this?

If you buy in from outside, will it be cheaper, cos there is a corkage charge or something like this, added on by the hotel. How you gals manage this?

littlegirl

Casy

try talking to the hotel, wat wine they are serving, hw much is the corkage.

Also, if they give u only 12 btls of wine waiver, wat I can sugg is, u order big btls of wine. Meaning instead of 750ml per btl, it's 1.5L, so when u order 12 btls it's = 24 btls le.

Even if u hv to top up for the 13th btl onwards the charges also wun b so high.

Hope tis info helps.

heart

Hi Ah Ger,

I think hotel wine standard. they only let you choice what on the list. if out of the list, think hv to top up, then the charge will be diff.

Nw my problem is wonder is there anyway to control them from cheating. how do we know if we really consume that amount of btl, I'm sure they hv alot of the similar wine btl.

That how they are able to give the next couple free one carton. cho cho here and there a bit, can easily make up one carton liao.

sweet_apple

Actually my preference is the Australian wine, cos it's sweet. However, it will not be a good choice, cos too nice people will drink more, then will burn a hole in the pocket.

littlegirl

Strange - I saw a person by the name of Eric Gan posting something, bt I can't c; only can c the last post is mine still.

Hw cme like tat?

Hi Ah ger,

As you may know, we don't allow postings by non-advertisers to promote their services in the forum. As such, Eric's messages have been removed. We appreciate your understanding. Thank you.

littlegirl

Chin Leng

Oh, I c.............. i din realise he was advertising for wine though.

Okie, thks very much for the clarification.

daniboy

hey guys

anyone can pass me some contacts for wholesale wines ?
my family seem to have an interest in chilean wine are they better bottles compared to the australians ..?

slyvester

I understand that the standard wine bottles comes in 750ml bottles. Can anyone recommend me wine in 1.5 L bottles? I would like to save some cost in the corkage charges...

Kum Sia...