Wine

Hi KPO,
Hahaha... ah well...

$75 per bottle is absolutely nuts!

Anyone out there has ordered cases of wine for weddings? How many cases is considered sufficient? I have a guest list of 400pax and 2 free barrels of beer from the hotel. No liquor though.

Any good suppliers to recommend? How much is it per bottle/case? Any brand of red/white wine to suggest?

Please help....

Hi Cleu,

i have same # of guest list as you, i served red wines 6 cases (=72 bot) + 2 barrels of beer. 6 cases should be o.k. i have around 10 bottles left.

Hi Clinet,

Thanks for replying. May i ask how much did you pay for each bottle/case of red wine? Which type of red wine did you go for? Eg. Merlot, Shiraz, Pinot Noir?

Is it necessary to cater white wine as well, namely 3 cases of red and 3 cases of white?

Please advise further...

hi cleu,

i'm hving about 420 guests. rather than crack my brain to count the number of bottles of wines, i'm ordering them on consignment, so that i can return anything i dun use back to the supplier. so long as the labels r not damaged, i can return as many as i like.

Hi cleu,

I had my wedding and ordered wine. The wines were imported from Australia. You can even have your photos on the wine bottles. We did that and had so many compliments. Guests even took the bottles home with them for memory

These wines were especially designed for asian taste and goes well with asian food. And many of our guests loved the wines.

You may want to contact them for more info:
Paradaise Wines Pte Ltd
Tel: 6332 2797
Fax: 6339 3112
Ask for Jacquelyn Koh

Hi missuskoh,

The wines are sold per carton of 12. The prices also depend on which kind of wine you order. Call them for more info.

Hi Clue,

you might want to consider buying from Cold Storage. I think they do give discount if you buy in cartons. What's more, they have wider range to suit your budgets.

No doubt consignment makes more sense as you can return any that you don't use, but you have to make sure that the hotel chill the wine for you properly without damaging the label, or else you can't return. Also, the choice are quite limited if you get from those wine stockist.

hi Cleu,

sorry for the late reply, i served 1998 Epicure, Graves. This wine fr France, Bordeaux it is special blend of few type of grapes from Graves a village in Bordeaux,(can't remember which grapes need to go back and check). Those type of grapes/wines U hv mention should be from Australia I guess.

The price is 420 or 35/per bot (need to confirm) again.

I suggest that you serves 1 type of wine(red)cos go better with the food and it is more econmical.
Unless you get very good white wine or else some white wine will have a sour after taste.

Hope this can help you, let me know if you need more information.

Clinet

hi Cleu,

the price of the wine that i have used should be $35 - $40, I really need to go back to re-confirm again. i old already la, just 1 month ago my wedding i cannot remember.

BTW when is your "BIG DAY" and where the venue?

Clinet

CLEU,
You may also get your wine from Provignage and ask for Michelle. Tell her Randy (my hubby)recommended as Provignage is actually a wine bar!
We told her our price range and the no. of bottles we want (abt 40), the price she quoted is quite reasonable and best of all, within our budget!
Give her a call if you're interested, her no. is 6834 1490 and pls call after 7pm(it's a wine bar remember?)

Och

May I know which vendor you liason with that allow you to go on consignment?? Mind sharing with me more details? Eg: Who can I call? What's the price range like & where can I locate them? Thks!!

hi man utd,

sorry, i din see ur msg earlier. i liased with fine wines retail shop
41 sunset way #01-06

they r importers, so there is a large range of wines. i saw labels fr chile, australia, california, germany n france. what i like abt them is that they r used to catering for weddings, so they can readily recommend red n white pairs fr the same label.

prices start fr $17/bottle. no min/max number of bottles. as long as the labels r not damaged, u can return the wines to the store in exchange for a cheque. free delivery. if u order a lot, they waive gst.

for the amount, you usually can serve up better quality wines from aust rather than from france. shiraz is usually easier, as compared to cab sauvignon [men like it more]. merlot is sweeter but tend to please the women taste buds better. so shiraz is usually a safer bet. a very safe bet is rosemont.

other labels to look out for are vasse felix, devil's lair [very good whites, MUST TRY!], even mixed like mad fish and Henscheke GSM are very good.

mad fish can be hard to find, but if you want to have a taste of it, they serve mad fish by the glass at tango [holland v], four seasons hotel lounge and le chateau [pheonix]. try it, and if you like it, i know where to get it cheaply.

otherwise, try le wine at tai seng, it's like a factory outlet setup, cheaper if you buy by the dozens.

Thanks for responding to my message and thank you all very much for the valuable advices.

[swan]
You mentioned that your wines were imported from Australia. Were you taxed for duties? If yes, how much? As for the photo on the wine bottles, how much more did you pay, what's the time req'd for such arrangement? Can you please advise again?....

[clinet]
Hi,..my BIG DAY is next January. Venue is Grand Copthorne Waterfront. Where was yours?

[jewels]
Thanks for your recommendation. Will check out Provignage....

Hope to hear from you gals soon. Take Care!

hi bearyhungry,

price wise, i din find le wine v. cheap, n they dun hv enuf stocks for all the wines, only selected ones. but they do offer wines on consignment n wine tasting, so those r pluses in their favour.

Hi Cleu,

All prices quoted by them are after tax. The photo on the wine bottle was included in the price. If you wish to order from them, best to give them at least a month.

Hi Cleu,

Congratulate, January bride 2 be Cleu.

My BIG DAY was on 08/06/02 at Grand Hyatt. Being MRS for 1month+ now.

have check out with Provignage already? let me know if you need my help.

Clinet

Hi to all of you,

my friends had ordered their wine from Star Cellars. they provide really very good service and even give free wine tasting.

they promised me to give me the best rate, better than those offer that we can find from supermarts. If you think you r going to get wine from supermarts, you will have headache like what how many bottles should u get or what r u going to o with the left overs.

I'll be ordering from them too coz they can give me consignment. I was told that I'll get a free gift too.

Probably you want to check it out:
Star Cellars Pte Ltd
call Alan at 63460680

Hi Cleu,

They are importer for most of the wine so there is a large range of wines. Some of wine is from chile, australia, california, germany, france and lot more. They often cater wedding wine to couples who hold their banquet in hotel and restaurant, so they can recommend the best for you.

You can try giving them a call at 64632338.

The price is the cheapest among all of the wine merchant that i can get hold of.

I had ordered from them during my wedding and found that their services are very good, therefore i would strongly recommend them to you.

Hi Jasmine,

My hubby got the wines from Star Cellars too for our wedding in September and he also brought back a cute little bear with a lot of hearts for me : >

I don't know what wine he bought but his friend told him it'a a very good price that he got the wine.

Hi Matty(matty),

i had checked out about 6 merchant.

Hi Alice

From what i getting, Penfolds Bin128 is only $23.00. You are getting your wine at a higher price. I think the bear is being charged to your wine price.

Do we hv to store wines 'properly'? I mean should lie them down and store at a certain temperature? Is it ok to store them for around 6-9 months before I open them during my wedding banquet?

Need some advices...we will be serving red wine for our buffet dinner but we dun drink and not sure which is better. Below is some recommended ones, and can someone pls enlighten me which is more suitable for wedding and easy drink for everyone. Tks!

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Miranda Somerton Shiraz Cabernet Merlot/Unoaked Chardonnay 2001</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Lindemans bin 45 Cabernet Sauvignon</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Robert Mondavi Woodbridge Cabernet Sauvignon</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">Rivergum Shiraz Cabernet</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Rothbury Cabernet Merlot '99</FONT>

Hi Jowie,

drink wine is very personal preference. Actually white is easier to drink then red(personally feel)

I would suggest get Chardonnay type of wine as Merlot will be a bit dry...

All is my personal comment.....

Why not u base on your budget then?

JL...all the above fits our budget leh and all said their wine suitable for wedding...

hehee bluechin....ok lor be more soft
10336.gif

Hi Jowie,

My recommendations:

Miranda Somerton Shiraz Cabernet Merlot
Robert Mondavi Woodbridge Cabernet Sauvignon
Rothbury Cabernet Merlot '99

Personally I like Merlot best but I think its a bit heavy for chinese food. I think "Shiraz Cabernet Merlot" will be best cos it have 3 grapes and not too strong. I tried a New Zealand brand of "Shiraz Cabernet Merlot" and fell in love with it.

Unfortunately, my budget is only $15 so I go for a France wine.

agnes...tks!!
mine is international buffet, will it be alright if i go for Rothbury Cabernet Merlot? It's the cheapest(@ $19.90...price ok??) among the 3 u chosen
and the company give 1 for 1 consignment lor

when it comes to taste..it's really very subjective...don't listen to heresay or other people's preferences. u shld try the wines yourself to decide what u like best.

merlot/cabernet merlot are all quite easy to drink...and suitable for light drinkers.
i personally like the lindemans bin 45...my recommendation will be the lindemans pathaway wines - chardonnay (white), cabernet merlot

most singaporeans aren't avid wine drinkers...seriously, i doubt they can really tell a shiraz from a cabernet or a merlot...so, just go according to your budget. no point blasting your budget on the so-called good wines...not many will know how to appreciate or tell a quality wine from a inferior one. in fact, if u let them try both an expensive and cheap wine (without letting know what is what)...they'll probably prefer the cheap one 'cos it's usually lighter, less dry and easy on the tongue.

it seems to me that most ppl prefer reds. u might want to cater more reds than whites. at most weddings, u'll find the usual chardonnays and shiraz/merlot...why not try something different? i'll recommend gerwurztraminer (easy to drink and very slight fruitiness) and perhaps a zinfandel? these are good for light drinkers.

by the way...which shop is offering $19.90 for the rothbury? u shld check out cold storage, carrefour (they've wine fairs occasionally)..even NTUC and Giant (IMM)...they might not have a huge range but they usually carry quite popular wines and sometimes, u get special discounts for some wines. i bought 2 really great wines @ carrefour for very good prices - zin @ $12+ and gerwurz @ $16. they tasted good! for a wider range, check out jasons @ orchard plaza.

Jowie,
Rothbury Cabernet Merlot is nice. I tried that before and you are getting a very good deal (1 for 1). I wish I can get that kind of bargain too.

AA...tks for your advices, problem is my FH cannot touch alcohol and i know nuts about wine...we are serving wine coz i know at least half of my guests drink dat, especially my boss who used to sell wine...

u are rite! my boss told me to buy cheaper wine coz after couple of glasses down, people won't know which is good or bad!

I am getting all red wor...my boss wedding he bring 10 case red and 10 case white, red is almost gone, and white left 4 cases...and i scare dat for white, the label might be damaged after the event due to condensation and cannot return...so save the hassle, <FONT COLOR="ff0000">ALL RED!!!</FONT>

Oaks Wine is giving dat price, isit expensive?? i worried dat if i get from supermarkets, unopened bottles will be wasted...i dunno the drinking capacity of some guests, so better buy from importer dat do consignment lor

agnes...u gave me the final assurance!

FYI...Fine Wines are giving full consignment if label undamnaged, even better deal

i see...yeah, if u are not a regular wine drinker...it's more advisable to buy them on consignment. for us, we bought 2 dozens of whites/reds on top of the 12 bottles that the hotel provided...we were left with ard 5 bottles which we consumed on our own.

I have also checked out Culina. They have got pretty good wines as most of their wholesale clients are 5 star hotels and good restaurants

You could check them out.

Rosemount is also a very good Australian wine with quite a few medals awarded to their list of wines and you are unlikely to go wrong if you choose a red from their series.

If you want French wine, it is not a good idea to have a young vintage cos it might taste too sour/acidic. French red wine need to kept around 5-7 years before you could drink it.

My experience with wine if that if you choose a good red wine (not necessariy expensive), the chances of you getting a headache is also less.

Hi...tks for all your advices! I have ordered rothbury cabernet merlot from Oaks.
Their terms are quite flexible, they can deliver to the hotel, and collect the unopen bottles from the hotel, payment is when we received their invoice via post, dun have to pay immediate, even i will be away 2 weeks after wedding

know nuts abt wine here. a few questions to ask.

1) why would you all buy from some wine cellars instead of cold storage, carrefour or ntuc? Are they much cheaper?

2) I need some recommendations of red wine, a tight budget of less than $18. Prefer a easy one. Good for all beginners, amateurs or experts!

Hi May,

Hope i can help:

1) wine cellars offer consignment i.e. can return up to a certain % of total purchase if not consumed...dun hav 2 worry abt over-buyin

2) Y not go down to Star Cellars for wine-tastin (FOC n obligation free)? Tell them wat ur budget n type of wine n they will recommend sth for u.

i got my wine from A+ wines. the french boss is very nice..u can try them. it's $18 per bottle incl free delivery...oso got consignment...

Can also try Lynch Pte Ltd. Contact is Patrick Sauze @ 6221 5868. They specialise in only French boutique wines at affordable prices. Just tell him your budget. Offer wine tasting (after selection of wine) and on consignment basis.

Would really appreciate wine drinkers' comment on the suitable of these 2 to complement chinese food:

Matthew Lang Cabernet Sauvignon
Matthew Lang Chardonnay