to get gd Australian wines, usually it is nt cheap. Sames goes for French & Chilean or watever wine u r thinking of getting.
I dun really like French also.
I hv a simple calculation here, you gals may wish to try tis out & order, most of the time it's accurate, according to those dealers.
I quote an example - banquet - 300 guests, 60% of them drink (equivalent to 180 guests). On the average each person may drink 1.5 glasses (some may be 2 glasses). Eac btl can pour ard 6 glasses
Therefore 180 x 1.5/6 = 45 btls.
This is just an estimation, so you may want to order 36 btls or 48 btls.
Bt anyway they work on consignment basis, so no need to worry.
Parker's way of selling is min. 10% (can pay thru credit card) x # of btls u order, say each btl is $18 x 45 x 10% = $81 (ard 4.5btls only). Rest of the payment will be done after wedd by cash or cheque only.
If u r confident tat ur guests will finish 20 btls, then just pay 20btls of wine $$ thru credit cards then u can earn pts also.
As for A+, min order is 24 btls. They also wk on consignment basis, even u plc min 24 btls, bt u can request them to bring 48 btls. So if there is any unused btls, they will go & collect back.
If u think ur guests drink wine just for the sake of drinking & nt appreciating wine (which is usually very seldom cos banquet is just drink drink drink & drink, they may even 4get hw it taste like), then dun get so exp wine, less than $18 will b more than enough.
Also another thing to take note is, is ur hotel waiving all btls for u? If nt if each btl's corkage is $15 + $18 = $33, may be abit 2 exp right?
So you may choose nt to bring in so many btls also, try take the limit that hotel gives u, then if finish, then just stop, dun serve already, or else nv ending story. Also try to avoid Merlot cos 2 drinkable tat everybody will kip drinking non-stop.
Ok, end of my grand-mother story liao, so ti-ta.
*just sharing w/ everybody wat I was adviced lor.