Which Slimming Centre is the Best ?

hamasaki128

Hi Tsh,
oic...hw did u knw dat u lose fats? Cd u describe hw's d eqp like? Pretti glad 2 hear dat u lost fat lay! Cd share more? Hw much did u pay 4 it? Btw, u oso shared dat u went there 4 d first time at adonis. Hw abt nw? do u still go? did u gain back yr wt?

hamasaki128

have anione try royal bodyperfects b4? I read todae's wan bao. A hongkong actress slimmed down 7kg frm their program. If u tried b4, mind letting all of us knw abt their diet plan.

fantasy09

HI gals.
I just signed up with "de beaute" today for a 80 sessions slimming intensive course. anybody tried that before??? feedbacks???

jingjing

i just signed up with Marie France Woodland for FMS & CPT. I was 53kg when i first signed up and after 5 session, i actually gain weight - 55kg. the consultant advised that they will measure me again on the 7 session n advised me that it could be i've gain mass muscle which resulted in the weight gain. I forgot to mentioned earlier that I was on diet pill prescribed by doctor when i weight 53kg and have since stop since joining MF.

jingjing

Hi Tupper Mum,

the course includes cold wrap- FMS, hot & cold serum + message - CPT and also a free course (10 session of machine message which I can't remember the name but it's something like A.. whereby u need to wear a bodystocking and they use a kind of machine to message the body which they claim will contour the body by reducing the cellulite. Though i have gain weight which i am pretty upset after paying so much $$$ however, my butts and thigh do look firmer and less cellulite.

wtp

I also don't like MF. Spent $5K+ and although lose some weight, they are mostly lost due to dieting rather than through treatment. There's a period which I stopped for 2 months and control my diet. I found that I lost more weight than going for treatment.

Also, the consultant will pressure you to sign up for package, after that you'll not see them till your package almost complete and they'll ask you to sign up for more!! Although they say they take measurement after every 7 sessions, but mine don't bother unless I asked to see her!!

What's worse is whenever I booked for the treatment in advance, they'll change it when I arrived!! Say no room or machine, etc. Sianz...Can you imagine? Make a trip down and just do a wrap for 20 minutes? I told them that my journey time takes longer than that.

Don't think I'll sign any slimming package again.

tupper_mum

Winnie, which branch did you go to???

Mine definitely gave me better service. If I book for 5pm, I will usually be there @ 4.50pm, and I will sure get a room and the treatment which I chosen.

I agree that controlling what we ate is important. But I have been controlling my diet for a year long and yet no inches or kgs have gone down.

I think the treatment definitely helps to loosen the stubborn fats so that when we control diet, its easier for the fats to move out of the body.

My consultant is very good, when there is new treatment, she will let me have a trial. I just got a trial on the CIE treatment which Zhao Wei is using.

jingjing

I am going for another session this Sat and will find out the name of the "free treatments" that come with my course which make up of 10 FMS + 10 CPT for $3000. fyi the original price quoted was $6000+ but i told the consultant i can't afford the kind of money and my budget is around $3000 and she gave me the discount.

icute

Hi winne the pooh,

I agree with you totally, after wasting $6000 at Sentualite and loosing only 1kg!!! I think controlling diet is the easiest.

wtp

I went to Orchard branch. She also din give me any trial for new treatments, even though she tried to push me to sign up for them.

Tupper mum, what package did you sign up? May be you sign up as VIP (more tha certain amount) so they treat you better? *heheee* just joking...

I think it very much depends on the consultant you have.

tupper_mum

I no VIP... Just normal.

I go to Bishan Branch. They are not as pushy. Like when she have some promotions, she just let me know what is it. When I told her, I do notwant to add on to my current, she will jus say ok....

janice1

Hi Daphne Yeow
me too did sign up for de beaute bt its only low intensive. tried a few sessions manage to drop a kg bt it seems to be up n down. haha.. dunno wats wrong w it. mayb i did nt follow the diet plan.
so hv u went for any sessions? hw issit? can share w me?

quench

i have a course with citispa. not bad and not too ex. i've spent abt 1800 with them. so far lost abt 3.2kg and quite a bit of inches after 6 sessions. not pushy and very responsible.

you can call up jurong branch and look for pauline. she's great!

xeclarx

Hi..
I just finish reading the feedback in here abt the slimming center.I read up the newspaper last month.There is one slimming treatment which has proven very effective.Is to injest some kind of liquid in your body.U can see the result in 2 weeks time.But which injection cost $500 which I find it very expensive.It is done by certified clinic doctor.Maybe u gals can find out more and if u can afford to sign up the packages in some slimming center I think u should be able to afford this treatment.

quench

Hi Janice,

1800 for 22 sessions. each session will include (1) lymphatic drainage (2) Massage (3) Wrap (4) Sauna.

There's one session that i lost 700grams immediately. I'm a totally satisfied customer.

jazzric

hi daphne,
My Frd &i signed for the session 2 for us signed for 780 for 60 session. & 380 for 40 session.

I dun like their after sale service. There is a lady call verene, she is very nice when you haven sign up with them, but when you signed up she treat you differently....sigh.

I when for the fisrt session & i stopped b'cos I am very busy the following week & I am gg to hv my period.

my first treatment they ask me to buy their slimming gel for anohter $600 but i refuse to buy??

Regret signning with them feel kana corn.....

newspaper said $380 for 40 sessions for full body.

When you went down, they said that package in only to lose inch not your weight......

Haha.... very funny right

cosmicice

Hi Sol,

Which newspaper did u read regardin tis treatment? Is it in the news or juz a slimming advertisement? Where can we obtain more info?

alan_golfnut

After reading through the whole thread, I gotta say that I'm amazed with the experiences you've all had with these 'slimming' companies. My gosh!! For 5k, you can pay for gym memberships at SEVERAL gyms, and with the spare change, still purchase their personal training service. Or you can also hire the services of a personal trainer whose job is to educate you on what to do, and best of all, you can check to see if the trainer is certified.

It's really easy to promise you the earth to get you to sign on, but after the money goes to paying their wages, they're not bothered abt you anymore. Neither will they care if you come back cos as far as they're concerned, they have more waiting outside to sign up.

Regarding the restricting of diet to 1000 calories a day, that's a real good joke they told you, cos when you starve yourself like that, of cos you'll lose 'weight'. Your body needs about 1500 calories a day to sustain your basic survival, so by putting yourself at 1000 calories a day, what will happen is your body will (a) store the food you eat as fats to use in times of starvation cos as far as it's concerned, you ARE starving and (b) your muscles will 'waste' away cos your body will break down your muscles for food cos they're no other sources. And when you lose muscles, you lose weight too. But it'll mean you'll have no strength (literally) for anything then.

As always, the best way to lose fat is through a sensible diet AND an active lifestyle. In order to lose fat, you need to spend more calories than you eat. Simple as that.

I'll be more than happy to answer your questions if you have any. FYI, I'm a qualified health and fitness professional, so I DO know what I'm talking about.

ningyo

hi Daphne,
how's ur slimming sessions with de beaute?
is their after sales service that bad?
which branch did u go to?

hi jazz,
have u been to their 2nd session yet? i suppose u went to the branch at sg shopping centre?

can pm via email? [email protected]

thks!

amkx2

Hi Alan,

some pple r like me.....know exercise can help to slim down yet rather spend some money on slimming cenres, for them to tell u to control diet etc.....
we, or at least I, do know most of the slimming centres will need customer to control diet for 'best' result, n thus e main reason of slimming down comes from the Controlled diet :p
what i think here is....i'm basically lazy, since exercise + diet = reduce weight n tonning up, i'm willing to spend Some(not much) $$ for the equation : slimming centre with Effective method + diet = reduce weight n tonning up

that's e reason i'm reading threads hoping to find 1 good one......
thank u alan at least u r here to remind me to go a healthier way.....

alan_golfnut

amkx: As I'd said, for that amount of money spent at 'slimming centres', you can easily afford a TRAINED PROFESSIONAL to advice you on your diet, and guide you each step of the way on your planned exercise routine. On the other hand, the so-called 'effective method' doesn't work, and the people at the slimming centre, I doubt if they're qualified to give you advice on diet anyway. Oh, without lifting weights, no way you can tone up. No electricity, no massages, no pants, and who knows whatever unbelievable contraceptions they claim, will be able to help you tone up.

BTW, you'd need to go scan your PC for viruses, cos I keep getting e-mails with infected attachments from you.

Hi Tupper_mum,

Check with you on something. I understand that MF is having a promo right now. What kind of MF treatments is suitable for toning of arms and thighs?

babybbsg

hi jazz,

i am also contemplatng to join de beaute.Do u mean u r at specialist shopping centre?Do u have any feedback and comments for me?Thanks
if not convenient u can pm me..

jazzric

Hi Angeline (babybbsg)

If you really want to sign up with them you got to prepare to pay $780 for the session & $688 for the slimming gel & ampolue.

Me sign up at the singapore shopping centre??

I dun like that verene. she keeping on pushing to ask you to sign their intensive package which cost about $2000-00++. Sorry I dun noe that actual amt.

actually i feel abit regret abt signning with them.

Unless you know how to say "no"

babybbsg

hi jazz,

thanks for ur advice, there is so much hidden cost to it, dun think will patronize them too.Thanks a lot.

snowysoul

Hi everyone here,

I tinking going slimming centre is really a waste of $$. I tried expression 10yrs ago. But didnt work at all. 1 yr ago, i start to pick up gym with totally change of diet and i slimmed down 12kg.

Hence my conclusion is dont waste $$ la. If u are discipline enough, you could have slim down using my method.

I have many frds that visited slimming centre and spent $10-20K yet only shed merely 5kg. So my conclusion is no point wasting your hard earned $$.

alan_golfnut

Snowy: Good on you!! Glad to hear that you made that positive change and has reaped the reward of a lifestyle change. And tell me, did you weight yo-yo ever since you started your active lifestyle? Do you feel more energetic, healthier and happier?

snowysoul

Alan,

Ya la... I did feel more energetic and healthier...as for happier....not so la...ha!! Ever since i start exercising, i did not take a single day of MC liao...1 2 fall sick also wont leh...ha!!

Seems like u r everywhere and notorious for being an anti party to other slimming methods other than exercise rite?

I exercise 3 times a week...and cut down on food...breadfast just bread, lunch, soup base bee hoon, dinner on fruits. No more fast food, soft drinks if possible. within my first 3 mths, i shed 8kg liao.

No more yoyo as i managed to maintain..but other than gym and cut down on food, i still got try other other slimming things la...( DONT SCOLD ME HAR) so far ntuc diet not too bad but things like xando doesn't work on me.)

I quite tempted to use the Chong Liang Sol but still tinking....You know we girls always like to try different methods even though we know exercising is still the best la

Those slimming pills, slimmiing gel etc are selling we girls a DREAM, but u always spoil our DREAM leh... ha!!ha!!

I am still fat and want to cut down another 5kg,,but exercise seems to stop my weight from going down liao...so kind of openning for other option ma....

alan_golfnut

Snowy: Wow! 'Notorious' means famous for unfavourable things. Well, maybe it's the retailers and 'slimming' centres might feel that way. ;) Yup, I do admit that I am against those gimmicks, thanks to all the conditioning I received when I was studying health education in Uni, and so I know what works and what doesn't. Anyway, spoil your dream better than spoiling your bank account or even health, rite? Save the money, keep working hard, and then use the money that you saved for a brand new dress for yourself! If you did waste it at the 'slimming' centre, it'd be the salesperson who'd be wearing a new dress! *lol*

What is your definition of fat? And what do you mean by 'exercise is stopping your weight from going down'?? Actually, I might even speculate that you're not eating enough. Strange as it may sound, there IS a diminishing return when it comes to caloric restriction, then your body gets tricked into thinking it's starvation time and start to store up on fat. Maybe you've hit a plateau too, hence the lack of progress. Speak to the gym trainer, just make sure he's qualified to advise you properly.

junec

Slimming treatments don't work. I've spent $4K so far and am half way thru the treatments and am sad to say I did not lose a single KG.

The funny thing is that they made me go on a strick high protein diet for 2 weeks. If I can do that, why do I need slimming treatments in the first place. Last year I went on high protein diet and lost 3 kgs in 2 weeks. But it all came back once I went back to eating normal. And I had constipation.

I think all the success stories are for people who can stick to their diet and I think that that is the hard part, esp if you love food.

For now I will just enjoy the treatments as they can be quite relaxing, like a spa.

I will stick to a healthy diet and jog 3 times a week and lift some weights.

northgal

Forget about those slimming centres. Have never heard of any truelife successful stories except from the advertisements themselves.

I have seen friends around me paying thousands of dollars going from sensualite to slimming santuary to FIL to Marie France and yet no result shown.

Smart woman of today : invest 50% of the capital that you have initially set aside for the slimming treat into personal training instead. You will then be able to use the balance 50% to buy new clothing for rewarding yourself after getting that desire body shape of yours.

icute

Hi junec,

I had the same experience as you. Spent almost 6k and only lost 1kg because I was starving on their so called diet. When I confronted them after almost 4 months of DAILY treatment, they said I ate too little!!! I followed their diet plan and they said there was a mistake in the plan and they're now changing the plan to include more calories!! They even said that their consultant may not be properly trained or have insufficient experience! I told that that that was not my problem but of course they still got away because the contract stated inches lost. I said that the manager who signed the contract promised me lost of 20kg, which was why I paid the whole sum of 6K but the director said that that particular manager has already resigned!! I know that SENTUALITE is a total fake one and will never waste my time and money going to slimming centre.

It is hard for those who have never been to slimming centre to believe what we say bec they still have the dream that they could lose all that weight there!

alan_golfnut

You know, I really applaud you ladies for standing up and sharing your experience. Hopefully, it'll pursuade the rest that there's no surer and safer way of doing it than a sensible diet and an active lifestyle. Unfortunately, it's human nature that they cling on to the hope that it might just work for them. The clever disclaimers that all these centres and products put, "Results may vary", on the one hand covers the centres, but on the other hand, give women hope that 'hey, it might not have worked for her, but it might work for me cos it does say that the results vary', and vice versa. It also gives the centre the opportunity to push for more continuing sales. But hopefully, with such damning testomonies, consumers will know better.

icute: My deepest deepest sympathies. My goodness! They promised you a whopping 20kg?! Might as well promise you the earth! Go read my new thread on such claims, there're links to US governmental organisations like Federal Trade Commission and US Food and Drug Administration on such things.

6k? Wow, could've paid for 60 hours of personal training!

snowysoul

Hey Alan,

"notorious" is meant to be a joke la...lucky i only spend $888 on expression b4 and not $8888 ha!!ha!!. By the way, i go gym and work on all the machines my self. i dont engage trainer. $60 per lession...hee...hee....

R u with any gym?mine is planet fitness.

I not eating enough meh? occassionally, i still east good meals ma...

Hey wat is the best formula to calculate whether you are fat or not?BMI? or wat?

So can i say you have a very gd body build now?

alan_golfnut

snowy: I noe you joking lah, but seriously, even if it's true, but because I'm speading a good message, I dun care. ;)

$888?! Oy, got lucky recently? ;)

I usu use the gym at NUSS, I also got membership at Planet Suntec, but never bother going there. NUS closer to my home, and practically grew up there. Great homely environment.

Re body fat: Planet has a body fat analyser there. You can ask them if you can use it. It'll calculate your percentage body fat.

Wah lau eh, your last question berry personal leh! *lol* No lah, long way from perfect. I do put on fat very fast, and I've been so busy with work lately that it's taken a toll on my workouts. :p Sigh! Ok lah, some parts of my body nice, others I not so happy with.

snowysoul

Alan,

u like very free leh...not convincing that u r busy at work hor... NUSS? that Fat analyser? icic wat % is the best har? i think i used b4....mine from 40% over to 30% over than...never measure liao...

Your suntec membership is free?if not why waste $$ and dont go?

U appear to be the only male in the forum hor?

alan_golfnut

snowy: Aiya, I good at multi-tasking mah. Anyway, I get busy mostly from afternoon onwards. Oy, u oso quite free wat. ;)

40 drop to 30% is great! Depending on your age, about 28% and below will be within normal range.

My Suntec membership I think I paid only $100 odd cos of a deal they did with NUSS.

Being the only male on the forum: Aiya, I in touch with my feminine side mah, so comfortable here! *lol*

snowysoul

Hey,

$100 is cheap leh...any lobang if i 1 2 renew my membership and u can help to get at tis price 4 me har?

You mean u r "feminine"...?ha!!ha!!!

alan_golfnut

snowy: No lah, I got no lobang for Planet. Actually, these guys EXTREMELY profit driven one, all the commercial gyms. Afterall, it's their biz.

Oy, 'in touch with my feminine side' doesnt mean I effiminate, thank you! *lol*

junec

I also joined Planet fitness at Suntech coz I worked there. Paid for a 1.5 yr membership but only went 3 times. Now membership expired already. I think really need a friend or a trainer to help you stick to the gym routine & also the diet.

Now I very lucky coz new lady colleague very determine to lose weight and is jogging everyday after work along the marina bay (start at explanade) so I tag along.

My advice, find someone to lose weight with. Also easier coz got someone to eat healthy lunch with.

alan_golfnut

junec:You're absolutely right. When you're doing it alone, you're more prone to make excuses not to go workout, cos you only need to be accountable for yourself. But if you have a regular exercise partner, then you won't it so easy to weasel out of it! Keep it up! But dun forget your weights cos it'll help your metabolism.

junec

Alan,

I need some expert advice. My Hubby & I both suffer from knee pain. Hubby has used it as an excuse from IPPT. He went for scan to prove got some wear & tear. Now he refuse to do any running or cycling. I recently started running and find I get knee pain too. So I bought some knee guards to wear. He thinks I should slow down but I think he should start exercising. What do you think?