Which Place in Australia is Nice?

• Thread starter Thread starter mary03
  • Start date Start date

mary03

Like to know which is the most recommended place to go in Australia? Can't decide between Perth, Melborne, Sydney, Brisbane, Gold Coast and Tangalooma Island.

Hmm.. Have only been to Melbourne, Sydney, Tasmania before. For me, personally I like Melbourne the best. From Melbourne you can get yourself to Tasmania too. If you like the nature nature kind.. then Tasmania is great. Sydney is too urban for me.

i'm a Melbourne lover too.. studied there 5 yrs ago. went backpacking during winter semester break, still like Melbourne best

thinking of going back next Feb...... if hubby can get away from work..

Been to Melbourne, Sydney, Newcastle, Maitland, surfer paradise, Brisbane and Perth.

I love Melbourne, also been there 3 times.

I love Melbourne too, esp shopping at the factory outlets...however if you guys want to explore some interesting places rather than following the norms, I would recommend Coober Pedy, 850km north of Adelaide. You can visit their Opal mining field and stay in underground inns/motels. It's a pretty cool town. About 80 per cent of the population of Coober Pedy live underground. Another place would be Alice Spring. You can go to Ayers Rock. The rock is really magnificent at anytime of the day when you look at it as the colour keeps evolving. If U R the adventurous type, you might want to climb the rock. I did that even though someone has told me it is bad luck to climb the rock but the view of the outback is really beautiful from the top of the rock.

i've been to Melbourne and gold coast and i'm absolutely in love wif the ctry. heard that sydney is pretty lousy cos very commercialised and looks exactly like shenton way. western australia is good for scenery adn the stuff there is cheap...

yeah yeah yeah!! High 5 for Melbourne!! Have been there 2 times already. Still think that it's the best place in Australia. Hee hee.

jody, wanted to go to ayers but no time to do so. Does the rock really change colour every now and then??? Have read about it but have not seen it yet!!

Me been to Brisbane, gold coast and sydney..

sydney is like orchard road or rather shenton way..gold coast is relaxing but heard Melbourne is lovely..I guess anywhere is Aust is beautiful and I look forward to go to Cairns though

Hiyah..

Me come in to Kaypo abt Potbelly again! hehe..

Hmm.. Melbourne is ok, din see much of it.. oni the city, but i do love the artsy feel of Australia's craft market.. esp st kildas in Melb.

Personally like a mix of cities.. Sydney's nice too.. but guess i love it cos of the great and fun stuff we did there! Think Brisbane is more urban than Syd

Sunshine Coast is nice too.. gold coast too commercialised with japs..

Hi cutiechar, i love cairns! I feel that the place is quite quaint. Me and my frens rented an apartment and we did the cooking ourselves, or just pop by one of the small cafes. There is not much shopping though. One thing I like, they have a lot of one-day packages. The agency will pick u at in the morning and bring you to a spot, eg white rafting, and they will send you back to the hotel. Each day's package is abt $100 inclusive of lunch. We took one day diving, one day ballooning, one day whitewater rafting, and another to the rainforest. Very flexible and we can plan our itinerary easily. There's one time where we woke up late, and we missed the bus. The agency is kind enough to let us take the package the next day. Overall a very pleasant experience. I wun mind going there again.

I've been to Melbourne, gold coast, brisbane, sydney and canberra too. But still liked cairns.

Melbourne is definitely lovely. Enjoyed the flea and craft markets! The free circle-line trams (don't know if they still are free?) made traveling ard the city centre very convenient and cheap compared to Sydney. Also loved the beautiful parks!

But i did love Sydney very much too - it's got its own charm. I bought a visitor travel pass ($70 per person for 3 days)which could be used on almost all modes of transport - trams, buses, boats etc. We took cruises and tour buses and trams and trains everywhere. Went to see Madame Butterfly at the opera house and had late supper in town. All quite fun!

Hi, I'm thinking of visiting Melbourne and Cairns for my honeymoon, but is it a weird combination cos they are pretty far apart?

Also, may I ask how long is enough to see each of them? Thanks!

Hi nan, yah melbourne and cairns are too far apart. You wil have to take an internal flight to melbourne which I heard is not cheap. i spent abt a week in cairns. If you find it too long, can narrow it down to 4 or 5 days excluding the day you arrive in cairns, then fly to melbourne.

Hi ladies!

Thanks for sharing ur views

I have been to Sydney and Gold Coast personally 3 years back. And like u gals, i dun really like Sydney as i feel that it is really developed and urban, so much so that i couldn't feel that i was in a place very different from Singapore.

Did not go for Melborne that time was because of outbreak of some kind of flu, if i did not remember wrongly

So would like to visit Melborne, but will be following on a tour group since me and hubby are not adventurous type. We like everything provided for

Any idea which hotel is the better one? I prefer one which is not too far from the chinatown (if there is one) and other shopping zones.

btw, nobody went to Tangalooma before? That place is sort of resort and it seems rather quiet and peaceful to me
Looks like a good place to go to

Hi Nan,

When are u planning for ur honeymoon? For my case, it should be in Dec

Hi Potbelly,

The colour of the Ayers Rock is different when you look at it during dawn, noon and just before sunset. At noon it is glowing red. It turns golden brown in the afternoon and slimmering brown just before sunset. If you want to climb the rock, you have to go do it before 9am cos the heat from the rock will be too unbearable and I think you are not allow to climb the rock after 11 or 12pm.

Hi Mary03, my wedding's in March next year. But I just came back from a short holiday in Sydney and I thought of visiting other places in Australia as well for my honeymoon. Since Cairns and Melbourne are so far apart, may choose Melbourne and Tasmania instead. But I bought a brief guide on these places in Sydney before I left and I thought Tasmania didn't look too exciting or scenic.

Hi Mary & Eveyone

My hubby and I went on our honeymoon trip to Austrialia. Simply love the place, we covered, Brisbane, Gold Coast(Surfer Paradise, LongBeach, Mermaid Beach Area, Sydney and Melbourne. We went there on a 1mth free and easy tour. Australia is a pretty easy place to go by yourself, don't have to follow tour, cos they don't cover much as compared to us going by ourselves, can see more things, eat anywhere we want and check into apartments to stay and we can also cut cost by doing our own cooking at times. That's my own two cents worth.

Same like the rest of the gals, I love Melbourne best, weather is cooling but they are also famous for their 4 season in a day, meaning, morning can be cooling then after sunny(but don't really find hot) then at times raining(don't worry not so often)then evening very cold(all within one day)So, better to bring your cold wear out, even if it's sunny when u get out but weather may just change. The scenery on the outskirts of Melbourne is really fantastic with really really strong cold wind. Imagine I wore two thick sweater yet can still trumble with cold. If you want further details on stay, dinning & day tour packages in these three states, just drop me an e-mail at [email protected]

Personally I find Brisbane and Sydney very commercialise, a bit more uptown then our Orchard Rd, with lots of shopping, but clothings there aren't that cheap, some almost similar with S'pore price some more ex, might as well shop in S'pore don't have to waste the luggage space carry all the way back.

Gold Coast was quite fun, with the big three Amusement Park and lovely beaches. Oh, if any of you gals want to buy nice bikinis, this is the place to buy. They have lots of design and colours for you to choose. However we didn't enter the sea water, it's so cold, wonder how those Australians stand the coldness of the water(like our fridge cold water leh). Opps, I think I nearly missed out, if any one of u intend to stay in GoldCost pls pls remember to lock your doors and balcony windows before u sleep, that place lots of break-in in the middle of the night especially during their student school vacation period. My hubby and I stayed in Long Beach one of the newly open apartment on the 12 level, my husband whole waist pouch with wallet was gone in the morning, the "spiderman burglar" came in through the balcony which we did not lock. Who would imagine they could climb all the way up so high, rgt. Anyway, we wasn't the only one, when we report to our Apt Reception they told us they had 12 cases reported that same morning and we reported to their police and was told neighbouring Apts along Gold Coast also encounter the same thing.

Mary, if you want to visit Melbourne, really don't have to follow tour, cos basically Melbourne is very easy accessible by their trams everywhere in the cities, at your hotel or Apartments just get brouchres and book their day tours, don't go for those big tour buses cos the small tour buses can bring you cover more places that those big tour buses can't go and they are cheaper as compare to joining those big tour buses. We joined Autiopia Tours, very personalise and their tour guides very friendly, approachable & knowledgable. The Four Wheels Drive also very fun but if you are not those very adverturous don't join their trips with mountain walk can really peng san from all the walks and they have this manificent giant waterfall(can't remember the name) the walk down is fine but the climbling up is super super tiring, I almost give up walking up, really no strength , if not for my hubby pulling me, I wld have sat there not moving at all
Oh, and remember to try out their delicious tim sum at Shark Fin House, 131-135 Little Bourke Street, situated in Chinatown

jody, did you stay near the rock for the whole day? Is there anything there besides the rock?

Yep I took the Autopia tour too, when I went to the 12 apostles and to see the fairy penquins. The tours were rather well organised and the people were definitely very friendly, very international too. Highly recommended.

Besides, I think it is easy to drive around Australia. They have a lot of log cabins around, especially in Tas.

May i know how much did u all roughly spend for those who go Free N Easy to melborne?

Hi Mary,

depends on where you staying? I spend ard 5K++ as I stayed at Crown Towers. If you staying in the lower budget hotel, shl be able to go as low as 3K++

Hello Everyone,

I intend to visit Australia for our honeymoon this coming Dec. By F&E to Goldcoast, Sydney & Melbourne, 12 days and budget S$5K, am I too ambitious?? :p

if i have to forsake one plc, which two plcs are the most highly recomended plcs to go??

you may not believe, I cover Melbourne , Sydney, Newcastle, surfer paradise, Brisbane within $1500 not including air fare.

I also took Autopia Tours to the 12 Apostles when I visited Melbourne. They're fantastic! And the 12 Apostles is very very beautiful. We also took a helicopter ride up and not surprisingly, the top view is even more amazing! I've now become a Melbourne Lover. Gold Coast on the other hand was not that great because it's too commercialise. Only like the Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary and the pizza in a Charlie Chaplin cafe in Surfers Paradise. Australia is a fantastic place to go free n easy and with very good public transport system too.

Hi usename, so actually i am not that ambitious lah to budget $5K for 2 pax to visit 3 states of australia?
but most likely it will be a hectic trip isit?? do you mind advising the hotels that you stay in melbourne, sydney and brisbane? the rates are reasonable? 3 stars hotels or below??

Any gals saw the advertisements put up by the agencies nowadays? Dynasty, chan brothers, sa tours... are they really cheaper than normal prices?

Actually if you are ok with driving in Australia, it is better to drive around there. The signs are rather easy to navigate and the roads too. But people may not like the hassle of self planning, so these people will have to stick to agencies.

I would suggest a f&E style and get local tour packages there. Get to know more international people than Singaporeans.

Hi Maymay,
to travel within a budget of $1500, you will have to get $12 to $15 per bad per night in motel. You will have to take coach to travel from state to state which is 12 hours from Sydney to Melbourne or more than 14 hours from Sydney to Surfer Paradise. We took 2 day tours in Gold Coast, 3 day tour in Melbourne and 1 in Sydney. All city tours are done by foot, no passes. After 3 whole weeks of travelling, I must say I am quite tired, but really enjoy.

hi am thinking of a trip to Melbourne and at the same time visiting the surrounding states...

if anyone can provide me with a "backpacking" itinerary it would be great! my email is [email protected]

Looking at about 5-7 days, possibly longer. If you can provide me with cheap accomodation (backpacker's lodge ok) and must visit places of interest it'll be fantastic as well

I need my Prozac,

Pretty much the typical tour routes would be the Melbourne City tour, St Kilda's Sun Market, Great Ocean Road, Philip Island, Farm Visits and etc ...

For a change apart from the usual tourist venues, i would suggest all who want to differ to visit Daylesford. Its the SPA centre of Australia is approximately about 150km away from Melbourne. Its a nice little town for you to relax and there are lots of accommodation with inbuilt spa facilities.

I will be going to Cairns in Jun, not sure if anybody could share with me on affordable accomodation say under AUD $100? Btw, has anybody been to Fraser Island (in Queensland)?

Cairns is a great place to be in to relax... there are plently of rooms under AUD$100 actually if u r not looking at those high class hotels lah.. if ur into budget stay, u can even find cheaper ones..

For Fraser Island, its about 4 hrs drive north from Brisbane.. basically, if ur a nature lover who loves the unexplored, then its a good place, mostly rainforest, sand island.. etc..

hope this helps

Anyone have any ideas is there any ways to book an apartment in melborne? I planning to go australia wif my friends somewhere in july. It about 4 of us. Anyone have any ideas the rates of the service apartment there? Prices for svc apartment is cheaper or hotel ah?
WE are planning to stay there a week... and thinking of going there for F&E.... =)

hey bros.. read up bout Australia. had nt done ani research bout dis place thou bt its kinda interesting place to go for our honeymoon.. for aug 09.

1. how much do i need 4 2 person incl taxes & surcharge if i wanna stay for 5d-6d stay.?
2. there r soo many places to choose from.. wat e best value for money.? I wish to haf a quite undisturbed stay wif my WTB. near e sea n i dnt c ani resort in Australia.. is dere ani..?

i gez tts bout all for nw..

I ask this question in this forum years ago. Now i been to sydney, Melbourne, Perth and gold coast. I find that Melbourne is the best. Must see penguin parade and twelve apostles. Truly enjoyable experience.

Just came back from sydney last year, nothing exciting. I dont feel like i am having a holiday! The only impressive is breathtaking bondi beach, river cruise, sexy strip clubs and 4WD. Blue mountain is so so. City is nice but adventure tours outskirts are so so. Food are lousy. Unlike Melbourne, everything is nice.

Yeah i agree melbourne is truly fantastic. The pple, culture, food, places of interests are just unbeatable. Been there several times and still im heading there again soon. Even my wedding shoot and honeymoon i choose melbourne.
Simply amazing!For BTB, pls consider melbourne as one of your choice.