Wedding dinner on new year eve - HELP!!

blurz_ger

Planning to hold wedding dinner on 31 Dec but having a hard time deciding on the hotels. *stress* Will there be traffic jams, road closure due to countdowns/celebrations?? Anyone had their wedding on new year eve? Can share ur experience pls??

And any suggestions on hotels that won't be very much affected by the celebration crowds?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!!!

Hi Blurz,

U may wish to consider hotels along river valley/havelock area then...

1st u mus work out ur budget so that it is easier for u to plan ahead??

Have u source for bs too???

Hi netfinity,

Thanks for ur reply! Signed up with BS already. Now headache over hotel. Budget ard $1k and about 30 tables. Can't meet min tables for alot of the hotels.
Novotel, Merchant Court etc have min tables of 35 or more!

BS is Bliss @ Marina Sq. Signed up during one of their roadshow.

Quite a lot of my guests won't be driving. Furama RF not very accessible rite? Haven been down to see the place but did read that the hotel is not bad from some forum threads. Will consider it.

cos if u saying tat u wanted to avoid the traffic jam...
i guess the hotels along this stretch is the best...

Otherwise, u may consider orchard which is so much accessible.

Was considering Orchard and Suntec area initially. Then FH brought up that might have countdown activities etc. The traffic at town area will be very heavy. Human traffic might be quite bad also. Then i started to panic coz all those hotels i initially considered all in town area.

Just went to see Furama RF website. Mercury ballroom max is 28 tables (too little) but Venus ballroom min is 36!!! *faint*

Went to see novotel on sunday. Entrance to hotel a bit hidden coz it is at the same place as liang court. FH dun like it leh.

really grateful for all ur suggestions. :D went ard hotel shopping for 2 whole days. we have ard 33 tables but most of the 5 star hotels require min 35 tables.
trying to see if we can negotiate for lesser min tables.

currently looking at carlton, merchant court and intercontinental hotel. any advice on which is better? :p

Hi why dun you try grand plaza parkroyal?? its near city hall mrt, their ballroom requires min 30 tables only, pillarless ballroom and food is not bad.Think per table is only $800plus.....

Hmm.. Haven seen that place coz dun exactly know where it is located. :p But i heard that the food is good. Will check it out. Thanks!

Hmm.. We did go to intercon to look see. Min tables 35 for new year eve but they are ok to let us have min 33. Love their ballroom but the price is a bit steep. Worked out to be around $1,120 per table leh. We did try to negotiate for more perks but dunno what we will be offered in the end. Still waiting for their email. Not feeling very hopeful.

yeah! thanks yaksweetmail, carlton is one of the hotels i shortlisted. hehe. trying to arrange meeting with their banquet staff to discuss the details.

hmm.. attended my cousin's wedding there 1 year ago, food is ok but felt that serving is quite slow leh. dinner started around 830pm but ended 1130pm! but most importantly, both FH and i dun like the L-shape ballroom lah. :p that's why not considering ST.

Hi Raincole
Thanks for ur suggestions.

I have settled for Intercontinental in the end. Now in the midst of finalising the contract details.

hihi! yup, that's my AD and my coordinator was michelle, who left Intercon already. the min table for us is 33. are u considering Intercon as well??

Splitting with husband - Letting go of $828 banquet package @ Concorde Hotel - SATURDAY 27 Nov 2010. Call me at 90738300 if interested.