The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

Apple,

Oh yah, forgot abt the cake in the suite, wonder if I can ask them to do a nice chocolate mousse... hee hee Will ask u if we decide on Japan, thx!

Touraco, thx for the offer, will definitely ask u for infor. Hv been there b4 but it's always good to have more infor. I love the Great Ocean Rd! How's yor wedding prep coming along?

Juliana...i love the Great Ocean Road too...It was real windy when I was there. Was so happy taking photos of the 12 Apostles that now I have so many pictures of the same thing.hahahaa
Preparing for my ROM now. Just decided on the date last night..heehee

hi i am back! from honeymoon. will catch up again when i have the time..
pokkie and juliana.. got received my PM before i went for honeymoon?

to the rest of u.. hAPPY new YEAR~

Hi all, and welcome back Gnny!! =) Howz your honeymoon??? yup, received your pics (so lovely!), but somehow juliana couldn't receive it.

and congrats Touraco!! ....wow, so much has happened since I last logged on... hmm...seems like the order now will be Juliana, moi, Apple then Touraco...cool!! =)

Gnny, I signed with Silhouette. I had narrowed down to Kai, Sil and Divine, jus needed FH to go check them out. Our first stop was Sil and FH jus decided to sign with them without checking out the other 2. (p/s: my FH really likes your gown!) And now a bit panic, s'posed to take measurements next week, and err...still haven't started on diet yet + now CNY goodies...argghhh!!!

Hey Apple, I went to Z Wedding too! I really liked the gowns there, and the workmanship and quality's really good too! Only reason why I din sign with them was cos they din seem too happy that I may not use their photography, so I got a lil' worried. hmm...if only I had seen that mag style album...

Juliana, hope you dun mind that I give your fren a call re flowers?

I'm thinking of DIY-ing almost everything to cut costs - cards, flowers, decor, maybe even phototaking (jus ask some trigger-happy frens). And Gnny, no eh, when I said I haven't decided on make-up/hair etc, I meant I haven't even booked them yet...hope whoever I decide on in the end will be available that day...fingers crossed!

To all, Happy CNY!!! And hope your ang bao harvest is good...cos it'll be ze last one!! heehee...

Welcome back Gnny! Hope u had a wonderful honeymoon!!! BTW, cld u pls resend the email again to [email protected]? Pokkiebearie sent it to me but I didn't get the attachments. Wld be great if I can get them cos I'm finalising when to hv the church ceremony - before or after 6.30pm.

Pokkiebearie, yes pls give my fren a call if u like, just tell him u're frm the sporebrides.com site n . I was supposed to start my exercise regime 3 mths ago but hv been dilly-dallying, now 1.5 mth to go b4 my photoshoot! Hv to really set my mind to slim down. When's yr wedding?

btw, I got the keys to my flat on CNY eve, just went down to wash the place. Now hv to think abt renovation ideas on top of wedding plans, it's going to be a busy time!! : P

wah.. die ah.. been eating during cny... keke.. think these few wks must workout more at the gym!!! Just realised how many things i have not started on even though i seem to have another 9mths more to go.. but looking at it... AD photographer, hairdo, gown design, flower decors, cards etc all not even started yet.. now starting to wonder if there's actually enough time cos i a bit "yim-chim" kind

Hi pokkiebearie,
I guess being comfortable with the BS you choose is very impt, at the end of the day, it's the beautiful memories that's more impt rite

Am thinking how to cut down on costs also.. been searching ard for table centerpieces and floral ideas. But wonder if there's enough time to do all that, ordering fresh flowers, preparing and arranging before the big day etc... and sometimes if get friends to help, if not done nicely also cannot say anything leh...
... wonder how those pple who DIY everything had done it??

Hah hah... seems like everyone overate during CNY! I was supposed to hv my PS in Feb but I asked if can do it in mar instead so I can hv more time to 'recover' frm CNY! : P

Does anyone have a wedding planning schedule? I'm jotting down things tt need to be done by timing, we can swap notes!

Apple, dun worry, u're not so bad. It's 3 mths away frm my wedding n I hvn't decided on my AD photographer, wedding cards, flower decor!! : P
Z wedding will do your hairdo as well right? They usually confirm your makeup n hairdo during trial make-up abt 2 mths before AD.

haha first of all
CONGRATS to Touraco! that u man has proposed!

apple
so you have finally signed the contract. pardon me.. its hard to follow all these postings. hehe.. u decided on grand salon or ballroom?

actually hor, the grand salon not tat big also leh..

juliana
i will send u all the link.. then u can see for yourself.. before and after matrimony. how the sky looks like. its not that dark after the whole thing ends around 7.20pm. a nice dim blue.

pokkie
hoho.. i actually slimmed down abt 1 month before wedding.. that's when i started to kan chong.

pls wait patiently for my photos taken in beaufort...

Juliana,
Yup, Z Wedding will do the hairdo and makeup trial before the PS/AD.

gnny,
Yup, finally signed. Taking the ballroom. I think the salon is much bigger lah, and the layout is better, long march-in too. The Ballroom's march-in super short leh... but it's cosier and prefer the foyer... more private feeling.

hi apple
ya, i like to cosy feeling too.. but too many relatives for me lor. =P

touraco
thanks ya! haha.. eh... my morning one is different, straight. did i include into the link?
i like flowers on my hair, gave it a more gardeny feel. hehe
you all can do the same

I went to check out the Ballroom and Ginger Terrace last weekend, really nice venue. Quite tempted to sign with them but just wanna check with brides who have had their wedding there,
1) Is their chinese dinner good?
2) Did anyone managed to get wine cockage waived or beer thrown in?
3) Is the bridal suite nice (forgot to ask them to show me)?
4) Is their florist good?
5) Do they have projector system? Do they charge for it?

hi panzz
think will email u tomorrow.. but its only 10 pcs. hee

queen
1) didnt have chinese dinner, i had buffet
2) no. its pretty hard to get them to "throw" in things for free. heee
3) yes, definitely! there is a living room as well and its is veri big! can sit 10 ppl comfortably on the sofa. Big area
4) mmmh.. i didnt use them.. u can go to Harbour front "audrey's" to view their portfolio
5) didnt asked cos we didnt use it

eh. sorry, couldnt answer all ur questions.. guess others will have to chip in.

I'm still frantically lookingfor the in-charge for Beaufort, have not been able to find them for the past 2 days. I wanted a garden wedding...so seems liks Beaufort was the only choice.

1)How's the food?
2)How's the svc??!!
3)Do you if there is a charge to rental of the garden for Holy Mat?

Thx

Thanks gnny.
May I know why you didn't use their florist? Which florist did you bring on your own? How much did you spend on the florist? Did Beaufort give you anything in exchange?

I'm also thinking of bringing in my own florist or DIY. It could be cheaper that way if I can get them to waive off the wine cockage, or give free beer or day room etc.

Hi I'm back! Hv been away for the past few days..

Queen, I'm taking Chinese dinner too, my wedding is in May though so can't tell u much abt the food. Will be going food tasting next mth. Cldn't get any beer waiver, but 1 wine corkage waiver per table. I find the bridal suite ok only but it's quite a good size. They charge abt $250 or 300 for projector system.

Mooee, I think if u take the ginger terrace, the garden outside comes free, if not, you'll have to pay $1K or 1.5K for it.

Gnny, talk to u soon. Hv been really busy...

Jaycee,

I was told the terrace can only hold 80pple..But I have not been able to talk to the wedding planner yet..I am planning 200.Can it be extended out to the garden?

Hi Mooee,

You are referring the the Ginger terrace right? That's the patch of grass outside the Ginger room (downstairs). I think can take abt 150+ pple.

The Grand Salon Terrace is the balcony area outside of the Grand Salon ballroom, was told can take 120 pple. I'm using that area, but have abt 180 guests so now thinking how to squeeze them in!

queen
eh. not our taste lor. so, i asked my friend to help decorate the Grand Salon and ginger terrace.
yup, beaufort offered to exchange it with beer or one extra room.
just want u wanted..

Mooee
they can place abt 140 chairs at the ginger terrace (the concrete area, no chairs on the LAWN). i had abt 200 guests too, so my friends just crowd around, creating a nice atmosphere.

panzz
sorry to keep you waiting..

juliana
3 more months to go.. =P

gnny,
How come chairs are not allowed on the Lawn? I saw a picture in FemaleBrides online featuring a wedding held at ginger terrace and chairs are definitely placed on the lawn.

Are the hotel coordinators helpful? It seems that they are rather slow in responding to queries.

hi all, and also to the prospective beaufort-ers! =)

gnny, have u uploaded more of your wedding pics?

juliana, how come u not using ginger terrace? is it really booked? btw, how's your card-hunting?

hi queen
haha.. ya, i also saw the online pictures and i told the coordinator abt it. apparently those pictures were taken long time ago before they implement the rule that "no chairs are to be placed on lawn". cos someone fell down the chair somewhere last year, that's why lor. to be frank, the lawn is really veri uneven.

so far, i only spoke to sun sun. its pretty hard to catch hold of her as i think she is veri busy and seldom at her desk. u tried leaving voicemail? or do you have her email address? she respond to email pretty fast.

pokkie..
haha.. i think so far, still the same. havent leh.

yahor, juliana
isit becos of the rental charge?

I am interested in contacting the Sentosa Resort & Spa to find out more on their wedding packages. Can anyone forward me the contact of the head Banquet manager, or any banquet manager i can contact? Email and phone number please, thanks!

sorry for being so quiet for so long! Have been really really busy at work..

I'm almost 90% confirmed not using the Ginger terrace, 1) must pay, 2) worried if it rains... the Grand salon terrace is smaller but more 'controllable' lah... : )

Have finally found a wedding card I like frm T Dragon! Was looking for a traditional deep red card with gold 'Xi' character in front but surprisingly most printers do not have a vry good range of red cards. I asked for a quote to print separate church invites but it
s quite expensive so decided to design and print on my own... hee hee wish me luck!!

How did u guys settle the directions and map on the card?

Going for food tasting in Mar, praying hard the food is good!!

Hi Juliana,
I actually saw some red cards with gold "Xi" from those wholesaler... can't remember the name.. but sounds something like Giamso or wat... they also sell lots of party stuffs... used to be from blanco court area.... u might wanna check out.. it's just along the "Char Ren Zhi Jia" karaoke stretch.. near to the maxwell mkt bus stop.

Am also wondering abt the map and the logo to print on the card leh... did SunSun mention anything? Or does T Dragon have them since they always print for the weddings here?

I went to try different gowns... wah.. headache leh, dunno which type to choose... EG even more difficult to decide... cos i'm not those super slim type, more bulky... so can't wear those super tight fitting clothes leh.... *sob sob

How does ur gowns look like? Have u finished your PS yet?

Hi Apple,

Thx for the tip! I think I 'boh lak' oredi to shop anymore, working on my home decor as well so head is spinning... will just stick to TDragon lah. You can also chk out Acepro at AMK, think they are cheaper than T Dragon leh...

Sunsun can print the map and directions on yellow paper for us so not a worry. T Dragon can incorporate them into the card but may be very squeezy... I will ask probably ask Sunsun to print and I just insert in my wedding card.

Dun worry, most pple r not the model slim type so hv to choose the right cutting. My WG is bustier A-line gown, duchess satin with organza overlay at the bottom. I think ballgown or A-line are quite flattery for the non-slim types like us. MY EG is deep red halter satin dress. I actually look slimmer in halter cos it emphasises on my shoulders. Take deeper and darker colours and fabrics with some weight - they usually hv slimming effect. Of the ones you tried, which do u like more?

Hi Juliana,
You mean the maps and directions can be printed on yellow colored papers ah... looks weird right? possible that they change to other papers if we provide? If cannot then think i ownself do it then, bo bian. Btw, how much will your printing and card cost come up to???

I tried on bustier A-line gowns as well, and those ballgown.. and ya, they're more flattery. Tried this victorian gown... wow.. very nice!!!! But am wondering if it'll look like i'm all wrapped up from far cos nite time visibility is lower mah... anyway i think i'll go for more victorian style for the gown.. but maybe do w/o the sleeves, just those cap-sleeves. I can't wear halter leh... my shoulders are pretty broad.. so cham.. everything cannot... think i better browse thru more magazines to get ideas.

went to check out grand salon and ginger terrace today. its really nice...sun sun told me they are going to increase the price of per table by $60 next month.

hello gals!!

Touraco,
did sun sun mention to you the price of booking the ginger terrace? and will it also have a price increase?

Juliana,
Regarding the maps etc, will beaufort charge us for printing? cos I thought they will only provide 1 copy and u go photostat it yourself? By the way, did sun sun contact you to arrange food tasting or did you have to take the initiative to arrange? You having Chi dinner right? Can keep us informed of how it is and what's good? I'm rather nervous about the food, cos my parents are rather particular about it, and I've heard that the buffet's only very normal, haven't heard anything about the Chi tho.

hi pokkiebearie,

its $1000+++, she did not mention that the price for the ginger terrace will increase.

regarding the food, i had tried their buffet before (not in a wedding but from the same restaurant where they will cater from) and i don't really find the food fantastic.

not sure abt the chinese food though.

hi juliana,
do you have any idea if the PA system to be used for the ginger terrace including projector in the grand salon need to pay extra money?

will transport be provided for after the dinner out from sentosa? will food be delivered to the bridal suite after the dinner considering the fact that we might not have the chance to eat?

anyone tried changing the buffet to a chinese style kind??

Wah!! They are increasing the price??!!? : P

Beaufort can print the map and directions onto yellow paper for us, no charge. I'm thinking of providing my own white conqueror paper to them so it looks nicer, shld be ok. Wanted to print the map and directions on the wedding card but my printer gonna charge me extra, plus card looks too cluttered so dropped the idea.

Apple, my wedding card shld come up to $290 (card + printing), now sourcing for laser printer for my church invites.

My food tasting is 2 wks away (Chinese dinner), will let u guys know how the food is. I'm also abit worried cos a relative of mine went to a Chinese dinner at Beaufort and she says the food is not good : ( But I think their buffet is better than their Chinese food. Gnny's was buffet style and it seems alright...

Apple, gd luck for choosing your gown. I think u know what u want oredi, just need to finetune it a little...I keep telling my gown designer, I want to look slim, slim, slim!!

Hi touraco,
I think the package for beaufort is pretty standard, since it appears that they do not throw in freebies. So what sun sun gives you is probably the same as what everyone else has. anyway, I think the projector for the grand salon is about $200, but it doesn't include the laptop (which is an additional charge, I think, cos sun sun mentioned to me that I should bring my own to save cost). As for the PA system for ginger terrace, perhaps Gnny could enlighten us? =)

As for food to suite after the dinner, yup they will provide (hee...that was one of the first things I checked!!). Transport too, but only up to a certain time, can't remember what it is tho...all these will be in black and white when u sign on with beaufort

aiyo, now I really worry about the food...cos that's what everyone remembers and complains about

hi pokkiebearie,

guess can only exchange items on the package or try to bargain for more. I need to have rooms for both the families and friends too actually.

i was thinking of incorporating chinese food into the buffet menu....

i like the place but i don't want it to be like a normal wedding dinner where down the road, nobody remembers my wedding dinner.
When asked, they just comment:"..oh...in a hotel in sentosa lor"

any ideas how to spice things up?

hi touraco,
good luck in your bargaining!! =) I was truly "defeated" the last time. heehee..

sigh..I also cracking my head on how to spice things up. I think it's really difficult unless you have very spontaneous and playful frens, which are few nowadays after they all turned daddys and mommys... =(

any ideas on how to politely ask people to leave their babies at home without offending them???

Same here, tried bargaining but didn't do too well... mine was the standard pcg. the only thing we got was to change the 1st anniv stay to another night after our wedding, and to get a free room if we forgo our wedding favours. Not so much bargain but exchanging stuff we don't need

Touraco, u can have a theme wedding like Beach or something like that. Some of my frens are planning to come in Hawaiian shirt and bermudas for the church wedding!

Pokkiebearrie, maybe u can just let them know in person when you pass them the wedding card? Easier than finding a polite way to put it in the card...

hi pokkiebearie & juliana,

sunsun looked like she's quite flexible.hmmm....

julianna, how much did you have to spend on the wedding favours? i was thinking of using my own as well.

thinking of asking frens to come in sundresses etc for a theme of garden...but not sure if they are game enough for such things.

anyone any ideas do they have piano if we want to use?

i was thinking of taking up piano lessons and giving my hubby a surprise during the wedding as he has always like the sound of piano...heee

Ya, she's quite nice... u can try negotiating w her n see how it goes... who knows, u may hv much stronger negotuiation skills than us! : P

I'm taking the mini bear they offer, wanted to do something different but no energy to search.. : )

wow.. the piano idea sounds good.. think they hv a piano in the lounge, not sure if they can move it to the grand salon though, u can check w sunsun...

Touraco - they do have a piano for use but it comes with a charge too... can't remember how much but think about a few hundred dollars. You can check with Sun Sun.

Really? I don't recall Sun Sun quoting me so high. Anyway, another way to go about it... ask around and check with your friends for an electronic keyboard?