The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

bride0712
oh dear, I feel so bad for you, cos every bride will want the best for their wedding. sigh... but dun be angry anymore, jus think back and remember the happy moments of your special day and try to forget the unpleasant parts [I know difficult now lah, but try? =) ], otherwise in your memory will only be a unhappy night... not worth it lah, okie? ... but thanks for bringing it to our attention, so now we can take special note of it when it comes to our turns. smile ok?

gnny
hey! dun forget me when it comes to your pics!!! heehee... so excited, esp must tell/show me about your garden church wedding!! .... oh, btw do you have problem of wanting to invite some pple to the church wedding but not to dinner, cos can't fit anymore? then how eh? tell them "er, sorry, you gotta go back, no dinner for you"? i still haven't figured out that part... or jus dun invite isit?

also, where do you change? walk all the way back to your room?

i feel just as bad for bride0712... one thing about beaufort management really is they don't deal with complaints and feedback well... even though I had a wonderful wedding there on my wedding day, I did send in a complaint once and never got a reply for it... not even a simple "sorry"...

My complaint was directed to a restaurant manager who was so DA** rude to us when we tried to take some wedding photos at The Cliff... His attitude really spoilt my day.. was glad that we were there only in the evening when my photoshoot was ending.. otherwise I probably looked really gloomy in my wedding photos...

Never had any replies to that.. sun sun did write back after I prompted again some time after I wrote in the complaint, to say that management was looking into it.. but still after that, I heard nothing...

Oh well, I didn't pursue the case afterwards cos my wedding was nicely done...

Anyway, bride0712.. dont' let it affect you.. you should be happily married now.. go enjoy your married life and your honeymoon!!!

Hi Bride0712,

I can really understand how frustrating it must be for u.... but like what pokkiebearie says, dun let anything ruin your memories of your special day okie?? Thx a million for sharing w us as much as u could. We'll keep a look out for any signs of problems!

Gnny, I'm thinking of the song 'Can't help falling in love' for march in, always loved tt song! Since there's a space constraint at the Grand Salon terrace (can only take 120+ pple) and I'm inviting 200 to dinner, it means 80 will only come for the dinner... ideally I would like all to be there for the church wedding followed directly by dinner...On 2nd thot, I think I will reconsider on the 3 gown changes idea, dun want to spend the nite doing the disappearing act changing like siao!

Pokkiebearie, I have the same problem here...my bf and I figured it wouldn't be nice to invite pple to church n not dinner (since the 2 are timed so closely) so it's either church+dinner or dinner only.

Hi Bride0712,
Don't let the bad things spoil your mood for greater things to come. Enjoy your married life.

Hi Gnny,
you have signed up for the beaufort? how many pple are you inviting and which part of the hotel you using for the garden theme ceremony? forgive me if i missed out the posting on your wedding date. may i know when is your wedding date?

hi pokkie
usually, wat my friends did was to send out two different sets of invitation. one for matrimony only and the other for matrimony & dinner. As for us, we feel that its not veri nice to make ppl come all the wat to attend a 45min wedding, then go back to land on empty stomach. so, we only invited close fwends.. abt 210 in total.
change - San San allow me to use a room, i think its just below the grand salon.

juliana
mmhh "cant help falling in love" by elvis priestly? actually, i dun think i will hv enuff seats for matrimony also.. but friends can always stand at the side and crowd around, creates a better atmosphere that way. hehe (u can consider, pokkie too!)

touraco
my weding is first week of jan 04! veri soon hor.. hehe. i am using ginger terrace for matrimony and grand salon for dinner. invited abt 240 pax.. turn up should be around 210-220.

panzz
thks for sharing ur experience with us also!!! btw, did you go for honeymoon?

gnny
that's very soon. u must be very excited. i am already feeling excited scouting around for venues even though my wedding date has not been set yet. wonder if i am being too kan cheong. my friend called up several hotels to find out the available dates for her wedding in nov 04 and she said a lot of hotels have been booked. maybe it's a good idea for me to start early..heehee

do let me know of your experiences after your wedding and do show me your wedding pictures for the dinner as well. i am feeling excited for you too..

haha touraco
yes, excited, definitely!
where else are u considering? actually we were quite relax, we only confirm beaufort somewhere in aug/sept this year.
sure will share with you all my experiences.. guess i am the 'earliest bride' in this thread. hehe

Gnny... Jan coming soon!!! Hee... I would love to see your wedding photos too once you have them...

I did go for honeymoon.. in fact went two places.. went for "pre-honeymoon" before wedding to Sydney then to Taiwan after wedding. :P

panzz
yalor.. coming real soon! after that.. i have abt 1 week before i fly off for honeymoon. maybe during the one week, can sort out photos .. if not, u all got to wait till CNY then can see. hehe
i see. didnt fly to melbourne?

so exciting!! pray tt all things will go well for your wedding! I'm thinking whether to have my honeymoon in Melbourne/Sydney or Japan. After watching LOTR, I'm inspired to go to NZ!!! : )

wow touraco.
its that your photoshoot or wat? how long will u be there?
must tell me abt melbourne okie? i going there for honeymoon..

juliana
haha, u veri the funie leh! yes, NZ is nice hor! for us, we want Free&Easy.. jap got language barrier for us. and things are so exp over there.. =P

Hi Gnny,

Ya, we wanted free & easy too, more time to explore... my bf can speak jap so he can be the tour guide...but Japan will be very warm in June so leaning more towards Sydney/Melbounrne or NZ...hv u been to melbourne before?

hi gnny,

i have been hinting him that i want to do a photoshoot in melbourne but he doesn't seem to get it. sigh...men....will be in sydney and melbourne for 2 weeks.will update you when i am back then.

gnny,

Went sydney for close to 3 weeks cos my hubby has a friend there. Didn't go to melbourne... but we almost covered every inch of blue mountains and sydney.. will leave melbourne to next time...

And enjoy your wedding and honeymoon... shall wait patiently for your photos...

wah... this thread so quiet these 2 wks...

I've decided on my date liao, will be going down to discuss and sign the contract. Wonder how flexible is the menu... thinking of changing some of the chinese dishes to that of international buffet... wonder if i dun use the decorations, how much i can save as i'm thinking of looking for my own florist since the comments for Audrey's is quite arrr... anyone has tried asking??? Any recommendations of ard $600 budget?

Forgotten to ask how much is 20L or 30L of the beer.. only knew that the wine is $36+++ per bottle...

Am thinking of changing all the round tables to long table so that there's bigger and longer aisle for the march-in, wonder if they can do it?

Oh ya... one more thing, how much deposit did you gals paid???

hi apple
was busy and still busying with preparation. heee
if u want to opt out of decor, u can always discuss with sun sun what are the things u can exchange for. i exchanged mine for a dish.

if u are using grand salon, the max it can hold (for long table) is 180 pax. i think for grand salon, deposit is $4k.

hi gnny,
thks for the advise. I am opting for The Ballroom as i have only ard 16 tables. Sun sun told me that having long table will mean lesser capacity, therefore i guess i'll stick back to the round table layout and make do with the short march-in.

Did anyone of you managed to get wine corkage waivered???

Wonder how i can decorate The Ballroom since it's pretty cramp... or the foyer area.... any ideas?? Am thinking of candles & lights theme but not sure if Auderey's have that, they are too busy for appointment till january... can't wait to go checkout...

hi apple
i am not hving wine and beer.
as for audrey's, dun think they have candles. so if you want candles in ur decor, u gotta provide.

hi apple,

I checked with Audreys before re candles. They can provide but charge $8 per candle. You can probably get it cheaper elsewhere, but I haven't checked them out yet.
by the way, when's your big day?

hey gnny!!! less than a week to go!! =)

pokkie & apple
isit, they provide.. mmhh.. my friend bought candles from ikea. ranging from $3.90-$5.90 (those big fat white rounded ones) u can visit their website for variaties of candles.

apple
if u using the ballroom.. i have an idea! hehe.
heard that the stage can either be placed on the length of the ballroom (means veri short walk in) or on the breadth of the ballroom (means, u had a much longer L-shape March in). if u want longer march-in, the ballroom can only accomodate 10 round tables, then the air-con foyer can place another 6 tables (or can have 1 or 2 long banquet table for buddies??) Provided that u are having chinese or western dinner. u can consider~

pokkiebearie
yes yes!! haha...
if u also bringing own instruments for ginger terrace, their sound system is in the ginger room. so, u also have to bring ur own amp, unless ur cable is Veri veri veri long and can stretch all the way ito the ginger room. so now, we are trying to borrow those stuff from our church.

hi, anyone read the TNP today? it was reported that that more than 20 people came down with food poisoning at beaufort hotel as a result of eating contaminated oysters. in fact, a few other hotels (including novotel appollo ) also reported similar food poisoning cases just before X'mas. the papers stated that the oysters could have come from the same supplier.

i am just wondering if this case is linked to the food contamination incident mentioned by bride0712?

na hui miang
not sure.. dun think so as the food poisoning happened on the week just before christmas.

juliana
how are YOU?

pokkie
still planning to use ginger terrace for church wedding? :P

apple
have u been to audrey's?

my photos did turn up well, esp the outdoor one.. the sky was like BLUE, then.. dark blue.. grey..

hv been so quiet cos I fell sick..bad case of flu!

gnny, did u hv yr wedding oredi? glad the pics turn out well!! they were taken at the ginger terrace?

hui miang, thx for highlighting the TNP report, i think it's for the normal buffet n it's most prob oysters...

apple, how's your wedding planning coming along?

hi juliana
i was down with flu as well (before & after wedding). thank GOD that i feel well on my wedding day! yes, it was over.. and i am waiting for my honeymoon.
the pictures (digital colour ones) turn up well, we are waiting to see the black & white ones!

hey gnny, congrats!!! U r a married woman now! How does tt feel? : P

how did ur wedding go? tell tell!! wat time did ur church service start and end? how was the food n service? I'm so excited!! : )

hey gnny, congrats congrats!!! =) u looked really pretty! *wink wink*

Thot you'd already left for your honeymoon...so when you leaving? ...can't wait to see your wedding pics, esp the night ones!

yup, have decided on the ginger terrace, jus gotta pray for excellent weather! hee...

Hi Pokkiebearie,

U've decided to use the ginger terrace too! What time is your ceremony starting? Eh, how come you saw Gnny's wedding pics oredi ah?

Hi Juliana,

yup, will be using ginger terrace. think I will hold it at about 6.30pm followed by short recep and dinner. I think not much choice in timing due to the hot weather and dun want to end too late. So how about you? Sorry, when is your wedding date again? Vaguely in my memory, March seems to ring a bell?

no lah, I haven't seen gnny's pics, also dying to see them, but guess now gotta wait till after CNY.

So have you decided on your gown changes?

Btw, how did you do your invitation cards - DIY or got a printer? I'm now scouting around for ideas, will DIY, more memorable I think.

Flowers also, u using Audreys?

I think I very terrible in planning. Till now, still haven't decided on make-up, hair, flowers, etc etc etc... Have only signed with Beaufort and Bridal Shop...will probably wake up one day and freak out when I realise no time left! ekk...

hihi juliana
hoho.. no la.. i have not uploaded my photos yet.. am trying to do it now before i fly off tomorrow.. since i am too excited to sleep.

my ceremony started between 6.30-6.45pm i think. heard from my sis that when the sun set (ard 6-6.15pm), it was veri glaring esp when our guests were facing the sea. but after awhile, it was okie. we follow quite tigtly to the plan cos our guests all arrived on time!
(they have to be on time in order to take beaufort chartered bus)

Ends at ard 7.15-7.30pm (cant remember cos didnt wear watch). it was a lovely feeling, to have the wind blowing while u were seated there listening to the exhortation.

the service was excellent! have good comments from guests. food wise, i chose buffet menu.. so got mix comments lor.

pokkiebearie
i was also veri relax in the beginning.. only bucked up in nov. (2 months before wedding) but i must say that we have got a good wedding coordinator and a bunch of helpful & willing friends.
btw, which bridal boutique did u signed up with.
O, we prayed.. and it didnt rain! weather was VERI good!

So sorrie, was so busy with so many things...
Am signing the contract this wk. Have fixed the date, will be in Oct... so excited.

Hi Gnny,
Still headache about the layout leh... cos if put tables outside at the foyer area hor, a bit funny as the guests there won't really be able to see wat's going on inside cos there's glass panels blocking and dun think can open that up.

Haven't got a chance to see the flowers at Audreys... somehow i can't seem to find the shop leh... was searching every floor at harbourfront liao...

pokkiebearie... thanks for the info

Well, good to know they have those candle stands etc... was still contemplating how i shd have the flower stands if Audreys dun have candle themes...

Hi Gnny,

Glad to hear tt yr wedding went so well! Was it dark when your ceremony ended at 7.15-7.30pm? Did you use any lighting? If it was dark already, how did u manage to take pictures after the service? Sunsun told us we have to pay $2K if we want to start the service before 6.30pm and I'm really considering hard...did they really hand over the place to you at 6.30pm or earlier?

How many pple turn up for the ceremony n dinner? i suppose not all were sitting but it was ok right? sorry for asking u so many questions but figured u'll be going away for honeymoon soon.. hee hee...

Pokkiebearie, my wedding date is late May, 4 more mths to go! Just bought the wedding band yesterday, will be settling on AD photographer this week....

Gotten abit relaxed so hv not been doing any planning so far.. : P Still not sure whether to hv 3 or 2 outfit changes for dinner, guess will depend on how many guests are going just for dinner, if alot, then hv to wear 3 gowns to let them see the WG... we will be getting a printer for the wedding invites, now asking for quotes, there was 1 tt quoted us $700+ for 200 cards! Flowers wise will be asking a friend to help - he s in the biz and we know his work well so trust him...

when is your wedding? hv u decided on your gown? the other things like make-up, hair can be decided nearer to the date, not too bad... : P

finally back from hols...wish it was longer though

congrats gnny....enjoy ur honeymoon

my guy finally proposed to me...hahahahaha...wait till my neck long liao

now really have to start preparing....

hi touraco,

ya, 4 more mths to go!! Now looking for wedding invite printers, as well as AD photographer. Just bought my wedding band and EG shoes yesterday, lots of shopping to do! : P

Hi Juliana,
Am looking for printers too.. saw some US sites very nice leh.. thinking if getting the cards from there... but the prob is no chinese text available lah. The designs are more classy and elegant and price-wise ard S$2.50 per card. Isit consider ex ??

Hi Apple,

Hah hah, same here! Saw some nice designs on US sites, but I think by the time you add the printing fee (for the inserts or inside), plus overseas mailing it would come up to alot more...abit heartpain cos most pple will throw the wedding invites away after the wedding...

I looked at the 'Wedding Card' thread and it seems like Hitec, TDragon, Acepro are quite good. Do u have a design in mind or u're happy to choose from the card designs they have? I hv some design in mind and hv asked some of them for quotess. Let u know when I hear from them...

when is your wedding?

Hi Juliana,
So what kinda design u intend to use? I saw some US sites which includes printing costs... not sure about the mailing price though... but like u say.. most will just throw away the wedding invites.... have yet to see the designs from those printers u've mentioned. ya, let me know when u hear from them.

My weddings end of Oct... so still got time to choose and pick.. keke.. prefer to start early so that i can be more relaxed and less stressed out when the time is drawing near

I kinda like those traditional types, either the chinese chinese type (eg. deep red in colour, gold 'Xi' character) or the English flowery types...I think I shldn't hv any problems finding the 1st... : )P

it's good to start early... the more things u can settle early the better. I'm 4 mths away frm my wedding and starting to wonder if I shld panic.. : p

maybe i too gan chiong... now getting busy searching for a nice florist to replace audrey's that's if i can find any at reasonable cost clipart{lame}.. have been surfing around for cards and gown designs too... how does urs look like? ur PS ready yet? maybe can bio a bit and get some ideas.. keke

I'm using my BF's friend to do the decor n floral, he's pretty good. Let me know if u want his contacts.

Hv u decided on ur BS? Mine is Le Galleria, WB is bustier in duchess satin, with organza over duchess satin skirt, white and silver embriodery. PS only in Mar leh..: P U probably need to try on diff types of gowns to know what suits u.. that's the fun part! : )

oh, pls do pass me the contacts, will be interested to checkout... or does ur BF's friend has a website or photos that i can view? Roughly how are the prices?

Got my BS liao.. it's Z Wedding Design, went to a few other more $$ ones.. but somehow dun think i look that good in the gowns.. then when i was just browsing for fun in Z, tried on a few gowns and... wah... fell in love w the gowns... will be making appt to tryout more gowns and designs after CNY. My PS probably will arrage in July or Aug... wedding's in Oct... you think enough timeto go thru the photos and get the album done???

I check w him and let u know... : P

I went to Z wedding design too! Agree tt the gowns r veri nice, vry romantic n sweet. But the photos not really my style so didn't choose. Who's yr designer? Ivan right? For me I realise tt whichever BS I go i keep thinkiing of the gown I tried in LG, so chose them in the end : P

Shld be enough time lah, my PS is in Mar, abt 2.5 mths b4 my wedding.

Actually i didn't like their albums at first and was about to walk out when evelyn took out this magazine style album which i fall in love with... very nice and the type that i like, and the poses are not typical of those wedding styles... probably cos it was like a fashion mag layout. Hope my PS will turn out just as nice... keke. Ya, my designer is Ivan, and will be getting Ah Soon as the photographer. And i told evelyn, if she never showed me that album, i probably will be elsewhere liao.. haha

Any plans yet as for ur honeymoon? Am still not decided where yet... might be europe or switzerland.

Btw did u upgrade to pool villa? Still hesitating whether i wanna spend another $1k just for upgrade... cos still have to consider so many things like beer, wine, liquor, actual day PS etc...

Hah hah... she must be thanking her lucky stars she took tt album out!

My fren's name is Hari, and his company is called Boenga (means flowers). U can call or sms him at 9682 4350. He has pics of his work at his shop.

Most prob honeymoon in Sydney/Melbourne, NZ or Japan. Wanted to go Europe but w the new flat coming we thot it's better to go somewhere nearer n save...The Swiss alps are beautiful!!

I'm not taking the pool villa, probably too small for all my guests anyway. Will be taking either the Grand salon terrace or ginger terrace. R u having a church wedding or just dinner? I hv the same concerns too, hv to watch what we spend becos the expensses adds up very fast!

I'm still wondering whether to hv the dummy cake or pay for a real one, or not even having one..

okie, thanks for the contact.

Oh, Japan is beautiful... if u need any info i can pass u... i went tokyo twice and still love it. Think i prefer japan to australia cos there seems more things to buy and eat.. keke

Ya, have to watch my expenses too... every little thing adds up. You got ur actual day photo/videographer yet? Am doing the banquet at The Ballroom. I think dummy cake will do, guests won't be able to tell anyway, plus it's too $$ to make a real one and then not many pple will eat the cake. I think in the contract the couple gets a 500g cake in our suite rite?

hi julianna,
if u want any info on sydney/melbourne, i may be of help as i just return from sydney/melbourne last week.