The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

have anyone of you tried mixing and matching the menu for the chinese dinner w the buffet? Cos i saw the "Qui Lin" balls... tot it sounded really cheapo... am thinking of changing it to maybe smoked salmon salad or something.... anyone tried doing that?

pokkie
i am taking GOLD!!!! oh my gosh.. how gold is gold?? like those in the jewellery shop?
mine is jan, having buffet..

signed up with divine couture and my friend deisgned my card for me.

hi apple
same feel.. we looked at the 8 course chinese dinner and wasnt impressed by it. anyway, we wanted more of a 'personal touch', so opt for buffet where guests can mingle around more.
u will have the option of changing ur dish, perhaps you would like to check with ur wedding planner.. and she/he will advise u wat are the dishes tat u can swop for.
i made minor change after going for the food tasting.

Hi gnny
Actually i prefer the menu for the buffet... but older generations dun like the idea, they'll think that it's kinda cheapo and not as grand as being served. So how is the food? So u tried the buffet menu during the food tasting? Which dishes do you recommend that i use to exchange for the dishes from the 8 course chinese dinner??

gnny,
u taking gold for all the tables? hmm... dun know lah, really not what I'd do, but that's just me. like I said, in person, looks ok, but awful in pics.

we actually went to Audreys (the florist that beaufort uses) in Habourfront and asked to see their picture album (was actually there to check out their arrangement, after hearing from panzz that they not very good) and saw the gold table cover in picture. In those pictures, think all the tables in gold. My FH said that look like Indian wedding (no offence meant to anyone).

Later, I went to beaufort and checked out the grand salon which was set up for a buffet dinner. VIP table was in gold, others white. Looks alright, but cos I've seen how it may turn out in pics, I decided not to take the risk and therefore reverted back to red/white.

Maybe when you go to Audrey's to settle your flower arrangement, ask to see their album. Since only table cover, even if you want to change to white, dun think it should be a problem w beaufort. dun worry lah =)

I haven't chosen my table cover colours, but my wedding is in May so still got time lah. Gnny, I suppose you can ask Sun sun to show you the actual table cloths if you go down again?

I wanted Western buffet too so some of my relatives would probably prefer Chinese sit down so we decided on that. But can change some items of the menu eg. I'm going to change Qui Lin balls for Peking style pork ribs or steamed prawns. Can actually change to scallop (my favourite!) but have to top up $30 per table...Apple, u can check with Sunsun...

haha pokkie
i didnt take gold for all la.. think i will faint! and all my guests will faint too.. so goldy. hehe.. only one VIP table is gold. =) we went to audrey also, thus, decided not to use audrey. have asked my friends to help me with decor in the garden and grand salon.

juliana
on the safe side, i better ask sun to show me the actual table cloth so that i can still change my mind. i have chosen my favors.. teddy bears!

apple
actually the buffet that we tried in the terrace(restaurant) is diff from the actual wedding menu. we are just trying the 'skills' of the chef, so to speak. haha. but our parents like the roast duck and the chicken.

hey gnny,
u not using audrey, got a reduction in price per table? if so, how much? and how much u spending on the decor instead? .... so are u still having a flower arrangement for each table?

...actually, come to think of it, if having a chinese dinner, won't e flower arrangement be in the way? hmm...never quite noticed such things before. Do they remove it once the first course starts? any idea anyone?

pokkie
if not using flower, can exchange to one more hotel room, beer or dish. so i exchanged mine for a dish lor. ;)
yes, still be hving flower arrangement done by my friend. as we are not having chinese dinner, so there is no prob hving a centrepiece in the round table.
come to think of it, i also seldom noticed the flower arrangement when i go for wedding dinner. so, i dont know if they removed it after first dish??

Oh no... I think Audreys probably hate me now for saying that their arrangement not nice. :P they are just normal...nothing unusual like what places like secretgarden can offer... The flowers are just roses, orchids etc.. no wild flowers to choose from... sigh.. you just need to have a strong idea of what you want before talking to them, I would be very worried if I just leave it to them to help you decide.

As for the centerpiece flower arrangement, it stays on the table throughout the night cos food is portioned out at the side and then served to each individual guest. I did get a comment from a friend that it felt weird not seeing the whole dish first before being served... It didn't bother me but if it bothers any one of you gals, you can ask beaufort to see whether they can come by with the entire dish, show it around before serving.

And what pokkiebearie said is right.. the gold isn't plain milky kinda gold.. so Gnny, check it out first...

My hubby designed our card... if everyone is interested, can email me ([email protected]) and I will let you know the URL to my wedding website.

argh... now i am worry abt the GOLD! i will be going for rehersel, so will ask sun to show me on that day.

ehh.. i agree with panzz. just normal, veri normal.
haha

Can exchange room for just the flower table centrepieces or including the 4-6 flower stands as well?

Me thinking of doing the same thing too since my fren is doing the flower decor for church ceremony, might as well ask him to do all including the ballroom!

juliana
ya, u can check with sun sun lor. that's what she sggested but we dont wan extra room or extra night, we go for food. =)

any one of you having a "church" wedding at the ginger terrace? or have attended one? I'm still deciding whether to actually have it in a church building or at ginger terrace. any advice???

hi pokkie
yes, will b having church wedding at the ginger terrace! =) actually its up to u.. i guess for us, its our 'dream' to always have a garden wedding.. thus, we went for ginger terrace. another thing is, if we are hving church wedding, we got to break the wedding into two seperate days.. or gota rush from one place to another.
if u still hv time to decide.. maybe you want to wait till i have mine, then shoot any questions u want! =P

hi juliana
yes, i am using ginger terrace, cos cant use grand salon terrace as we have to place our buffet line there..

Hi gnny,

not sure if i am reading the right things. is the ginger terrace in the beaufort sentosa? if it is, how much is the rental etc? kindly share some info as i am considering a garden theme wedding too.
thanks a zillion

hey gnny,
thks!!! will definitely appreciate knowing how a church wedding will be like in the ginger terrace. =)

by the way, how do u find divine's service and workmanship, etc? cos I went there last week and spoke with kim, found that not bad. jus need to check out silhouette and kai before making final decision. also, which photographer did you use? ....hmmm....this may not be the right forum for this, but nebermind lah...

Ooh, u r using Ginger terrace! That's nice! How much did u hv to pay extra and when will yr church ceremony start? Me still contemplating to do it at Ginger terrace....

Ur wedding prep shld be almost done right since yours is in Jan? R U excited?

i'm considering beaufort and thinking of viewing the place soon. I wonder if anyone can mail me any pics of the place and ballroom for my reference. Thanks a lot. My email is [email protected]

Hi eggie,

Just contacted the Beaufort people and this is what they wrote to me.
-------------------------------------------------
Our Wedding Packages cater for a minimum of 100 persons at The Ballroom and a minimum of 200 persons at The Grand Salon. The Ballroom can accommodate to a maximum of 16 tables and Grand Salon to a maximum of 26 tables with both stage and aisle.
-------------------------------------------------

I have the menu and contact person if you want to.

Gnny: Can send me the pictures too? Thanks.

hi touraco,
yup, i got the package from them too. thanks for the offer. when is your tentative date of your wedding?

hi gnny,
thanks in advance for your photos. i have not got it yet.

hi eggie,
i am still deciding on the wedding date but I am scouting around for suitable venues as I wanted a garden theme style wedding. when is yours?

hi gnny,
gotten the photos.
love the greenery outside the room...what's that room called? how many people can it hold??

hi touraco
the greenery is call ginger terrace. it is just outside ginger room and cinnamon room. If you are using ginger and cinnamon room, the terrace comes together FOC. however, i think ginger and cinnamon room can only take 80 pax.

garden theme.. that was wat i was looking for too.. and i settled on beaufort!

hi juliana
seem to have missed out ur posting. Ginger terrace cost extra $1k just to rent it. you can check with San San..
eh, my planning still not done yet leh.. rushing thro guest list now.

touraco
answer to your question regarding Rental is abv..

pokkie
i also missed out ur postings. paisei.
yes, their service is superb! and workmanship is great! signed up with Studio D'fia but gave up half way cos we decide to splurge on actual day photographs instead. haha

Thanks Gnny, the Ginger terrace is fantastic, I'm sure you'll have a wonderful church ceremony there... : ) So will u be starting your service early then? If you start earlier at 5pm and end at 6pm, you'll still have time to take pics when the light is good...

Touraco and Eggie, hv fun looking around for hotel. I heard from my frens tt Raffles Hotel is another good place for garden themed parties, Chijmes and Burkhill are not bad too...Actually i was considering Alkaff mansions but it's not taking any wedding reservations for next year...

hi gnny,
wow! the ginger terrace is really nice. but have to pay extra $1K for it. by the way, you dun have the full pic of the ballroom? i thought of having chinese banquet in the ballroom. is it high ceiling and any pillars?

hi juliana,
thanks for the suggestions.

hi touraco,
i'm also in midst of sourcing around and have not decided on a date yet but most probably end of next year.

hi julianna,
i was considering alkaff too. they are not taking any for next year?? any idea what's the reason?

hi gnny,
the place can only take 80 pax, oh dear, we estimated around 230 - 250 pax. guess have to give that one up.

hi touraco
alkaff has ceased operation, but they will still cont'd with any comfirmed event till end of this year. raffles hotel is expensive. i have checked out the rates before. come up to $100 per pax. 230-250 pax, only grand salon can accomodate.

juliana
thks! but cant start early.. cos my invite card says 6.30pm. mmhhh..

Eggie
no pillars in the ballroom.. high ceiling ah, cant really remember. Juliana - do u still have the ballroom photo?

Hi Touraco,

Alkaff said tt they will be returned to STB for development next year, as such they cannot accept any more wedding bookings. U may want to call them up n chk, the place is very nice! As for Beaufort, u can hv your wedding din at the Grand Salon and ceremony at the Ginger terrace, have to pay extra though...

Gals, alkaff not accepting wedding bookings liao so no need to check. Quite a pity though cos the place not that bad.

actually went over a couple of weeks ago to look at alkaff, there's going to be a wedding the next day so was actually peeping around. they have a nice big place among the trees with the fountain and stuff like that. think i will try to check with them but anyone have any of the contacts? thanks.

hi panzz,
i wonder if you can share with me your actual day wedding photos? will like to see how the ballroom and the whole ambience of your wedding. thanks a lot.

No problem Eggie, will send over to you in a jiffy. But I dont' think my dinner photos were terribly well taken and don't really do the actual day ambience any justice.
It was definitely much much nicer on that day...

mmhh.. its a bit quiet here ya.
eggie
how do you find the photos? are you confirm using beaufort?

ice-cream
i have sent u the link oreadi right? sorry, a bit forgetful nowadays.

juliana
how hv ur planning been? i am going for wedding rehersel last week of the year! eh.. will try to take more photos of the decor cos i am going in the afternoon, inbetween two weddings.

Hi Gnny,

Have not progressed much in planning... kinda got lazy after an initial spurt of activity..

yay yay, rehearsal sounds fun!! So hv u decided on your decor theme eg. colours, flowers? Also, how's your gown coming along? Yours is from Divine right? How many outfits r u wearing? Me planning to wear WG in the morning tea ceremony, then change into kwa to go home. Wear WG for evening church service as well as 1st march in, then change into EG for 2nd march-in, and finally kwa to send off the guests... then wondering if i shld just skip the 2nd march-in and just wear the EG and kwa for the dinner... what do u think?

yes, show us your pics, will be very nice, what songs did u pick for your march-in? U having the wedding cake? I was actually thinking of getting real cake or doing away with it altogether...

Ourselves, as well as our families and guests, are very very disappointed with the hotel. They have failed in their quality of service, quality of PRODUCT and PR. We had initially not wanted to post it here till they get back to us. But after the long delay, we have the GM tell us that he's not going to entertain our complaint and that we can go ahead and take it to other authorities.

We had made our bookings at the hotel for more more than 1.1/2yrs before our wedding. It had always held a special place in our hearts especially since it was also there that my hubby proposed to me. WE had looked forward to The Day and had spent the extras on floral decor, harpist and real wedding cake to create the same ambience they set up at their bridal shows. But now, we are very very disappointed with them. We felt very cheated and we were not given what we duly deserved.

Though we may be the one unlucky couple, according to them they never had that feedback before, it is enough to deter anyone at my dinner reception that night to ever desire to have it there or propose the place to others.

It may seem trivial to others but imagine how detrimental to us when ALL our guests that night had bad comments about the dinner that night. If a small portion of our guests had complaints about certain things, it may deem that some of these guests are fussy. BUT the fact is that ALL of them unanimously had the same complaint.

It has affected us greatly and what would had been a joyous event had really turned into frustrations for us. After making the full payment, they are giving us the we-do-not-entertain-you. It is most unethical and unprofessional of them to have cheated us on their products. Accordingly to the GM, he had personally made the checks that night and he had deemed everything's right, so they are not going to claim responsibilities. But all our two hundred over guests present that night can testify that we did not gotten in full what he thinks we had, and what we duly deserved.

Also, there was no apologies made after we complained about the contaminated food they had served us that night in our room.

I guess after such a big hoo-ha from us, all of you should have a wonderful wedding and you'll get what you duly paid for. So no worries!

hi gnny,
i'm actually looking for chinese dinner at the ballroom but the grand salon doesn't look too impressive to me. But i feel the surrounding is very nice and romantic. I'm also considering InterContinental hotel at this moment. I like it's chandeliers and high ceiling. Toying between a more romantic wedding or grand kind. Please share with me your comments.

I think you are in the last stage of your wedding preparation and i'm just at the beginning stage.

Please do not hesitate to approached the in-charge to clarify any matters on the spot else they may have the upperhand after the event like our case. We had a few guests who had wanted to lodge the complaint there and then but hesitated because they fear may spoil the else joyous event. Thus, it is our greatest regret that we had not had the in-charge clarify the matter there and then.

hi bride0712,
maybe you can share with us what exactly happened? Through that, the future brides can actually take precautions/actions to unsure that it doesn't happen to them?

hi juliana
haha.. i 'spur' u on to write a long reply. hehe
ya, am looking forward to my wedding and rehersel however, these two weeks gonna be veri busy with christmas stuff.

wow, u really have lots of outfit to changed into leh.. like fashion show. one thing. if you hv 3 diff outfit for dinner alone.. then will u still have time to left to mingle with guests?
as for me.. yes! divine! WG and EG. i changed my teadress for a shirt and vest for hubby. i will be wearing WG whole day.. till church wedding ends. then after mingle with guests, will changed into EG.. and march into grand salon once. cos our church wedding already got march-in and march-out.. if dinner still hv two march-ins.. guests will cheer and clap until hand sore.. haha. (our own opinion la) so its all up to u!

wedding cake- also dun want, cos we dun like the dummy cake. if want, then will have a nice 2-tier real cake.. but cut cost, so dun want liao.

theme : we are using white crysanthmum (looks like little daisy) and ivy leaves and red pepper, candles!!! its my friend's idea.. will show you when photos are ready.. in one months' time..

march in song --- its still a big headache. any idea?

hi bride0712,

the posting sounds very serious. what is it about exactly? it's scary the way you describe the whole thing.

Hi Gnny,

I was thinking of just marching in with my EG and then change into kwa in the end.. same thoughts, want to have more time to mingle and eat! But a friend told me tt some of the guests who did not attend the church wedding may want to see me in WG so me still thinking lor...: )

I like your style man! Take out the unneccessary!! I'm conflicted btw the 'keep it simple' principle and the 'it's once a lifetime so better do all the dramarama stuff eg. changing, dummy cake etc' : ) still considering...

Bride0712, sorry to hear things didn't go wekk...could you share with us what happened during your wedding if u dun mind? This way we can be more alert to any potential nonsense we may get...

hi bride0712
I'm sorry to hear that.. but overall, you had a good wedding in the morning and afternoon?

Ya, if you dont mind, pls share with us wat exactly did they promised but didnt deliver. so that we can also keep a look out. but its scary enuff to hear that the food is contaminated!!! and they didnt even bother to apologise or make any resitution.

Eggie
actually, i only went to view two places - Alkaff and beaufort. beaufort is nowhere compared to alkaff.. hee.. other places that i have considered before - Singapore art musuem (the construction is veri a ugly sight at this moment), Asian Civilisation musuem, burkill hall, Jurong Bird Park, fort canning, altivo (mt faber). ehh.. u would hv noticed that mine are more "garden feel" lor.. that's wat we wanted.. but to satisfy relatives' expectation, we decided on beaufort HOTEL.

hi juliana
guess we post at the same time..
O, we are keeping it simple lor. cos we want it to be more personal and casual.. so i also dun have champagne pouring and yam seng. hehe
O i see.. that's why u also need to wear WG. why not all ur guests going to matrimony? are they mostly relatives? if u want to change two times, then ur wedding dinner should be longer lor.. cos for us, we intend to keep it short.. maybe end at 9.30 latest!
o, or you can mingle and take casual shots with guests during cocktail wearing ur WG. (before they enter into grand salon) though i know that traditionally, bride usualy dont show face until the march-in into ballroom..
then when they are being ushered into grand salon and while they are settling down, u can quickly changed into EG and march in with EG.. u can consider.. me knocking off liao.. talk to u all tonight when i reach home!

It is not our intention to disclose it here. We may be the one unlucky couple.. cos according to the higher management, they had never encountered such feedback. We are indeed very disappointed with their service quality and product quality. The higher mgt will not entertain us when we had wanted to meet up with him to clarify the matter and were told that they'll gladly cooperate should we want to go to the relevant authorities. We will indeed write in to the relevant authorities, not for compensation, but to bring to attention the lousy service and quality that we'd received from such an established hotel.

The higher management had replied that he had personally checked that everything is in order. Yes, he may be right that all 250 portions had left the kitchen BUT THEN the full 250 portions DEFINITELY DID NOT reach the tables. We do not understand how the rest of the portions got missing right under his nose. They must had grown legs and ran away. All my guest can testify to the fall-short...even though they claim that it could not be so. This is an good enough example of how they had not delivered what had had duly paid for.

We will also mention about the contamination of our food. WE understand that it it is an unfortunate event and beyond their control but we are greatly disappointed that no apologies was made. We received only such reply " Oh, is it?." It was only later that they called to asked if we STILL NEED ANOTHER ONE??!!. Still no apologies was made till then. We do have six other persons with us who'd witnessed it.

I shall close my case here. It is not my intention to scare some people away. Cos like what I've mentioned I may be the one unlucky one.

WE had really looked forward to our wedding and even to the two-nights first-anniversary stay we are entitled to with our package... and to celebrate our many anniversaries-to-come at the hotel since it really holds fond memories of my proposal and birthday celebration there... But the lousy quality we got during my wedding had really put me off this hotel. They have not only lost our trust but also the almost 250 guest we had that night.... and the many others that our 250 guest might have told to.

Don't worry all of you will have your wonderful wedding. Since the issue is still fresh, they'll definitely take extra care that the same will not happen in the near future. Best Wishes!