The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

wow.. i see. yap, i went to audrey to take a look like. just the standard flower stand and centre table. geeee..

maybe i might take another hotel liaozzzzz... will depend on the package the other hotel give us. will keep you gals updated!

panzz
thks for answering all my questions! hee

well, dont' let the flowers and decor thing make you change your mind. These are stuff that you can dictate and ask them to do it the style that you want cos you are the bride remember

Anyway, no prob, glad to help.

Hi Gnny,

All the best in finding your weddding venue! Either Beaufort or ST, they're both great places and I'm sure u'll hv a beatutiful wedding!

We've decided on Beaufort liao... : )

yes mdm! heeee..

thks juliana,
i am glad that you have confirmed your place, so now.. off to do all the detail planning?

Hi Panzz,,

Glad to hear that you had a wonderful wedding at Beaufort. I'm having mine soon .. in December. Dinner at Grand Salon and Solemnization at Ginger Terrace.

We are planning to book the villa too.. but not for the solemnization though. We were quoted 800+++ top-up for the 1st nite from the deluxe suite that they are giving.. but the second nite will be charged at 1200+++ even if we bring forth our anniversary stay ( 02 nites ). So that means even if we trade-in total of 4 nites, we still have to top-up about $2400 for the villa. Too ex. Have yet to meet up with them yet.

did you have 'The Beaufort' or ' The Sentosa Resort & Spa' on your certificate??? We had just filed for our marriage last week. We tried to 'cheat' by putting down "beaufort' instead but the lady insisted that we have to use the new name. SO disappointing.

We were quoted more than $1K for the additional floral arrangement at the terrace, stairway and garden lawn... ouch,, another pinch on the pocket. Have not seen the centrepieces that comes with the hotel package yet.

One thing that I'm really quite displeased with ..is that beaufort is really very inflexible to requests. Everything is at a cost. Really stressed!!

Hi Juliana,
Wow!! You confirmed liao. How nice. You must be relieved in some ways. Not like me, still looking.
Bride0712, you too! You must be excited, december is coming rather soon! Wedding, only one time, the cost will only hurt once. Ouch.

I'm popping to Conrad to have a look at their deco today. I really really want Beaufort. But the only date they have out of the 3 auspicious dates we have is way too late. So wondering whether to forget about the date and just take whatever is free earlier. Hope the old folks won't mind....

Yeah, 1 thing off my to do list! Next is to decide on my bridal boutique, 7 more months to go! I suppose I should be panicking now??? : P

Bride0712, welcome to the thread! Good to see another Beaufort bride! The ginger terrace is very nice, I like it a lot! How much did u pay for the ginger terrace? What time is your soleminization?

I think Beaufort should consider changing their name back. No one seems to like their new name! : )

harlo juliana
i'm back again! maybe have to stick to beaufort... mmhh.. =P but i am glad la, have you all as my buddies.. hehe

pianokey
me too.. either ST or beaufort. so have to discuss with husband first. i have checked out conrad before. beri exp!!!

bride0712
ur wedding on 7 dec? hehe
you asked audrey's to do the extra decor or you use another florist? the extra night in villa is real exp! but i guess in beaufort, seems like couple has not much "bargaining" power.

Hi gnny,
went to conrad to look see. have heard lots of hoo-ha over it. It's nice in terms of setup, but not extraordinary. I'm sure the service is great though, spoke to the coordinator and was very helpful. They had ushers planted everywhere, impossible for your guests not to feel welcomed. The captain was giving very specific instructions to the waiters also about particular guests and where they are sitting.

In the end, Beaufort is still something refreshing.

Yeah, good to have you beauforty girls around to discuss!

hi pianokey
actually i havent been to conrad's ballroom to look see cos when i see the package they sent me, i gave up look seeing liao. haha

so, have you confirmed with beaufort?

Hello bride0712,

Yap, that's the same amount quoted for me for the 1st nite top up to stay at the villa. Didn't check on the second night though cos we figured that it wouldn't be cheap. The published rate for one night stay at the villa is $1500+++.

Well, I mentioned before, just the two of us in that big villa is a little bit too extravagant lah. One night is good enough for me. We shifted to the deluxe suite for the second night. They helped us shift all the things over which I thought was quite sweet of them instead of asking us to carry all the barang barang over.

I had "The Sentosa Resort & Spa" printed on my certificate. My hubby was a little bit disappointed about not having beaufort on it too. That was why he made sure that the wedding card that he designed had the word "beaufort" in it.

Ya, I also can't understand how come floral arrangement can be so expensive. I was quoted about the same amount as you got for additional decor. That was why I decided to go the DIY style. I got candles at Ikea, flowers at a nice florist, ribbons from Spotlight etc... definitely cheaper than $1K!!! Dont' get your hopes too high on the centerpieces either. Some really look ar... ;P

I have friends who had their wedding held at Beaufort and they too complained that they dont' have much flexibility and can't bargain much. When I had my discussions with beaufort earlier in the year during SARS period, I was trying to get some discounts from them. Hee.. so evil of me right to try to ride on the circumstances.... but of course none of my attempts were successful! I suppose they have to keep up an image as a 5 or 6 star hotel. They would rather leave their rooms and venue empty then to compromise and "down-sell". Look at it this way... at least all your friends know that you are offering them the best on your wedding night.

Bride0712
are you getting the extra flora arrangement from the same vendor? or from your own florist? i am thinking of getting flowers from nursery, ribbons or organza from little india and candels from ikea.. just like panzz. i think can save much more.

panzz
for the centrepiece, you mean, it doesnt come with candels as well? just a pot of flowers? wat abt if i want bowl with floating flowers and candels? gotta DIY?

Hi gnny,
Not confirmed! Talked to the in-laws about having it at Beaufort. sigh. Got to convince them that we've called every where else respectable and they're all fully booked. Kept asking have I tried this hotel, that hotel (yawn), the fact is I didn't actively look cos I've got my mind fixed on Beaufort.
sigh sigh.
you? Sheraton or beaufort?

Gnny, I definitely bought my own candles. Dont' think Audrey's will give candles in centrepieces as part of the package. Think they can provide but at a cost. Will be more worthwhile to get your own in that case. I got the candles, passed it to them and they put it in as part of the flower arrangement.

hi pianokey
i know.. haha, i went thro that.. gena from fwends, colleagues and family. hehe
wont be taking sheraton, its a pity cos we really like the waterfall area.

panzz
then i must do the same thing too. another question. Did you have round or long banquet tables.

Gnny, round ones! I only have 16 tables and it was in grand salon so sun sun has kindly arranged for bigger round tables.

hi panzz
i thot u need at least 20 tables to use the grand salon? so you paid for 16 or 20 tables in the end?
which means.. you have quite a lot of space to move around la.. the grand salon ballroom ailse(dunno how to spell) is veri veri long hor? btw, can share.. wat song did you use for march in?

Gnny, looks like u deciding on Beaufort?

My fren actually asked me if I can 'bargain' for a free room at Beaufort. I almost burst out laughing, told them everything can, but must pay! : P

Mine is sit down dinner, round tables....

hi juliana
yalor, i will make the best out of it, come to think of it, its actually quite nice! just the distant though.
btw, did you go to another forum.. FBO, a bride posted her experience in beaufort also.
actually i also wanted to ask for extra room for helpers during the day time only. have you tried that? hope its FOC, since they have so many rooms and its only for a few hours.

Hi gnny,

I asked about the day-room for the helpers but nope, they do not provide. Well, what she suggested was to bring forth the anniversay nite stay for that extra room instead.

Panzz,

thanks for your advise. I've not gone down to Audrey's yet, so I've not decided on anything yet. But most probably, I'll leave the decor to them... actually, I'm looking at the floral decor they did at Beaufort's Bridal show in April this year. However, if they are going to over-quote me, I'll engage someone else to do it instead.

bride0712
WAT!!!! she asked you to do that!!!!!!!! i might as well stay two nights!!!!! so rigid!!!!!!!!! (Angry)

Hi gnny,

Thanks for letting me know abt the FBP posting...saw the pic, very nice!

Beaufort does seem to be very inflexible leh, everything must pay. I was actually gonna ask them for a day room too....sigh...

Well, I've told myself tt if I want Beaufort, will hv to adjust my thinking to not expect it to give freebies like the other hotels will do. Once u've decided, then dun look at the things they dun give (which is alot), but focus on why u picked tt place in the 1st place....most importantly, u must be happy! : )

hi juliana
del is gnny la! hehe..
yup, you are right! look at the bright side.. but i will still try and ask.. =P
pray that it will NOT rain on that day but will be breezzzzyyyy instead!

bride 0712
i didnt go to the wedding show in beaufort.. is it nice? can you pls let me know roughly wat the quotation is like? so tat i can also have an idea of how much to spend.. thks!

Gnny,

I had the grand salon even though I had 16 tables because the other couple who had the grand salon decided to postpone their wedding. :P I was simply just lucky. So we used the grand salon instead of the ballroom. I got to use downstairs too for changing of clothes etc.

Yes, the aisle was long. Boy, so worried that I will trip and fall haha.. but I didn't... phew.. And the song I used was "She" by eric costello... Used by many brides and a bit common but still impactful.

gnny,

The quote is abt +/-$1k.. for flowers on the railings at the terrace ( outside the ballroom ), flowers on the handrails at the stairways ( stairway to ballroom and stairway down to garden lawn ), 2 simple flower decor along the aisle ( by the seats ) for the solemnisation.

Will try to visit them soon to get a more concrete figure... will let you know again.

wow panzz
that's a good deal man! O, you mean there is no room for us to change to our EG? so, for my case.. got to go public toilet or back to the suite ah? "she" ... i will go find out. thks!
btw, did you take the bridal suite on the 2nd nite. does the room comes with living room, dining area?

bride0712
i think hor, if buy flowers from nursey and do it on your own. maybe can cut down to more than 50% leh. cos my fwends always do decor for church wedding.. those flowers (nice flowers) along the aisle, plus organza, ribbons.. they told me less than $300 leh.

Gnny, I'm sure you can ask sun sun where you can change instead of having to go back to the suite. For my case, I didn't have to ask cos no function going on downstairs so she arranged for me to get changed there.

I took the deluxe suite on the second night. It comes with a living room. No dining area.

DIY for flowers are always much cheaper. Just gather some close friends and ask for their help.

I will ask if I can change downstairs too instead of running back to the suite. I haven't seen the suite yet but think it's quite far from the Grand Salon. Dun think I want to run in my high heels... : P

I guess it depends on whether the room downstairs is booked... ok, have to pray hard that no one books the room downstairs so i can have it!! : P

haha.. yalor! i thot there might be a sort of a "guest" room or VIP room near the ballroom. just like normal hotel. where the bride can change and rest.

dear all
i have checked rgd the extra room for helpers durin the day. guess watz the answer? hehe... ;( NO lor, of course!

have any of u started preparation or discussion of ur banquet with beaufort? think i'm gonna get the complimentary pass from them soon... and the food tasting!

why everything also cannot leh..? : P

Ya, want to go down again to see the place, n bring my parents there as well (so they'll understand why we chose Beaufort!) Food tasting maybe in Feb.

Gnny, your wedding is in Jan right? U must be so excited!!

juliana
yalor, hoho.. will be bring both his and my parents there as well. and will try take some photos of the terrace and grand salon to show my florist and friends to come out with ideas for decoration.

actually, gonna start do my wedding invite cards liao. has to be out by 1st week of dec.

Hi gynny,

Have been so busy the last few days!

Have u gone down for the food tasting yet? I'm going down next week to pay the deposit and bring my parents to see the place.

Where are u getting your wedding invites from? Beaufort does not provide so we'll have to source ourselves right?

hi juliana
no, not yet leh. r u going for chinese menu or international buffet? yup, have gotten a friend to design for me.
beaufort do not provide but san san said that she can recommend a few printing cpy to you, if u want.

Hi gnny,

just moved to a new company and settling down... no time to go online!

Will be going for chinese menu, personally like western menu but think parents and relatives would appreciate chinese sit down dinner more...

hi gnny
O, hows ur work so far? good..

i went for international food tasting, the seafood is not veri nice, but the menu that we had in the terrace will be diferent from the wedding menu.
however, we'll hv to go down to beaufort to discuss the menu with sun sun again in greater detail.

i wanted to take a look at the wedding solemnisation when i went for food tasting but i reached too late.. was over. anyway, they didnt placed any chairs at the grand salon terrace, and didnt have extra decor at the terrace. so cant have a feel of the arrangement lor.
ya, i agree. parents and relatives sure like chinese food! hee

Hello gnny,
sigh. gave up Beaufort already and settled on Marriott. Big big sigh.
Our guest list is just too huge for beaufort. The old folks are jumping for joy that we've settled on something "respectable". I'm so sad.
Marriott is nice also, but...

Juliana and gnny, have a great wedding there!

hi pianokey
mmhh.. decide on marriot? nevermind la, make the best out of it and i am sure u will grow to like marriot. one thing for sure, it wont be as inflex as.. hehe =P and u have invite cards and can ask the planner to throw in more things.
ya, and there's a few pictures on wedding in marriot and it was real nice and romantic with the decor. its either wedding travel / Brides and Grooms or last season Femalebrides.

u also have fun in the process of planning ur wedding k!

Hi Pianokey,

Marriott is quite nice too! I attended a wedding there and the food is good..frankly, if not for the fact tt my bf and i like Beaufort so much, we would have chosen other hotels tt are more accessible and flexible...

Dun worry, it's just a place, the most impt is you n yr husband are happy! : P

yeah yeah!

juliana
that left the both of us to discuss.. hehe hope to see more brides to be joining this thread too!

i also looking at Beaufort leh... going to checkout the place soon.. wah... sounds like wedding at Beaufort will be damn cool and romantic... can't wait to go see... but like wat some pple will say... it's kinda inconvenient... but then again my friend said.... those who dun bother to come and give their blessings aren't your friends and not worth asking... hahah... kinda make sense also... :P

hi apple
congrats! gettin married, i mean! hehe.. i find it quite a hassle to travel all the way to sentosa just to comfirm and discuss this and there. been there 3 times already. but i grew to like it more with each visit. esp when our parents are also pleased with it when they went for food tasting! (cos at first, they were hopin that we will settle for something in land)

when is ur wedding gonna be?

Hi apple,

welcome to this thread! I think it depends on what u r looking for - the other hotel ballrooms are grander and more posh with high ceilings while Beaufort is more serene and cosy.

For me I would like my guests to be more relaxed that's why I chose Beaufort. Just went to a ballroom at Stamford (can never remember the name, I mean the the shorter hotel at Cityhall - Westin?) and the ballroom is so much grander, very nice too!

Hi Gnny & Juliana,

Sorry, I am back in action. Didnt log on for quite some time. Was sick last week and is still recovering (had a bad blocked nose n sore throat

Oh, I went to Sentosa last Sat with a rented car, guess it will be much easier for us to get around. But to our disappointment, I called Lisa on Wed to arrange for an appointment on Sat. But she told me that they will be very busy arranging for another function and come back on another time. I told her that I have rented a car so Sat is my own option, she says that since I insisted, I can have a look on my own. Anyway, if I make an appt with her, she will only show me around and go thru the price list with me so might as well she go thru the details with me on the phone and if I am interested, I can come back to her again

I am quite pleased with Rasa Sentosa's service, they are so much more service oriented but think that the ambience in Beaufort is still nicer. I will be looking around for other alternatives.

Juliana - so how is the sheralton's towers's waterfall lobby? Did u managed to get any quotations? can they close the place for a wedding? Do update me. Thanks.

hi soap
hope u are feeling better today.

your wedding planner is lisa? mine is another lady. i guess on weekends they are pretty tied up cos i heard from my wedding planner that they have wedding every weekend from now till end of the year.
So when u were there, did u managed to see other ppl's wedding as well?
personally i hv not been to rasa's wedding. but heard fr fwends also that beaufort ambience is nicer, more serene?? geee...

btw, its not juliana whos looking at sheraton towers.. its me, gnny.
quotation for buffet is abt $55+++, they can close the place for me (lobby area) but we cant make announcement, thank u speech.etc. not even our own music. (cos its at the lobby area ma) its a pity..
but nevermind, we still have beaufort!

which hotel do u still have in mind?

Have not cfm my date yet... needa go check the chinese calendar... but most likely end of 2004... thik it's gonna be packed... went down to see the place... i find the smaller ballroom more cosy... the grand salon kinda seemed more cold as not much decorations can be done up... and realised that the stage is soooooooooooooo plain... sigh... but good thing is they have someone at each table... kinda makes it like exclusive services for the guests. The small ballroom is nice but if i want a little area as dance floor will be too cramped... and having less table means pay more per table... and the grand salon is min 20 tables and i probably only has around 16 tables... dunno how leh... A lot of things not in.. knew only when i went down... no beer, and they dun have wedding cards leh... must pay for the card and printing... the reception table doesn't seemed nicely doen up either... still tot will be nicer.... sob sob... wonder how Rasa's decor's like???? Any ideas???

hi apple
initially i also pref the smaller room. but hor, cos mine is buffet style.. will take up more space than chinese dinner. so decided to increase to 200 pax. but if u put a stage in the centre of the smaller ballroom, then ur march in (straight march in) will only be "2 round tables" diameter. if they put a stage in the corner of the room, the march in will be longer (L-shape) but can only put 10 round tables in the ballroom. which means, 6 tables gota be outside the ballroom.. ehh. u know wat i'm trying to say. *wink*

dunno hows rasa like.. my fwend told me the ballroom is quite far from the sea.. when i called up rasa, the person told me that the min table for weekends is 35 tables?!?

hahah, gnny... think i know wat u trying to say lah kekeke.... actually really disappointed cos always tot will be very romantic to do it at beaufort... sigh... maybe will drop the idea... perhaps Hotel Intercontinental will be my next choice... went to see... wah seh... the grand ballroom super nice... eekekekke.... but the suite... sooooooooooooo small... and still they call it a suite simply cos they divide the small room into 2.... but anyway... i prefer newer hotels... plus the wine is only $24+++ per bottle... i think consider one of the cheaper ones hor... but dunno if they'll allow 20 tables.... have not seen sheraton towers... u settling there?