The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

hi apple
i have been to hotel continential ballroom but i pref another one in the basement. gotta walk down a flight of stiars. its small and cosy. my fwends had their church wedding there a few years ago.

sheranton towers - if u scroll up, u will see my postings. i love the waterfall, but just cant do it over there. theie package is quite exp though.

wine ah.. i have no experiences. cos my guests mostly from church, so no need to serve wine and beer. haha =P
i am settling in beaufort, using the grand salon. i'll take the minimum table, 200 pax and have them arranged in long banquet style. dun like the round tables lor. are u looking at hotels only or open to other venue such as fort canning, burkill hall, ACM, SAM...?

Hi Gnny,

I am feeling much better, thanks for your concern

Anyway, When I happen to be there, they have preparing for Kodak's D & D. So didnt managed to catch hold of any wedding going on.

Huh, so disappointed with Sheraton's hotel waterfall lobby. Then in that case, I will not consider this option.

Currently, me ^-^ still looking around for suitable venues

hehe soap
good to hear that!
i was also veri disappointed with not able to have wedding at the waterfall area. another more expensive waterfall area will be shangri-la. haha
Wa, i've been there 3 times but not once where i can see the whole grand salon. mmhh. only one big ballroom, so bo-bian lor. will try to view
it the next time i go for menu selection.

all the best to ur venue shopping~~

pianokey, sorry to hear that you can't have your wedding at Beaufort but still, enjoy your wedding and like what gnny said, you will grow to like Marriot i'm sure. Anyway, for the gals who are still venue shopping.... there might not be a lot of freebies with beaufort, loads of inconveniences, loads of complaints from relatives and friends but I still think weddings there can be rather dreamy and romantic... you will enjoy yourself tremendously at the end of the day...

Hi Panzz,

Thank u for your word of encouragment! It's good to hear from someone who has done it at Beaufort before....will be going down to check out the place one more time.. : P

You are most welcome Juliana. Just wanna say that I was totally stressed out during wedding preps... facing probs which you gals are most probably facing now. I've realised that no matter where the venue is.. the most important thing is to enjoy your wedding and don't get so bothered when some things don't work out the way you wanted it to be.. My dream wedding was actually a cruise wedding and was crying buckets a year ago when I couldn't have it.. hee.. but in the end, my wedding still turned out memorable afterall

Hee.. cruise wedding sounds fun! I actually thought of that but dun think my relatives would enjoy it too much..

The most challenging thing in planning a wedding is balancing the wishes and expectations of everyone around you (your family, friends, relatives etc) as well as your own! It definitely helps if u hv understanding family n frens! For me esp, it was the dream of fulfilling your fantasy vs reality eg. do I really want to spend close to 10K on 1 day? (albeit an impt one lah)...

Anyway, have finally decided on Beaufort and LG bridal.. phew!

Wah wah.. same as me leh juliana... me also beaufort and legalleria...

As for cruise wedding, i gave up the idea previously cos I couldn't find an ideal catamaran.. but recently there is a new one offering wedding services... ARGHHHH..... if only they offered it one year ago...

hihi juliana and panzz
me also thought of cruise wedding at first by my hubby thinks his relative surely buay tahan one. haha.. anyway i also gave up the idea after seeing the decor inside the cruise.. not that fantastic leh!

panzz
you sure had a lovely wedding at beaufort!

Hi Gnny,
I went down to see the place again yesterday evening. It turns dark at 7pm so it's quite difficult if u want to have the church ceremony at the Terrace in the evening. How long will your ceremony be and what time will it start? My BF and I thinking hard how to resolve it cos Sunsun says the earliest she can give us the place is 6.30pm...

Panzz, what time was your soleminization? You did yours at the villa right?

huh really? the other time i went, 7pm still okie. not dark yet. guess its nearer to year end. do they have lights at the terrace? ya, sun say can only confirm abt 3 weeks before hand, if anyone is using the grand salon. If no one is using, we can start at 6pm.. but its too late to inform everyone by then.. cos our wedding invitation card says 6.30pm (guest to be seated by 6pm) so hopefully if majority is early, we can begin at 6.15pm. we can tell pastor to "rush a bit" for us... i think 45min is the normal duration.
u know.. another way is to place tea light candles along the ailse. dunno if it helps much? or place some candles arrangement strategically in the terrace area? i think will ask sun sun if she can place candles on those tall round tables that beaufort provide for cocktail. i think if this is slightly dark, with candles.. will look nice. but the camera must be veri powerful so photos wont turn up black. wat do u think?

ya, panzz had her soleminization in the privacy of her villa~~~

mine was at 530pm... ended about 6pm. And yap, did it at the villa. My wedding website almost done... will send the links to you ladies over the weekend when it is more complete.

hey... what if it rains.. did you ask Sun sun what kind of contingency plans they have? The terrace is out in the open right?

Gnny, was thinking along the same line too. They actually have wall lights (which are too dim) and spot lights (which I find too strong and very harsh) so we either have to bring in some light source or use candles.... not sure if candles are bright enough though...

if they say they will turn over the room to us by 6.30pm does tt mean they're still be setting up at 6pm? I'm worried tt the guests may come at 6.15pm and the chairs are still being set up!

Panzz, they have a calopy or an extendable shelther of some sort tt covers the terrace if it rains. Sidetrack abit, how was your experience w LG? I was considering Flamingo, Jawn and LG, finally decided on LG cos I really liked one gown I tried on there, organza over silk duchess with lavender embroidery, very sweet! : P

Juliana, from what I know, i think they only have extendable canopy for the grand salon. Dont' think the Terrace is covered. If it rains, the whole ceremony might be moved inside... not too sure, you gals might just wanna check with Sun Sun again.

As for LG, I had a really great experience there because the lady who served me was fantastic. But she is no longer with LG. We really appreciated her help so much that we sent her a rather costly flower arrangement on her last day of work. I'm not really sure how it would be like to work with Julie and Doreen so I can't comment much. I think I know which one you tried on!!! hee... was it a bustier... I chose LG because I fell in love with the embroidery.
Flamingo is one of the "shortlisted" bridal salons on a couple of my friends' list now. I think if I do it all over again, will still go with LG because I feel very comfortable and pampered there... Was told by some of my friends that they are actually quite expensive. I think the most important thing is whether you like their gowns or not...

hi, I'm new to this. have already decided on beaufort, so beautiful...=)

panzz, you've already held yours there rite? can u pls email me your pics/website link at [email protected]?

also, how did u decorate the grand salon? when I went there abt 1 mth ago, the wedding couple had filled it with balloons floating at the ceiling (don't think they used much flowers), but I thought it still look like a conference room. how?

any grouses or complaints about beaufort that shld take note of? planning to meet with sun sun soon. so isit that can only bargain for free corkage for wine? nothing else?

hi panzz
received it with lots of thanks!!! *SMILE* nice gown! veri LG! hehe..
O, the canopy covers the terrace, so no prob if it rains, but i will pray that it wont rain on my wedding day!

juliana
if someone is using the grand salon before us, then their event should end by 5pm. which means, the setting up of the place should start latest by 5.15pm-5.30pm. but its a bit rush to put up the decor. (only hv half an hour to get it done by 6pm) so, gotta be quick i guess. but sun sun can confirm with us three weeks before our wedding.. if the grand salon is booked in the afternoon slot. if not, heeheee... we can start early!

harlo pokiebearie
welcome welcome to this thread. eh.. i think cant bargain for anything. but u can still try. *grin* actually, i have not seen the whole grand salon before. does it look like conference room? just know that its a long retangular shape... tell me more please..

Hi Panzz,
What a coincidence, I actually tried on your gown at LG!!! I love your wedding invite - can I ask which printer you went to? I love your ring pillow too!! Also, who's your makeup artist? Thk u so much for sharing w us your website!

Gnny, I went down to the place again last Sat with my parents. There was a wedding there and the couple did their solemninsation at the terrace followed by dinner at the grand salon as well. The terrace looked great and the mood was perfect!
I'm very excited now!

I've taken some pics of the ballroom, will download n attach it tomorrow or day after. The room is more cosy than grand becos it has relatively low ceiling compared to the other hotels. It has beige/brown carpet, brown wood panel walls. The VIP tables hv red table cloth but the rest are white. So the overall look is cosy and warm..

Pokiebearie, welcome to the the thread! They give free wine corkage for every table, anything beyond that will be charged, but u can order wine from them. I hvn't compared prices yet so not sure if they r cheaper than outside.

hi juliana
mmhh... u set my mind at ease. thanks!
eh.. u were refering the the Grand Salon or the Ballroom? so you took photos of the terrace decor as well? =)

I took pics of the Grand Salon on my 1st visit. I didn't take the terrace decor last Sat cos there were many guests there and I felt so out of place in my jeans! : P

hehe.. so u refering to grand salon. yuppie! o, ya, i wanted to take pic when i was there for food tasting.. but i also felt out of place. the guests would find it wierd if they see a lady snapping photos at the venue.. pls pls pls send it to me... thks!

btw, they have it in the evening? was it veri dark this time round? solemnization a bit diff from our church matrimony right? cos wont need so many chairs... and barang barang such as the sound system, instruments. etc.

will send to you tomorrow or day after. fixing my laptop now so all the files are in a mess... : P

i was there around 6.30pm and the soleminisation ceremony had just ended. They had about 15 chairs arranged in semi circle with a table facing the sea. They did up the railing with white ribbons and flowers so the place looked very nice...playing Jazz music over the sound system so the whole mood was great... : ) The place was relatively bright till about 7pm, after that it turned dark very quickly and by 7.30pm it's completely dark. But I noticed they didn't take pictures so lighting wasn't a problem. I would like to take pics after the ceremony which is why I'm so gan cheong abt the amt of daylight we have...

Pokkiebearie, yes, I had my wedding there and I emailed you my website link already. As for the questions that you asked about decor, lack of freebies etc, you probably will get some answers by reading some of the comments put up some time back in this thread.

Gnny, no prob... I did promise to send the link over once it is done. and yap, my gown is definitely very LG with all the embroidery on it.. haha..

Juliana, WOW, you tried my gown.. opps.. now you know what a big frame I have liao..

Hee... but i guess you tried cos you liked my gown so I'm happy too
anyway, I designed that gown along with my sis and the lady at LG so I'm mighty proud of myself... haha... the details on the back is lovely and my husband has the same embroidery done on his suit to match mine.

Thank you. I had a lot of compliments on my wedding invite cos was told that it was special cos I had our photos in it. My husband designed the wedding invite

As for the printer, it was a printer that his coy works with... lithographic Print House Pte Ltd.

Yap yap, had my ring pillow custom made...
Well, if you wanna save money and want to use mine, I can loan you mine if u want...It is still in tip top condition cos I cant' bear to damage anything that was used in my wedding so had them all wrapped up and stored away nicely.

My makeup artist is Ponnie Hsu. She did a great job with my makeup. I have one eye with double eyelid and the other without... and she managed to rectify all that and made me look natural. She was nice enough to loan me some of her hair pieces, earrings, necklaces etc too...

Anyway, thank you for all the compliments on my photos

Hi Panzz,

I like the embroidery on your gown! But blue is not my colour, will be choosing lavender instead. Hope it turns out well... : P

Thx for offering to lend me your ring pillow, no lah, better if u keep the ring pillow in safe condition, I will be very 'heart pain' if something happens...

How is Ponnie's service ah? I'm choosing btw her and Jasmine. Read in some thread that she seems abit cold and was late on several occasions...

Lavendar is really sweet too so i'm sure your gown will be lovely! Well, my hubby voted for blue so I went along with it cos I like blue too

I didn't get a chance to get a trial makeup session with Jasmine so I can't make any comparison and give you any comments about her. As for Ponnie, she is quite experienced and quick in doing makeup. She and I got along pretty well. I suppose you just have to realise that every individual is different and being a bit aloof initially is just how she is. She does warm up after a while.
In fact, she was sweet enough to loan me a lot of jewellery on that day cos I didn't have my own earrings, bracelets etc. As for being late, I guess you can always arrange for your helper to give her a ring to remind her of the time or to give her a lift to your house/hotel... I'm rather "suay bian" kind.. so as long as it isn't really altrociously late, I don't mind.... Anyway, ponnie and jasmine are both very hot, so make sure you book one of them in advance.

thanks for the info, actually I've gone to Ponnie and Jasmine's websites and I think I like Ponnie's work more, just worried abt some comments abt her 'attitude'.

Hi Panzz,

1 more question, who was your photographer?

Gnny, I tried to attach the pics but they are too big. I'll send to your email accounts instead. Can email me your email acct to [email protected].

hi Juliana
i have been missing for a few days. *wink* busy.
pls send to [email protected]

panzz
i know i hv asked this before.. u didnt use the florist from beaufort right? so, where did you get ur flowers from and how much does it cost? DID beaufort refund u the money for the flowers or they exchanged for other stuff? thks

Gnny, u've got mail! : )

I saw the wedding favours Beaufort has (bear in pouch, wooden potpurri, chocolates) but don't really like them. But the other options are abit ex leh...

Juliana, ar... ponnie can get a bit cranky but hey as long as you like her makeup, dont' get too bothered.
Like I said, after a while, she will warm up to you.
As for Photographer... you mean actual day or studio? For studio, ostudio... for actual day, photospace. For videography, ninetrogen.

Gnny, yes I did use the florist from beaufort but I did make some specific request like having candles in the centre, the choice of flowers etc. I even asked for a preview by asking for an arrangement done up for me before the wedding. But of course, I have to pay some $ for that preview.

I had the bear in pouch... hee.. creamy bear in red pouch... actually most of my guests liked the gift and I have been seeing the bear now and then in places like my ex-colleague's daughter's pocket, my colleague table, amongst my nephrew's toys, my mom-in-law coffee table, my father's room etc.

I've compared it to some of the bears given out at other weddings and the ones given by beaufort is of a better quality...

Anyway, i'm interested too to know what are the other options... was smitten by the bear so didn't ask for others... :P

They have only 3 choices - mini bear in beige pouch, flower shaped potpurri in pouch, and chocolates. MyBF likes the bears, me not sure leh. another option is to buy own favours but will incur add'l costs eg. mini candles at least $3.50 per pc.

I'm using my fren's fren to do my flower deco for the day, his style is quite unique and costs quite reasonable. if u want I can pass u his HP so u can call n check w him.

There were two other favors given out at my friends' weddings which were quite nice too... one is chocolate bar with a specially designed wrapper ... another is a small vodka glass with cartoons of the bride and groom on it... The glass is lovely and quite a nice gift to keep...

I like the idea of shotglass with cartoons on it but I think it's about $3-4+, ,multiply it by 200 and it's $800.... heart pain...

Sigh, I am becoming a cheapo! : P It;s just that all the cost seem to be adding up!! : P

juliana
ya, the shotglass sounds nice but heart pain. if that's the case, i think we will stick with the bear. haha.. thks for your terrace photos, it helps a lot. showed it to my friend and she oreadi has some decor design in mind. =)
are u going for chinese or buffet menu?

panzzz
wow, u got preview somemore.. yalor, of course must pay hor. so you actually spent around 1k for the flowers right? so nice to see your wedding favors every now and then.. remind u of ur wedding day right? i hope mine can also be found in my fwend's bag or watever.. wherevere. hehe
u went for the buffet menu?

I think we will ultimately choose the bear or chocolates unless we come across something cheap n nice. : )

I'm going for the Chinese sit-down dinner. More for my family n relatives n my BF thinks there's more to eat at Chinese dinner!

juliana, i don't know about the cost for the glasses but well dont' worry about being cheapo.. it is only natural to want to cut down on costs.. mine also added up to a scary amount and would have been even more if I really indulged myself!!!

Gnny, no lah.... for the "preview", I only had one flower arrangement done cos the arrangement on every table was very important to me. I wanted to make sure that it looked good... I wasn't terribly happy too after seeing the "preview" arrangment but i didn't want to spend money engaging another florist... anyway on that day, i allowed my guests to take the stalks of roses home and the funniest thing was I've got guests who also brought home the candles! haha... I wasn't angry, in fact I was happy cos that means they really liked the decor for my wedding...

As for money.. no lah, i didn't spend so much on flowers.. perhaps just a few hundred...

Yes, yes, that's why I think the bear is nicer cos you get to see them once in a while.. i was thrilled to see the bear stuffed in my friend's daughter's pocket.. that means she had been playing with it for a while now...

We had the chinese sit-down dinner and the food wasn't too bad...

hi panzz
thks for your info once again. ur decor must be veri nice to have ur guest bringing it home. unfortunately, cant see veri clearly from the pictures that u sent me.
for ur wedding, any decor that beaufort provide FOC?

juliana
think i go for bear. o, u be hving the chinese menu. have u went for food tasting? i'll be having buffet.

No prob. Roses and candles are always popular with girls, women and even men..
Some of the guys brought roses home to give to their mums, sisters, gfs/wives.....
Ya... the photos of the dinner weren't really that clear... As for FOC... ar.. nope.. the standard stuff that you get outta the package and that's that... anything extra, you gotta pay for it...

haha panzz. wat a good answer! regarding the "anything exrta, gotta pay for it" hehe..
ur theme was "red" right? red roses with red table cloth, veri loud and romantic!

dunno wat i'll go for.. havent decide cos my EG is more turquoise colour. beaufort let u chose the colour of the cloth? wat other choices do they have?

hee....Actually there wasn't really a color theme. But ya, the roses were red. The two VIP tables were red as in with red table cloth.. the rest were white. Can't imagine if all of them were red .. that would be a bit too loud...

I dont' think beaufort has a lot of color to offer. It is either gold, white and red. But I may be wrong, check with Sun sun.

I did make the request to dim the lights though cos we had candles... think it is more romantic that way..

mmhh. thks panzz.
haha would look real LOUD if its all RED. hehe
o ya, was thinking of using candles too cos they always give a more romantic feel.

juliana
how are you? hv u thot of any ideas for ur wedding?

Was out of office on Fri so didn't log in...I think will probably take white table cloth and red for VIP tables, and add colour using the flowers. Gold table cloth may be nice but not sure what tone it is, the dull gold or bright bright type... gotta check with Sun Sun...

Me having food tasting in Feb. Ya, will like to use candles to give it a softer feel... now thinking of Plan B for the church service in case someone books the place in the afternoon, would really like to start at 5.30 or 6 latest so considering to pay more to book the place in the afternoon... : (

hi juliana

i see... i've just checked with sunsun, so far, no one has booked the afternoon slot for my wedding date.
maybe u ask her wats the possibility. cos she told me the possibility for mine will be quite low.

poox
weekend charge is the same as weekday. the one u saw on the website. starts from $62.8+++ per pax. the only differece in pricing is the type of package u want. as for pub holidays, i think i have checked before, actually planned 31 dec, eve of pub hol.. its $10 more per pax i think. so its 72.8+++ for the most basic package. (veri exp)

did any of you manage to bargain in a free barrel of beer? I know this is probably quite impossible given beaufort's super inflexibility, but did any of you manage to get anything out of sunsun which is not in the original offered package? cos I will be meeting her tomorrow to sign package, will very much appreciate knowing what I can possibly bargain for.

many thanks in advance! =)

oh, and happy holiday to everyone!

ih pokkiebearie
didnt asked cos we are not having beer or wine.
so how's ur 'bargain' with her.. signed contract liao?

Hi Pokiebearie,

Replying abit late, but just to let you know tt I didn't get anything extra, we did bargained for free barrel of beer and free day room but not successful....sigh....the only thing we got was to ask for the 1st anniversary stay to be moved to the 2nd nite and they upgraded it from a deluxe room to a suite for us, which was nice.

When's your wedding date and is yours a Chinese sit down or Western style?

hi gnny, juliana

thanks for your replies. yup, signed contract already but errr....what bargaining?? guess you all have probably already guessed the outcome. =)

oh juliana, pls pls pls do not take the gold table cover, unless you like metallic dark gaudy gold? I had actually thought of getting gold too, for a change from the usual white, until I saw it!!! white is goooood....

I think if you really want, just use on the VIP table, then still ok (originally, I had hoped for a light matt gold colour or cream/light yellow colour to have a cosy effect, which I'll then use for all the tables). In person, one gold table still don't look too bad. But somehow, the gold turns out quite badly in pictures. So I think I will revert back to the traditional red/white combi.

my wedding is sep next year and it's chinese sit down. how about yours, gnny and juliana?

by the way, any of you DYI-ing your cards? and which bridal did you sign with?