The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

hi touraco,
mine's on dec 10. where's aceproclink?

aiya... i heard another cousin saying that she been to beaufort wedding dinner and most guests not full.... sad to hear leh...

hi gals..

seems like there is another change of wedding planner again.. the previous gal.. serene who is replacing sunsun is not there anymore.. geee

btw the other guy wedding planner that some of u gals met up with.. is he still ard?

hi gals!

juz to check w u on someting..
hw many dishes did u all get to try on ur food tasting? and for hw many pax???

Touraco,
What a coincidence! I had my cards done at Acepro too!

Elle,
i recommend Acepro too. They are located at Hotel Windsor, Macpherson Rd. Webby is www.aceproclink.com

Rach,
I didn't really have many complains about the food serving s except from those seated in tables of 12 (I had 4 of those due to odd number of people). Think the chef served portions of 10 for 12 people. So if you intend to have tables of 12, better ensure that the serving is enough!
Food tasting is only allowed for 6 pax, B&G and their parents, duriong my time at least.

hi queen and touraco,
does acepro have standard cards or they basically do customisation. we dun want something too common but can;t think of any special design. wanna go for simple and elegant kind.

hi elle
i believe they do have some sample designs for u to choose as i already have an idea of what i want, i just give them the design.
i don't have any complain on the serving size as well, in fact i have compliments that the food is nice

hi queen
heehee...

hi touraco,
hopefully i won't get much complains too...

anyone using josiah as the wedding planner? my hubby and I are extremely unhappy with him. we wrote him an email about 2 weeks b4 PS asking if there is a possibility to spare us a room for us during PS for changing and touch up. first time, he said will confirm when date is nearer. so last night, we emailed him again (we had our photoshoot today) asking him to give us a call to let us know. he didn't call till mid afternoon. never mind, then we decided not to have one. when we arrived there doing our shoot, he dun even seemed to recognise us, just smile and walk pass like we were one of the hotel guests. Hello!!! i was wearing my wedding gown!! he should have figured that we r the couple coming for photoshoot right? not that i want him to suck up or what, but we felt being ignored or something.

just then, we checked our email. guess what, he replied our email this morning at 9.30am saying that 'i can only confirm availability nearer to the date'.... when in actual fact, we specifically told him that we'll be there at 3.30pm today. can someone tell me if he sound like not too keen on our business or what? he simply didn't care or read emails properly? are we just being picky or what? me and hubby have never had any problem with anyone. and i dare to say we r extremely easy-going...

we really want to change him!

Hi elle,
Are you able to talk to the higher management?
From all your postings, it seems like the wedding coordinating section is a mess. Sun Sun left and Rachelle mentioned that some new girl left as well?

I was lucky. Sun Sun was a pretty good coordinator. She's very helpful and responsive.

hi elle
that sounds quite unprofessional on their side.
as what quuen said, thank god, i got sun sun as well. sun sun responds to email fast although it's hard to get her on the phone.
when i am there for photoshoot, she saw me and smile at me and ask me to enjoy myself.

btw, if any of you wants special wedding favors,pls PM me.thanks

hi queen and touraco,

hubby wrote an email to him on saturday expressing our unhappiness. josiah said apparently he din receive one of our email which we clarify the date for our PS. and mentioned that he didn't recognise us as we look different during PS, plus he didn't expect to see us there.
well... maybe. maybe there are really some miscommunication somewhere... too bad loh

so we decided to drop the matter and let it rest. after all, the last thing we want is have some one face black black to be our wedding coordinator

i am having my food tasting next monday. did anyone of you change the dishes after food tasting?

hi elle!

u r not the only one who is facing all these frustrating problems!

I've some issues with the new gal too! lucky everyting was solved amicably.. i was soooooo disappointed with Beaufort.. some of the verbal agreement with Sunsun was obviously not passed on to the new gal.. I've to write a few emails before all these are resolved.. sigh

haha hopefully I won't be faced with a face black black co-ordinator too!

hi elle
i changed quite a few things after my food tasting and top up money for the new menu.

hi racherlle
actually ur wedding planner from beaufort won't be there on the actual day,only the banquet manager will be there to help u that day.

hi gals, i met up with a Beaufort coordinator by the name of Kendy a couple weeks ago and found her to be quite nice. quite like the ballroom too. however, having second thoughts after reading so many nagative feedback here. are things really so bad? anybody having kendy as coordinator?

hi july,
i guess alot of unhappiness was due to miscommunication. but i still think when it comes to wedding, ladies will have a better understanding and more 'xi xin' to details. so i guess having kendy should be fine... the problem doesn't lie with beaufort. it's the human factor.

our 'prob' with our coordinator is that he is too straight. i am in sales myself. i understand that there are company policies and rules. and at times, customer may just ask for something that u cannot offer. however, instead of giving a straight 'no', u can suggest alternative. imagine, u being so happy and excited abt your wedding, u ask him for something, and all he can say is 'no...', 'i'm afraid we can't...'. HOw would you feel?
of course i can't expect him to give a 'yes' answer all the time. but what we r looking for is other options. that is what i call customer service.

overall, i believe most of us will stick to beaufort no matter what. i am sure that the banquet manager and all other involved party will make our wedding night an enjoyable one.

Dear Ladies

How are you all? I had 'disappeared' from this thread for quite some time ;-) Now back again. Had been too busy at work but I have been reading your posts and read your frustrations.

My coordinator's Josiah too,so far we had mainly coordinated via emails since I am also not in Spore. He seems ok at this moment as I have not asked gone into the details of my wedding yet like menu, photo shots etc. But i reckon its better that I be mentally prepared for some disappointed service.

Are you ladies all mainly using the bigger ballroom, The Grand Salon? due to my smaller wedding, it will be held at the smaller one, The Ballroom. I hope its as good as the bigger ballroom though. Anyone have viewed it before?

Also, are you ladies using the flower arrangements provided by the hotel or you are using your own florist? I am just wondering if the flower arrangements they provide are nice?

Talk to you ladies again soon!

hi deniseK,

after a round of unhappiness, now things seem to be back to normal. let bygones be bygones. i guess we might be the only 'bad case' that josiah has handled too... afterall, there is no such thing as everybody likes you or everyone likes me! hahaa

i had my food tasting on monday. i can say that the food quality is not bad. of all the dishes, i only had one small 'complaint' on one dish.

My wedding will be held in the Grand salon, but i've personally seen The Ballroom. I like the reception area. i tot The Ballroom's decor is pretty nice too. dun worry about that. somemore, it is just beside the pond... no seaview.. but still a nice romantic pond...

by the way, they have new wedding favours. get josiah to email you. he;s got softcopy. i will be meeting the florist within the next two weeks... hmm... i wonder if i am too early...hehehe

will let u know what i think.

Hi Elle

Good to hear that the food quality's not bad. What is the 1 complaint you have about one dish? Are you taking the standard wedding package?

Thanks for letting me know that The Ballroom is actually quite nice. Plus the pond, I didnt know that it exists! Useful info since I am not able to go down for a site visit anytime soon! :-(

Have you seen the new wedding favours? Hope they are nice. Ok, I shall get Josiah to email me.

By the way when is your AD? Mine will be 22 July.

Hope the florist is good too. Dont worry that you are too early, its always good to prepare in advance. Sometimes I wonder if I am not early too?! But getting ready in advance, allows you to even think of small details, so your wedding will be just perfect! ;-)

Talk to you ladies again soon! have a good weekend!

hi deniseK,

yes i am taking the standard package. but i changed almost half the menu! hence gotta top up money. still 8 dish though. the only complain was the mushroom with vege. the mushrooms were rather bland. can be better though.

i havent seen the new favours. but according to josiah, there's scented soap, candles, and a pair of salt-pepper shaker.

my AD is 10 Dec this year... come to think about it... actually not early to choose my flowers... hehehe

hi elle, do let us know how your meeting with audrey's (the florist) went. i did a recce at audrey's just now and there was this middle aged man manning the shop. when i asked him if they do weddings he told me "we don't do much weddings here". i was flabbergusted! wonder what they consider wedding decor for the sentosa then. thie little episode has just reinforced the negative feedback about the shop on this forum.

hi july,
we just went to audrey's last friday. we called for an appointment before heading down. it's just a small shop. lady called faye was helping us out. we tot she was very nice and friendly. perhaps the man meant that they dun do much because they only do it for beaufort???

hi elle, perhaps you're right. prob shouldn't read too much into my experience with the man manning the shop.
just a bit worried about the flowers coz from the pictures the coord showed me they aren't too impressive.

hi july,
i am not too particular about flowers. in fact, my hubby chose them for me. he was more fussy than me... so much so that he wanted to pay for the arrangement that we chose just to see if it is nice...

anyway, he picked one and i just said ok. we did it in about 15 minutes.

honestly, yes, the photos didn't turn out well. but Faye showed some photos on the laptop. they looked better.

do u already have something in mind? why not cut from mag and ask them to copy?

hi deniseK,
i visited the beaufort again last weekend to settle some matters with josiah.
took a good look at the Ballroom. the reception area is facing some nice greeneries. on the right is the pond.... i thnk u can choose to do something about the open-air area outside the reception area... can very nice...

when i was there, they were preparing for a wedding at the grand salon and a western dinner at the the ballroom... all i can say is... I am overwhelmed...
no regrets choosing Beaufort!

Dear Elle

Thanks a lot for the info on Beaufort! It is indeed very helpful to hear your feedback as I can't see the place physically for myself till I am next back in Spore, which should be CNY 06.

I can't seemed find any other nicer place besides Beaufort. I guess I shall place my confirmation & deposit with Josiah when I am back.

Btw, can I ask again when will be your AD? I remembered that it must be quite soon?! You must be definitely looking forward!! Hope to see your nice pixs!

hi denisek,
u're welcome...
my AD is in 2 weeks time ... Dec 10!

just take note... taxis are on standby after dinner.. guests gotta pay extra $5.20.
i just gotta know from josiah...
man... the old folks are gonna complain again...
sigh...

Hi Elle

wow Dec 10, I am sure you must be counting down! Are you almost all done and just waiting for the big day to arrive? ;-)

Oh dear, thanks for informing me! extra S$5.20 on top of the usual taxi fare ah...so ex! I guess I will be in the same situation as you then - folks complaining.... Do you think hiring an extra transport like a mini-van or something might be more convenient for the guests in this case? Thats the only setback about the location...

hi deniseK,

i am getting private bus... going in and coming out... only about 20 guests wanna take bus in. the rest either drive or by taxi. but going out, i think i am getting big bus (40 seater type). I think more guests wanna take bus out since there is a pre-booking surcharge for taxi...
sigh... i dun dare to tell parents yet....!!

anyone out there experience complains from guests about taxi surcharge?

hi elle!

yup.. an extra $5.20.. the other time i was there.. i hop into the cab.. then i saw the meter i was like WOW! i asked the uncle, then he told me these are hotel cabs.. hence, the surcharge..
i tink it's better for u to call cab then get into these cabs..
more cheaper..

Hello gals

For Beaufort's buses, are they payable? I thought they don't included buses in and out? Perhaps they provide buses but maybe at fixed times only? Touraco, is your wedding over or will it be soon?

Elle, for the private buses that you are getting for going in & out, how much roughly do they cost? Will S$300 be sufficient or more?

9 more days to your wedding! Counting down!! Keep us posted about it ok!

hi racherlle,
so far we drive in so never knew abt the cab fares. that's why we decided to get a bus for guests. they can catch a cab at harbour front loh. cheaper i guess...

hi touraco,
are the buses open to public or only for hotel guests? i havent seen any 'beaufort bus' so far leh...

Hi DeniseK,
we are getting comfort bus. a 40-seater. one way in and one way out. that's about $200.

... every night i am dreaming abt the wedding. i either dream about guests, or my makeup, or my gown, the table setup... even counting ang pows! hahaha...

hubby too... i tot only ladies are kan chiong!

Josiah told me that the bus will make a stop at the banquet entrance to pick up the guest. Maybe can check the arrival time of the bus and ensure that the dinner ends around that time, so when guests leave, Beaufort bus will be there....
going to try that, hope it works... haha

My concern is more the guest coming in, i oredi got tons of complains from my relatives and father freinds saying why no special bus to fetch them in.... sign.... elle, can pass me the contact for the bus... might book a trip to fetch guest in... did u book it through the internet???

Need some advice on march in.... For the Grand Salon Ballroom, is any brides marching in from the terrace side, which is the glass door??? Intend to do that, but it seems that the guest can see me at the door before i prepare to march in.... do your think is wierd??? .... my wedding is next week... and i still haven't start my table planning becos of this issue... super stress....

Hi elle,

Wish u all the best to your wedding event next week....

Hi Minhue,

we are getting comfort bus. u can email to:

sigh.. how come relatives are like that? they should feel honoured that they are invited to share the joy with us! still complain. I really dun understand the mentality of singaporeans sometimes. u know what, my hubby's frens and relatives felt so priviledged that we send them invitation. about 20 of them are flying in from australia, Uk, malaysia etc... and guess what? the airfares at this time of the year is much more expensive!

and us singaporeans? just take a taxi (max. give u 60 bucks for 2 ways) oso complain like hell. not happy dun attend loh.

no wonder pple say singaporeans are living off too comfortably.

i just did my rehearsal this afternoon. i personally prefer to march in from the main door. as i know, the curtains will be drawn up at certain time, then surely your guests will see u. unless u insist that they let the curtains down.

urs is on sunday right?

hi elle
my wedding is over. in april.
beaufort provide the bus at the singapore cruise center side for the guests. i got no complains from my guests on the buses.

Elle & Minhue - I guess your weddings were just over right?! So how did it go?! I am sure all went smoothly as planned! Hope you ladies were happy with Beaufort's services and the food etc.

Any complaints from guests about the transport (going-in & out)??

Any pixs to share with me of your weddings?! Looking forward to seeing it! I am sure it is beautiful!! My email add : [email protected] :-)

Hi Denise,

Was very happy with my wedding. Everyone likes the Beaufort Setting. I even got one friend that took the Wedding Brochure from the hotel for his wedding next year.... haha

For the timing, everyone turned out early except for my dad's friends. Sign. That's why had to start my dinner at 8.20pm. Ended at 11pm. Some guest had started to leave by 10.30pm, even before the last dish. So my advice is to start the wedding latest by 7.45pm. Beside this, everything went well in the wedding. My hotel planner is Josiah and he did a wonderful job for me. Will show u the photos when i get it in a months time.

I didn't arrange any transport in the end and have not heard complains so far. Most of my guests drive. So i didn;t face much problem.

Elle,

How did ur wedding go???

Hi Minhue

Glad to hear that everything went well!

Thanks for the advice too to have the wedding latest by 7.45pm. I hope my guests will all arrive in time. Perhaps have to specify that in the invite card.

Just wondering which company did you use for doing your invitation cards?

My planner's Josiah too but he had just passed me to his collegue - Kendy as he will not be around during CNY period which is the period that I will be back to spore to view the ballroom & confirm the outstanding etc. He also said that he dont handle weddings anymore and will be handling mainly conferences! I feel like I was being 'dumped'! Anyway...

Are you going for your honeymoon anytime soon?

Look forward to seeing your pixs!

Denise

my wedding was on the same night as zoukout and we give reminders for guests to come earlier.

most guests arrived by 7.30pm.

we opened the ballroom at 7.30pm sharp. and our first march in at 8pm. everything ended at 10.20pm.

dun bother about getting private bus. at the end of the day, i got a 40 seater bus, and only 10 guests took the bus (in and out)

my wedding process was fine. but the hotel made a big mistake on the table arrangement causing my grandparents be seated near the wall instead of along the aisle.

i did not realised it till after first march and when we were seated down (cuz i didnt come out during reception). after that i did not smile cuz i simply couldn't. nothing can be done as it was a jumbo table of 12. the rests were all 10.

something that really upset me.

the wedding could have been better.

Hi elle,

Sorry for hearing that. Had a bit of hiccups on my table arrangement too.... but it was my fault... during the 1st half an hour of my reception, nobody could locate my table arrangement list.... i almost freak out.... haha... was a bit sad about it after my wedding too... but decided to just let it go and remember the nice part of the wedding.... now can''t wait for my pics to come out.... when is ur pics ready.... can share with me.... thanks in advance..

Hi Dennis,

One more suggestion.... it will be nice to mix around during the cocktail reception.... i didn't manage to as my make up took quite a while.... everyone was telling me how beautiful the reception was with the sea view.... i am the only one who didn't get to see it.... sob sob... so pre-emp ur make up artist.....

My wedding card was from T-Dragon. Was very happy with their service. Cheap, Fast and Good. Will email you my wedding card for your reference. I requested from the hotel that i wanted to use the wedding card as my entrance ticket and they gladly well obliged.

Maybe i was lucky. I didn't have any problem with Josiah. He was actually quite obliging to my requirements. Got all the requests i wanted.

Will email u some more tips on the wedding prep.

i wanted to mix around during reception but i was bit late due to make up. end up didn;t.

however, i find it better. cuz no one has seen u prior to your grand march in. so when we first march-in, there were so much 'chaos' going on... everyone was cheering u on. camera flashes went off... it was the first time the guests see u...

it made quite an impression...

after all, u will be going around for photo taking session and toasting. the guests can compliment u later...

just my own personal feeling...

Dear ladies

Elle - sorry to hear about the mistake on the table arrangements. Nevertheless, I am sure your grandparents were happy and enjoyed the evening of your wedding despite the hiccup.

Thanks for the tip about not getting the private bus as I was thinking perhaps I should hire one for esp for those who don't drive.

I am sure you guys must really be the star of the night during the march-in! I can imagine how it would be...

Please share your photots with us when they are ready! :-)

Hi Elle

Thanks a lot for your email as well as the tips and contact details of the wine co. They are really helpful! :-) Oh yes, I like the design of your wedding cards very much. I shall get in touch with them.

By the way, did you use the the bigger ballroom? It must have been very nice for cocktail reception with the sea view! As I am having a smaller wedding (about 110 guests), we will be using the smaller ballroom. Hence perhaps the cocktail reception in the other ballroom does not have the seaview. But it heard its quite nice too.

Thanks for all the tips!

Hello DeniseK,

My grandparents didn;t mind a bit cuz they understand. But deep down inside, i just don't feel good abt it... anyway... iz over

by the way, we did our cards with AcePro Creative Link

this is their website:
http://www.aceproclink.com

they don't have standard cards but they customised according to client's requirement. we received a lot of compliments from friends and relatives. most of them still keep the card! and some never even open them (cuz we have a 'sleeve' thing wrapped around the main card)

if you are looking for something unique, try them out. look thru their portfolio... i'm sure u'll find something very special...

i am using the bigger ballroom. but on the same night, there was another couple having their wedding at the smaller one. no seaview but they get a nice garden view with a pond beside it... still very romantic. don't have to worry a bit...
what's ur email address???

Hi elle

Thanks for the recommendation on trying out AcePro Creative Link. Shall definitely check them out as well as I prefer really customised cards too. :-) Would like to do something really unique and different, a card that guests would keep...

Hey your wedding card sounds nice too! Could you kindly share with me as well how your invite card looks like?

Glad to hear from you that the view of the smaller ballroom is nice...I havent even seen it yet! goodness! I'll be heading back to Spore (finally, can't wait!) in Jan and will be going down to see the long awaited ballroom and the terrace around it as well as all the confirmation and payments etc. stress stress!

My email address is : [email protected]. Please do also email me your wedding pixs when they are ready :-)

Have a good weekend everyone! TGIF!!

hi deniseK,
my card is of metallic off-white colour.
the front cover has our 'logo" (our name with a flower symbol) which is embossed (I think)

we had a blue tracing paper as a 'sleeve' for the card but it is folded in such a way that the 'logo' is not covered by the sleeve....
then we tied a ribbon around the whole card...

can imagine????

if not, when u r at aceprolink, ask them to show you the latest card she did for 'beaufort wedding'

I am thinking of having my wedding dinner at Beaufort. However, am concerned about the quality of the food since they do not have an on-site kitchen. Has anyone tried the Chinese Dinner at the hotel? How is the food quality compared to other hotels?

hi elle
long time didn't hear from u. ur wedding must have been a good one

i just went to redeem my anniversay stay last weekend. time really flies.

i am still reminiscing about my banquet at beaufort. we went to take a peep at 2 couples having their banquets there that night..heehee

really have no regrets on holding my solemnisation and wedding banquet there.

carmel,
the food was great actually. dun worry.

hi carmel,
the food was good enough for us. no complains... in fact, i loved their yee fu noodles! 'heng xiang"!!!

hi touraco,
i was at bali for our honeymoon last weekend... actually spent a week there... miss wedding prep.
there were some hiccups on the actual day but... after the dinner, i only think of the good things...

i havnt redeem my anniversary stay... what abt the spa voucher. is their spa n massage package expensive?