The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

i have not really seen the floral arrangements for the weddings..from your description...might have to re-consider

we shld ask sun sun to change florists then.

hazel,
pls let me know the price of your cake.

queen, pokkiebearie,
what sort of theme or flowers are you after? i think if you're going for roses or something simple, audrey's shouldn't be a wrong choice and can help you save money. if i'm not wrong, i think audrey's charges about $600 for a wedding dinner setup.

my florist is woodsville (tel:6345 2203) and they helped me fill the ballroom with lots & lots of cymbidium, dendrobium orchids and astromeria for around $1k. what i did was i told them my wedding theme, what sort of flowers & colours i like and of course, my budget. i was going for the theme of a tropical garden and i must say, they were very generous with their flowers and even threw in some freebies. woodsville is also fullerton's and raffles hotel's florist so you can be assured of their works. i did have a few compliments on the flowers (& they were all from girls!!

my suggestion to you both is to really look hard at your budget to decide if you really want to spend more on flowers bcoz at the end of the day, not many of your guests will remember the flowers but rather the whole evening and spending more on flowers may mean spending lesser on other things like wine or entertainment. but if you have a fat fat budget, then splurge by all means!! (i did have a $4k quote from another florist.. interested?? damn nice flowers though..)

pokkiebearie
i had a 3 tier cake for $300 with 1 tier real cake (5kg). i have done some price comparisons and concluded that beaufort's price is okay. the price doesn't include fresh flowers for decor. what sort of cake are you after?

panzz,
yep, we had our solemisation at the villa and managed to fit quite a few people there. the ceremony was simple and lovely and i think the place had a lot to do with it. didn't regret on the villa and i can't wait to see my wedding video.

ya, i think we shd really feedback to SunSun about the florist. Haizzzzz.... otherwise i think it's safer to get them to do up a sample lor

hazel
so what did u exchange for not using audrey's?

so it's only 1 tier real cake? i read from another thread that there's a baker in AMK that makes wedding cake for around 300+ as well...and it's all real one

Hazelnut,
Sounds really lovely and am glad you had a good time! I wish I can stay at the villa again some day. Would be really cool...i think if I have my first kid and want to organise a party for her/his first birthday, i just might take the villa again :P

It would be a little too extravagant if we were to stay there alone, just me and hubby. Would prefer to have some event held, have close relatives and friends stay over. Hee..

touraco,
i've exchanged audrey's for wine corkage.

not sure about the baker you've mentioned. mine was pretty last minute so i did a quick price comparisons to other hotels and some florists only. think you would want to check if the AMK one includes assembly and transport. also, what sort of cake it is 'cos different kind of cake will render different charges. mine's only 1 tier but it was more than enough for my party.

me back from Phuket liao.. can share wat e lastest news from u gals...

Hazelnut,
when is ur AD lay? over liao meh? can share or not, me still do nothing , as i can see all e above bride-to-be done alot liao...
I'm very concern bout e centrepiece too, audrey's no good meh? why u gals using e same flower arrangement? standard one huh? sorry huh, lost touch liao, i haven't do a single bit except book e table and leaning ballroom dancing only.. really don know how to start, and me like not very excited lay...my frienz said i got postbride-to-be blues..

Anyway, pls tell me more on centrepiece, i'm going to use alot of candles too.. so u gals sugguest i should get e candles at ikea and look for flower arranger to decor it huh? hear it goin to cost alot of money... i think this wedding goin to cost bomb liao, don noe whether got budget or not..sigh..

Err... can ask u gals something... err.. just want to know, did u gals share e cost of preparing e wedding, or ur FH paid all?
seriouly, cos i'm no longer working, my fh pay most of them, except my gown, cos he is not suppose to see and know how's my gown look like (according to my angmoh frienz, they said is bad luck, if e groom saw e bride gown b4 e AD. i know is our traditional that we take FS b4 e AD, and by doing that ur FH saw e gown oredi. that why we never take FS!!hehehe...
but to each his own la, we believe that..
sorry out e point liao, so did u gals help to pay? i felt bad, cos he pay most of e things, me tot of paying e wedding bands for both.. but cost a lot too.. sigh... everything money... should just go honeymoon and forget bout everything...

Hi babu!
Welcome back! Phuket...wow, must have been a good break.
So lucky to have a FH to pay for everything! you FH must be rich

Yah lah, have to share the wedding cost, my FH and I have been saving through a joint account and the money will come from there loh. Quite typical. I think most couples here will do that. Which is good as a marriage is a commitment between 2 people, sharing the cost and preparation work for the wedding is the first step towards spending the rest of their lives together. But this is just my opinion... Well, if your FH can afford it...aiya, why not?

I'm serious about talking to Sun Sun about the lousy Audrey's. Are you girls keen? We can all go down and talk to her, more convincing in numbers.

Panzz/Hazelnut,
The villa sounds damn good. Really tempted.
But $800+ a night is a concern.

babu
hullo...how's phuket?

i think since you are nt working,it's ok that your FH pays for the rest.
i have heard of the western culture before too...they say it's ok to see your gown but u cannot have the full package as in...maybe u wear the gown without the veil or glove etc

queen
how will you tell sun sun abt audrey's? me scared they won't change as well since they might have to pay compensation if they break the contract before it ends.

Relax?? sigh.. i go there babysit ah!! ya la is true, everytime overseas free, but quite boring sometime cos he always work, i got to walk alone..
queen,
my fh not rich la, if he's rich i wouldn't feel bad liao.. cos he know that i'm not working that why bo bian.. pay all lor..but i've decided liao, pay for e wedding bands!! hehe..like so big deal..

touraco,
u oso heard that b4 huh? ya lor, my fh quite westernize, he believe in that, so i married hen follow hen, married dog follow dog lor..kekeke..

izzit necessary to take up audrey's? so means i ve to take up too? i booked my table on april, till now i haven't call sun sun at all. cos i oso don know to do wat?
i think one day, we all should meet up at beaufort sentosa for drink, so we can share our views..

Queen,

Yes 800+ is really not worthwhile if it is just for a stay. Especially on your wedding day where you probably will be too tired to enjoy. We had our solemnization there so it's equivalent to renting a "function room" of some sorts. We fully utilised the villa so we went ahead and got it for the day.

Whatever it is, perhaps you should go down and take a look first before you decide. I think the toilets are the coolest I've seen so far in hotels here. So spacious! Doing makeup and changing is really easy. My bridesmaids, MIL and relatives were all using the toilet for changing and doing makeup.

Babu, welcome back to the thread. You are lucky to have your FH paying for you. I went 50-50 with my husband

As for bad luck... actually it reminds me of something I told a close friend just before my wedding. She was getting married 3 months later and she didnt' want to turn up for my wedding even though we are friends for more than 10 years. And her reason was if she came, our marriages will fail.. chinese tradition kinda thing where we will bring each other bad luck. Sigh.. all i can say is ... whether a marriage works or not doesn't depend on luck. It depends on the two persons in the marriage. So don't take these kind of things too seriously la... If can go according to belief or tradition, then go ahead.. if cannot, don't get too upset too. Hee.. sorry, a bit naggy :P Anyway, in the end, she did turn up for my wedding.

And yes, if you booked beaufort.. by default, audreys will be your florist unless you tell sun sun you want to exchange flowers for some other things... and then you spend money to engage external florist.

oh.. forget to say that I will be going off to taiwan soon.. so wont' be coming online for a while. Have fun preparing for your weddings!

Panzz,
Enjoy your trip!

Touraco,
Maybe Beaufort won't change the florist, but I guess if all of us express our dissatisfaction, maybe they can get Audrey's to do better.

So possible to get a consensus on what we'd like to do with regards to flowers?

Those in favour of meeting together one day at Beaufort to tell Sunsun (can also share ideas as babu suggested) say "Audreys", and those who prefer to do it privately at their own time say "Sucks". hee hee...

ok lah, joking aside, if anyone wants to meet, could we have a date (perhaps Saturday?) and time (say 3pm?)?

hazelnut, I still not sure about having real cake cos it seems really expensive, so jus gathering info at the moment...altho I do feel a lil' silly cutting a dummy cake...

panzz,
have a safe trip to taiwan.

gals,
i doubt beaufort will do very much about the flowers even if all of us make noise about it. it probably boils down to the costing of their wedding packages. i have heard some top-class hotel in town gave florists $2 per table budget so can't expect too much... afterall, we're given a choice if not using audrey's and exchange the flowers for something else. i think you should keep an open mind and go take a look at audrey's first and who knows, you may find their style quite suitable (i believe style's quite personal). for me, i'm particularly fond of flowers (personal interest) so i was picky about the flowers. go see audrey's soon so that in case you don't like what you see, you'll still have time to source for alternative florist.

babu,
welcome back! my AD was last month. when's yours? if you still don't know where you should start with your preparations, get a copy of female bride (or any bridal magazine) and use their wedding planner as a guide. it tells you what & when you should be preparing. from my experience, the first & foremost thing you would need to sort out with your FH is your budget and guest list. then, at least you know how much you can spend and how big a party you should be planning for...

you seemed quite worried about the wedding expenses. just out of curiousity, do you really need to have a banquet? it's no fun having to start a marriage debt-ridden...

pokkiebearie,
yah, i thought it was quite silly to cut a dummy cake so had a real one made instead. you still have time to ponder about the cake. most places i've asked need about 2-3 weeks to make the cake.

touraco,
beaufort can do any cake of your choice. you can even give them your design. i can't remember how many people had my wedding cake but it was more than enough 'cos we had it after dinner and everyone was full...

queen,
don't deny that the villa is costly but it was nice... are you taking the grand salon & lawn for your wedding? the setup for the lawn is nice as well. it's just that i didn't have that choice on my AD.

hi hazel
how many guests u invited for ur dinner? not all had the cake? will the kitchen cut the cake and distribute to the guests for you?

hi hazel,
congrat!! must be fun!! mi is on this dec 17.. still got 6 mths to go, that why don know wat to do..
expenses..ofcos worried la, me not working anymore, so most of them my fh pay, inffect he pay all, i only came out my own BS and decided to pay for our wedding bands only.. me confirmed lose money on this one, cos i mentioned last time, alots of our friendz are ang moh, so don think they know wat's angpow, even they know, also wouldn't give much..
sigh.. too late to withdrawn not la, oredi pay deposit liao..
Nevermind la, once in e life time. err...i hope so

hazel, can u tell me more bout e villa that u have ur solemn there. we tot of it too.. if best, u could kindly share some of ur pix if u don mind.

babu
I know that even if ang mos know what's ang baos, they find it "very distasteful to give money" (that was exactly what one told me) and even tho they know that $'s what we prefer. So why don't you go get a gift list done (eg. with tangs) so that the ang mos can contribute to your new home's furnishing or electrical appliances. So at least you won't end up with useless gifts. And send out the gift list together with your invites.

Hi touraco,
ya, he's local, but works for british company, and works overseas for a couple of yrs. That why local frienz not much lor.. sigh.. Siong ah.. confirmed Liao Lui!!
Pokkie,
I know wat u meant, but we going to sell our house soon, so no point having new furniture lay.. seriously, have everything at home, really don need liao..

pokkie,
i don mind to meet up lay, i kinda like to drinks in Sentosa, sat sound good but have to see whether i'm flying, cos i always fly last min..

touraco,
hmm..maybe, cos my fh family PR in aust now, so no point for us to stay here for long.. and we've two house now, so we got to get rid of one and keep one for next time when we come bk to Sing to visit our relatives.
Sigh.. not easy to sell e house thou...

I got make noise abt the flowers to sun sun leh, say not nice at all, then she say just tell the florist how u want it lo.. sigh... think must really get them to do a sample liao :P

hi hazelnut,
can i know which villa u took for ur solemn? i went down to take a look at e villa sunday, kinda like CANNA, and i heard from e girl, this is e only newly renovated villa, but can't do e catering..wat a shame...
and can i know how much u pay? i'm going down to neg wif sunsun very soon, cos i'm going overseas for 2 mths liao.. will only be back on end oct, by e time i'm back, i left only 1 mth plus to prepare... jia luck la...
so pls gals, any information, pls let me know, appreciate...

touraco,
did you mean to serve cake during the banquet? think you can ask sun sun if she can help you arrange for the cake to be served during the banquet. i didn't serve cake during the dinner but had it at a private gathering after dinner.

apple,
what flowers are you thinking of using? best to get audrey's to do a mockup for you before you decide.

babu,
which villa did you see on sunday? was it villa 1? how many guests are you intending to invite for your solemnisation? are you intending to hold the ceremony indoors or outdoors? the villa would struggle to be comfortable for more than 40 people. i think you can cater food at the villas but it must be from the hotel. how much did beaufort quote you on the villa? they are quite fixed on prices so i don't think there would be variations.

which ballroom are you using?

hi hazel,
i saw villa 1 and villa 3 (Canna), there should be bout 30pax. i prefer outdoor, so i can decor e place, but i like villa 3 Canna, cos it has outdoor shower, and it newly renovated. i haven't speaks to sun sun yet for e price, but which want u take and how much u pay? micd to share cos i really got not much time liao..
ours is Grandballroom. u too rite?

hi gals!
i'm planning to hold my AD in Oct 2005..
hmmm juz wanna check with u gals..
is there a wedding show coming soon???
hmmmm

oh ya regarding the solemnization in ginger terrace.. do i have to pay extra charges???

hi racherlle
i am not sure of there is a wedding show.u might like to call them and ask.

yes...there's a charge of $1000+++ for use of the terrace

hi touraco!

thanks for your reply!

yup i made some enquiries with Sunsun..
and was told that there would b a charge of 1K+++ for the use of the terrace.. :P

touraco,
check with sun sun if the hotel can help you cut and serve the cake as dessert. i'ved asked her before and she was willing to help me arrange with the banquet team. you'd probably have to spend abit more if you're serving cake to all guests... are you thinking of replacing the banquet package dessert with the cake? or both together? i think both together will be plentiful for guests to finish...

babu,
the villa works out to be around $1k after taxes. not sure if they've revised the rates recently 'cos i booked my package a while ago. since you're using the grand salon, why don't you considerable using ginger terrace (but must pay...) or the foyer next to the grand salon? i think there's no charge for the foyer so maybe can help you cut down on expenses but probably may not have much privacy if there's another wedding at the other ballroom.

racherlle,
welcome to the thread! from what i know, there's no wedding show this year 'cos they're booked till 2005. check with sun sun by all means... have you booked with her already?

hazel,
yuo, i tot of e ginger terrace too, but come to think of it that if it about e same amount, why not e villa? u can stay there, and party all nite long after e dinner.
Sun sun told me it cost $800, so we decided liao, going to take villa.

hi hazelnut!!!!

ohh no wedding show ah.. sigh..... tat means no freebies???? gee..

hmmmmmm i haven't booked with her yet.. coz i haven't decided on the date yet.. and i wanted to get my JP ready first before i decide on it...

hmm babu.. r u planning to hold ur solemnization at the villa????? hmmmmm sounds great! and it's ard the same cost at Ginger Terrace... oh ya regarding abt the food.. hw much did Sunsun quote u for your solemnization???

hazelnut
thinking of serving the cake with the desert actually

dun think the villa cnan hold all 250 of my guest...hahahaha

racherlle
it's good to look through the contract and make sure everything u discuss verbally with her and agreed upon are written down in the contract

babu,
the price sun sun told you is before the taxes (+++) so the ginger terrace is a little bit more than the villa. think about how many people you'd inviting before you decide 'cos the villa wouldn't be comfortable for a huge party; too cramp for guests to move around and also difficult to get good pictures... i had to restrict my party to a small one because of the space constraint.

racherlle,
like i told babu, before you do anything, you should sort out your wedding budget and guests list (just a rough one...). trust me on this... it would really help you plan your wedding. only then both you & your FH would know how big a wedding you want to have and how much you would want to spend.

better confirm with sun sun if there's going to a wedding show... but from my experience, the freebies aren't that attractive... regarding the contract, you should be looking out for things which you may want but are not included in the package and then discuss with sun sun. but be warned, beaufort tends to be a little inflexible with requests. their package is quite standard but wedding cards are not included so sometimes, i find other hotel's packages more comprehensive.

do you already have a jp in mind? guess it's never too early even if you book him/her now.

hi racherlle,
ya, me going to solemn in villa, cos as i say earlier, if bout e same cost, than might as well get e villa, we can stay there and party again after diner. i'll try to make it just closed friendz and relative affair, so more cosy lor..
wat food u talkin bout? e villa one huh, don know yet lay, cos i like villa 3, and according to sun sun, i can't cater there, so still thinking of a way.
u intend to have ur AD next year when?

hazelnut, ya we have roughly discussed our budget and also drawn out the guestlist..so we r roughly getting about 20 tables...
i wan it to b cosy.. inviting only close friends and relatives.. we would noe everyone in each table..
as for JP, I've a list.. so would b trying to get them tomolo..

babu.. yup i'm refering the food in the villa..
u can't cater there? hw abt getting beaufort to cater?????
as for AD, i'm tentatively planning to have it in Oct 05... as for the actual date i've to confirm my JP first..

racherlle,
e cater can only have it in villa 2 and 4, villa 1 & 3 strictly no cater..
so bo bian, got to take either villa 2 or 4 lor.
ur table just nice for 20 table, me oso, 20 table only..

Hi Panzz!
Yep, quieten down a bit.

Girls, just to let you all know I'll be going to Bangkok next weekend to tailor make my FH's suit and maybe to get wedding cards if cheap. Will also be shopping for bridesmaids' dress fabrics and thai silk for my mom. Not too sure if the fabrics there are cheaper, so will be checking out the prices at Arab street first.
Will share info with you all if I do get some cheap and good deals over there!

Hi i am not with Beaufort, but I love the idea of solemnising my wedding at the villa. may i know if it can hold 250 people? and can i cater my own food? how much will the villa cost?

hi girl..

from wat i see from my previous visit.. as i went to the 4 villas to have a look though i didn't get in to see any.. from the size of it.. dun tink it can hold 250 pple as it is a very very small villa.. 1 storey.. i tink the most is ard 50 pple???

hi queen
thought u went the other time already? or i mix up another person?

do let me know all the lobangs...i am going in nov.

girl ren yu, the villa won't be able to hold 250 people. You pay 800 (excluding gst, hotel tax etc) for upgrading your actual wedding day stay at a deluxe suite to a villa. Not too sure about catering your own though, maybe you can check with sun sun. But I think should be ok.