The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

Queen,

I got one of my evening gowns for the night from Australia, sydney. It was a boutique at one of the old shopping centres there... can't remember the name. Paid $1000 for a 2 piece and when I got home, my coordinator from my bridal studio told me that the gown isn't worth so much. Sigh... so do be careful when you are buying and remember to make a tax rebate claim at the airport when you are coming home.

morning gals
u all seem to know a lot abt wine...think i am like panzz...if i drink and i like it then i'll take it kind...heehee

i've gone for some wine appreciation session sometime back but don't think I remembered a lot about it. They taught things like how to hold a wine glass, why some wines taste sour, some taste sweet etc etc...

Whatever it is... think i trust my taste buds... i drink i like i buy

Girls,
I suppose most of you are having the Lawn solemnization? Anyone of you using live music?
I'm thinking of hiring a string quartet for the bridal procession, but it is expensive. It would definitely be nice...
How about playing music from a sound system in the background? Would it be weird?

hi queen
i am looking at some jazz bands and string quartet too...

just browsing around but have not really approach anyone yet...

live music is ex. perhaps can ask whether there are students from SIA Lasalle or NAFA who might want to earn some extra bucks?

I do know of a couple of students from NAFA who are excellent at playing the piano but using the piano at Beaufort is ex. Adds up to maybe over 1K, so in the end gave up the idea.

Queen, I didn't have my solemnization at the Lawn. But I think playing music from the sound system shouldn't be all that bad la. Just not as cool as live though.. but then again, there is the price difference lor...

touraco,
I did approach 2 quartets and got quotation from them. About the same price, around $500 for 1 hour. If you interested, I can forward their emails to you.

Panzz,
I thought of approaching students as well, either from NUS/NTU or NAFA. But have no contacts at all! I would prefer strings as there is no need to rent the piano from Beaufort. Do you know whether Beaufort will charge us for the use of the sound system?

hi queen
pls do forward the quotation to me
have u listen to them play?

renting the piano costs $600+++
i think the sound system shld be free,right?

I think sound system should be free la! It wouldn't make sense if they charge for it.

Anyway, if engage students, I might be worried that they are not professional and fail to turn up last minute. Whatever it is, if I do come across any contact, I'll let you gals know.

The students I contacted initially to play the piano were charging me only a couple of hundred for the whole dinner. The only problem I had was having to rent Beaufort piano. Sigh.

touraco,
You got mail!
No, haven't heard them before but they seem pretty professional from their website.

shern,
Hi! Are you new to the forum? You a Beaufort bride as well? Welcome!

Panzz,
Thanks! Students also never mind, as long as they are good and cheaper to hire.

Queen, just emailed you on a NAFA student's contact. Had previously wanted to get her to play for my wedding but in the end gave up because of piano rental charges at Beaufort. Not sure whether she might have contacts to string quartets, you might wanna check with her.

hi gals, talking bout getting live band? me actually lookin for filippino that sometime u can see in fine dinning, cos beaufort is somewhere near e sea and they r very hawaii style, so i think is my cup of tea.. any lobang on that?

Babu, think I posted this before. You can check out www.khairitmo.per.sg
I no know whether they from phillipines or not but I do know they are a bit like hawaii style cos they performed at my ex-colleague's wedding.

Panzz,
Thanks! I will try to contact your friend regarding the performance. Hopefully she has friends who plays strings.

queen
u can go the www.khairitmo.per.sg to request for demo CD. I have gotten mine.Am very interested to hire them after listening to what they played.

panzz
btw, does beaufort allows us to bring in our own wedding cake? am thinking of making a real one.

I've heard them sing at my ex-colleague's wedding. They are quite a lively duo, and will interact with your guests. So if u like to have performers to liven up the atmosphere, they might be a good choice.

Touraco, I don't see why Beaufort wont' let you bring in the cake. It is to their advantage right? They dont' have to give you a cake in that case!

Ask Sun Sun lor! But I think whether real or not, guests wont' be able to tell so perhaps you want to put it as of a lower priority and save some $? :P My husband and I couldn't finish the cake Beaufort prepared for us. We tried to ask our families to help, but they weren't interested in sharing either. A lot of weight conscious family members. We didnt' quite know what to do with the cake. Anyway, the fruit cake was really good but we had too much to eat so couldn't finish it. If you are staying at the villa, you will get a fruit basket too!

Thanks touraco.
Not really my type, thinking of the classical music kind.

Thought of serving realcakes in replacement for the dessert, but it is really expensive! Like $800 or more. Like what Panzz said, may not be worth it cos not many will appreciate it.

panzz
did think of serving a real cake with the dessert...it's true that it's quite expensive though. btw, can we actually ask them to change the dessert to english style so it's per serving for each person?

queen
u like jazz? i got a quotation from someone called John Wong who played at Jazz@SouthBridge at Clarke Quay...it's quite expensive though.

Touraco, if i'm not wrong, they have their food cooked off the island and then sent in on that day. And their chef cooks chinese food (unless you are going for international buffet) so I doubt that they can change the dessert to english style. I dont' think it is a cost issue. Same thing again, check it out with Sun Sun.. no harm asking. Dessert is right at the end of dinner, guests would be quite full by then, you really have to think whether it is worth spending the money to change it to cake.

Touraco,
This John plays jazz music or is he a singer?

Panzz,
How come the yhave the food cooked off the island? Won't it be cold by the time they served to us? Won't taste nice because it is no 'fresh' right?

panzz
sun sun told u the food cooked by chef off the island?

queen
i think the john guy is the manager of the band...his band played and sing jazz

queen, touraco,

I recalled something like that cos they couldn't allow flexibility in reducing the number of tables or having one or two more tables on stand-by just in case more guests turned up on the actual day. Most of the rest of the hotels do allow such arrangements. Was told that the food was cooked and delivered so everything is pre-planned and cannot be changed last minute.

As for food being cold, no worries, I didnt' have any problems with the food that night. Singapore not that big, even if they need to send from the restaurant down to sentosa, it wouldn't take a lot of time and will still be "fresh"

Anyway, you can confirm again with Sun Sun on this

hi touraco,
ya, thinking of doing that lor.... will need my bridesmaids to help out liao. Now headache about their dresses also... so diff to find the ones i like... and when i do, they're like more than $90 per dress and i have 4 bridesmaids. that will be $360 liao... excluding ang pao money for them... wah.... think weddings really cost a bomb!

So how u intend to decorate huh?

apple
yah....i intend to just ask my bridesmaid to wear the same colour,that's all...cos' i have 6 bridesmaid...will die if i provide them with dresses
but for my maid of honor...me still headache

intending to buy some organza to twirl around the stairs leading to the lawn...any idea where to buy those fake ivy? thinking of buying to twirl tog with the organza...

why dun u see if ur BS can borrow the dress to ur maid of honour? So wat color are they wearing? Am thinking of either beige, silver or pink.

Am thinking of ivy oso... i think those shops that sell fake plastic flowers will have. But i think the price almost the same as the fresh flowers, so might as well get fresh ones from the florist?

apple
think BS will rent instead of borrow and that means need to pay money and imagine the effort needed to get 6 of them down to my BS...hahahaha
am thinking of pastel colours...have nt decided yet.

the price almost the same? i have not check out the price yet,u got the prices?...when is ur AD? have u measured how long the ivy has to be to cover the railings?

Touraco,

Just borrow for your maid of honour lor, the rest ask them to wear same colour. I will do that for my last resort. The last time i check out the plastic flowes, not cheap leh....

My AD 30th oct lor, will measure when i go for my photoshoot there. Or else food tasting time then go measure lor. Btw, have u gone for food tasting yet? What abt selection of the flower arragements at audrey's? I think i'll get them to do a sample just in case.

Opps.. i better not let anyone from Audrey's know who I am. I've kinda shaken everyone's confidence in them haven't i! haha... but still, apple, I support your idea, you should get them to do a sample to see how it would look like as a centerpiece. :P

Apple,
When are you going for food tasting? our AD only 1 day diff... r u staying in Beauford for 1 nite or 2?
excited hor? When is your PS? Me will go there too, mayb bump onto u??? haha
I haven't go to audrey's to check it out... thos who have been, pls. share your comments.

panzz, orh!! your name famous liao?! no lah, no worries, i keep my lips zipped when i go to audrey's.

Panzz,
I have already seen their decor and the photos... really quite disappointing i must say lor.... but if can do a sample maybe won't be so bad lor, cos can ask her to change or mix and match to my liking

finnish,
yayaya, ours one day diff... maybe can share the tealight cups.. hahahaha.... or watever ribbons that can recycle.. jus have to ask them to keep them and next nite use it .. hahahaha
I'm planning to stay 2 nites there, bringing fwd my anniversary stay. Dun think will upgrade to pool villa cos i think i'll be too tired to enjoy, plus they dun allow upgrading on the 2nd nite, so i think i rather go europe and get a nice place to stay instead.. hahaha.
Btw, when u going for food tasting huh? am thinking maybe next mth, then can collect the entry passes and car coupons and measure the places i wanna decor at the same time. Then no needa waste extra trip down. Maybe we can go around the same time and see if can meet up

finnish, i don't think my nickname here or my real name rings a bell with the lady at Audrey's. But I think I may be the first bride who asked to see a sample cos the last time I asked for one, she was quite shocked :P

Great to see you so excited about your big day

yap.. got to pay.. not ex though.. probably 20-30 bucks. I bought the vase as well as the candle from ikea for their use though.

Touraco,
Yes, the white candles which is the same from iKea will cost A LOT MORE if you buy it from them. So I bought the candles, and brought it down to Audreys a couple of days before the wedding. They arranged the candles as part of the flora arrangement and brought it down on that actual day. After the wedding, you get to keep the candles. As for the glass vase, i only bought one.. and that is for my sample.. on the wedding day, audreys will provide. I think just on candles, tea lights etc, I spent 1-2 hundred to buy from iKea.

Any extra would have to pay.. but I did it the DIY way with help from my bridesmaids so cheaper.

touraco, I think tealights very cheap at watsons, about $5 for 100 tealights? so, maybe you can buy from there.

and yah, I'm not going to use Audreys too. I think maybe we should altogether suggest to sunsun to use someone else. I been down to beaufort and seen their arrangements for at least 3 weddings and also to their shop to see their portfolio, really can't make it. I figured that every bride will have told them to do a nice floral arrangment, but all 3 that I've seen fail the test, so I gave up giving them benefit of the doubt. and every little thing they want to charge so much more. very disappointed that beaufort ties up with a florist like this. now, have to incur more cost myself just to make things look presentable. =(

anyway, will be checking out far east flora and green acres. hopefully, things will be better? fingers crossed!! =)

hmmm....maybe we should all do a mass protest, then sunsun will engage a reasonable florist and we can all benefit and save $$!! how about that? heehee...

just back from honeymoon and was wondering how's everyone doing with their prep... by the look of things, it seems like everyone's very excited about their big day!!

panzz,
you're right about the villa!! it did make a big difference to solemnise there. am so glad that we did it there instead of a function room...

gals,
about the flowers from audrey's, i wasn't too impressed after seeing their set up for 3 weddings. but i must admit, i'm quite particular about flowers so i used my own florist and was totally pleased with my decision. however, my advice to all money-conscious brides is to look at your budget and decide if you should spend more on the flowers bcoz at the end of the day, the extras costs here and there may add up to quite abit... but if anyone wants to use an alternative florist, i would be glad to recommend my florist.

apple,
you can get faux ivy leaves for $2 at daiso in imm.

touraco,
i had a wedding cake custom-made by beaufort and my florist help me decorate it so the wedding cake ties in with the dinner theme. initially, i was going to bring my own cake and have it served as dessert but logistically, it was too troublesome and cost-wise, i had to pay more if i was serving real wedding cake as dessert to all guests. in the end, i decided to save the money, have a smaller wedding cake (still real!!) and shared it with my relatives after the banquet. hope you'll find this useful....

hazelnut
great to have u back! how did ur honeymoon go? ...could u pls let me know who's your florist? What did she do for you and how much? also, how much was your wedding cake and how big was it? cheers! =)

Touraco,
Yes I think Tea lights too, got to pay but I didn't ask how much. I dont' think it would be cheap too. I just went to ikea and bought them myself.

Hazelnut,
Welcome back! You had your solemnization at the villa too! Yes, I'm mighty glad I made the choice to use the villa for that purpose too cos the whole event left a deep impression on me.

Pokkiebearie,
I didn't feedback to Sun Sun on my views on Audreys at the time of my wedding. So perhaps you girls should.

If i'm not wrong, florists obtained contracts from hotels through bidding. And Audreys probably gave beaufort a good price in providing flora arrangements. Anyway, my husband and I were spending a lot of money on our wedding so we decided not to change florist. Hazelnut is right in saying some things just have to give up if there is budget concerns.

Hi girls!
Long time since I posted, been real busy at work...

You all really thinking of doing your own decor?
I thought of that too, but money is a big concern.

From everyone's feedback, seems like Audrey's is disappointing...
I agree with pokiebearie, why don't we all feedback to Sun Sun about the florist? Or write a letter to the management or something? We just might get another better florist, or at least get Audrey's to buck up!

hazelnut,
Who is your florist?
How much did you spend on brining in your own florist?