The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

finnish,
i oso want to view e WF can? sunsun email u huh? are u gals goin down to view e venus? mi thinkin of goin down tomoro and peek on other weddin set up..
panzz,
angpow i'll give, but will have to talk to them on e dresses, ya u re rite, i'm sure they'll understand.

Girls, who is Kim? From TWP? Cos if she is good, I'm thinking of trimming away the "train" for my evening gown so that I can wear it to friend's wedding. Any idea how much she charges for making evening gowns?

Wow, so much activities here... is KIM good? May i have the contact as well? please send me at [email protected]

Thanks gals

queen,
like panzz said, no harm asking sun sun for menu upgrade... but i had to trade some items in the package for my menu to be upgraded.

babu,
maybe alternatively, you can sign up for wedding gift registry so that your ang mo guests can buy you presents which you need?

babu, touraco,
received the WF pics. gimmi your email address, will fwd soon. puzzled, Sunsun said 'no pouch for now'??!

apple,
did you source for wine? coz maybe we can work out on the bottle numbers on consignment since ours a day differnce. I've got a boutique australian brand shiraz 8-) less than 20.

touraco,
emaild u pics liao. WF :-( bear bear doesn't come with pouch pouch anymore!
inform u more details re. wine thru your yahoo. don't wanna ad here.

panzz,
busy? any special thingy to look out in Aust? mi have a full day in Syd, and a full day in Mel from tomorrow.

How come so strange no pouch anymore

Maybe you gals should feedback to Sun Sun and tell her like this hor, very soon no one wants to go Beaufort liao... price increase and now no pouch for teddies...

Finnish, ya, in the midst of changing jobs so a bit bz lor. Can't share much for Mel since i haven't been there. As for Sydney... u are alone or going with hubby or colleagues? If you are alone, then just do some shopping since it is just one day. If you no like shopping, then maybe have coffee near Sydney harbour, walk around the area? When I was there with my husband, we were there for a couple of weeks but we still didn't get to cover everything in Sydney. I loved to sit at cafe, drink caffe Latte and chit chat with my hubby and our friends! Simply lovely! Their coffee really good.

finnish
gotten the email. the photoframes look a bit obiang leh

i went for a picnic with my hubby when we were in sydney in Jan this year at the royal botanical gardens...we brought our food there...watching the sunset and the opera house n harbour bridge...very nice

as for melbourne...u can go to the cafes along the streets, crown entertainment center or the victoria market...

Hazelnut,
My PS is in October, really counting down the days to it. And you girls talking about australia, even more excited about it. The photographer I got is ok, her rates are quite reasonable. and I got my sister to go down to the studio to see her work, so should be ok! I'm more worried about the makeup though...

Seems like most of you brides are taking the bears? What other WF do they have?

Touraco,
Thanks for the number.

Finnish,
I haven't source for wine yet cos my hubby has a friend in this line, maybe can help to get good wine with cheaper rates, but the friend say must wait till closer to the date cos might have better deals then. What brand is the Shiraz? I wonder which is better for chinese food... Merlot, CAB Merlot, Carbenet Savignon or Shiraz. Am thinking of a more full or mediun bodied wine during cocktail and a light-bodied wine during dinner so that it won't wash away the taste of the food...

hi gals, me goin away for a month, will chat up wif u gals very soon.. goin to check in liao.. take care gals.

finnish,
if this is still in time for your melbourne trip, go street shopping at bourke st and little bourke st in the city.. take the free tram for a tour around the city area and if you have time, go to st kilda beach for the weekend market. yum cha at shark's fin inn in chinatown is good and pho bo (vietnamese noodles) is good as well. you might want check out southbank (there's good ice-cream called charmine's on the 1st floor) and walk over to crown casino for a look-see. if you're sick of the city, catch a tram to chapel st for street shopping,weekend market and lots of cakes and coffee. melbourne's good for food and street shopping, the gardens are pretty too.

queen,
october's has mild weather though there could be some rains. october's the time when spring flowers e.g. tulips bloom... am sure you will get good pictures

panzz
thanks..so after that we give them our feedback? if we require additional food tasting,how will they charge us?

touraco,
the person in-charge of your banquet will be with you during your food tasting so you can give feedback on the spot. there's also a feedback form to be filled up and this will go to sun sun. i think based on this form, she will then convey your comments to the chef.

not sure about additional food tasting though... sorry...

Touraco,

From what i remembered, I dont' think they will give additional sessions of food tasting for free. You probably have to check with sun sun on this.

I did have one additional family member present there (in total 7 of us) that night for food tasting and wasn't charged for it.

you girls have any recommendations of places to get my ears pierced?
Must be hygenic and professional, preferably a doctor. Thinking of piercing my ears now that I'm getting married..haha, never thought of ear piercing until now.

hi queen
u can try the shop called B'dazzled at wisma basement...but it's expensive...around $80+ for both ears with the earrings. they will ask u to buy the bottles of solution for home care.

actually far east square also has a lot of such ear piercing places which can be as cheap as $5 per ear.

Hi touraco,
Thanks! you know what, I got my ears pierced at B'dazzled at the time you msg is posted!

Yep, expensive, cost me $75+ in total. I heard of those $5 ones, but worried about the after effects, so rather spend more for the nickel-free, hypoallergic earrings from B'dazzled. Did it with a friend of mine. Haha... we already 25 years old but were so excited, like school girls. The salesgirl was very amused by us.

hi queen
really? that's cute...
i pierced my 5th and 6th holes with B-dazzled but now i have let them close up..heehee...waste money hor....did u buy the solutions?

hi finnish
thks for the pics! by the way, how did your wine hunt go? I went out the other day and bought 2 bottles (white and red) to try, and I think they cannot make it. Do u know where I can try the wine before buying? Otherwise I'll burn a hole in my pocket before finding something good! =)

touraco,
yah lor, WF photo frame very obiang. Oops! maybe other brides fancy them?! just individual preference lor.

Hazelnut, touraco, panzz,
i had a long time shopping at bourke st. heehee. bought a pair of ear-rings to go along with my EG. But later discovered that one part of the feather gone. so went back to exchange but they do not have another pair, so no choice change another type which i didn't like so much compared to the 1st. :-(

queen,
yah... it's some 'stimulation' for you to look forward to your PS in Australia mah.

Apple,
Think you'll spoil your guest with choices of wine huh? I shortlisted shiraz of R.L. Buller & Son. Fruity, not dry and smooth.

pokiebearie,
emailed you pics liao ;-)

Hey beaufort brides-to-be,
none on you seemed to mind that the bear bear doesn't come with the pouch anymore?
No comments?

Touraco,
5th & 6th hole? Wah, so happening ah...to think this is my first time.

I bought the solutions, but it's very expensive for such a small bottle. Wonder if I can just get some antiseptic solution from the pharmacy?
don't think the 2 small bottles can last very long.

Finnish,
Yah, something to 'stimulate'...hahah.
Now got more things to shop for.
Actually, is it weird that the bear bear don't come with the pouch? I find it ok leh...but then I have never received bear bear as a wedding favour, always the standard chocolates.
Just don't understand why Beaufort want to save on small things like this though.
Did you see shops selling nice EG in Melbourne? May have to get mine there...

finnish
back from ur trip? happy? heehee
i might not be taking the favors from beaufort
i have received bears from weddings recently...pan pac gives very nice bears and always in a couple...wearing bridal dress and suit...

queen
how much u buy the solutions for?

queen,
saw australian bride having her PS at The Rocks, sydney.
Think their fashion there is diff from ours. So, even if there are EG, probably you won't like it??
as the matter of fact, it's not weird whether the bearbear comes with pouch or not., it's that Beaufort used to have it in a pouch. Then now, it doesn't. Just find it unjustied since it's diff from what we saw and had fromprevious weddings.

touraco,
not so happy coz tons of reports!! tough trip.
How much is that WF from panpac? if u opt out for WF in Beaufort, what do u exchange in return? worth the options?

finnish
i have no idea how much is the WF from pan pac.
i think can exchange for a room or something. not worth the options actually....

Pokkiebearie,
sorry missed out your quest. I am also sourcing for gd but economical wine. the 1 i shortlisted earlier, shiraz, R.L. Buller & Son is kind of boutique brand? slightly expensive i think. I've tried off-the-shelf cheaper ones like
sunrise product of Chile. Cabernet Sauvignor by conchoy Toro? was quite good too, only 17.00+.
I'm NOT a wine specialist. But i do drink a little coz i have many 'alcoholic' frens (also not really wine experts la) when we have gatherings.
oh mine, it's really tough to hunt for one coz there are millions of brands.

queen,
if you're looking for EG, can try the boutiques along chapel st. but do be prepared to pay abit and if you're small frame (like me), sure must alter the gown...

finish,
so i gather you're only time to see melbourne city? hope you enjoyed yourself.

pokkiebearie,
what's your budget for wines? if you're targetting <$20 per bottle, i suggest you look at chilean and australian labels and try to get the wines direct from wholesalers. i think it's okay to serve an okay wine 'cos i'm sure most people don't expect to go to a wedding dinner for good food and good wine.
still must consider the corkage you know?

Touraco,
Got the 2 bottles for $18.
How come so expensive? It is basically a combination of isopropyl alcohol and chlorohexidine, both of which kills germs. Probably can get a bigger bottle of chlorohexidine at the pharmacy for around $3.
But I'm not sure if those at the pharmacies are too strong for the piercing.
I also may not be giving wedding favours, wonder if my guests will appreciate them leh. Maybe just give them chocolates. More practical.

Finnish &amp; Hazelnut,
Dunno what to do about the EG. MTM from bridal shops is very expensive. Go to a dressmaker, need to have a design in mind. Buy off the shelf from boutiques, can't find what I like.
Hopefully I see something nice in Australia.
If I want to MTM from a dressmaker like Kim, how soon in advance should I do it?

Apple &amp; pokkiebearie,
I'm not a wine expert but do drink wine every now and then. So far, Shiraz is my favourite, it's not too spicy or too fruity, quite smooth (depending on the brand). It has a slightly lighter taste than Sauvignon. As for brand, try Wolfblass. Cost slightly more than $20 (for the lower range; Wolfblass has a few range, they called it labels) if you get from supermarkets, but probably cheaper from wholesalers.

Panzz,
Got your card! Very nice, simple &amp; traditional yet with a personal touch. Good quality paper too.

Can see why your hubby is in the 'creative' business. Thanks for taking the trouble to send me the card.

Hi Queen,
I personally prefer Carbernet Savignon or Merlot. Probably will get Merlot since easier on the palate. I think for Wolfblass, shdn't get the yellow label... doesn't taste good at all... must get higher range like brown, grey or black, but those are very expensive, saving the black for myself.. kekkeke ... therefore i'll be looking at other brands. Tried Matthew Lang... think suits beginner, Red Devil is so-so but my hubby quite like it cos it's cheap and not too bad, ard $15 only. Still sourcing for better wine. Long Flat Merlot is good, might get that one. Would prefer Brown Brothers but i guess will burst my budget way out of proportion if i get that.

Apple,
What about the Wolfblass President's selection? Should be quite ok, price $25 or so. Can't possible serve brown labels and above...but Green label should be affordable? Have you tried Harley's? It's ok, not as good as wolfblass, but ok.

Gosh... you gals do know wine quite well eh...
As for me, i did wine tasting and then decide which one i like, didn't really look much at the brand or type of wine :P

Anyway, I think I saw a question about free wine tasting. I probably mentioned it before. Red cellar at Stamford court probably would be able to provide tasting with no obligations.

Queen, no trouble at all about the card.