The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

mic_hoe

Heylo Midori!

You are also from Silverlining! No doubts on Jit's design hor! hehe..

Actually my bridal shop was not Silverlining, mine was from another Bridal. Sad thing is I dun like their gowns at all! But honestly i like their photography then agreed to sign up with them. End up hubby gonna pay more to go to Silverlining and rent for both gowns. Hubby very nice, allow me to rent from other bridal and didnt get scolded. HAha! He only said as long as i am happy, money can earn back. hehee..

As for florist, we choose Jane from Secret Garden, i find their flowers arrangement are much better. Additional flowers like cocktail table centerpiece and the railing i asked my friend to do for me cos cheaper.

The service was very good and my sales cordinator Vanessa Low, thumbs up for her!

mic_hoe

Hihi milkyway18!

My actual day photographer was from my bridal shop (not Silverlining) it was included in the package.

I recommend you my VG. Very good! You will love their Video! You can view their website @ www.vocaremedia.com or call Sam Tan @ 90264216 for appt!

midori

Hi Mic,

I like the arrangemements with Jane From Secret Garden as well. But her top ups are so much more expensive than Audrey at Harbour Front.So i am still in a dilemma as to who to choose.

Vanessa Low from??

mic_hoe

Hi Midori,

Top ups? You mean extra floral stands to add on along the aisle? If i am not wrong Secret Garden only provide 4 floral stands cos you are holding ur dinner at Ginger room?

Actually i wanted to add more flowers in grand salon but we gona top up few hundreds. After seeing Secret Garden proposal, i think it is more than enough. Only thing is i have solemnization so i asked my friend to do railing, stairs decor and 7 cocktail centre-piece total cost $220 (friendship price). The rest i used Secret Garden without paying extra. I am happy with their flowers arrangement!

Vanessa Low was from Conference dept. After Kendy left she took over some of the wedding couples while Cathy just join the Sentosa. After our wedding and another couple she went back to Conference.

Have you took your Photoshoot already?

milkyway18

Hi Mic, thanks for the recommendation... i will take note...

i'm likely to sign up with The Sentosa... any impt things to take note when negotiating?

seems like Secret Garden is the choice florist, yah?

Btw, how's the food? any feedback from your relatives and friends? Did you gals take up the 8course or 9 course menu? I'm in a dilemma... is 8 course sufficient?

mic_hoe

dun mention!

you will be taking their grand salon? erm, as they are strict with the perks i think the most they give you waiver 6 or 9 bottles cockages charge. But i request to change my dessert to tiramisu cos i think its quite unique.

no no, not say Secret Garden is the choice florist, you can have a look at Harbourfront also, see what type of floral arrangement you like.

initially we took up Island Bliss (8 course) menu after food tasting i ask hubby to change to Sweet Serenity (9 course) menu. You compair both menu can you see the big different? You can have the 8course if you are not particular on the food. (feedback from my friends their food portaion is not big lor). For me i am particular wor. I was thinking since already decided to host my wedding in Sentosa and We are prepared to loss at least $5K. But we are lucky that we loss $3K (included few tables for my mum, ang pow i gave to her) cos we got alot of wine drinkers. hehe..

jmi

Hi Midori,

Sorry havent check this thread in ages so I didn't get to reply earlier.

I held my lunch buffet at The Grand Salon.

I chose Jane cos I prefer her style over Audrey's. The extras charges are about the same. I didn't take any extras. I did additional floral with my own florist.

I used my own wedding favours and had a cupcake tower done by my own baker instead of the hotel's wedding cake.

You can view the pix on my FB:
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=25484&l=293c6&id=566617789
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=25485&l=fc52f&id=566617789

jtaime

Hey girls

I'm looking at holding my solemnization & dinner at The Sentosa Spa too.

Was looking through some of the photos and my suspicion came through!!! Viola - my secondary school & poly senior!!!! Oh My God! You're married and what a coincidence that I found you here! It's me Kelly - Sec school cell group mate. Haha.

violac

ahahaha!!!! it's you!!! congrats girly when you getting married?

yes i'm married
7 months ago ... time flies. the wedding at The Sentosa was absolutely fantastic.

jtaime

You guys got married! You guys have been together for ages right? He's the one from our poly if i recall correctly. haha.

Mine is early next year. We're still in the midst of researching & deciding what we want. It's a long complicated process. Too many ideas and contributions and now we're lost. We wanted 2 separate weddings, a wacky 'ang moh' style one for friends and 1 proper chinese dinner for families & the elders but it seems like a lot of work and logistics involved. So now, it's finding out ideas, costings and then decide.

mav82

I'm a newb to this thread. Jus booked my wedding dinner with beautfort for this year... Look forward to more exchanges with you!

Hi stickymouse,
Thanks for sharing your pics! I must say you look great
may I ask you about your car rental charges? [email protected]

violac

hi mav, congrats! and thanks for ur compliments
i don't think my husband kept the car rental contact anymore... but i believe you can google and find easily a few contacts in sg88 (?) or something..

as for the charges, it was $400 for us but i think the prices have increased

mav82

Thanks stickymouse!

Hey all, anyone took up the Island Bliss/Sweet Serenity dinner set? I'm still undecided between the 2 options as well as for the Chinese and International buffet. Could you share your views on the food?

milkyway18

hihi... i also have to pay the 30% deposit...

but i think other venues do not require so much... and worst still.. the remaining 70% has to be paid 1 week before the AD... while others only require 3 days after the AD...

Think it's better if it's 3 days after the AD so cashflow won't be so tied... wonder if i can talk to cathy and negotiate this...

violac

wow.. that's really new. i had paid only $4000 deposit but of course policies can change.

i just don't understand how it's fair to charge the customer for a service not yet provided (referring to the remaining 70% BEFORE the banquet). perhaps as an current customer, you could ask for the justification??

this doesn't really make sense

violac

no.... the usual practice across the hotel industry is to pay the next morning of the banquet.

there will be many other charges.. such as extra bottles of wine / additional barrel of beer / extra guestroom charges / etc etc. they will consolidate all these and hand the bill to you (either at the end of the night or at the morning check-out.

from the relevant background i come from, this is my understanding... maybe you'd want to double check the terms again... or i could be wrong, perhaps you could get your co-ordinator to enlighten you?

screwby

yah, was told tat the policy is a 30% deposit.

pay the rest before AD? tat's ridiculous. like wat stickymouse said, wat abt the rest of the extras? & the service not rendered yet.

i hope i dun hear the same things when i discuss the terms further wif them. i mean already, it's quite well known tat not much or no freebies will be given.....

violac

well.. we can't argue about the deposit part.. some hotels charge up to 50% deposit.

still... they do provide a beautiful venue; the service and food quality was good too. any weddings at The Sentosa would create an impression 'cos people hardly go there

screwby

I guess tat's their niche, thus they've the upper hand & less bargaining power for us.

btw, is the bridal suite big enough for tea ceremony?

violac

nah.. it'd be cramped... not because it's small, but becuase it's quite filled up with furnishings. very hard for a crowd to stand around... unless u don't have many relatives

anyta

hey girls, do you know if beaufort gives us a specially priced wine list? any one has tried/ have any feedback regarding the 'special wedding wine from South Australia @ S$28.00+++ per consumed bottle.' that they are offering?

apparently we have to give the full 100% at least a week before the AD. i'm just a bit uncomfortable abt paying before we even experience anything.

screwby

I'll be going down tis sat to discuss more in details, maybe i'll get to try the wine....??

Yeah, full settlement for the confirmed tables gotta be paid in full prior to AD. Which other hotel does tat?

milkyway18

hi Anita and Screwby-Do, yah i full settlement 1 week b4 the AD... think only Beaufort does this... wonder if we can negotiate to pay after the AD... at least 1 day after... so that we dont have so tight cash flow problem...

anyta

i actually tried my luck but the coordinator said the full payment shud be paid before the AD but they'r flexible with when it shud be paid eg. one wk before/5 days before etc.

i wonder how the default floral deco will look like. i'm afraid it'l look too sparse as the entire area is quite big. the indoor function area/veranda area/cocktail area.

leo26

hi everyone,im having my wedding dinner at The Grand Salon in 2 weeks time on 26th July.SO far the experience and service from them have been good...cathy has been very helpful too...its been a pleasant experience so far....the only thing is when i invite my guests,i get mixed reactions like 'huh,so far?'...,or its either people have not heard of this hotel or for those who have heard and know abt The Sentosa,they will be more impressed...

milkyway18

Hi leo26, care to share ur menu with us? Is urs 8 course or 9 course? I'm quite particular with food... cos i think since the venue is a little troublesome for our guests, we want to be sure that the food will be good and satisfactory. Thank you for sharing.

rie

hi ladies, i too am thinking of holding my wedding at this venue, will be signing the agreement with cathy soon. just wanna know a general view and take on this place.

my fiance and i have do not have many tables and we are thinking of having a dance floor, did any of you ladies do smtk like that? hope that you can share ur experiences.

thanks in adv!

screwby

Tats really the mentality of most people, thinking tat sentosa is far & inaccessible. They dun realise tat compared to some places, it is so much more convenient.

Especially the older folks....still thinking tat u gotta take a ferry or cable car.....

milkyway18

Hi Screwby-Do... yah... my parents were not qutie happy when i told them it'll b held in Sentosa... so now i got to appease them by ensuring that the food is of good standard...

Can anyone share with us your menu?? 8 course or 9 course?

anyta

Hi rie, my fiance and myself will be getting a dance flr as well. 'cos we will be having a performance and we'r thinking of doing without the stage as we really want it to be a more casual affair. we'r doing the bbq buffet. do any of you/ex-brides having any photographs of set-ups/the buffet that you can share?

yah, i'l be getting comments like it's inaccessible as well.

violac

i was also expecting my guests to comment on the location, but turned out everyone was very open. i guess it depends on your guests profile as well, i can safely say 90% of my guests drive in fact i was so afraid of insufficient parking lots.

people don't really realise that Sentosa is mere 10 mins from Tanjong Pagar.

milkyway, i'm sure you can extract the menu from the website. have you brought your parents down to view the place? they'd understand what is it that we love about the venue

rie

thanks anyta! i think a bbq buffet is quite a new idea. thats quite cool.. i wanted to do western at first, but i dont think it makes sense as it is really quite expensive.

yeah, at first i did think that sentosa was abit far but its actually not that far and parking is not much of a problem and entrance fee will be waived.. as well as, for those who do not drive theres always the shuttle drive at VVcity, which is convenient enough.
comes every 15mins i think..

screwby

Hi Milkyway,

I'm going for the 9 course but have not decided on the dishes yet. U can always mix & match from the 2 sets given or negotiate abit.

I've tried their bbq buffet at the restaurant. Though it's not gonna be the same as the wedding bbq buffet, i think the standard is there. Not too bad.

I dun really encourage my closer frens to drive when they attend my wedding....coz we gonna get drunk at the after wedding party! haha.....

And the free shuttle service is every 30 mins from vivio.

milkyway18

Hi eternity, i have not chosen the favor and do not know what they have.... oh no, worried now to hear that... what do they have? any pics to show? thanks...

eternitylw

Well, if i remember correctly, they have FISHBALL size rose candle (which my sister got the same candle with ORANGE size from her friend's wedding in a restaurant), a box of petals(normally used for SPA, which i doubt how many of us hv a bath tub at home), a box of roses (3 pcs- for? i don't know), porcelain (can only put a small piece of eraser), bell like salt and pepper etc... do u find any of them presentable?

I already got some many things to do, and now i have to worry about this... haiz...

milkyway18

oh no those things u mentioned are things which i dont want as wedding favour as well... i tot Beaufort should have some standard mah... at least something more unique and presentable than those you mentioned which sounds abit LC... hope to see some improvement when i make my appointment to choose them... did you voice your unhappiness with Cathy? hope she can do something...

what did those who have had their wedding get for their wedding favours? maybe you will care to share?

milkyway18

one more thing.. i definitely would not prefer to get 1 buck deducted for the wedding favour to source for my own elsewhere... hope i can find something i like that they provide...

violac

i don't remember it being that bad... maybe it's a matter of expectations, 'cos i already know i want to give out practical stuff instead of decorative stuff so it was easy for me to choose out of the lot.

i remember:
1) photoframes
2) rose 'petals' (which are really soap)
3) more soap in various shapes (think roses?)
4) porcelain jewellery box (tiny one) like what Eternity mentioned. i can tell u Beaufort is not the only one with this favor.
5) rosebuds for tea in test tubes
6) rosebuds for tea in organza bags.

some of the above items can come customised with couple's names depending on what you choose. this was what i had at our wedding.

http://www.malvineviola.shutterfly.com/action/slideshow?caid=67b0de21b35a2aa165d8&a=67b0de21b35a2aa165d8&auto=0&idx=196&m=1&d=1217206195236

milkyway18

Hi Anita, y dont u call up ur coordinator? Who's ur coordinator? mine is Cathy, she's quite nice... and did not take that long to draft the contract...