The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

touraco

mao2006
ask ur coordinator at beaufort to provide the tealights for u. i ask them to.

linda/chicklet
i am a bit fussy abt my favors...heehee...wanted something the guests will keep and remember so i got my own.
i can't remember how much they took out as i also change my menu and add money etc

lovely_33

Hi Racherlle,

You must be counting down already... Must remember to rest well and be mei mei on that day okie.

Hi Mao2006,

Yeap...indeed..had alot of fun on the day. If you are referring to the staircase tealights in the lamp, it is done by my own florist. I am sure like Touraco has advised, you can see what Beaufort can provide. Have seen some couples using tealight in a tealight holder with rose petals around them, also very nice. But then again, you have to check with Beaufort whether there is another wedding at the other ballroom, if there is, there is no point spending money to do it up unless you can split with the next door couple. I was quite lucky that my wedding day only have a wedding lunch. So I decided to 'doll' it up.

Hi Linda,

I also took Beaufort's favours. Looks like now they have more choices than my time. But I gave out another set of favours on my own for those who attend my solemization at the Ginger Terrance

lindalim

Hi Chicklet,

Ai ya...I curious mah...room also got floor plan, hee hee!

Hi everybody, I went down to Audrey and met up with Faye. They do provide floating tealights in a bowl, surrounded by flowers for the guest tables. So, I will go for that. No need to top up. But need to top up for decoration on the staircase leading to the Ginger Terrace. Prices quite reasonable.

Hi Touraco/Crystal,

Thanks for alternative suggestions. I will take the favors. But think will give door gifts like personalised pens, as I will not be having guest book. Plan to give all guest a well wishes card to write, so that I know which message belongs to who. Check it out liao, each pen cost S$1.20.

racherlle

hi gals!!

thanks for all your well wishes!!

I'm really really really excited! less than 3 weeks to go! hehe
my wedding is on the 2nd week of May!! :p lucky it's after the elections day.. kaka..

I've juz settled my florist... sheesh.. going to spend a bomb on my decor.. keke but once a lifetime lar.. lucky FH is ok with it.. haha
also settled my wine.. i got chilean wine..

oh ya gals.. i got Beaufort's wedding favours as well... didn't see anything i like outside so far.. so juz stick with the best that I can find from their range.. no more time to look ard! keke

like most of u gals, i was hoping that the other ballrooms would not be occupied too.. but sian.. there is a company dinner at the Ballroom beside Grand Salon.. sigh.. wedding planner informed that there are abt 5-6 tables.. so i have to replan my floral decor and etc.. lucky it's not another wedding else will be pretty wierd..
and the good news is Ginger Terrace is still available! Beaufort can only confirm that I can use the Ginger lawn 1 week prior to the wedding! so I'm keeping my fingers crossed!

ya chicklet, haha i told kendy I DUN WAN ROOM 308! hahaha told her i wan a room with a better view.. so she arrange for my bridal suite to be in the west wing.. which is quite a distance from the ballrooms.. but to me view is quite important! kaka.. so for brides to be, you might wan to request ur suites in the west wing!

chicklet

Hi Racherlle, Good on you! The photog took a shot of me with my feet agst the glass panel trying to get more light in, and can see the ugly grass outside and the backside of a car haha. Only things couldn't see were the leaking tap and the miserable plastic wrapper on the grass haha!

(wonder if she's busy checking which silly bride went and spoilt her market kekeke. Oh well! Too late...)

mao2006

Hi Touraco and Crystal

thanks for the suggestion will check with the wedding planner regarding the tealight, really like the tealight concept, give people the resort feel...

As I will be having it at the ginger room and lawn, I guess the staircase leading to the lawn should be exclusive to us on that day...so shouldn't be any problem decorating it lo...

Linda,

can check with you, with the additional deco (say the staircase and etc.) how much extra did the beaufort's florist charge you? wanna gauge how much additional $$ that we need to spend on the extra floral deco for the lawn area.

lindalim

Hi Chicklet,

Ai ya....just wondering mah. Anyway, I also didn't ask Kendy for it. Think room quite standard la.

Hi Mao,

The top up all depends on what you want. I wanted to do an arch of flowers. It will cost me S$350. Decorating the staircase depends on how elaborate you want it. It can cost S$150 to S$300. It all depends whether you intend to use drapes to replace flowers at some point or the more flowers the merrier. Hope the info helps.

galronni

Wow. This thread is moving very fast. Me still new in this planning thing but like what everyone tells me, I'm out of time.

Few questions b4 I visit Beaufort tomorrow. Do help k?

1. Are they really inflexible as what most pple have commented?
2. What else should I try to bargain inside the package e.g. corkage waivers? E.g if I use my own florist, how much will I save?
3. What to look out for?

Ok for the last question, I got a few down already. Good for other new brides also:
a. get suite in west wing (which I will definitely ask)
b. get tealights
c. check wedding favors
d. they have free 1 keg beer?
e. check no one is having on the same night as you
f. try to do it in the evening to see the sunset

Btw, does their wedding planner really help to do themed concepts kinda thing like other external wedding planners?

Do help k? Thanks!

touraco

hi Ronni
1. My wedding planner seems to be quite flexible on things that i required. Not sure about the new ones though.
2. I bargain very hard to get 1.5 corkage waiver on wine for per table. I used their florist and top up on some other arrangements.

i didn't know they have free beer.

racherlle

hi Ronni!

replies to your questions..

1. regarding abt their inflexiblity.. it's really quite bad.. esp the new wedding planner who has taken over sunsun... doesn't have much bargaining power with the management i guess since she's new.. u juz hav to push and see what u can get from her..

2. yup u can push for more corkage waiver.. but if i'm not wrong the new package comes with 1 bottle of free wine per table.. and also 1 bottle of corkage free per table.. so i guess it shld be more than sufficient????

as for florist, i managed to bargain for a 20ltrs barrel of beer for not getting their florist.. as for savings.. i dun tink u will save much, instead u will spend more! haha for my case, i'm spending quite a sum on my flowers!

oh ya btw they dun provide free beer.. u can only get their beer if u exchange for something else.. example u forgo the florist or wedding favours..

as for themed weddings, u hav to check with them... so far dun tink they provide such a service.. but if they do, they might charge u a fee for it..

hope this helps!

juz let me know if u still need more info!

galronni

Hi racherlle and touraco, thanks for the inputs!

I visited them. Very inflexible as expected. Can only trade or rather remove wedding favors, florist (minus 300 from bill) and SPA voucher (minus 200 from bill).

Me asked for corkage for beer to be waived. They din give me free corkage for every table, only 7 extras! I'm going to negotiate this in mann..

Is their florist really crap? Seems like right? I really want to get good floral arrangement and not just plain centerpieces leh.

Hi touraco,

For me theme includes few things
a. all one kind of decor. Like say, all beach decor or romantic red and white decor with mainly roses & candles. Basically one theme throughout and not just plonk, flowers here and there. Can their florist do it? E.g. your tealights thingy
is very good.

b. mood creation e.g. I wanted a business casual sweet mood, so the games or items or flow of the programs will be very cocktail like.

Oh, btw, I am not planning to have 8 course dinner, just buffet. So this is where I am stuck. What do you do at a buffet? Just eat and go? What can I do to make it glam and fun?

touraco

Ronni
why not you go to the florist and see what they have to offer before deciding.

I think you can talk to the florist on your theme. For me, I just wanted cream and green so all flowers,i use cream roses, cream calla lilies, green leaves etc. Even my cake is cream colour with cream roses.

Hmmm....for the rest of your items...let me think think then let you know

touraco

hi ronni
hope what i share is ok,it's a summarised version.
i used Audrey's but i top up for other arrangements as well.

yah, i heard abt the aggressive sales in Tanjong Pagar

racherlle

hi gals!!!

my wedding is juz over last Sunday! had a super gd time! everything went on smoothly as what we had planned
although towards the end my hubby was dead drunk! haha and i was a bit tipsy.. luckily we had friends who stayed over to help to take care of my drunk hubby!

4 days has passed and I'm still in the dreamy romantic mood on tat sunday... geez.. kinda missed our wedding day.. hehe

for those girls who are still awaiting for their big day, happy preparing for that joyous day!

hi Queen!
glad to see you and ur bb, hubby on sunday!
thanks for ur wishes!

queen

Rach,
Once again, congrats!
Was really happy to see you and your HB on your big day. Seems like you all had lots of fun.
You looked really radiant too!

Re. Room 308,
I think I stayed in that room leh. Not sure if it's 308 but think the windows are facing the carpark or road or something like tat. Actually it didn't bother me cos the curtains are drawn all the time and me and HB were so tired from the wedding that we basically slept and eat the whole day while we stayed there.

chicbabe

Hi all pretty brides, past n present of Beaufort!

Really happy to find this thread, and to find so many information around.I have booked my dinner at beaufort for wedding in Oct this year. So now having a headache to choose the wedding invitations, flora arrangements entertatinment for the nite, do you have any recommendations for that?

Did any of you took a villa for your big day? Any advice on that?

Hi Crystal, Elle, Touraco, could you mind sending me your wedding photos for sharing. My email is [email protected]

Thx Very Much!

racherlle

hi Karyn!!

welcome to the thread!!!!!

glad to see another Beaufort bride to be!
feel free to ask any questions, we are glad to help

as for your questions,

i got my wedding invites from Bangkok.. cost me abt $0.70 per piece.. printing wise i did it locally.. i paid abt $200 for the hotstamping for the 150 cards..

as for floral arrangements, i got my own florist to do up the place...
cost me a bomb! hehe

as for bands, i didn't arrange for tat.. the rest of the girls shld be able to help you on this..

nope didn't get a villa as they are all under renovation in May.. tink only 1 of them is available.. as for the rest, not too sure when will the renovation complete.. tink u hav to check with the wedding co-ordinator abt this..

personally, i feel that the suite is more than adequate! it's pretty spacious with a hall and a bedroom.. use the $ for other stuff like cake or favours for ur guests

chicbabe

Hi Racherlle,

thx for the feedback! I just check with the coordinator and the px of villas has increased to $1720+++ if u upgrade from suite!

my gosh! thinking hard if want to still get villa...hahha

Will u mind sending me a link of ur photos once they are ready! So i supposed u didnt use their cake... look pretty not very latest! :p

Which ballroom did u use?

galronni

Hi Karen, Me also a beaufort bride! My date is in Sep. Must say the girls have been a big help. Special mention to touraco and quenn who's alwiz dishing out advices to nubiles like us.

Getting my fiance to pay deposit soon as I am based overseas.

Hey, which ballroom u got? Did you choose their favors? Anybody chose their favours?

I've asked for suite in west wing but they say cannot choose, depends on that day... did anybody go round that?

As for florist, i've decided to top up as well. since i'm overseas, i've used a planner so she's gonna get more flowers in for me and also for church and car and bouquet etc.

Really a pity tat they don't have invitation cards. Would save a lot of time and money if they do.

Hi Elle, Crystal and Rach, can I take a peek at your pics too?! [email protected]

racherlle

hi karen!

wow! tat's a huge increase! guess in order to cover the cost of the renovation.. hehe ya having a villa is good if u r having ur tea ceremony there..

yup i didn't get their cake.. i ordered my cake from somewhere else but they did send me a layer of the fruit cake over to my room..

as for ballroom, i used the Grand Salon for my wedding.. oh ya another very lucky thing was that on my wedding day, i could take the whole area as no one else was having wedding at the other ballrooms! i did my solemnization at the Ginger Terrace.. followed by dinner at the Grand Salon.. we are able to move freely without unfamiliar faces ard.. haha had a miscommunication with my wedding co-ordinator and thought that there was a company dinner at the ballroom!! only realised my error on the wedding day itself!! so glad!

Ronni, i took their wedding favours.. chose the orange and blue beach photoframe which my guests loved it alot! look very classy! didn't wan to waste more time in looking at favours coz i didn't see any i liked so far..

as for the suite in west wing, i managed to get it without much negotiation.. told my wedding co-ordinator straightaway that i do not wan rooms in the east wing! so she arranged another room for me in the west wing.. but west wing is really a distance from the Grand Salon..

chicbabe

Hi Racherlle,

saw from previous messages that ur wedding went so well, did u have chinese sit down dinner
which package did u take? Hows the food???

I think their favors are not bad, so will choose from there, u mentioned u have ur solemnisation in ginger terrace, do u mean the lawn, did u pay extra for that. THe last time they actually quoted me 1500+++ to use that lawn for only the solemnization..... hahah, every piece of land in beaufort so damm expensive!!!
i just added chicklet to my msn, mind joining up?

racherlle

hi karyn!

yup i had the chinese sit down dinner.. my package (8 course) was signed before they revised their prices.. food wise.. was ok.. however, the shark fin was much better during the food tasting then the actual night..
u r able to switch some of the dishes ard from the different menu without topping up.. juz check with ur wedding co-ordinator for more details..
no complains from my guests regarding abt the food on the actual day.. so shld be ok..

yup i had my solemnization at the lawn.. nope didn't pay any cent for it coz the previous wedding co-ordinator promised to let me use the lawn if there is no booking for it on my actual day.. yup everything in beaufort is expensive! haha but it's worth every cent my dear..

oh yaaaaa as for pics, i've not gotten them back frm my photographer yet.. will share with u gals once i get them back..

msn ah.. no problem.. add me.. [email protected]

lovely_33

Glad to see the thread getting active again. Seems like everything in Beaufort has gone up in prices. But agree with Racherlle that it worth every cent.

Hi Racherlle,

You must had a fabulous time right ? With the fact that you have the whole area to yourself. Don't you feel that your wedding is held in a private villa as the hotel guest is so far away and no one will walk through except your own guests ?

Hi Karyn and Ronni,

I had my wedding dinner at Grandsalon and solemisation at the lawn just like the rest. Feedback from the guest on the food was good. I take Beaufort's favour for the dinner too. Mine is the rose tea in the test tube. Thought that is good enough. I uses my own florist for the exterior decor and Beaufort's florist for the ballroom as I wanted to keep it simple.

My pleasure to share with you my photos though it is 1 year ago.
>

You got mail.

ellen

Hi Karyn and Ronni,

sent the link for my wedding pics... check your email!

hope you gals will enjoy the preparations! have fun...

chicbabe

Elle, Sharmaine, Chicklet....

Thanks ladies so much for the photos... ok, so at least not heard much complaints abt the beaufort... hahah how come my planner never tell me they can offer me the lawn free huh :p

But i think my date, some one is already using the Ginger Terrace downstairs...

Gals what's ur suggest about having a villa... Taking much consideration if I should hv one... Has anyone do anything at the villa before! I need feedback!

ellen

hi karyn,

i feel that if you intend to throw a small before and after-dinner party, then the villa will be good...

if you wanna spend some quiet time with hubby after the dinner, then it is not worth it. honestly, the suite is big enuff...

we even ordered supper and had a table set-up in the middle of the main room on the wedding night.. some romantic candle-lit supper...

racherlle

hi Crystal!

yup it's a very exclusive hotel.. hehe till now i'm still missing my wedding... 1 year plus of anticipation and preparation just for tat day.. on tat day itself juz zoomed past so quickly.. hehe

hi elle!
wow romantic candle light supper! tat was nice!
haha i was too dazed and my hubby was too drunk for tat.. plus our friends were with us till 5am!we only had our lunch the nxt day! in our suite too.. didn't even get up in time for the buffet breakfast which ends at 10am! a tad too early i feel.. hehe

ellen

Hi Racherlle...

yes.. very romantic hor...hehe...

we didn't had breakfast either... but we've stayed at beaufort before our wedding.. the breakfast so so only.. don't worry.. u din miss much!

hmm... i just remembered that we still have one night stay at beaufort. should redeem it soon!

touraco

busy busy...just back from biz trip from china.

glad to see new BTBs...i can't remember who requested to see my photos so please PM me again.

I had mine at Grand Salon and Ginger terrace as well. I got the Ginger terrace for free as my wedding planner says no one using it so she let me use for free

it's a really meaningful wedding and i enjoyed it very much.

if anyone needs special wedding favors, i have some lobang

miu66

hi all BTBs,
i haven't posted here for a loooong time. i had my wedding at the Grand Salon and Ginger Terrace in Jan 2005 and it was a truly day to remember for me and hubby! we also stayed in the villa which we used for an after-party for all our friends. i'm so glad i chose The Sentosa for my wedding. Up till now, many of our friends and family are still saying that it was a very lovely and personal event

Just wanted to remind those who have had their weddings already to remember to redeem their anniversary stays. although we had a whole year to use the voucher, we only remembered a few days before our anniversary. it was very near CNY this year and we were both v busy with work so we called to ask for a 1-week extension of the redemption deadline but they said it wasn't possible (which was disappointing). in the end, we decided to make use of the room and enjoy the buffet breakfast even though we could only check in at 11pm and i was 7 mths preggie at the time!! moral of the story: remember to redeem it early!!

good luck to everyone with the wedding planning and i'm sure you all will have a lovely weddings!

miu66

ronni

i saw from yr earlier post that you'll be having a buffet. if you're still following this thread, i had a buffet for my wedding dinner and i thought it went well. comments from guests were that the food adn service were v good. we decided on a buffet cos we wanted a kind of free-flowing, relaxed romantic evening instead of a more structured sit-down dinner.

in order for it to go smoothly, i think you'll have to get your host/MC to ask all ladies or tables X to X to go first, to avoid a huge mess. also, we requested for the VIP table to have a selection of food served to us, since we could hardly expect our grandparents to be queueing for food (or me in my big gown to be waiting by the seafood counter!).

just my 2 cents worth, hope it helps!

chicbabe

Miu66,

thanks for commenting on this buffet choice, cos my fiance prefers to have that as well and he thinks he does not want the usual dishes and table by table thing. The other day, when we went to check the place, another couple was having the buffet selection with grill as well..

Any other Sentosa brides who has selected buffet as choice, whats ur suggestions?

touraco

hi karyn and san
sent the link to you. sorry for the delay. am very busy.

miu
i redeemed my free stay a week before it expired and guess what? I lost my voucher. Good that they allowed me to redeem despite that as I furnish them with my invoice details etc

looneytoons

hi Miu...i'll be having a buffet dinner for my wedding nite as well...will like to check out ur dinn nite schedule...coz i dont have friends having buffet dinner..so need some help & info from u...it'll be great if u can send me ur actual nite schedule, like wat were ur programmes, when u go ard tables for phototaking & changing of evening gown...thanks :p

my email add is [email protected]

miu66

touraco
that's lucky! despite the fact that the hotel isn't the most flexible when it comes to wedding arrangements, i must say that they are generally very good where service/hospitality is concerned.

looneytoons
hmmmm....i'll have to go see if i still have a soft copy of the schedule lying around somewhere cos it's been abt 1.5 years already! if not, i'll just email you what i can remember

violac

anyone booked The Sentosa for their wedding?? my wedding is in Sep 2007 and i have already placed the deposit.

i'm just a little uncertain how we move on from here. will the co-ordinator initiate the detail discussions and call us up for food tasting? or do we have to 自动?? when do we start to arrange?

touraco

hi stickymouse
the coordinator will help you in some ways but for something tt's important and once in a lifetime, it's better to take some initiative.

daisygal

Hi, thinking of checking out Beaufort Sentosa for my wedding in 07. Do you know if they have any solemnisation package by the sea? Does anyone have a contact for me to call to make appointment? Thanks...really bad at this whole wedding plannin thing cuz fiance and I are very laidback people..hee

violac

uhhh hmm.... it's a personal preference i guess... my parents first complained that it's too far, and my fiance's mum instinctively said she's not coming if it's at sentosa.

but my parents fell in love with the place when
we brought them there to meet the co-ordinator.

i'd be really disappointed if i have to go indoors though...