The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

hello Duster! let me know if i missed anything out. ;p

1.Yes MUA stayed a while longer and helped me remove my veil.

2. After tea ceremony at Fullerton, I had abt 2 hours to rest b4 the MUA came to re-do my makeup for the solemnisation service.

3. My service started at 6pm. she came back at 4:30pm to do my makeup. takes abt 45mins? hair & makeup.

4. Solemnisation service i allocated 45mins-1hr. I think mine ended at 7pm. then i went ard to mingle wif my guests...and take some small grp photos. then everyone proceeded to the Ballroom for pre-dinner cocktails, while i went back up to the suite.

5. Altogether I had 3 times of hair&makeup - morning, b4 solemnisation service, and 2nd march-in for EG. my package includes 2 times, so i paid $150-$200 for the 3rd time.

Hi Ash,

I'm shortlisting some venues for my wedding next year. Would be great if you can send me the link to your Fullerton wedding pics!

Are you in HK now? Me too. The weather turning cold this week...so wear more warm clothes!

Hi Ash,

My FW,saw your photos, she is impressed.

Very nice and impressed with your photographer to take candid shots. Very Natural too. Can email me his contact? my email : [email protected]

Your MUA also did a very good job, enhancing features and hairdo. Very Very nice of her to stay longer.

Just discuss with my FW, She said, PJ and Tables still cant be too stingy. Still some face needed.
FW's side rather traditional.

Just have to include in the planning. Like plotting my project's profit and Loss spreadsheet haha. BTW, Ash, whats your est. budget for this wedding? any help from parents??

For me, looks like everything I have to pay. I am uping the budget to 30K liao.. if I can scrimp enough. To hold a fullerton wedding.

Oh Ladies here for our info. I think you all should know lah anyway:

Just had an email from fullerton:

Please be advised that the minimum requirement for a wedding dinner at the Ballroom is 30 tables from Monday to Thursday, 35 tables on Friday and Sunday, and 40 tables on Saturday, eve of public holiday and public holiday. We do have a smaller function room, The Straits Room which can hold up to a minimum of 80 guests and maximum of 100 guests. We do apologise that we are not opened for bookings yet for year 2008.

The guy is Adrian Goh, CAtering Sales Administrator.

FYI

Thanks Ash.

hi sweetbeng - cld u pls leave me your addy so dat i can send u the link?

yup am living in HK now. moved here after the wedding cos hubby works here. r u working in HK? weather still cold today. brrrrr.

Hello Darkwing!! yahhh...weddings are expensive affairs eh? but wat to do...once in a lifetime ma. hehe.

my AD photographer is Jon Keng. he's really really good!!! and he's so easy to get along with. love the way he captures the day's events. u can check out his webbie: www.jonkeng.com. his contact is there too.

Let me try to remember expenses for my wedding ah...here they are:

1. Dinner - $56,000
2. Wines - $3000
3. Wedding Favours (we brought in our own) - $1200
4. East Garden solemnisation - $4700
5. Ang baos for helpers on AD - $3000
6. AD photography - $1400
7. Gown package + photos - $10,000
8. Wedding bands - $4300

Then i've got misc expenditure eg. dad's suit, mum's dresses, sis' bridesmaid dress, flowergirls' dresses, AD makeup for mum, sis mum-in-law, sis-in-laws, etc. These misc things can add up too. So make sure you leave a budget for these items.

For profit and loss, we managed to breakeven for the dinner portion. but my hubby gave $10K to my parents from the dinner $, so can say we lost $10K? ;p but other than dat the dinner paid for itself. =) the rest of the items, hubby paid for everything. i no money one. haha. oh oh, i paid for his wedding band tho.

Hi Ash,

My email is pugtzu2003yahoo.com.au

Yup have been working and living here for 2 yrs liao. Which part of HK are u staying at? I always miss the winter weather when I go back to SG. Hehehe...

Hi Ash,

Whoa still alot of cash leh.. for these.. Must work out budget already..

Me and my FW bleed bad liao...

haha.. see how it goes.. my FW got liking for RASA... see how.

understnd how u must feel Ash. not forgetting cost of the si-dian-jing as well everything all in was quite a fair bit but it is once in a life time

Hi all, so happy to see this thread moving. I am too excited about my wedding on 1st July. Hehe..

Ash, I would love to see your photos too! Please send the link to [email protected]

Hi Darkwing, I renovated my resale 5-room flat for 55k. But that is an entire makeover. So good luck in your ID searching and hopefully your budget can be met. If you need an ID recommendation, I can recommend you mine. My advise is look at more IDs before you decide on one! ;)

Hi Happylife,

thanks. Congrats on your big day. Rem to mail me the link to you wedding photos k?

Mine cant really do a total make over. As mine is a new flat from HDB, there are some things cant be touched. so just have to make do with it and try to fit them in. Hope the designer of the HDB Block have some minimum taste and colour scheme.

Thanks for the advise on the ID. Will keep it in mind.

Hopping to scrimp and save more $$. So that can have an enjoyable Day when that day comes.

Not intending to ask anyone for help.

Happylife.. can breakdown your wedding buddget?? just want to have a comparison. Can Mail me if its confi. Thanks

Really want to do my homework and prepare.. Hope I can hold it at Fullerton.. So far its still possible, but not surely. As it will be very tight on the pocket.

Congrats to you and many brides here

my email : [email protected]

hello sweetbeng - did u manage to access the link? hopefully no problems now. hey today's weather siao rite? suddenly turned warm. hiyah. i'm living at East Kowloon side. how abt you?

hey darkwing - Rasa Sentosa's really nice too! a beachfront wedding! =) well, hope u settle your AD venue soon...but of cos i hope it'll be The Fullerton la. ;p

hi happylife - long time no see! i've shared my photos with you b4 la. maybe u've forgotten. hehe. how's your wedding prep coming along? haf you gone for your PS yet?

hi ash,

nice to see your reply.. yah Rasa was the fairytales dream of a ger.. haha. beach front solemnisation in the evening sun + the dinner with the sea breeze .. can imagine y my FW loves it. Accessibility and logistics i think is still a problem. have to sort out.. I also wish I can. But my flat is not ready.. so have to sit and wait for confirmation..

Somemore have to write an appeal letter to HDB for extension of submission of ROM cert.

Haven't got the time to log in lately. By the way, about the loft suite. We sign up for the Straits room. Only get one night. The Ballroom will get two nights at the suite.

Morghanjess, mine is on the 11th Nov.

Hi Du-ster - unless you booked earlier, I understand it is now $1,288+++ per table of 10 persons, till 31 March '08. Weekday/weekend is the same. Minimum 8 tables, maximum 10 tables.

hi, anyone had hold up to 45 tables in the ballroom? is it very cramp?

any suggestion, is it better to have 10 pax/table and have 45 tables or 12 pax/table and have 38 tables?

Duster,

Like what Brokenbudgie mention, $1288+++. Inclusive of loads of stuff like invites, wedding favours, ..... Call Fullerton and ask for Sherry. She's very helpful and I'm sure she can povide you more info.

I went to the hotel once during a company afternoon event with buffet lunch.
Found the food not very nice and they r very stingy. Refuse to refill after second round...
Many ppl complain to our organisor and we never take up this hotel for company event again..

But how is their dinner?

My fellow fullerton brides.. I wanted to do away with the morning fetching bride ceremony. Want tea ceremony at 4pm for both sides at Fullerton (wearing kua), 7pm change to wedding gown for reception and march in. 7.30 dinner cum live band. What do you think? If I able to do so, it will definitely be my dream wedding.

Hi Nitestarz - up till a couple of weeks ago, that was the plan for me too. My mom says my fiance still has to fetch the bride, though the tea ceremony for both sides can be in the suite. We thought it's less fuss that way. However, with the very large number of relatives from both sides, we are not sure if we will still do this now. The Fullerton's Loft Suite's living room isn't terribly large so I'm afraid it might be a bit chaotic. The suite has a small dining room, living room and outdoor verandah downstairs. Did you mean the suite for your tea ceremony? If there is going to be a small crowd, i think it's ideal.

Hi brokenbudgie, so happy we have the same idea. The fetching the bride part is a bit tricky. Unless We arrange for only one side, that means our family side to do the tea ceremony 1 hr before the dinner. btw, when is your actual day? Mine is on 16 Dec

Something to share with all brides here:
my rom pic: nicolasandshue.myphotoalbum.com

can someone tell me how long in advance should i book with fullerton before it's too late?

nitestarz, hv the same idea as yours.. esp the part on live band! But my sequencing of events seem abit wrong. I plan to hold the rom just before the start of the dinner.. then i wonder when should i hold my tea ceremomny? Tea ceremony before rom in the bridal suite like a bit funny cuz by right it should be rom first, tea ceremony and then dinner. Btw, saw ur photos.. thumbs up!

brokenbudgie, heard the bridal suite is impressive, 2 storey etc. etc. True? Yet to go down to fullerton yet..

Nitestarz - my date is drawing scarily near....14 July! Thanks for sharing yer pics.

Dawnyo - don't worry about the sequence..my solemnisation is gonna be on the actual day, just before the banquet. Think the sequence is fine..
And yes, the bridal suite - the Loft Suite - is rather unique as it's a duplex! The great thing about The Fullerton is that there are many areas to take timeless pictures. e.g. the suite's verandah with the tall columns. Very classic!

Re: how long to book, why not make a tentative booking with the hotel first? If there's another event for the same date, they will/should check with you before releasing your booking.

Dear gals, yap the Loft Suite is the thing that brainwashed me into choosing Fullerton almost immediately the moment I saw it.:P But of course, FH managed to stop me from signing on the spot. Well, whats yours is yours, I still signed with Fullerton after all the scouting.

Thanks for viewing my pics. Once I got my photoshoot photos, will let you gals know.
As for the booking part, I seriously think you should place your booking tentatively, as in now. I lost one of the preferred date that I want. Luckily the fengshui master gave me quite a few good dates.

I spoke to my parents about the tea ceremony, they said not feasible cos lots of things to bring over there etc and they said my photographer can spend his time helping us to take more pics over there (my rom photographer) while we preparing for dinner etc.

is there any comments about the wedding planners from fullerton? Just received an email from them.. the assigned person is louis low... pardon my ignorance, thought usually planners are females...

btw, they told me i cannot book a tentative date.. that is, i must confirm my bookings and paid the deposit straight away..

not sure whether it's a new ruling but the person on the phone (adrian) told me that... as per now, i know the date is still open... louis is new, meaning no feedback on him... sobsob

heehee... mine is next yr june... still far far far ahead though
Unlike u gals, one july and one dec this yr... wow july is just another 2-3 months ahead! Muz be very excited now..

btw anyone of u took the long table style? i was thinking about the long tables instead of round tables.. and they told me max in straits room is only 90, that is, 3 rows.. pricing is counted per person..

Mine is in the ballroom, so no long table. I think you should make an appointment with them, go down and talk to them. I went down 3 times before confirming. Wedding is a very fun process for us gals, lots of "shopping" to do.:P I would prefer round tables cos more convenient in terms of movement.

Hi hi - although long tables look very modern, it's not very conducive for conversation (having been to an event myself with this setup) and it also limits the no. of guests. I'm having a long table for just the head table.

So yours is next year dawnyo? you registered to this forum a long time ago..getting prepared early eh?
I'm getting butterflies in me tummy! Are you going around to the other hotels to check it out? It's good to see what they have too..then maybe like nitestarz you'll return anyway...*laugh*

heh heh, no no...honestly I was quite kiasu and visited around 10 hotels plus Asian Civilisations Museum and Fort Canning, but couldn't get the Straits Room out of my head..so I can totally emphathize!

yaya.. mine next yr
registered to this forum long ago to discuss about the balloting for my house then.. now that house should be ready by next jan, hence, it's the next step, the wedding! hahaha.. hmmmm i'm abit kaisu too.. though it's still a year ahead, i have been reading all the forums, magazines diligently heehee..

me too!.. nothing catches my eye except for the straits room.. esp when my wedding is not on a big scale kind.. straits room is my top choice..

oh.. long tables really inconvenient huh? Shall re-think about it...

both of u settled almost everything? esp brokenbudgie since ur big day is really near!

dawnyo, always good to do homework! I fully approve..;) Actually wedding mags are great for gown ideas. i have a scrapbook of all my favourite WG, cheongsam etc which helped in discussions with my bridal shop.

Where I am right now: currently liasing with both printers (Fullerton & Oriental) for my wedding cards and getting favours/tags done. Next step is to book my JP this weekend.

By the way, have you seen the Straits Room in person?

Hi dawnyo and brokenbudgie, I just settled with the design of my evening gown, looking forward to see the end product. Nothing much, think next weekend after my hubby back from overseas will go and get a bedroom set to be placed at his place. Well, our flat will only be ready 2 months after our wedding so must have contingency plan. hmm... how come brokenbudgie liasing with Fullerton and Oriental?

wow.. seems like there's lots of things to prepare for a wedding!

nope, haven got the time to go down fullerton yet.. prob next week. Hv considered all the possible venues for my dinner, actually i find it quite hard to find a really nice place and that most require a min table of at least 20 to 30... mine only approx 100 guests.. location, ambience are all the things i look out for... oh ya, i was told that if i take long tables, the menu will be individual set dinner kind and from what i see, it's only 6 course instead of the usual 8??!! i'm really concern whether my guests will feel hungry with only 6 dish..

Nitestarz - I'm having it over two days, first night (Fullerton) for family and the second for friends. Not half of as hassle as I thought it would be!

dawnyo - It's the fusion New Asia menu that costs quite a bit more for fewer menu items, right? If your folks are traditional, I would say go for a Chinese menu; they would appreciate it more. Also, a larger menu means you have more time to change, have more march-ins etc.

two nights!? impressive!
It's not consecutive two nights right?

yaya.. the fusion new asia menu, which costs more and fewer dish.. still thinking hard on the idea of long tables

hey dawnyo, it *IS* 2 nights..in fact 3 consecutive nights. The very 1st day is a non-hotel dinner event. At this point i can say it's still fun to organise. If work gets busier then I might crumble..especially with home reno also on right now and fiance having exams..

I'm thinking of having my wedding banquet at The Fullerton. I would also like to have my solemnisation ceremony before the dinner (just need venue, no need reception). Can you pls share with me the details of your package (price per table, what perks you have etc, where are the possible solemnisation venues)? Pls email to [email protected] thanks!

Anyone try using Jade Room's before? I want to know the quality of the food.I just drop by last Sat to see the ambience, no bad.Cater for abt 10 tables, which what i am looking for. But want to ask if any of you have eaten there before.is the portion enough? The lady said they don't have stage and they don't do much decorations, the chair will look like what they used on a daily basis, no chair cover.

Comments are most most welcome

hi brokenbudgie,

Sorry, I was refering to the Jade in Fullerton. I didn't know there is another Jade Room.

have any of you held your wedding in Jade ( Fullerton)? Pls share experience

Just want to share some of my thoughts with you ladies.
I just signed up with Fullerton last week.
Is true that they don't do tentatively booking =( not like other hotels...
only when i want to confirm with them , then they draft a contract for us....after that we go through all the details before we sign and place deposit....me& FH went down 3 times before finalise everything...

Louis is quite friendly in fact, he will try to explain all details to me & FH.

Hi dawnyo,
Try to get hold of Louis and make an appointment with him, his schedule always seems to be very pack and quite hard to get him.

Hi secretgarden, my planner also Louis. When is ur actual day? Have u been to other hotels before deciding on Fullerton? My Actual Day on 16 Dec, still more than half a yr to go.:P

Hi Nitestarz,
my AD is 27th Jan 08 =) initially i thought i am really KS to start looking for hotel so early..but i am wrong...i call quite a few hotel but is all fully booked, seems to be quite a hot date for wedding....
i went down to Oriental before but my FH don't really like their ballroom but i love their new themes....i try riz,shangri-la,marriott,swissotel, grand copth....all fully booked....

so finally i found fullerton which is still available....and i have to make a quick decision

so did u book their straits room or grand ballroom ?