The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

it's def true that the banquet should proceed as we like...but the very important thing to note is to brief the two managers on that day at the 5pm meeting...make sure both are present and they understand and repeat your instructions clearly. (mine was attended by one only and of cos instructions weren't followed) as mentioned, their standard procedure is one change. so must really make them remember that you're doing another change towards the end.

wat happens at the end after table to table shots is that the manager will get you back to the table for dessert. only after you've had your dessert will the dessert be served to all other tables. this is to give you time to enjoy the last dish and prepare to send guests off at the thank you line. if you do intend to make a last change for the thank you line, my guess is the manager will prompt you to change towards second last dish and you may skip dessert all together. very crucial to get the managers to remember to prompt you.

btw, my suite was quite a walk from the lift...not that far but about 5 doors away...but the closer the suite is to the lift...the view may not be as good (facing one fullerton)

i called fullerton today and they say they will email me shortly and the person liasing is Vivian?
ohhhh so there are like a few loft suites on the level? maybe my FH never take a look clearly... but he wasn't impressed with the bridal suite while i absolutely swooning over it
must drag him there again

bugbear: oohhh i am also planning for my wedding to be in 2006. have you got your dates yet? i am having a major problem in choosing my dates . so you met up with the co-ordinator? how was it? hope it went well..me too so afraid that popular hotels will get snapped up so i tot of better research earlier too

Sharlene: ohhh okie.. so the portions of food are generally alright?

Morning Gals!!

Chomecc, i haven't got my dates yet. Planning to go to a geomancer like early next yr. Did you go to a geomancer for a date? Which month you looking at? Yup, i have met up with a coordinator last week. Hhmm, so far, the meeting was ok, except that they are quite stiff in negotiations. I am waiting for them to get back to me on some of my queries. Have you met up with them already? Any other hotels that you have shortlisted besides Fullerton?

Gals, do we get to choose the suite? Or can we let the coord know our preference? :p

Good Morning ladies,
Seems like quite a few of you had seen the suite even before AD. Did the coordinator showed you gals the place. I requested Delia in both meetings I had with her to view the suite but they had 100% occupancy on both days so never had the opp to see it. Must be very impressive from the way you girls described it. Better than Ritz? I had been to the Ritz bridal suite and it's luxurious and romantic( imagine, the lights were dimmed, my fren's WG was hung up, there was rose petals on the bed, a three-tiered tray with snacks and my fren was having her makeup done in the powder room in a terry cloth bath robe with a view facing the river and CBD) WOW!!

CaratSoup, u are not the only one. I also did not get the opportunities to look at the actual suite, but i have taken a virtual tour of the suite...from the website gallery :p
I am also trying to make an appt to view the suite.

WOW! from ur description, Ritz suite MUST be very wonderful. especially with the view! *dreaming*

hi caratsoup, like u, i also requested to see the suite but was told the occupancy was 100% as well... i only managed to see the loft suites during the bridal show, and on another occasion when my fren had her wedding there and we all trooped to the bridal suite after her wedding ;p

YES! YES! the ritz suite is great and in particular, the bathrooms are to-die-for! it's got this fantastic view and apparently the bath is HUGE too... hee... i've heard lots about it and we were keen on ritz initially also becos of this! hee

sharlene, thanks for offering to share the information, u're such a sweetheart

Bugbear, Rokko
yeah, the Ritz suite had been quite an unforgettable sight for me. But I have heard so much about Fullerton suites even on other threads and apparently it's better than Ritz. SO i am really eager to see it.

Anyway I am just wondering what we can do on our two days' stay there? I don't think I wanna leave the hotel cos my AD is on a Sun so the following day, CBD will be packed with alot of office crowd. It will be so anti-climax when i am still in my lovey dovey mood. haha!!

CaratSoup, don reckon couples will leave the room. Maybe go sun-tanning or swimming at the pool? It's on the 2nd or 3rd foor right?

Maybe Fullerton suite is such a talk bcos it's a 2-storey sutie? Don think other hotels have that right? The more i talk about the suite, the more eager i am to have a look at the suite!

I do heard from pple whom had view both Ritz and Fullerton suites that the suite in Fullerton are nicer. But of coz, the bathroom view of Ritz was simply fabulous.

Initially when I went to meet my coordinator, the suite also 100 occupied, then when I went to pay the deposit, luckily a guest just check out and they are just cleaned the room, the suite looks exactly like the one on the virtual tour.

Hi caratsoup...yah lor...like very quiet lately
I keep coming in to refresh the page and no posts leh :p

Sharlene...good to hear that the suite is even better than Ritz. U so lucky...get to see the suite. I can only dream while looking at the virtual tour :D

hie gers,

went to take a peek at the fullerton yest .. think yest was a gratz day for wedding and i just pop by after gg to see pan pac.. the ballroom is absolutely dreammmmmmyyyy... wahhh... the only thing now is that the menu is not so appealing... can i check with you gers if you have made changes to your menu? I realise also that fullerton is only 8 course! expensive..

bugbear: u got mail!
ahh maybe we can arrange to go to see the bridal suite another day..
who is the coordinator that you spoke to at fullerton?

Hi chomecc,

We changed the soup (from sharksfin to fish maw soup) & the desert (from soursop pudding to chng tng). Just discuss with the coordinator what you would like changed. If there is a cost difference, they will let you know.

As mentioned earlier, I managed to search the copy of checklist. As follows, I summerized it.

Suggested sequence of plaaning by Fullerton:
1) Recommend that wedding invitation cards be collected 2 months prior to the actual day.

2) Wedding photography is usually arranged 2 mths proior to the wedding day, should u wish to include the hotel facade in your PS, kindly allow 2 wks notification.

3) Food tasting session is usually held 1 mth prior to AD, please allow 1 wks's notice with the confirmed menu. Food tasting will be held at The Jade Restuarant. THe chinese Executive Chef will attend to u with regard to changes and recommendations during the session.

Finalisation of Details (usually done 2-3 wks before actual day)
a) Catering
- Menu
- Special Diets (Vegetarian, Muslins, etc)
- Beverages service (types of beverages to be served)
- Attendance breakdown including special dishes.

b) Room Set-up
- VIP tables
- Reserved tables
- Seating allocation for special diets
- Flower combination colors and arrangement
- Table settings
- Floor Plan
- Baby/High chair
- Wedding Favours

c) Programme
- Intervals for speeches
- Video presentation (equipment required, schedule for testing before AD)
- Band/musicians (microphones, sound system)
- Song for 1st march-in, first course presentation (if any), 2nd March-in and music for the evening

d) Bridal Suite and coordinator's room
- Check-in and Check-out
- Additional requirements
- Breakfast arrangement
- Lover's Dinner/Supper
- Complimentary 1KG cake if it is to be sent up the the suite or take away the next day upon check out.

e) Carparks arrangements
- Bridal Car
- Wheelchair access

f) Billing arrangements
- Credit limit extension
- Payment by cash

4) Any final amendments should be advise 3 working days prior tp the event. Please be informed that only an increase attendance would be allowed in order to facilitate the planning and logiestics arrangements to ensure a successful event.

Hi Chomecc,
I just looked at my menu and it'a a 8 course dinner.

Sharlene,
Thanks for the info, it's very comprehensive. This means we must have let Fullerton know the confirmed number of guests you are having before you collect your invitation cards? Cos the number of invitation cards we can have is a certain percentage of the number of guests attending the dinner? What if assuming we declare 450 guest and 2-3 weeks before AD, we reduce the number of guests to 420??

Anyone of you have any idea about the portion of the food? I am a little concerned that it's 8-course and individually served. So some guests might not have enough, while some others might not finish their share. Any comments about this?

Hi Sharlene,
Thanks for the list. I think it's helpful for those brides whose AD is drawing near...at least they won't feel so lost if the coordinators don't call them

Caratsoup,
I think they will give u the cards for the confirmed number or tables, from what I read, cannot reduce but can increase leh...U may check with ur Coordinator again. If I not wrong, sat u confirm 38 tables, they will give u the percentage wedding cards for the 38 tables.

Bugbear,
For silver service, no choice on the portion of food and if others can't finish their share leh.
But still I prefer such silver VIP service.

Hi Sharlene, u have any idea if the individual portion if big? Eg: for prawn dishes, how many prawns given, etc? I also like such silver service, but just a little concerned on the portion

Hi Bugbear,

Went for my food tasting...only one prawn per plate but the prawn is bigger than the normal laksa prawn.

Has anyone choose the ballroom setting? What is the colour of flowers did you choose? Do you have to top up if you ask for colours other than the normal red or pink roses?

Sharlene,
That sounds pretty risky. If I have increase of number of guest, then I won't have enough invitation cards liao. So i must start planning my guest list very carefully.

Chamonique,
Was the food tasty??? Only 1 prawn??? Eh, i don't think it's going to be enough for the guys. Oh no, any comments on this from ex-FH brides or grooms?

Hi CaratSoup

If u hv increase no. of guest, just let them know and they will give u additional cards without hving to pay. But if there isn't any increase, you will hv to pay for the additional cards.

Most of my guests has good comments on the sharkfin soup.

Hi Fong2,

I notice from your ballroom seeting pics, you have chosen the solitaire for the centrepiece and there were red roses, peach roses and lilies. Do you have to top up for the peach roses?

Hi Caratsoup,

The portion was ok during the food tasting but I had some friends who had attended wedding at Fullerton before did complain about the portion. I think for ladies, the portion should be enough but for some guys, might not be sufficient.

seems like some are quite worried abt the individual serving for the food. I remember when I first met the coordinator (who has since left), he said that it's possible to do it the normal way (i.e. leave the dishes at the centre for guests to take themselves). But he wouldn't advise that cos' that means the beautiful centrepiece on the table would have to be removed before the dinner starts... a bit wasted lah.

Fong2,
Thanks for your information. Can you send me your AD pics of the ballroom set-up as well to [email protected]

Chamonique,
I think it's very jia lat if the guest don't have enough to eat. I heard Pan Pac's portion is very big. My mum was complimenting that the food portion was huge and food was tasty so I guess guests do comment on whether there's enough to eat or not.

Jam,
I think it's better to serve the food individually like what you said. But I think for the price we pay, the guest deserve to eat more than 1 prawn huh? So funny I think. I think I will confirm with the coordinator regarding the food portion when I go for my food tasting.

fyi, i had the sat mid-priced package and the prawn they served for cold dish was half a medium one during foodtasting!!!

we complained cos it leaves people with bad impression (my sis and mum were traumatised for weeks whenever they had prawns...)...and so insisted they increase to one prawn pax. mebbe that's why there's now one full prawn... eh...so it's a big improvement already...

Hi CaratSoup,

I agree with you. The guests will complain after the dinner. Recently one of my friend had her wedding in a restaurant in Harbour front. I didnt attend cos it was too near to mine. One of my girlfriends told me the whole group of them went to Pasir Panjang for Roti Prata cos the serving was little and not filling for them. Kind of embarrassing if I were to hear my guests telling me that.

Hi Gals...

seems like the food portion seems to be quite small
1 prawn per pax is quite terrible having guests to complain that they are not full at the end of the dinner and worse is that Fullerton only serves 8-course...

Caratsoup...can update us on the food portion after ur food tasting pls? many thanks!

Hi Chamonique & Bugbear,
It's quite worrying leh. I don't want the guest to give a big ang pow because of the venue and end up criticising that the dinner didn't even tickle their stomach. Anywayz, I will definitely update u guys after my food tasting. Now my biggest headache is that my PIL & parents will flip and criticise the food portion when they go for food tasting (assuming that they really serve one prawn) I can't imagine what they are going to say

CaratSoup, don worry so much...maybe the prawn will come with some other garnishes?? hopefully will be enough
Any intention of adding 1 more dish to the menu? BTW, did your parents or PILs know that you and ur FH have booked Fullerton? Or after booking then tell them? I dunno if i should bring my parents or FH parents to go see the venue first or just confirm :p

went to my food tasting recently...

they serve 1 big prawn per pax. that's a confirmation.... comes with prob 4 beans or so..

portions are not very big.. it's just nice for a girl... but might be inadequate for a guy..

their courses are not the normal hotel banquet dishes.. more extraordinary.. using different kind of ingredients.. like "bai ling" mushrooms and truffle based sauce.. more ex stuff..

Caratsoup/Buybear/Chamonique,
Most hotel I attended nowadays mostly come with 8 course dinner already. So far, my friends that attended wedding dinner at Fullerton, no one did complained abt the food portion being small or not filling, in fact, most of them hardly ate leh, always see alot of wastage when I attend the dinner and after food served, pple just yi si yi si eat only.

Eh...can't really compare the price u pay for Fullerton to match everything perfect leh, coz actually its a 6 star hotel and more for the ambience and reputation. Food wise, if really that concern then may have to consider other hotel with better food or top up more $ to add in one more dish leh. My personal opinion la.

Hi CaratSoup

I've just sent u the link to the fullerton ballroom setting.

So far only a few of my hubby's male colleagues mentioned that the food portion is not filling. But this is fine dining, which I think old pple and some pple will not appreciate. :p

hie fong2,

do you mind if you share your AD settings with me as well. my email is [email protected]

caratsoup: ahhh.. please do let us know what are your thoughts on the food after your tasting yah? which package did you take?

bugbear and Chamonique: i think that it really depends on the type of people going to the wedding yah? but i think my relatives will prob flip too with too little to eat.. i agreee with fong2, not alot of people will appreciate fine dining..
i am also torn between good food with good portions and ambience..i agree that at the end of the day i dun wan my guests to give me a big angpow becoz of the venue but end up having to go to lau pa sa to eat supper.

any gers know how much is it to top up another dish?

Morning Gals...

Yup yup, i do agree with fong2 that not all ur guests will appreciate this kind of fine dining...especially the old folks
But then hor, it's usually the old folks (relatives) that will 'complain' about the food...heheh...

Chomecc, i did enquire about the additional dish, according to my coord, she mentioned somewhere between $40+++? For a normal meat dish...but if u have a dish in mind, best to check it out with the coord. They will be able to give you more accurate advice

i'm not sure if the prawn that chamonique was talking about is the cold dish...

jus to clarify...my prawn dish was prawn salad in the cold dish...there're about 5 different items for cold dish...so dun have to worry about it looking too miserable...

i cannot say that the portions are big cos most of the other cold dish selections...there's only one serving i.e. one slice of duck, one rib etc.

bugbear: wow then with the extra $30 we ahve to pay for year 2006 and $40 for an extra dish.. its going to be so exp..

pheb: how about the portions for the other dishes??

hi chomecc

i can only advice you on my foodtasting portions (8 people attended so fish and chicken dishes appeared very generous)...i cannot remember the AD portion cos it was all served in a plate (they saved courses 2-7 for consumption ensuite after the banquet)...so can't really tell...

as mentioned, cold dish, it's one selection each e.g. one roll, one slice of duck/ribs, one or half a prawn. sharksfin soup...hardly any sharksfin, not sure if enuf for second helping...doubt so. the sharksfin appears to be mixed into the broth at time of serving. chicken and fish dishes were generous cos i assume the size of chicken and fish were meant for 10 pax. tofu abalone dish had only one slice of abalone each, scallop also one or two scallop each, noodles was quite a lot. tangyuan desert was also one tangyuan each.

so...how do you find the portions?

Bugbear,
I may be upgrading some dishes so I doubt I will have the budget to have an extra dish.

Chomecc,
I will keep you posted about my food tasting
I think my package is called the harmony package.

Fong2,
Thanks for the pics. Will take a look at them later. I agree it's fine dining and its the older generation who will not be used to it.

Pheb,
From your description, it sounds pretty decent leh. I will go check it out and let all FH brides to be informed.

By the way, the hotel helped saved the food from 2nd to 7th course for your consumption after the banquet?

Hi Chamonique

Sorry i missed your posting. :p

I didn't top up for the champaigne roses. I actually request for the whole bouquet to be champaigne roses (the lily is included in the package) but Delia suggested that a bit of red roses will be better so that the whole ballroom will not appear too pale. She assured me that this combination will look nice, which it did.

Hi CaratSoup

Not sure if the hotel will help to save the food for u. Maybe u can try asking your coordinator or get your in-laws to reserve for u. For me, the food was not reserved. I only savoured the 1st, 4th & last dish. :p

Caratsoup,
I did checked with my coordinator before, u can specifically ask the banquet manager to reserve the food for u, must inform the coordinator before hand and let the banquet manager know on that day too, they will deliver up to your suite, and even heat it up for u

Caratsoup

yes, the hotel served us courses 2-7 in the suite later. dinner was served warm. in retrospect, i'm sure our families would have preferred to have their dinner served later with us but hotel mentioned that the quality of the food will not be there. q surprised that fong2 did not get to enjoy her dinner. thot it's standard practice.

btw, imho, it may not be necessary to upgrade many dishes...cos u may end up paying more than the most ex package...for certain dishes that you're not completely pleased...let the chef know that u prefer to have this and that...try not to be too open to paying more for your new requests. if your requests are reasonable, i'm sure they should accept them. like i insisted on one prawn rather than half a prawn, i changed one cold dish item- grapes to another which is ribs at no extra cost. i'm not sure if this has led to the sharks fin broth quality to be very starchy with scant amt of sharks fin.

Hi Caratsoup...i agree with pheb...try not to upgrade the dishes...maybe instead of upgrading, u can nego with the coord to make a switch and see what they say?

Pheb, i think there is another prawn dish with beans or something like that...Heard that they actually served 1 prawn and a couple of beans only....so quite worried about the portion of the food served

Pheb, Sharlene & Bugbear,
Thanks for sharing. Ok, I will try to change some dishes to something of the same value. See what they have to offer first. So i should discuss this with them before the food tasting session right?

Sharlene, Pheb,
i also didn't know that we can actually ask the hotel to reserve the food for the couple. Always tot they the couple have no chance to taste their own banquet food. Ok, at least now I know that Fullerton can do that for us. Sounds great!!!

CaratSoup

hee...i din request for the food to be served later...they just did! cos after first dish, you'll need to go up to change for 2nd march-in, thereafter the toasting and table to table shots. strangely, they insist on serving the dessert. only after vip table is done with the dessert will it be served to your guests. this is so that you can be at the thank-you line to catch guests who skip dessert and leave early.

btw, there should be no extra charge if you change the style a dish is prepared i.e. ingredients are largely the same.

not to diss the food but we all find the food a bit not here not there cos it's supposed to be fusion style. there's no strong culinary inclination...a bit of canton style, teochew etc...very untraditional...can be good...can be bad...a bit confusing and unsettling if you like your chinese food to be more standard

Pheb,
That's thumbs up service if they had taken their own initiative to serve you food after the banquet. Goody!! strange that they did not do that for Fong2. Think I will just remind them just in case they overlook this little 'bonus' service

Wah, have to go change right after first dish?? Was hoping to wear the WG a little longer. Was it very rush for you (in terms of photo-taking at each table) despite changing into EG after first dish?

Fusion food is fine so long as the end product tastes good I guess. Heh

Hi pheb & CaratSoup

We didn't know that Fullerton will reserve the food. I guess maybe my in-laws have help themselves with our servings. Becos i heard fr 1 of them that their teenager was "complaining" that the portion is not enough & question "how come no rice"... heeheehee...

But I think by the time the dinner ended, both of us were too tired (or drunk) that we dun hv any appetite. Anyway, we had our afternoon tea & wedding cake served in our suite few hrs before the cocktail reception.