The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

Am quite new here. Am tempted to take Fullerton but their price are on the steeper side.

Wondering has any of you held your wedding with Fullerton and would it be possible to give an estimation of the total amt incurred for a wedding in Fullerton?

erm...i managed to get a $800+++ flat rate for all liquor brot in...but changed mind in the end...so did not use this offer...those really intending to bring in more than 50 bots...you should really try negotiating...very important to be on very frenly terms in the first place...be nice and they'll be nice to you...you'll find that you'll get things done more easily...

Hi Gals!
Thanks all for the info.

Pheb, CaratSoup...so good to hear that you gals managed to get flat rate. I will be SO happy if they can give me flat rate of 1k or better still, 800+++! I should be looking at at least 60 bottles...hhmm...i must go nego further with the coordinator

CKE,
Ur FH is a pilot?

Matka,
My ex-coordinator directly quoted me $20+++ for cockage without me even asking.

Pheb,
Dun think I will be bring so many bottles of wine is thus stick to cockage charge better rite? Currently my package includes 12 bottles cockage waiver free.

Hi Sharlene

My wedding was slightly over a year ago and so when they quoted us the corkage.. that was abt 2 years ago? Not sure what their policies are/were like. Somehow it didn't occur to us to negotiate on the corkage.. probably overlooked that. So when the 'discount' came, it was a nice surprise.

I suppose they are probably flexible in that aspect. But this flat rate deal sounds like a really good deal! Darn, I shld've gone for it ;)

Hi hi...

So sad.
The coord is not going to lower my corkage charge :'(
When i asked about kids less than 6, she told me to opt for the kids menu. I thought i read somewhere up in the postings that kids less than 6 does not need to pay extra?

Bugbear,
The kids menu how much? Is it applicable for kids from how old to how old?

Matka,
Flat rates sounds like good offer, but since I will not be bringing more than 10 bottles extra on top on my current 12 bottles of free cockage and complimentary wine per table, thus don't think its cheaper. Thus better to have $20+++ charged per bottle instead. But dun think they will lower the cockage for mine leh since I never heard anything lower than this.

hi Sharlene, the kids meal is $40+++ consists of a soup, a main (eg: fish & chips) and a dessert. I don't know for how old, but i enquired based on kids below 6. Your package consists of complimentary wine per table izzit? How much did you pay for your package then? I tried negotiating for waiver...cannot. Think Fullerton is v ery strict on waiver huh. The thing i find it quite weird is that their house-wine is priced quite highly and based on the corkage charge quoted, couples can easily buy wine from outside. I personally feel that they should have priced their house-wine lower, then entice couples to purchase wine from them instead of charging corkage.

Bugbear,
I think my package are quite different with yours.
When I sign up, weekday $738+++, Sat $898+++ and Sun $798+++. I had compliementary wine per table and I managed to negotiate waiver for 12 bottles of hard liquor/wine for free. Also exchanging the wedding favors for extra barrel of beer on top of the current 30L of beer. The house wine they quoted me is $38 per bottle. No need to pay cockage for the wine if buy from them. I guess my package was a very good deal. :P

hie,

I am planning to have my wedding in 2006. I went to fullerton this year too for their wedding show. Do anyone know how early do i have to book with them? can any of you share your experiences with me on your wedding at fullerton? I went to the bridal suite and take a look during the show and realise that they don't really have a view yes? Can i also check with you gers do they normally give better perks during their shows? scared that august next year will be too late for me to book 2006 date
. Last but not least, i have seen their menu and they do not have the options of other dishes as compared to Pan pac and other hotels, so how is their food like?

Hi chomecc,

I had my wedding there early this year.

The view of the bridal suite (it's called the Loft Suite) depends on your luck; to a certain degree. Those who's room are to the left of the building will have a view of the Merlion. Those to the right will have a less obstructed view of the sea. Mine was about the middle, so could see a bit of One Fullerton as well as the sea & Benjamin Sheares Bridge. All in all, not too bad.

Not sure about the shows since we just had a 'normal' booking.

It really depends on your date. Saturdays are popular as are Sundays (for obvious reasons). If you need to pick auspicious dates, they are in heavier demand. So, if you are kiasu, book now. Anyway, as I understand it, you can book your date without a deposit. They will hold the date for you until someone else wants the date, then they will ask you for a deposit or release it to the other couple. I don't have a Chinese calendar handy but August tends to be the Seventh month which isn't too popular so you might be ok.

Actually, they do have choices for dishes. You will generally be able to swap dishes for similarly priced dishes (I changed the sharks-fin soup & the dessert). You can discuss this with the co-ordinator. I was told also that you can pick something that cost more, but you will just have to top up on the package price.

Chomecc
When u intend to plan your wedding in 2006? If its year end in 2006, then its ok u can wait till their next wedding show to book, if not, I think u can start to book by early next yr coz the dates are normally very popular. I book mine more than a year ago though mine is the weekday. Even my first choice date, also weekday, are taken up when I wanna book last time. Wedding shows sometimes do throw in more freebies, but depends on whether u like those they thrown in or not. Also they mostly will increase their price by next yr wedding show already.

Chomecc is rite by saying u can swap dishes of the same value, not a problem.

Chomecc,
The last time, Fullerton told me to confirm within 2 wks after I had my first meeting with them to settle the deposits eventhough no once else waiting for my date leh...

hie gers,

thanks for your prompt answers

Archie:are we able to choose the loft suite or is it pre-designated? coz i went to take a look at the loft suite during the wedding show and my hubby was complaining that all he could see was the bus stop

but i do love their bath rooms.. it looks so cozzzy.. yah right now i am trying to fgure a way how to get a date for year 2006 that is auspicious. we have plans for the wedding to be after the lunar 7th month.
u mean i can have the option to choose dishes? the menu that they provide is like fixed so i tot that they are not able to change any thing from the menu. so how do u make a choice on what dishes can be swapped?

how was the food? coz i have heard reviews that they are okay only . how abt the portions?

Sharlene: i was thinking of after the lunar 7th mth. but have no actual dates . when do you think will be good to sign up? their wedding shows are like in august, which i am afraid that by that time if i wan to book the date that i want will be out.

So do i have to make a deposit and confirm within like weeks of meeting with them?

Hi hi Gals!!

Sharlene, your deal is a very good deal. The packages that i have on hand is 768+++, 828+++, 898+++ for the harmony menu and it comes with only an option of additional beer, 12 bottle wine complimentary or 24 bottle waiver. VERY difficult to get them to waive more

Chomecc, have u talked to any coordinator yet? Yup, u can actually change the menu. Talk to the coord with regards to wot u want to change and they will advice if u need to top up or if it is possible

Hi sharlene,

I'm guessing you are asking me?

Actually, I realise Fullerton doesn't seem to be inconsistent with their handling of deposits. I had to pay the 2nd deposit but I know of couples who didn't. The date I wanted was actually booked by someone but without a deposit. My coordinator couldn't contact them after a week, so released the date to me after I paid the deposit. I think the best way would be to talk to them. Tell them you are still short-listing & to hold the date for you. I doubt it will be a problem.

The bridal suite is the Loft Suite. If you want anything better than that, you'll probably need to top-up. Lower than that are rooms, not suites (ie, just a bed with a toilet, like normal hotel rooms). Like I said, depends on your luck. I couldn't see the bus stop from the suite when I stayed there.

The lunar 8th month is always popular. I'm fairly certain you'll need to book early. I remember someone mentioning before that Fullerton only take a year booking in advance, but I could be wrong.

Yup. Speak to the coordinator. He/she will offer some alternative dishes if there are any particular dishes you don't like. If you have particular requests, can check with them.

Archie, i also agree with u that Fullerton doesn't seem to be very consistent between coordinators. Was a little disappointed coming from a prestigous hotel like them

hie..

so who is the coordinator that i should speak to? seems to me that fullerton quite rigid yes? and also can i check with you gers how is the portion for the food? and what if i dun have the date yet? and u mean i am not able to make a booking earlier than a year?

I agree with Bugbear that they are not very consistent with their coordinators and they do not provide very excellent service. By the way Delia is still around though we did not ask her if she was leaving. My HB gave her a call last Fri afternoon and she did not return the call till 10 plus that night. I think their internal coordination is not very good. They seem too busy and overloaded with too much work which is bad for us. Till now, I have not been called up and informed of what's in the pipeline. Their level of service is pretty disappointing.

Hi hi....

Caratsoup, i totally agree with u. I personally find that they are not very professional. Not up to the standard which i would expect from Fullerton. Was very disappointed. I feel like going to give the catering director a call and liaise with him/her.

I think they are very short-handed izzit? So far, i only heard of 2 coordinator and 1 director. From they website, they are recruiting catering mgrs...

Hehhe...think after our weddings, we all can be catering mgrs already...with all the experience of negotiating, say 'no no no' to almost everything the couple requests for...heheh :p

CaratSoup, when's ur AD? If they don call u, i suggest u call them...don wait for them to call u...else later u might be left with a short time to handle the outstanding issues.

hi...jus to share...

i was also quite disturbed by their not so professional service...FH is indeed very very shorthanded...delia used to be handling the bulk of the work...i used to get very frustrated not being able to reach her...i'd get her emails late in the night...sometimes a couple of days late...

but then i realised that she's always working till quite late...even on sundays...i've always told myself...no matter how irritated i am with the service i will never make a nuisance out of myself...no point complaining or straining the relationship...at the end of the day...delia's doing her job and trying to help us...and i'm extremely grateful for that...

not to say nice things about delia, but she's very overworked and underappreciated...i think there're couples who have been nasty to her cos she's not so inefficient having to deal with so many people and things alone...but do try to empathise and put yourself in others shoes before getting all worked up ya?

be nice and others will be nice to you...

and yes...if you have something you need done, do be proactive and approach your coordinator...FH seems to be very popular...they were like having weddings every nite in october!

hmmm... i agree with pheb, im sure fullerton is very busy with weddings. i mean if we need to book like one year ahead for our wedding at fullerton, it does say something its popularity, no? and yeah, with such heavy workload and only 2 (?) coordinators and 1 catering mgr to handle the numerous weddings they have (every nite?), it's gonna be back-breaking work im sure...

so my sympathies are with delia as well... she was handling my portfolio and yeah she wld return my call late in the night about 10 plus on a sunday night... then i was already wondering where the poor girl gets to have private time for herself if she's working till so late on a sunday night!

perhaps fullerton *shld* be employing more ppl to ease the current workload and make the whole wedding process more efficient for us fullerton brides/grooms... and bugbear u are funny leh!!! that we can all be wedding coordinators now and say 'no no no' to every request couples make!!! LOL!!

Hahah!! Rokko...think by the time we finished researching on the hotels, we would have gathered what most hotels can and cannot offer

I totally agree with Rokko that they should try to get additional staff. Delia's definitlely not at fault cos if I were her, I think I will get pretty frus too, 1 person's salary but probably doing 3 person's job.

Bugbear, my AD is in Feb and I feel a little lost at times, wondering if they had forgotten about me *sob* Just wish they can be more reassuring.

CaratSoup, think u should give them a call. Try call till u can get Delia? Have u dropped her an email? So at least if she happen to read ur mails, then she will reply or call u back? Now till FEb is a little near.

I need to clarify something...

As many have said, the coordinators are way overloaded. But the service I got from them have been nothing short of wonderful. They may not return your calls immediately, but certainly, our queries were answered in short order. The service from all the staff on our big day was fantastic. Compared to what some of my friends got from other hotels, I think Fullerton service was definitely a notch above.

My coordinator was Elizabeth & even though she was on maternity leave in December, she was back at work in January putting the finishing touches to my dinner. She stayed with us until the second march-in on a Sunday. We felt so bad, taking so much time away from her newborn.

All in all, I must say that the entire event was memorable, espacially due to the service we got from Fullerton.

hie..

ahhhh seems to me that FH is super popular and that they are really overworked ah... sigh... i rem looking for delia whenhelping a gerfren to source for her rom but in the end i think it was her assistant who got back to me.. sigh.. who is the coordinator that i should speak to? seems to me that fullerton quite rigid yes? and also can i check with you gers how is the portion for the food? and what if i dun have the date yet? and u mean i am not able to make a booking earlier than a year?

Hi Archie,
It's good to here that the service that you received from FH was first class. I am looking forward to my AD in feb and hopefully I would have a good experience just as you did

Hi Chomecc,
The coordinator you should speak to is Delia but if your questions are generic, her assistant may be able to help you. You can go to Fullerton website and see the lists of catering managers there. You should be able to get hold of at least one of them.

Hi Bugbear,
I think I will wait a little more. It doesn't feel great that we are spending quite a bit of money there and I still have to be the one following up on them. Probably wait till end Nov which is another 2 weeks?

So far the experience for my HB and me with Fullerton are wonderful! They are very professional as compared to other hotels we went to. During that time, Garey was the one who had attended to him, and even when Garey is still there, they were already very busy already, much to say now Garey had left. I heard from my friend in the hotel line that recruiting catering mgr are not easy actually coz long workings hours and tiring. Thus guess its only these period short to shortage of manpower that some of you experience the drop in their service level, I'm sure everything will be back to track once they had managed to hire new coordinators!

Caratsoup,
After 2 mths I paid my deposit, Fullerton did send a checklist to inform to contact them about card collection abt 3 mths away and contact them to negotiate banquet deco and food tasting abt 2 mths before only. U did not receive that letter previously? Since ur wedding in Oct, U can try to contact them in December to choose and collect your card for printing

Archie,
regarding ur posting above, think I refer to wrong person la, its Chomecc asking, not me. I had book the date with Fullerton long ago.

hie caratsoup.. so i should look for delia? is she the only lady available?

Do you think i can actually book for my wedding in 2006? and can i ask u gers how was the food at fullerton and the set up ?

Hi Sharlene,

Their services really seems inconsistent to me cos I didnt receive the checklist that you have. In fact I have to email them to ask about the wedding cards and the food tasting just 2 months b4 my wedding as I did not hear from them at all after I had paid my deposit in March. Furthmore I wasnt even inform about the change of co-ordinator until I emailed my previous co-ordinator about the cards and food tasting. My HTB was even questioning how come a 6 * hotel like Fullerton is so slacking in their service. I just hope they are not so slacking on my AD.

sharlene, unfortunately i didn't get that checklist from them either, and i paid the deposit during the wedding show (in august). we've discussed the terms & clauses in the contract, finalised and signed the contract, but no word from them since... so i have no clue of the timeline involved! but thanks for informing us - at least now i know i shld start bugging them 3 mths ahead!

so this means caratsoup, you're in good time!!! hehee... yep why dun u start bugging them end nov/early dec since ur AD is in feb... dun worrie ok? *pat pat* let us know if u need any help hor

eh archie, thanks for ur reassuring words to all the panicky (incl. me definitely!) brides here... hee... im sure fullerton will rise to the occasion! i've always had wonderful experiences (as a wedding guest) at fullerton, which is one of the main reasons why i'd love to hold my own wedding there
ooooh and of cos the bridal suite as well was a HUGE pull factor... hee

hi chomecc, i believe caratsoup has already answered ur qtn... you can speak to delia or her assistant (vivian i think), otherwise i understand there's another new lady called diane? there's also nicole but i believe she's the catering director

wei, charmonique, we sama sama posted about same time leh!!! yah lor i was also bemoaning about how come i wasnt given checklists of sorts...

hi girls

actually i think it's quite early to be bugging your coordinator 3 months in advance.

for my case, i had food tasting one month before AD, met up with them to discuss the banquet, favours etc about 2.5 weeks before AD. i was getting panicky by then cos like most of us here...we'd like to settle as many things as possible...but delia mentioned that we're in fact early...anyway most of us will not be able to confirm stuff like no. of confirmed guests, tables etc till 1 or 2 weeks before AD...

from experience, things seem to be forever changing in FH...confirming things early, IMHO, may not be so good...e.g. if there's a change in person in charge...also i believe they have their internal timetable to get things done...so if we insist on doing stuff that's scheduled for later to be done now...they wun have time to handle others' stuff which is due now...

btw...i din't get any checklist or anything...

just some thots

rokko.. thanks

another question.. sorry gers.. me abit confused... are there themes for fullerton and can i check with you gers how are the portions of the food coz i have never been to a wedding at the fullerton though
and heard that the bath tub in the bridal suite has jacuzzi services??

Hiya Gals!!

Chomec, there are i think 2 stage deco to choose from and i think 4 different table settings to choose from. There are also a couple of favours to choose from. I also not too sure about the portion of the food, but the food shouldn't be too bad

Why don't you try and make and appt with the coord to view the actual settings, the different themes (photos) as well as the suite? I did not get the chance to view the suite when i met with them. Fully booked. so sad

Hi rokko,

Seems that only 2 of us r in the same boat...kekeke

Hi Pheb,

Can U advise whether the Loft suite is near to the Ballroom? Do you have to walk a long distance to get to the suite? I am contemplating whether to change my CS when sending the guests out after the banquet...not sure if I have the time to do so.

chamonique, wait! i know the answer to your question! i kaypoh answer first can? there are lifts just next to the ballroom which will go directly to the corridor where all the loft suites are! quite quite convenient i believe!
ok pheb, correct me if im wrong!

Chamonique, if u are worried about time, maybe you can ask ur coord to see if the smaller functions rms are in use on that day or not. See if they can make-shift a changing area in those small function rms next to the ballroom...so u won need to travel up to the suite.

BTW, will u gals take the lift from the suite to the ballroom or will u take the lift to the ground level and walk down the stairs to the ballroom?

bugbear, im personally going to be taking the lift direct to the ballroom... otherwise too many stairs! the stairs inside the ballroom are more than enuff for me already! hee

hey don't remember asking u this but bugbear, when's ur AD? and who's ur coordinator btw?

Rokko, i have not sign with Fullerton yet. Last week just met the coord. Now waiting for her to reply to some of my queries. I am liaising with Diana. my AD still far far away. Looking at 2006
but it seems like Fullerton is very popular...so i tot maybe i should start researching earlier

Anyone having Diana as coordinator?

bugbear, orr i see... always good to have a headstart! i panicked a little when i started researching for banquet locations to find that many popular hotels already had tentative bookings on the dates i wanted! and all the time the fiance saw no urgency in booking banquet locations at all, thought i was stressed up over nothing until he realised too that popular hotels get booked really early ahead! hee

Hey rokko!! Exactly what i am going thru now. FH doesn't seem a bit worried at all! sigh...makes me feel like i am 'so eager to marry off' like that

So now, i just research on my own and did not tell him anything...let him stress abit later on. *hopfully he will get stressed*

hi rokko and chamonique

the lifts that go directly to the ballroom are indeed near the corridor to the loft suites. BUT, it all depends on your luck where your suite is...if say yours has a pretty unobstructed view of the merlion...you'll prob have to walk a distance to the lifts...cos if you can imagine...the loft suites line the second floor facade facing the sea and the lifts are prob directly opp the entrance to the carpark at one fullerton or furthur down. my suite had a partial view of one fullerton and the sea...next suite closer to lift confirm blocked view of sea...the other next door prob had unobstructed view but my suite was like above the road to VCH...but i know mine's not the last suite...the normal rooms are opposite the suites.

if you intend to do many changes, it's best to inform your coordinators and the managers on the day itself (reason being that you'll be seeing the two managers running the whole show for the first time at 5pm on the day of the banquet but you can let your coordinator know beforehand)...cos the standard programme or procedure/timing is for one change at second entrance...so need to let them know so that they can advice you on when to scram to change and when to serve you dessert etc.

hth

Sharlene,
I did not received my checklist as well. Wierd huh? Hehe

Rokko, Chamonique, Sharlene,
Thanks for your advise. Very sweet of you girls.

Bugbear,
I am also going to take the lift down. I get gan cheong quite easily so i definitely don't want to walk down so many flight of stairs (one in the ballroom is enough liao) in case i go tumbling down. I actually asked Delia if any brides has ever tripped while walking down the stairs in the ballroom. And she said zero accident so far.

Chamonique,
I also intending to do another change for sending my guest off. I guess we just have to make a dash. So far, i think only Shangrila has a powder room next to the ballroom (the bigger ballroom) for the brides to do her change.

The checklist I got was not a piece of paper but something my co-ordinator told me during one of our discussions. Something like a timetable of things to do leading up to the wedding.

My timetable was probably a bit skewed since my co-ordinator was going off on maternity leave so she wanted to sort out as much as possible before she went.

I agree with sharlene. The job is terribly stressful. I doubt they have weekends or too many days off since they always seems to be around for one event or another.

For those intending to do one more change for sending off your guests, it's certainly possible. My wife did that. Discuss this with the floor manager on the night. BTW, you dictate the timetable for the night. The floor manager will give suggestions as to when to do what, but you have complete control. eg. if you want to have an additional change of dress, he would suggest when is the best time to start taking photos & when you will need to go upstairs to change. He will even come by to remind you when it is time.

As for the food portions, I think it is sufficient for one person. They serve individual portions so I guess if you have friends who are big eaters, they might think is not enough. But, all in all, I still get compliments on the food from friends, 9 months after my wedding.

Chamonique,
Before I paid for my deposit, the coordinator did asked for one of the mailing address to send me the contract, I gave them my add, they did not inform me they will send me a checklist. The checklist was attached together with the letter by the director of sales to inform me that Garey, my coordinator, had left and Delia will take over till further notice. I only received this letter quite sometime after Gerey left. In the checklist, they did inform us to contact the coordinator ourself when near to our wedding though.

Based one previous brides AD experience should be good. So far the other department and staff I encounter all provide excellent service. Rokko is rite on the lift to the loft suite, very convenient.

Rokko,
U may keep a lookout, coz i also received the checklist few mths after I signed the contract, but partly to inform me the change of coordinator. I do agree with u that the bridal suite is a huge PULL factor!!

Maybe I go checkout the checklist detail on the time schedule they advice to u all and post it here since most of u never receive that?

Chomecc.
Fullerton provide VIP silver service, thus the food portions are individually served, unlike other hotels. EG, prawns dish, only one prawn served on an individual plate for each guest.

Bugbear,
The lift will go down straight to the ballroom, why must go ground level first then walk down the stairs?