The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

cham,

nothing much extra cos the flowers and decor they give is quite comprehensive...

i did requested for all the candles to be lavender colour. cos have a lavender theme... so all candles be it tea light candles, floating candles, standing candles and bowl candles and lavender in colour. need to top up for this

Bugbear,
They will not waive all bottles of cockages, only certain bottles only. I thought my previous coordinator told me the wine at $38 in hse? This price will not charge cockage.

Winterhakone,
Where u intend to go for ur outdoor shoots? U with Utopia or Chris Ling ah? Ur gown fittings got photos?

Hi Sharlene

Our invites doesn't include the Fullerton pics & my pics. What u hv seen is just the invites (with the front part) laid on top of the guest book (with the Fullerton pics) & the back of the invites laid on 1 page of my wedding album. Maybe u will find it plain. We find it simple yet nice. Something which nobody will suspect it's fr a hotel.

Hi Bugbear

I think now they r introducing the new package since the last wedding show. Not sure what's the difference between the new & the old package. My package includes complimentary house pour (red/white) wine per confirmed table. We had a total of 32 tables & maybe becos our dinner was on a monday, the total no. of wine consumed is exactly 32 bottles.

Hi Fong, wow...i saw that package as well, i think it lasts for a while only and now they switch to either 1 additional barrel of beer, 18 bottles of wine, or 24 bottles waiver
It's quite far from the 1 bottle per confirmed table. I would have grabbed this option if given the choice. My guests are mostly wine drinkers, so i think i am looking at a min of 60 bottles

hi fong2, would it be possible for u to share ur photos with me as well? mine's gonna be in sept next year... thanks so much! my email add: [email protected]

hi bugbear, fong2 is right, they have changed the package since the last wedding show... the complimentary one bottle of wine per table was a very attractive perk, wasnt it? u mentioned u are thinking of having 60 bottles of wine? may i ask how many tables are u intending to have, and is ur wedding gonna be on a weekday or weekend?

pheb,
thanks for sharing ur experience at fullerton.
abt the wine, wanna ask how come you bought the same brand from outside? if it's $18/bottle, after paying for corkage, wouldn't it add up to be abt the same as if we get from Fullerton direct (think $38+++)?

thks!

Hi rokko, indeed, the 1 bottle per table is very attractive! I am looking at ard 42-45 tables, on a Sat or Sun. Any advice if 60 bottles is enough? For beer, i am looking at ard 60l as well. that is why i am quite concerned with the costs incurred on wine/beer...

hi bugbear, aiyah dun say advice leh, im not qualified to dish out any advice cos im one blur bride!!! but will definitely share with u whatever i know!

i have 48 tables but with some tables of 11 (likely guest list going to be >500)... was advised to have 1.5 bottles of wine per table, cos mine's gonna be on a sunday, guests are rather unlikely to drink so much given that the next day is a working day... but i guess if u have decided on a sat, u might want to consider catering slightly more wine...

also, are ur guests more beer or wine drinkers? ours are likely to be more of wine drinkers, so we think the 30L beer should about suffice...

but all these are based on rough estimates... more imptly, i have been advised that i shld appoint someone to be the beverage IC on the AD - so that he can coordinate (on my behalf) whether to open another barrel of beer, another consignment of wine, etc... so something else for u to consider as well!

hey pheb! *waves* u still around??? hehee thanks girl for sharing ur experiences at fullerton!!! eh if i need to know more next time can i still kar-chiao u and ask u? hehee

jam, hey are u the jam in TW thread? think i briefly chatted with u before?? so how's preps? gone for ur fittings already?

hi girls

my package came with free corkage for 12 bottles of hard liquor...and we din have hard liquor so we used it for wine. additional bots would be charged $15+++ corkage but thankfully we din consume that much. we had 38 tables on sat...total consumption was 55 bots...we din have yum seng so that prob is why we managed to have such a low rate.

hth...glad to be of help...

rokko...sure no prob...better to PM me cos i'm not always checking in here

hi rokko,
yes yes, the same jam here =)
long time no see! good to see this thread active again....
so hve u decided on ur bs already? me going for 1st fitting next wk! =)

pheb - that's a good idea! actually i don't think i'll have much hard liquor too, maybe can exchange the free corkage with wine as well. not sure if you are still checkign in here... may I know where u got the wines from? sounds quite reasonable...(pai seh, what does HTB stand for?)

pheb,
thanks! the contact is very very helpful!
saw on the pricelist that the wine is not cheap. you must have bargained for a very very good discount =)

Hi rokko...thanks loads for the info. I was also told by friends to cater ard 1.5 bottles...but if Sat, then will require more. Friends and colleagues more wine drinkers, but FH side of relatives, the older folks are beer drinkers...so i have to cater both wine and beer
Maybe do on a sun better huh...ppl will drink less cos the next day is a working day :p

Do you think 2 barrels of beer would be sufficient for the banquet ( I would be ordering red wine and hard liquor as well)? I was thinking of just servig cocktails and soft drinks during the reception and leave the beer to dinner? Is it appropriate?

Hi Pheb,
Can you still remember the website for the wedding favours?

Hi caratsoup, i personally think it's perfectly alright to serve beer/wine only when the dinner starts. Actually, i am planning to do that too...and i have been to weddings that couples did that as well

bugbear, yeah that's one of the plus points of having ur dinner on a sunday - ur guests will probably drink less! but on the flip side, ur frens prob wont hang around too late, so no chance to really party thru the night... ;p

caratsoup, yep i think if u're concerned about the flow of beer, it'd be ok to start serving beer/wine/hard liquor when dinner starts... we might actually do that as well...

as for wedding favours, i think CKE mentioned it in the posts above... it's www.impactsvs.com

Rokko, yeah, that the minus point of having on sun...have actually tot of Fri, but friends/relatives have to take leave on Fri. Reckon Sat is the best day...but the most ex day

Gals, is the wine corkage still staying at $20+++ or is it $30+++?? if only Fullerton can waive off the corkage charge :p

What are the wedding favours that we can choose from??

Bugbear,
I find 60 bottles abit too much but depends on ur guest. And beer 60 litle not enough. need at least 2 barrel for abt 30 tables thus urs need at least 3 barrels but if not alot drinking beer then u need at least 2 barrels. I had a few friends who cater 1 bottle wine per table but still few few bottles coz relative side dun really drink wine. The wine are the experiences of my colleagues and friends and beer advise frm my coordinator. The cockage they quoted me was $22.

Pheb,
The coordinator says 2 barrel more than enough. If not enough can always request more on the AD.

hi Bugbear, 1.5 bottles is a good gauge. Well, as long as you can return the unused bottles that's alright.

Sharlene, I had 40 tables... but in total, my guests consumed 60 bottles of wine, on top of the 60 litres of beer that we had. And our dinner was on a Sunday night. *gulp*

And we only started serving alcohol when dinner started. *double gulp*

i cater 2 bottles a table, ordered 60 bottles for 30 tables just in case... together with 6 bottles of hard liquor... but still quite worried not enough although it falls on a tuesday

Hi Gals!!

Thanks for all the advice. I think i'd better cater more wine and beer then...just in case

Sharlene...your coordinator only quoted u $22+++ for corkage? Hhmm, seems like Fullerton isn't very standardized when it comes to this? I read somewhere that the corkage quoted was $20 and yours is $22. For me, i was quoted $30+++. Must go confirm with the coordinator again

Cham, the package that i am looking at includes chair covers. Personally, i have not seen the actual setting without chair covers, but from the photo on the fullerton website, chairs without covers looks quite nice as well. The chairs itself looks quite good. How much is fullerton charging you for the seat covers? I think u can negotiate for them to throw it in. Don think it costs much for the hotel to throw in chair covers

hi girls

my corkage was $15+++ per bot...oops! initially it was $30+++ but as the banquet drew nearer...the price dropped...dunno why...

i had only one barrel of beer...really depends on your crowd.

i specifically instructed for beer and wine to be served at dinner...but they started serving when doors were open...must be very clear with them on this...

hey girls
oh dear i was quoted $30+++ for corkage as well! so we kinda figured it might be more worthwhile getting their inhouse wine, since it wld work out cheaper than getting it outside (which we'll still hafta add on the cockage fee)

hi chamonique, mine includes chair covers, and personally i think it wld definitely be nice to have chair covers - more elegant i suppose, than bare chairs... does ur package include the chair covers? thought fullerton's package has always included chair covers?

hi fong2, thanks for the photos, u looked really good and radiant on ur AD!
and i must say that ur PS photo (i assume that's the one with both of u in casual wear) was really nice leh! who took ur PS btw?

jam! yikes! forgot to answer ur previous qtn... hee... after agonising over ted wu or silhouette for a LONG while, and driving my FH crazy with my incessant qtn 'ted or sil', finally opted for sil... hvnt gone for any sessions yet cos my AD only in sept05 and we're planning not to have PS (for now, who knows we may change our minds?), so we're not in any real hurry to get the gowns done... so how's ur WG gonna be like? the signature ted wu beading? is urs the classic or couture range?
im sure it'll be lovely!!

Pheb, yr corkage is good! just $15+++. might even be cheaper to get wine outside + corkage if i were given the corkage to be $15+++

rokko...urs same as mine. if corkage is $30+++, then more worth while to get wines from the hotel...unless u have specific wine that you want to serve.

Heheh...me even thinking of serving wine on request only and half glass each time. Is it too much?? :p

bugbear, heard that fullerton's wine is just as good - did i imagine it or was it mentioned that the white wine is better than the red? hmmm... but i think most of my guests are red-wine drinkers... anyone knows whether fullerton's red wine is any good?

actually i think it's perfectly fine to serve wine on request (hey i thought they do that?) and half a glass each time... i'd attended a dinner at hyatt, and what they do is that they take away your wine glass and then give u a new glass of wine each time,.. but problem is, before i could even finish my glass of wine (still some left), the waiter had already taken away the glass and served me a new glass! quite a bit of wine wasted! i dun think fullerton works this way, do they? vaguely remember them topping up your glass instead of serving u a new glass each time...

Chamonique,
My package initially does not include chair covers, however, managed to get them throw in before I pay the deposit. If not gotta pay $2+++ for each chair cover.

Pheb,
How come ur cockage charged drop? Ur coodinator informed u?

Bugbear,
Sorry, I checked through my black and white contract again and cockage was $20+++ not $22.

CKE
Wah...weekday u also prepare so much wine? For me, I intend to just prepare that number bottle of wine, if consume finished then leave it as it is and will not worry over enough of not. Good also if not my friend and colleague will keep sabo us with wine :P heheh

Rokko, which red wine from fullerton are u referring to? If you are referring to "Willow Glen", i personally have tried that wine before and find it not too bad. For that kind of price, the wine is acceptable.

Wah, the waiter 'automatic' remove and serve u another glass of wine ar? I was thinking of even if guests finished their wine, will only serve another glass upon request...heheh

Hhmm...seems like my corkage is one of the higest quoted
will try and talk to the coord and see if they can reduce it.

Bugbear,
If I remember correctly, their current new package charged a higher price for cockage compared to the previous old package. Mine is the old package.

rokko...hee...it was my guests who mentioned that the white wine's better than the red...

jus a suggestion...try asking ur coordinator to come up with a flat rate if you intend to bring in a lot of wine...it worked in my time...not too sure about now...

hth

mine is a new package and they also charge 30+++ and seems like they refuse to budge on this...

shar,
yup, cater more cos husband military so will need more....

Fong2,
Thanks so much for the photos! really helpful cos' the last time we went to fullerton to sign the contract was early this year. can't really remember how everything looks anymore until we saw ur pix =)

CKE - urs is a military wedding? mine too! u mean military means more alcohol? hmm.... hve u decided how many pairs of sword bearers yet?

Hi hi...Jam,CKE, both of you having millitary wedding izzit? Ur husbands are regulars? Captains?

CKE...yah...mine also at 30+++ quite high huh. Reckon it's more worth while to get wine from the hotel.

jam,

yup, mine will be a military wedding...
normally, we will need more than usual..and need to expect a lot of sabo when walking from table to table... not only from liquor but those mixes which involve liquor and food..

yup, most likely to be 12 sword bearers or 10 at least.

bugbear,

no choice, think that's a standard for banquet now. corkage 30++.. but don't worry, heard fullerton's wines are good. and with them giving you 18 bottles. husband went to a wedding there, so the guests felt that their wines are good. should be ok if not too many tables or maybe if yours is a weekday wedding

yup husband is regular.. in air force though, not army.. no not yet. not so fast for his vocation heh.. still young.

Bugbear / CKE,
yup, FH is regular, in army. wow, u thinking of 10 - 12 sword bearers? wouldn't the aisle be too short for that? think we probly hve 8 - 10...

rokko,
sorry, think missed ur earlier post! SIL is nice! heard all their designers very professional. one of my friends was a SIL bride and heard that her evening gown was really lovely. my gown from TW will be quite stanard lah. love his embroidery, so have asked him to be more generous on my gown =)

jam,

the main aisle should be ok for 4 pairs of sword bearers. the rest will be like sort of spread out in a L shape... something like that

jam, hahahaa it's ok lah jam, this fullerton thread is moving *so* fast now i also having trouble keeping up! hee... thanks for ur assurances on sil gowns! ted's gowns are lovely as well, yeah i simply love his embroidery! in fact i thought his designs in the latest bridal magazines (style/female/herworld - sigh cant remember which one, i bought them all!) were very very nice! im sure u'll be a very gorgeous bride on ur AD!

CKE and jam, wow! military wedding!!! NICE!!! im sure ur weddings will be so beautiful!!! i've always loved military weddings, too bad FH's not a regular! is it too late to get him to sign up now? hahaaa --> just kidding lah! ;p

bugbear, hey the willow glen is good ah? hehee... ok then that settles it, since it seems like the new package has the new corkage price, it wld be more worthwhile to get their wines then!

pheb, yo pheb! so it was feedback from ur guests hah? heee.. thanks for the feedback!!! but i think we'll prob cater for more reds than whites tho', given that i suspect most guests would be more red-wine drinkers... i personally prefer reds myself

Swordbearers - 4 to 5 pairs should be just nice. Depending on the number of tables you have, there might not be enough space to accommodate more... otherwise, it might be too cramped. Plus, if you intend to include the 'sabo' segment, then going through so many levels.. can be quite tiring and time-consuming. heheh.

My initial quote for corkage was $30++. We got our wine from a family friend. But after the wedding, our coordinator happily informed us that they dropped it to $20++. So that was a pleasant surprise. I don't know what the factors are that go into the discounts. Maybe it's all done for the feel-good factor!

HI Bugbear,
Fullerton quite niao about waiving cockage but you can try to negotiate for a flat rate with them. I gotten myself S$1000 flat for any quantity of wine and hard liquor. They initially wanted to charge me $20 (if I can remember correctly) per bottle (inclusive of forgoing their house wine) but we managed bargain for a flat rate.

So you can find out from them.