Taiwan F&E

Kat, no prob, thanks for the compliments. U went to leader village? so good. i wanted to go there to stay. seems very nice surroundings plus the hut like feeling of country side. can send mi ur pics to view?

angeline, isit? haha, didnt realise that he look like ken lim.

mitzi, yup, i remembered now!got see u in that thread too. we future neighbours so very coincidental we meet in so many threads. keke...
no prob regarding the info. juz glad to help! but next time can meet up for kopi. should be very fun coz i already chatted with few other future neighbours.

the hotel nearby Hualien train station is ChingYeh hotel. can bargain with them the rates.it can be seen from the station.

Otherwise,the train station from Hualien has a direct public bus straight to Tianhsiang. from there, thk juz walk a short distance.
if u have the budget, can get the hotel ppl to pick u up from Hualien train station too.
check the website for more info:
http://www.leaderhotel.com/blw/leadervillage/e-traffic2.html

Eh... who's Ken lim huh? Sorry I very suaku...

YY, guess what... I'm actually flying back on Sun at 5+pm... but i'm thinking of extending my stay. If I do, I'll definitely love to meet up for dinner.. will let you know if i extend...

Mitzi, temperature in Dec / Jan should be cold... maybe about 15 to 20 degrees... Should be a good time to come if you can't stand heat... Maybe you can go up to Mount Hehuan at Taroko Gorge to see snow...

Pierced,

Abit lah & some angle super more alike!

Kat,

Ken Lim is one of the judges for Singapore idol!

What abt weather in mid Oct? What kind of dressing should we wear?

Here's a photo of Mount Hehuan during winter... (Jan / Feb)

https://www.boac-online.com/activities/taiwan/hehuan_snow_hotspring.html

Angeline, mid Oct should be Autumn time, maybe about 20-25 degrees... depending on how cold your tolerance is, think normal clothing should be enough...

Kat,

Thanks, think will bring a jacket along incase the temperature dropped!

Wow, Mount Hehuan very nice leh!!

okie Kat

if you are in Taiwan maybe you can call rainbow hotel and leave a msg the day before so we can meet the very next day.

I will be in taipei for 1 week from 6aug to 12 aug. anytime during this period will be in taipei.

Perhaps we can venture into some places if you are free.

<font color="0000ff">Hi gals,
I am leaving Taipei about 4pm so to catch my flight abt 6pm. SO do you think i have the time to go Weekend Jade Market and shop around Ximending on Saturday itself? For information, I am not planning for any time for XMD except on the last day.</font>

hey gals, i managed to check the weather in Dec le. I was told that it'd be 20 +/- unless there's a Han(2) Liu(2).. think it meant cold spell?? But is this Han Liu common?

Btw, my fren actually discouraged me to go during Dec, as she said there's NOTHING much during winter, like shops are selling winter wear, places are closed or whatsoever. Any advice pls?

mitzi

i think so too. If go winter, not much shopping cos ppl they may be selling winter clothing (just like Hong Kong).

I flip the National Geographic Tour Book for Taiwan yesterday...TW is full of natural scenery just like NZ and is more like Asian Beauty. I think in winter, the scenery will be diff.

if really want me to choose, i will prefer to visit country with 4 season in autumn. Is my fav season.

just my 2 cents.

Aug still summer in TW and is also typhoon period cos changing of season....and me gg there this sunday to kanna the heat...hahaha....

i think should be around Oct. That time, weather is cooling but not too cold. also i think is the exam period in Singapore so flying will be cheaper.

I went NZ in autum and i simply enjoy it.

wong, u taking jetstar, there's a bus to pick u up or u hafta get ur own transport.
i had mi flight too ard 6. i did go to do some last min shopping on that day. timing quite comfortable. if weekend jade market open early, should be able to do both. coz most shops will only open ard 11am. depends on whether u planning to get anything in XMD. basically i didnt buy anything there coz other places have it for lower price plus itz more for youngsters so nothing much there to get.
mitzi, thk dec is oso a ncie time to go. cool weather as well. of coz clothes wise will be less since itz cold. u get to see different type of scenery compared to summer.

pierced...me taking SQ. and my agent counterpart in taiwan will arrange transport for me to airport...not sure of timing yet ....

Thanks for advise. I think last min XMD is good enough. BTW is there any shopping at Taiwan Airport?

Oooooh.. December also nice mah? But will places be closed due to too cold?? Dunno leh.. FH was saying if TOO COLD, he no want to go
But if 18-20 still okie for us I think. Now asking around loh.

Hopefully still got places to walk and explore loh. No shopping nvm, cos TW clothes are not cheap too! hehe..

Wong, ic...so ard same time, thk the bus prob pick u up ard 3 plus -4. i took freego and they left abt 3.
dun get ur hopes up for taiwan airport. nothing much there, not like Sin. very few shops there and only a few choices of cafeteria for meals or drinks.

if u gals like muah chee, can try a shop called San Shu gong @ taiwan underground mall, the one nearby Mister Donut. it has a branch in Jiufen only and lots of variety. the brown sugar one is the best! but not cheap coz works out ard $1 plus for one.itz a bit like those Jap ones with very nice packaging.

mitzi, yup, i would like to have try the Dec time too. would be diff season mah. dun thk many places will be closed except for those opened only in summer like Penghu, beaches like kenting etc.

Hi kat, thanks for sharing ur pics.

juz realised we had the same wedding date 17 dec.
the scenery for YMS is so nice, different from what i see.
did u managed to try the pastry from the shop in hualien? not bad lei, and the rolled chopan or something is nice. i bought some to eat. heh...

HI all

The other time i read that we can get free tickets for "Guess guess guess" show.

How can we get it?

Can any one advise.

yo pierced. got any advice for me? i planning to go taiwan in oct but no idea what kinda trip to plan for. send me some of ur trip's pics leh. hehe.

pierced,

ur journeys hv "inspired" me. I think i'll plan for one to either taiwan or hanoi this december hols..kekeke.

Hi cottoncandy, have sent mi pics to u.

Hi designfreak, u didnt leave ur email for mi to send pics to u.

idono, haha, i didnt know mi trips so inspiring. have fun planning ur dream trip!

apple, there's a no. u are supposed to call up for tics. thk itz found somewhere in the previous threads. u can search VT forum as well.

yar, i done a few F&amp;E and was tired of planning it. so intent to go package for the rest of my life..haha

hello ppl...

me in taipei Rainbow Hotel now.

SO far is boring for me....is onli the 2nd day and i hope things will turn well for the next 5 days. if anyone of you want to find me, leave a msg for me.

Boring coz of work?

Can visit "Mu Chuan" ming-ge-chan-ting in XMD. The bands are really much better than SG.
Or u can try to find the original shop of Yong-He-Dou-Jiang.
Or go Jiufen to shop for little gifts for your frens back in SG.
Or maybe there's a nice tradeshow going on at WTC.
Or sample the jap food there, but got to ask for recommendation. Whatever is the case, I think Jap food in taiwan beats SG handsdown.
Summer time, sample all the different desserts around taipei. If u think SG hv lots of different desserts, u hvnt seen what taipei can offer.

hey YY, have fun~~ and do update us with pics.

Can u also take pics of Rainbow Hotel? Hehe.. want to have a look at the hotel leh.

Idono,
all your suggestion was completed except the mu chuan....for the yong hung, the original store closed down long ago. Heard from the driver for my guided tour (who is also a cab driver).

Mitzi....ok i will take a pic of the hotel when i go for dinner later. There is a coke resturant opp rainbow, not too bad...and there is alot od salon here.

I saw east Dragon Hotel. Is outside of xmd and looks not too bad too.

in wufenpu so many clothes...BUT is too young for me.....

oh well, it does get a bit boring after being there for a long time. Can even start to do weird things like visiting the zoo.

Yar, i heard taipei changed quite a bit since i was there. Been wanting to go back again for a visit. Just tht this time I dun hv my own transport, so still trying to figure out how to get around.

East dragon hotel? Wonder if it's affordable and clean anot leh.. any comments?? YY, how's ur trip so far? Better alreadi?

Mitzi, try out Wonstar hotel,newly renovated, nearby XMD. much better den Rainbow. It comes highly recommended by others as well. I stayed at East dragon on mi 1st nite, not too bad, but not as new as wonstar.
Wong, if itz boring, try doing other things like visiting out of taipei, beats the same ole shopping day in day out there.

wonstar...did seen it around xmd area yet.....will try see look see look....

my trip is getting better and i think i will hire a taxi driver for a day for NT2000 just to go places. Not easy for me to plan things here cos i Chinese sucks....hahaha

window of china never leave my mind but heard from news that there will be lots of rain cos typhoon will be passing by the ocean near taiwan so i cannot plan anything in advance.

yesterday was trying to get to Raohe Night Market but was pouring after my visit to wufenpu so i travelled back to xmd instead.....

hey wongyy,
so excited..im gng in 2 weeks time to taipei..hehe i've booked wonstar...and my hubby's 2 cousins booked east dragon as wonstar was fully booked.

wong, wonstar juz next to East dragon, on the same row of shops. itz located at the junction facing the Partyworld building.
ya, lots of storms happening now. hope this doesnt affect ur holiday much.

idono, are u referring to Cosmos hotel??

wonstar hotel good mah? Pierced know the rates? Me hor now headache, planning Actual day and HM really taxing

i have booked tashun hotel for my trip to taipei next mth after reading thru some good reviews abt this hotel. i and planing to travel to hualien , anyone can advise how i can go there from TS hotel? i will only be there for 4 days , wat are the MUST GO attractions in taiwan..
perhaps a kind soul can advise me on that

designfreak, frankly if taipei alone, 4-5 days can cover liao unless u toking about gg to outside of taipei for day trips. didnt go to luxy. i went to livingroom, so-so. went to the taiwan beer pub as well as KTV is more happening there.

Idono,that one quite ex, check out rates at www.cosmos-hotel.com.tw

mitzi, wonstar was ard 1800NT when i enquired but always full house on wkends.

apple
east dragon: www.east-dragon.com.tw
Wonstar: www.wonstar.com.tw
Rainbow: www.ncznhotel.com.tw

pierced. shld arrange for the trip to be during the weekend so its more happening rite? u old liao lah. when was the last time u partied? hahaha.

TS?

me in rainbow hotel now waiting for my transport to sent me to airport....I dun see TS around XMD perhpas my eyes got stamp.....hahahaha

now taipei is really hot. The Typhoon did not hit Taipei just passby the ocean nearby....i think that typhoon hit China instead. With Typhoon, the weather is ok, quite cooling and now without is rather Hot. The heat of the sun....hot hot hot....

Eh....i felt if you are a very happening person, rainbow is a good location as when you come down from the hotel, you'll see the shops, the ppl and if lucky may see some performance. For East Dragon, the distance is like one bus stop away from Raindow.

Rainbow is located in the heart of XMD. The street will not allow traffic on weekends hence if reach on weekends in the evening, then some walking with luggage is required. This will not happen for East Dragon.

Aiyoh... dat means Ta Shun is not ard dat area... Can someone cfm this with me... i need to book my hotel soon...

I hope it gets cooler in sept... else traveling under the hot sun can be quite a turn off...

YY faster upload ur fotos and share with us k!!!
By the way, is it very noisy to stay at Rainbow? SInce it is smacked right at XMD...

itchy,

when in sept are you going? I still hv not decide to go or not, but if going will be 1st - 8th sept. not sure if air tix will be a problem for me bookin so late