Taiwan F&E

i think u're rite.

but anyway, maybe ur MIL & BIL similar to my own mum. She v. kiasi abt everything. got typoon, she so afraid tht my life is in danger there.

the funny thing is this, tht time 921 big earthquake. next morning i call her to tell her we just had an earthquake, she was quite heck care abt it. then afternoon, she saw in the news, tht nite i call her, she keep screaming for me to go back SG.

so i guess our news really sensationalise a lot of things. typoon aint tht bad. usually indirect hit is just lots of rain. direct hit usually only 1 day cant travel at most. unless u damn suay, kenna super typoon..haha

Hi wong, act i enjoyed miself in TW, of coz not all sights may be interesting, but it was fun as a whole coz something diff from the other countries i been. i thk the paper museum seems quite interesting too, too bad i didnt get to go.

YY,
SOHO paper museum??? Any chinese? I know places by chinese, easier to travel and ask ard there. Paiseh! Tell me the chinese name, taiwan relatives are in singapore. Can ask them tonight.

mitzi,
It is warmer in the south taiwan. Taipei is abit cooling rather than cold in Dec, temp abt 15-20 degC coldest at night. If you are scare of coldness, layered yourself with jackets For mountain area, a warmer is a must, temp is abt 5-10 degC. The last time I went during christmas, it was rainy the whole week. after we left, it was sunny again, guess we brought the rain over. kekekek!!! I wore just t-shirt and jeans then, and Taiwanese found us weird cos they are wearing winter coats, scarf and gloves. BTW, I'm oso scared of coldness type, I kinda enjoy the weather there.

oooh, i'm also scared of cold! But I love hongkong's weather too! About 20degC. But as my wedding's in Dec, was planning a honeymoon somewhere during that period so can rest and relax. Hopefully Taipei still not that cold loh.

Btw, can I check with u gals, whether is it convenient to travel F&E in Taiwan? I'm actually planning to travel to Taipei and maybe out of Taipei as well. Just don't kw is more advisable to go on tour or F&E..

Hi mitzi, i travelled F&E in TW for 18 days. pretty convenient with the transport,even out of taipei. of coz, if u compare, tour is coz u have all the transport and hotels arranged for u. no need plan but i preferred F&E coz of the freedom to choose where u wana go.

wow, pierced, just the person i'm looking for!!

Any advice where to go, where not to go? hehe.. Cos I'm planning for my honeymoon too

The transport mainly u take mrt? Convenient? Which part of TW did u go? My fh is worried that travelling to other parts of TW besides Taipei, will be far and inconvenient

Hotels wise, can u advise which is affordable and good?

Really appreciate ur help!!

Hi mitzi,

I've been staying in Taiwan for about 6 months already cos my hubby's working here so I hope I can help you here. Travelling is a breeze. Most important places worth visiting in Taipei are close to MRT stations. You just need to get an easycard (you1 you2 ka3), which works like our Easylink card. Can be used on buses and trains.

As for hotels, my cousin stayed in this hotel when he was here. http://www.highness.com.tw/english/kdm/rooms.php
It's called KDM hotel. Only NT1680 a night. Very convenient as the the Zhongxiao Xinsheng MRT (which is central) is just at the doorstep.

If you're going alone, you can check this one out. http://www.city-hotel.com.tw/bussiness/b5/b5-en.htm#. There's a promotion for single beds, only NT1440 for weekends and NT1350 for weekdays. I stayed in this hotel before. The room is very nice. Got a jacuzzi in the bathroom too. There are computers with internet access in the basement for your use (it's free). But MRT is about 5 min walk away.

Think you can spend most of your time in Taipei and take a train ride down to Hualien to see the Taroko Gorge. I've stayed in Kaohsiung and Taichung before. Nothing you can't find in Taipei over there. Maybe prices are somewhat cheaper that's all.

You must see the night markets in Taiwan. No point going to the big shopping centres for shopping (eg, Shinkong Mitsukoshi and Taipei 101). Things there are very expensive. This website gives you some idea of the night markets in Taiwan. http://www.nightfair.com.tw. It's all in Chinese though.

There's also the 2nd biggest ferris wheel in the world in Taipei. It's at the Miramar Entertainment Complex. Can get a free shuttle from Jian Tan Station, which is where Shilin night market is.

I haven't been to visit temples, the CKS Memorial, Sun Yat Sen Memorial places but I think you should also pay them a visit for the cultural and historical part of Taiwan.

You can visit http://forum.virtualtourist.com/6/forum-1489-1-Travel-Taiwan-1-forum.html?wosid=BXN590k3Y4IYg0rBkVSeLg&-vt-0 for more information on where to go in Taiwan. I got lots of tips from there. Check out one post where you can get a free prepaid SIM card from the CKS Airport.

Hope this will help.

Hi Kat

Thank u so much!!! U've been a great help!!!

If say I'm going for about 9days & 8nights, u think staying in Taipei alone will be too much? Or I must go out of Taipei? Cos I'm afraid it might not be very convenient. Cos not very clear about the mode of transport.

If can go further than Taipei, u'd recommend Hualien & where else?

U are really very helpful hehe.. Mind if I email u directly if I've any ques?

Hi Mitzi,

8 nights in Taipei may not be too long, it all depends on what you want to get out of the trip. If you want to shop, eat and sight see, and if you don't go too far, like the bottom half of Taiwan, I think your trip would be just nice.

Hualien is a touristy town. The highway down the east coast to Hualien is really beautiful (like the Great Ocean Road in Australia) but apparently foreigners don't get to see it 'cos you need a car. Here are some pictures : http://skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=318534. To get to Hualien, the cheapest way to get there is to take the train from the Taipei Main Station. However, you have to book tickets like 2 weeks in advance. Train tickets there are sold out quite fast. There are no buses (ie. other than tour buses) that go there.

For Hualien, there are lots of Minzu (bread and breakfast) places to stay. They are much cheaper than the hotels there. http://www.17357.com.tw/ is one of the websites that has a list. The websites of the minzus are really beautiful. You can get a room for like NT1000-2000 a night and they pick you up from the train station as well. As for where to go in Hualien, check out : http://tour-hualien.hl.gov.tw//chinese/index.aspx. Click on Hualien: A Foreigners Guide. It's the most useful thing I found on Hualien and it's in English!
If you are lazy, you could join a tour bus. The taxi drivers there provide tour services for like NT2000 a day but if you're going alone, I'm not sure I'd recommend that.

In any case, my hubby and I are planning to go there this weekend. Will tell you more after I come back.

Most of the other cities are on the west coast. And there are coaches that you can take to those places. So it's pretty convenient to get around. For example, a bus ride to Taichung is about 2 hours from Taipei and cost about NT350. If you come later in the year, the high speed rail may be functional. If that is, you could take it. Think you could reach Kaohsiung in 1.5 hours instead of the usual 4-5 hours.

You're welcome to email me. My email is [email protected]. Let me know when you are coming. I could bring you around if you'd like some company cos I'm free most afternoons since my hubby's working. There are many places I've not been too either so we can check them out together.

hi mitzi,

When u plan to go Taiwan for honeymoon?

Me & my hubby planning too but our wedding is in oct!

If the date match, perhaps we can plan & go racky Taiwan together!

Kat,

i dropped u an email to find out more, hope u dun mind!

Hi Angeline,

I hope you don't mind me answering your questions here so everyone gets to read it.

Typhoon season is from April to October although storms are most frequent from July to October. It's hard to know when the typhoons are coming. Even when we stay here, we get to know a typhoon is coming only 2-3 days ahead. So hard to answer when people ask if a typhoon will be here when they come.

I don't recommend that you drive in Taiwan. It's quite dangerous and you'll understand why when you get here. The cars here are also left hand drive. It's much safer to take public transport. Taxis are everywhere and not too expensive (starting fare at NT70) and in Taipei, you can also take the MRT or buses. Most visitors I know feel that it's dangerous even crossing the road as the roads can be quite wide but then you'll get used to it after a while.

Taiwan is a good place for eating and shopping and it has good natural scenery as well. Lots of temples and architectural buildings too. So I guess it's a good place for honeymoon if you like the oriental kind of places. And October would be a good time to come... getting cool but not so cold. Weather here is as humid as Singapore.

Be prepared to speak a lot of mandarin. Most people here don't understand much english.

Free and easy or package tour would depend on your preference. A friend of mine came to Taiwan for a 7 night package tour and he said he wished that they could stay longer at certain places and miss others totally. And some hotels they put him at were away from the city as well. But if you don't feel like planning your own itinerary, then I guess it's best to go for a package. I personally feel that a F&E is possible in Taiwan as language and transport is not a problem. And there are lots of people to help you suggest places to go...

You can get cheap air tickets from Jetstarasia as well. You might just be able to get airfare (excl tax) + 7 nights stay for less than $600 a person.

Hi Liwen,

Are you paying for your own air tickets? Just wondering how come you are flying to Kaohsiung and then flying back from Taipei? I remember air tickets to Kaohsiung are much more expensive than to Taipei.

Anyway, it may be good to start from Kaohsiung, you could do a clockwise tour around Taiwan that way. Like go to Taichung, Alishan, Sun Moon Lake, Taoyuan, Taipei, Yeliu, Hualien and back to Taipei. I think other than Yeliu, it'll be advisable to spend at least a night in all the other places. Of course, you should spend a few days in Taipei as one night is not enough for shopping and eating here!

There are intercity buses (some have big massage chairs) that you can take from town to town. You can also take the trains and fly domestic airlines. Taiwan is well connected by public transport so depending on where you want to go, there are different modes of transport that you can try.

Give me some time to list out the places you can go and check out. There are lots of places to go and see, lots of food to try and places to shop so don't have to worry you'll have nothing to do here.

Kat,

Thanks for your reply, im fine with u answering here!

As for typhoon, think gotta depend on our luck liao! So long as it not those very serious typhoon, shd be okie lah!

In that case, i better drop the idea of self-drive!

i love scenery very much, tot of going to china but find it odd to go china for honeymoon leh, so decided to choose Taiwan instead!

My hubby sure love the cool weather cos he always sweat like mad one!!

Speaking mandarin is no a problem for us but to read chinese character, especially those very "chim" one might......
Is there any english signage in the train station?

if wanted to go F&E, den i must do all the homework first, thus i think i might need to bother u further!

WOW! RALLY THAT CHEAP MEH???
air ticket plus 7 nites stays somemore!!
I must go find out more liao!!!

Kat, really appreciate u for replying my enquires!

Hi mitzi, guess kat has answered most of ur questions.

if u want, i can email u mi 18 day itinerary. transport is defintely no prob. we took buses,mrt, trains.we drove too from kaohsiung to kenting. depends on how much time u have.
best if u can visit out of taipei coz if u juz stick to taipei, cant see that much.
i stayed in XimenDing, hotels ranging from 1400NT. even tried 800NT ones.most ppl usually stay ard here as well. prefer that area coz itz oso better at nite when u dun go ard sightseeing. quite central as well.

Can email me ur itenerary focus on how u get abt purely on public transport?

Though I'm quite familiar with taiwan, but hv nvr attempt a F&E using public transport. thinking of bringing my wife there for a short trip

Here's one other popular hotel you can check out :

Ta Shun Hotel at Ximenting

http://www.travelking.com.tw/hotel/02ts/introduce.asp?fHotelNO=02ts
http://s54.photobucket.com/albums/g90/cinnamo/TS%20Hotel/?sc=1&multi=1&addtype=local&media=image
http://www.gordongoh.fotopic.net/c990239.html

Ta Shun (TS) Hotel
Address: No. 170-172 Hanzhong St.
Tel: (02) 2381-8710
Fax: (02) 2312-3522

Hi Pierced, can I have a look at your itinerary too? Like to know where else I could go check out during my free time here... My email is [email protected]. Thanks!

hi kat

heard that hotel is newly renovated and quite convient and also some comment is better than Rainbow which is the Sporean Fav.

I'm planning to go end of Dec after my wedding. Stretch till beginning of Jan.

Pierced, I'd love to have your itinery plssss hehe.

Kat, what are the places in TW that you'd suggest we go? Taipei is a must of cos. We do shop but not over-enthusiastic kind hehe. My fh loves to eat though, so basically it'd be an EAT all u can trip cos after wedding mah haha. A bit sightseeing will be good too!

Does anyone know what's the season for Taiwan in Jan? im going there for honeymoon in End Jan to Begining of Feb

btw, I heard that there's this shopping that all tourists must go to, it's known as WU FEN PU.

Can take MRT station (purple line) to Hou Shan Bei. Think it's nearby.

Hi Wong YY, ya, the hotel does look good and has been widely recommended by people who have stayed there. So guess it's good to check it out...

Hi Mitzi,

This is for your hubby...
Some of the food to try when you're here :
1) Shiu Jian Bao (try the Xu Ji Shui Jian Bao at Shida Night Market)
2) Yan Su Ji / Zha Ji Pai
3) Chun Shui Tang (Taichung or Taipei near Warner Village/Taipei 101 area) It's supposed to be where bubble tea originated from. While on the topic of bubble tea, try Papaya Milk.
4) Guo Tie / Shui Jiao
5) Smelly Beancurd
6) Ah Zong Mian Xian (XMD or Shilin)
7) Peking Duck Roll
8) Huo Guo (eat all you can)
9) Yong An Soya Bean (apparently quite famous, you see them everywhere)
10) Din Tai Fung (Original branch at Xinyi Rd)
11) Lu Rou Fan
12) Zhua Bing (Shaved ice dessert, something like ice kachang, must try their mango milk ice, mangoes here are very sweet)
13) Lu Wei + noodles
14) Shizi Mian (at XMD)
15) Bangkok Thai Restaurant (cheap and good thai food, must try Tomyam soup and Yunnan Chicken)
16) All kinds of noodles (dan zai mian, yang chun mian, etc...)
17) Mister Donut (try the ones that look like a few balls joined together)
18) Taiwan Sausages
19) Tian Bu La (my favourite stall is at Shida Night Market)
20) Oyster Omelette

Lots of other places but guess the above would help get you started...

December / January is the winter season. Must try the hot springs when you're here then... You're right about the temperature but think it'll be colder if you go up to the mountains...

yah, i have read that its cooling season around that period but no exact temp.

Wow, since its a cooling season, it will be great for honeymoon, Thanks all

anyone has comment on Rainbow Hotel?

oh, thanks kat!!! All those foods are in Taipei? I haven't got a single idea what places to go to in Taipei except Wu Fen Pu and ShiLin night market hehe.

I will try the hot springs definitely!!! What's the price range like?

Up the mountains meaning? Still in Taipei or? Sorry I sounded like a mountain tortoise hehe..

Kat, those pics of Hualien looks very very beautiful! I would love to go to Hualien, but u mentioned it's difficult to get the train tics? Any other means to buy the tics then?

Hi Mitzi,

Generic foods can be found almost all over Taiwan. Only those with the names of the shops, you have to go to those places I mentioned.

There are lots of places to go within Taipei City itself :

1) Ximending
2) Danshui - Fisherman Wharf
3) Beitou - Hot Springs
4) Yang Ming Shan (in Taipei)
5) Miramar Ferris Wheel
6) Chiang Kai Shek Memorial Hall
7) Sun Yat Sen Memorial Hall
8) Taipei 101
9) Night Markets - Longjiang, Shida, Gongguan, Longshan, Raohe, Tonghua, Shilin
10) Temples
11) Hou Che Zhan - Wu Fen Pu of accessories
12) Miniature Museum

You can go around Taipei county as well, meaning just outside Taipei City.
1) Jiufen
2) Yeliu
3) Keelung - Miaokow food street
4) Jinhuashi

If you like their variety shows eg. Cai Cai Cai, you can go for their live recording. I think it's on every alternate Mon and Tues. Not sure if you need to pay. If you are interested, I can find out for you.

Other places in Taiwan
1) Taichung - Fengjia Night Market, Science Museum
2) Kaohsiung - Chichin Island, Liuhe Night Market, Shinjuejiang Night Market
3) Puli - Sun Moon Lake
4) Alishan
5) Kenting
6) Hualien - Taroko Gorge, Qixingtan, Nanbin Night Market
7) Yushan - tallest mountain in Taiwan

If you like theme parks, there are lots all over the country. Think these are the more famous ones :
Yunlin - Jansufun Fancyworld http://www.janfusun.com.tw/
Taoyuan - Xiaorenguo http://www.woc.com.tw
Hsinchu - Leofoo Village http://www.leofoo.com.tw
Hualien - Ocean Park http://www.hualienoceanpark.com.tw
Taipei - Formosa Fun Coast http://www.fww.com.tw

As for train tickets to Hualien, you have to book online at http://www.railway.gov.tw/e_index.htm. Then you have to pay and collect the tickets within 3 days from the train station. The other way is to get agents to buy it for you. But I think if you go during the weekdays, it may not be that difficult to get tickets...

YY,

Thanks for sharing & do share more with us when u returned from ur trip ya!

Wow, this thread is getting more & mroe active!
Glad that taiwan is oso a recommended place for honeymoon!!

angeline,no prob...

Jhoo...i will be staying in Rainbow Hotel so maybe i can take some pic and comment after i return.

Kat, your info is really very helpful! :D Really thanks so much!

Glad to know that we can purchase train tics online, but must collect 3days in adv, wow! Kat, do let us know more when u're back from Hualien!

Angeline, we can plan our itinery together hehe.. See which of us travel first, then let the other know how it goes :D

Hi Wong YY, Thanks so much

Wah, Kat, u know so much abt Taiwan, i dont think i need to do research liao and can just refer to this thread, haha...

Me and hubby will not join the tour, Free and East and book the air ticket, hotel thru online

Mitzi,

No problem, let's share & plan together!
How many days u intend to go?

Actually i wantedto go many places but not sure which one to go first, follow by next inorder not to miss any place! Shiong sia!

hmm, me probably 9days 8nights. But as Kat says, probably just nice to stay in Taipei, I also would wish to travel to other parts of TW leh. If so, might need to extend to longer period.

Huh mitzi, 9 days for Taipei? For my honeymoon, most likely i will spend 5 days at taipei, and tot of travel to other part of taiwan too

U read Kat's reply above. She thinks it might be just nice to travel Taipei in 8nights wor. Must get all the info first before we go then roughly we'll know how long to go for our honeymoons

Mitzi & Jhoo,

i oso want to travel to other part of Taiwan beside their capital, Taipei!

I plan to go for 10days if both side of our bosses permit lah, else we may have to shortne our HM liao!

Think we shd plan our itinerary carefully as not to waste any time!

kat & YY,

Think we need to bother u all further! Can become our tour guide liao!

Hi Angeline, Kat and artoo, have sent mi itinerary to u.
Idono and mitzi, dun mind, leave ur email for mi to send it to u.

Taiwan is pretty easy to travel around, very comprehensive information avail and their tourist centres staff are usually all very friendly and helpful. of coz the chinese words do put some ppl off abit. but i survived the trip, being not very gd at reading mandarin. hee...

Hualien is def a must- go to Taroko Gorge, very nice! Also, can try the waterrafting if u dare. not very wild waters. Lunch is oso provided along the river. quite famous for the Bento.

Hualien train tics are not hard to buy. Dont have to book. we juz bought it off the counter. there's plenty of trains passing by, so u can juz buy any one that is near to ur timing. u can surf the TW railway for the timings to confirm what times. and u can get a copy of the trains timetable from the main station.

if u dun mind doing a bit of legwork, u can juz do everything on ur own coz when we check out the tours in Tw, prices are much higher than what we pay and u dun get a lot of free time. depends on ur needs. if u dun like planning, following tours is better.

i frankly wouldnt recommend Rainbow, coz itz stuck in XMD, and very low rise, so itz quite noisy at nite plus itz quite old already. U can either pick East Dragon or Wonstar which is juz by the side st, very convenient as itz still very near to XMD main area. Wonstar is def best since itz still brand new.

Wulai is only worth going for Hotsprings, dun bother to go see the waterfall, shifen one is much better.
was so tricked i couldnt believe that it was the so called waterfall. nothing specacular.

mi itinerary has most of the main sights.hope it helps u in planning ur trip. and not confuse u. :p

oh ya, the free Sim card has prepaid 100NT for u to use and call. so can use that to make around 7-8 local calls. I used that to make bookings, check trains,hotels etc
juz collect from the counter once u come out from the customs. easily spotted. itz near to the tourist info centre so u can collect all the brochures, info etc there too to browse.

pierced, my email is [email protected]

Does ur itinerary includes the mode of transport and exact hotel that u stayed? Hehe.. Would love to have some basic ideas at least for F&E to TW..

Thanks so much for ur help too!

Hi Pierced, thanks for your itinerary! It's so detailed! Did you plan it all by yourself? I'm really impressed... You went for the water rafting at Hualien? Was it long? I read somewhere it's about 4 hours. Is it scary? Am keen to do it but this weekend will not be enough time for us to go for it. Probably try it next time.

As for Hualien train tickets, I wanted to plan the trip for last weekend but when I went down to the station on Wed before, it was already fully booked. And I couldn't buy tickets for the following weekend. They said you had to go online for reservations more than a week earlier. It could be because it's the peak period now as it's summer but I'm not sure. What's this round island train ticket that you bought? The 7 tickets can be used for any rides?

Hi Mitzi, think you got me wrong. I said 7 nights for Taipei and Hualien would be just nice. Think all 8 nights in Taipei may be a little too long. You would have time to even pay Taichung/Alishan/Sun Moon Lake a visit for one night. Maybe give the southern towns a miss unless you can stay for a few more days.

All MRT stations have signs in English. The road signs are bilingual too. One challenge I got here was reading the bus routes at the bus stop and in the bus guide. It's a pain to read it at first. Takes some time to get used to. Let me know if you need bus directions to certain places from certain places. I maybe able to help.

Btw, if you wanna call back to Singapore. You can used Yahoo Voice Call if you have access. Think it's 2c a minute but the connection may be laggy. If not, using the local sim card to call back is 50c a minute. Much cheaper than using your Singapore sim (think about $1.50 a min.)

Oh if you're into tidbits, try their Lays potato chips. Got all sorts of funny flavours like Kyushu Seaweed, Teriyaki Chicken, Chicken, Cucumber etc... My personal favourite is the Seaweed. Cucumber is not nice...

kat, is there those call home card? those that allow me to call singapore using public phone by keying the password etc?

I used those in NZ when i am there for Honeymoon in March06 so wondering TW have it or not. Is much cheaper to use those.

Pierced!

I have received your mail, THANK YOU SO MUCH!
kao_kiss.gif

Wow, u really do alot of homework sia, its super detailed!

Glad to know that Hualien is a nice place to go cos i wanted to go badly!

Hi Mitzi and YY,

I'm not sure about that but what I read somewhere is that there are many places selling prepaid cards but to get it activated fast, you go to those branches (TCC, Fareastone, Chunghwa Telecom). Costs from NTD300 up. Need to bring your passport along.

I think the best way is to get that free prepaid card and then top it up when the balance is low. Min top up amount's NTD300.

Phone calls here are not cheap. Even using your local hp to call a local number is about 72c a min during peak hours which is like 8am to 11pm on weekdays , and 8-12pm on Sat. Off peak is half the price.

Can't remember much about the IDD cards at the convenience stores. I remember that they sell them but they're not cheap either. I don't remember rates but I only remember that phone calls in Taiwan are not cheap. I usually use the internet sms to reach people in Singapore. If I need to call, I'll use the Yahoo Voice Mail.

hi gals, i heard from my friend that we can actually go to agency for F&E packages. Where they book hotels and plan itinerary for us and it'll be cheaper than we book ourselves wor.

True?

Hi Mitzi,

True! actually i am doing that. and for my 7D6N tour, I have a one day guided tour and I feel is cheaper too after working out the cost.

For booking of hotels, they have varity of hotels to choose from and for itinery, i not too sure cos i doing my own.

Extracted from another web, here is an iternary. Maybe is helpful for you ppl cos is really useful for me:-

(from http://forum.virtualtourist.com/4/forum-1074413-1-Travel-Taipei-1-forum.html?wosid=8oxSeiRGVuSaJpi3p88DIM)

Day 1 (Tue)
Reach Taipei around 5.45pm then take freego bus to Ximen Hotel.
大順大飯店 Ta Shun Hotel
Take MRT from Ximen to Shihlin Night Market, eat shop then take MRT back to hotel.

Day 2 (Wed) 09/08/2006
9am - CKS Memorial Hall (CKS MH MRT).
11am - Head for Sun Yat Sen Memorial Hall (SYS MH MRT)
12.30pm - Take Taipei City hall MRT - Taipei 101, Warner Village, NYNY, Neo19, and opposite the road to Singkong Mitsukoshi e.t.c. have lunch in that area. There is an observation deck there at Singkong Tower #46.
4pm head for WuFenPu (Houshanpi MRT).
Evening - Cross over Songshan railway station to Raohe St market.
Take train from Songshan to Taipei Station then transfer to MRT to Ximen back to hotel.

Day 3 (Thu) 10/08/2006
Take MRT to Yuang Shan Station to go to Children Recreational Ctr then to World of yesterday.
Walk back to Yuang Shan station Exit #1 cross road diagonally to Soccer Stadium bus stop. From there take Bus 21, Red 2 or 247, 287 to the Martyrs' Shrine.
After this, take Bus Red 2 or 21 to Yuanshan MRT and then go to Shihlin Stop and from outside, take Bus Red 30 to the National Palace Museum.
Take bus red 30 back to Shihlin MRT station to Hsin Beitou to visit the Aboriginal Museum, Hot Spring Museum & try out the hotspring.
Back to Hsin Beitou MRT to Danshuei MRT outside take bus Red 26 to Fisherman's wharf. There is a good map on the wall outside the MRT Stop.
Take a short ferry ride to Pali, see the Sunset, Lighting of the Lover's Bridge, then go back to MRT & walk about Old Danshui & eat at Waterfront..
MRT to Ximen back to hotel.

Day 4 (Fri) 11/08/2006
Take mrt from Ximen Station to reach Taipei Main Staion, go out by Exit 6 of the Station Front Metro Mall and walk across Beiping West Road to Taipei Intercity Bus Terminal located above Taipei Railway Police Bureau. Take a Kuo Kuang Bus (02-2558 3060) from the North Station to Yeliou (NT80 per head). Yeliu entry is NTD50 and NTD25 (Adult/Kids)
From there take a Keelung Bus to the Keelung Main Station. The Bus to Keelung is in front of the convenience store across from where you get off at Yeliou.
In Keelung you have to cross the bridge to the other side to board bus to Jinguashi if coming from Yeliou. From the front of the Keelung Railway Station take a Keelung Bus to Jinguashih, then work your way backwards to Jioufen and Rueifang before returning to Keelung in the evening.
Jinguashi also needs a lot of walking especially if you hit the trails. Lovely scenes and very rustic, Entry NTD100/-.
When getting off the bus, walk back passed the Keelung River all the way to the otherside to the Macdonalds. Passing the shops in that street, Miaokow is on your left at the First Junction.
Head for Miaokow Food Street and after your dinner, stroll around the Keelung.
Can return back to Hotel by bus or train (Keelung train station)
If not tired, go Tai Da Gong Guan night market.

Day 5 (Sat) 12/08/2006
Go for hearty breakfast yu tiao shao bing or ya rou bian, then go to Ximen MRT Exit 4, walk down Hengyang Rd to Bo Ai Rd, turn Left, then first right is Shoe Street. Halfway up this street on your right is the entry for the Chengzhong Day market (After 10.30am) Not so young Peoples clothes & Wet market nearby
Walk towards Taipei Main Station, shop I the underground mall.
Cross the pedestrian overpass behind Taipei Railway Station, walk west along Civic Blvd., turn right on Congqing N. Rd., where the new Bus Terminal is located. "Ho che zhan" is the area within Congqing N. Rd., Changan W. Rd., Taiyuan Rd. and Civic Blvd. You can also get there via MRT Taipei Main Station>Metro City Mall>Brown Exits 4, 5, 6 or 7. "Ho che zhan" is the accessory "Wufenpu", kingdom of cute stuff, land of bling bling, girls' and women's treasure hunt, handbags paradise.
Take MRT to Jing Mei station to Jing mei night market.
Then take MRT to Guting Station to Shi da night market

Day 6 (Sun) 13/08/2006
Take a taxi to Jian Guo Holiday Jade Market.
Walk to Pacific Sogo Departmental Store, then to the circle of Ren ai, Eslite Bookstore.
Take a taxi to Taipei Metrol The Mall.
Then head to Tonghua / Linjiang night market.

Day 7 (Mon) 14/08/2006
Take MRT to Guang Du station - Guang Du Gong then walk to Guang Du nature park.
Take MRT back to Shilin then take bus 260 to the end to Yangming San. Transfer to 108 uphill. Go to Yang Ming Park, Xiao You Keng, Leng Shui Keng.
Take bus back to Jian Dan MRT station, exit 1 take free bus to Miramar Entertainment park.
Return hotel via same bus & MRT

Day 8 (Tue) 15/08/2006
Take MRT to Shuanglian Station ? Jing Guang Shi Chang
To get to Tianmu. Take bus 601. Take all the way to Tianmu end. After alighting, turn right and walk downhill till can see Lane 140, turn left and its the 1st unit at the corner, do note its on the same side of the road when you are going there so you do not have to cross any road. Take lunch at Bu Bu. After your lunch just walk further down and will reach those factory outlet.
Take bus back to Ximen. Go back hotel to relax, then take MRT to Longshan Temple station to Longshan Temple
The walk to Hua Xi Street & Guang Zhou Street Night Market
If got time, before Longshan Temple go to Gong Guan (Gong Guan MRT station)

Day 9 (Wed) 16/08/2006
Last shopping at Ximending (Ximen Shi Chang) then depart Taipei