Taiwan F&E

8D at taipei is too much. You might wanna head south.

Since you are going al carte, dun take SIA loh! It'll be cheaper.

Hi WongYY,

U going by Tigerairway?
They gg Taiwan also? I cant seems to find that in their website. Do we have to arrange with them separately?

hi crystabelle,

i planning to sign with agency for 7D6N which incld one day tour and F&E the rest of the days. Decided this just recently as all the minor things are taken care of and the hotel rate thru agent is cheaper.

From the agent, they are using JETSTAR and for my package the est cost is about $700+. However, being not able to sit still for 4 hrs without food and tv, i will be going for China Airline and the estimated cost is about $800+. All prices quote incld hotel stay, taxes etc. and all est as the aug flight fee is not out on the day i checked which is last saturday.

Just wondering, do you all have recommendations for a budget hotel (3* is fine), preferably near a train station and nearby to city area?

keen to sign on tour pkg to taiwan in August. Anyone travel with Hong Thai b4? Any feedback? The pkg is abt $1119 for 7 days but now airline is giving promotion, so extra one more nite.

$1119 include airport tax of $120. My departure date is 8/8 so they told me the price is $999 (after $200 discount)and got one free extra nite from the airline.

any good budget hotel to recommend in taipei
will be flying there on Jetstar airlines in sept 06. $480/2 person inclusive of taxes.. its our first time to taipei...

many thanks in advance

Any one know if there is bus company from the airport which will stop directly or near to Rainbow hotel?

i am going 7D6N to taipei F&E....finally confirmed!!

was wondering anyone can advise me on where i can go wholesaler for handicraft stuff like beads, crystals etc?

now i doing my study and be going during National Day period via SIA.

BTW there is promotion to fly with SIA for 2 pax.

cheepooz, what's ur budget for ur hotel stay?

hi roger, there's a freego bus from the airport and u can tell them to stop directly around rainbow. most likely u will drop at east dragon hotel and itz a short walk fr the hotel.

pierced,

u familiar with TW?
do you know how to get to the Taipei Main Station called "Back Station"?

Hi wongYY, cant really say super familiar but i juz came back from an 18 days trip to TW.
i know the one u toking about. i didnt manage to go there but i got the info courtesy from the "virtual tourist" forum.
it's called the "ho che zhan" rite? head west along the underground mall(that's at the TP main station) exit to street level at Brown North exits 4,5,6,7
it's located within the Congqing N./Changan W./Taiyuan/civiv block)

can anyone advise if i have to travel round taipei via MRT...is it cheaper to buy a norm transit link card or those one way trip?

Can their card be used on buses just like in spore?

No, buses dun use cards.
There's a card for tourist tht offers something like 4 rides i think. depending on where u're going, its hard to say whether one way trip is easier for the purpose.

But generally, I use all 3 forms of transport. MRT, bus, cab. Not forgetting tht they've 2 different types of MRT

Hi wong, not too sure regards to miniature museum. i didnt shortlist that. i do have an itinerary which i can share. will email u.

if u travel around taipei, best advice is to get the normal card that locals use, the 'easy' card.500 NT and itz 400 for travelling,100 deposit. use on the MRT, and some of the buses around taipei. but some of the buses dun offer, den u would juz pay by cash. all one price for bus.
the easy card when u leave, juz go to th counter to return. they will juz refund u the balance left in ur card.

Pierced

my budget is around $100 sgd/nite. any good hotels with good transport and good food around?
my wife was suggesting ONESTAR Hotel.. any comments.
btw, the tickets are $480 for 2 person inclusive of taxes, paid like 3-4 months back

Hi I will be travelling to taipei this sept. be bringing my parents there as well...would it be advisable to bring old folks to places like jiu fen..shifen...yeliu etc? anyone can advise??

Old folks got many different types too.
JiuFen is fine. Average amt of walking.
Yeliu needs some walking. Some old folks are fit enough to handle it.

However, transport to yeliu not so easy. maybe u shd consider booking a short trip or a cab.

Hey Idono thx for e advise...btw does anyone ve any recommendations for local taiwan travel agencies which will cater for day trips that will encompass areas like JiuFen...Yeliu....Jingguashi...Shifen...Keelung etc?

Hi, gals. I planning to go taiwan in early aug (national day )period. Any recommendations?

I am looking at shopping, baby shopping, theme restaurant in hill or forest type, hot spring stay one night, 101 shopping, night market and the guard changing ceremony.

Is it better to sign up for package tour then extend or F & E straight (sign packages there?)

Really appreciate your comments.

hi cheepoz, yup one star/ Wonstar is good. near to XMD and very new. better than rainbow. but u gotta bk early coz the wkends are pretty packed.

moderngal, can look at taiwan tour bus as mentioned bef in the forum. there's a website u can look at.

celine, depends on how much convenience u prefer. i went F&E but it may not be much cheaper than tours and transport will be all on ur own.

hi Celine

you are going the same period as me. I have signed a F&E deal for $800 per pax flying via SIA. The price i paid is for 7D6N incld hotel stay (Rainbow Hotel), 1 day tour (which i have to pay to the guide NT300 per pax on the tour itself) and all the airport taxes.

<font color="ff0000">Idono</font>, thanks for advise ob transport. will be keeping in mind.

BTW can advise me how much to bring?

Maybe we can see each other there...hahahaa

<font color="0000ff">Pierced,</font>
think the mintuature museum is oso known as the World of all Religion (if i not wrong). will be waiting for your iternary.

hey friends,

i find this webpage quite useful esp when planning iternary maybe wanna have a look: -
http://www.taiwanfun.com/league/html/gp5.htm

BTW any one can enlighten me of the location that i describe below:
å°äººåœ‹
æ¡ƒåœ’ç¸£é¾æ½­é„‰é«˜åŽŸæ‘æ©«å²¡ä¸‹60-2號
電話:0800-321-468
票價:全票550å…ƒã€å„ªæƒ ç¥¨ï¼ˆå­¸ç”Ÿç¥¨ï¼‰490å…ƒã€ç‰¹æƒ ç¥¨ï¼ˆè€äººã€å…’童)350å…ƒã€åœ˜é«”全票490å…ƒã€ä¸‹åˆä¸‰é»žå¾Œå…¥åœ’å¯è³¼420元之優惠票
å°äººåœ‹æ˜¯åœ‹å…§é¦–åº§ä»¥æ¯”ä¾‹ç¸®å°æ–¹å¼å‘ˆç¾ä¸–界知å建築物的多功能文化主題樂園,主è¦ä»¥å°ç£ã€ä¸­åœ‹å¤§é™¸ã€å››å¤§æ´²ç­‰åœ°çŸ¥å建築為主è¦å‘ˆç¾å°è±¡ã€‚從å°ç£ç¸½çµ±åºœã€å¤§é™¸ç´«ç¦åŸŽåˆ°æ¯”薩斜塔ã€è‡ªç”±å¥³ç¥žåƒï¼Œå…±ä¸Šç™¾çµ„世界知å建築模型。å°äººåœ‹çš„æ¯ä¸€ç²’æ²™ä¸­ï¼Œéƒ½å»ºé€ äº†ä¸€å€‹ä¸–ç•Œï¼Œè®“ä½ çš„è¦–é‡Žç„¡é™çš„æ“´å¤§ã€‚還有æ±å—äºžæœ€å…·è¦æ¨¡çš„å®¤å…§éŠæ¨‚場「世界樂園ã€ï¼Œæœ‰å®¤å…§é›²éœ„飛車ã€è·è˜­é¢¨ç´é¦¬è»Šã€å°å°æ­æ´²ã€åœ°å¿ƒä¹‹æ—…ç­‰éŠæ¨‚è¨­æ–½ã€‚ä¸»é¡ŒéŠæ¨‚設施ã€è¶…ç´šé¾æ²é¢¨ã€žï¼Œå‰‡æ˜¯ç¥žç§˜çš„å°åœ°å®‰åœ–騰廣場é…åˆä¸Šè¶…ç´šé¾æ²é¢¨8åº¦ç©ºé–“æ—‹è½‰è®ŠåŒ–ï¼Œå¸¶çµ¦ä½ å‰æ‰€æœªæœ‰çš„ã€Œé£†é¢¨ã€æ„Ÿå—。尼羅河歷險å€å…§å®¹åŒ…æ‹¬éœ¹é‚æ»‘è‰‡ã€æ³•è€çŽ‹åŠ‡å ´ã€åŸƒåŠå•†åº—等。

i am planning to go taipei on national day period. however, i read in the previous archive that it may be a typhoon seasion in aug. Is it really so cos i was told by the agency that aug is a hot month of ard 37 degree... anyone can advise... thks

hi wong yy, may i know which agency you sign with? I chk with Konsortium, they charging $814 for 5d4n via SIA, hotel is Cosmo... Yours seems more attractive. can share? thks.

hi wongyy, sorry for the late mail. was too busy to reply til now. have sent u mi itinerary for TW.
xiao ren guo is a park but located outside Taipei. so gotta take a bus there.

AK,

I signed woth Wingo at People Park Basement. I have chk abt 3 agent there and Wingo is the best deal.

you can check with them and they are quite reasonable.

I think Aug is a Hot Season. Maybe rain in the afternoon but generally still can go.

Hey if you sign up let me know, maybe we can meet in TW...heehee

pierced,
have not chk my mail. But thanks in advance!

AK,

I have been in Taiwan for 2 weeks for an assignment. Last week, the weather is already hot, like 38 degrees. And as for typhoon, I am experiencing 1 right at this moment. So I guess it might really be the typhoon season but again, it is hard to predict when the typhoon will hit again. Flights might be stopped as well. Haiz...

Typhoon is depend on your luck one. August / sept is definitely peak typhoon season. But depends on ur luck see if u get one full blown one or not. Otherwise, its just lots of rain.

Xiao Ren Guo is in Taoyuan. Its not really a "park" if u go by the traditional definitely of a park. Its more like a theme park. If u go Xiao Ren Guo, can also go Lui Fu Chun (a real theme park). Also can visit Shi Meng Dam. Its a dam, big one. The restaurants there serves very good fresh water fish

Hi Wong YY, thks for the info. in fact i chk with CTC, but the price is even higher than i expect lor. now saw on CNA on the typhoon. sigh... not sure if will go ahead with Taiwan or change another location. if going ahead, i let u know, maybe we can meet in taiwan.

Joying, u in taiwan? so coincidence to hv a typhoon. imagine everyday raining.. will be very sian one. normally typhoon is on whole part of taiwan or most concentrated on a certain areas?

I am in taipei. Ya, the typhoon is hitting hualian today. It has been raining in taipei for the whole day.

AK, I am here on a work assignment so the rain does not make a difference to my schedule. Gotta work. Luckily, got to visit some places like yang ming san, beitou, danshui, night market, etc over the weekend. Quite beautiful...

i was worried abt the typhoon oso before signing up for the trip but seems like alot of my friends who went there during the Aug period said is "super" hot and no rain. But if really rain when I am there also bobian lor....just walk around Ximending or watch TV lor... heehee...

Idono,
abt the theme park thingy....how can i go there? cos i have been studying lonely planet and cannot get much information. Seach the Net almost all in chinese....seems like i cant reach that tao yuan place by MRT leh.

Also if i visit the both theme park (Xiao Ren Guo and Lui Fu Chun) what time should i wake up to leave Taipei? Will both destination takes 1 whole day? What time should i leave the theme parks to reach Taipei again?

joying,
during the typoon period, if i dun mind to get wet, i can still move around right? like going to SOGO etc all the BIG BIG shopping center.

BTW heard from my sis that there is a huge shopping mall that sells Japnese stuff...do you happen to know where? Also I am looking for nice dresses to attend wedding dinners, where can i get them? I know abt wu fen pu but seems like that place is a wholesale market and trying is not allowed leh so really turn me off abit.

Wong, when i was there in june, some of the days oso rain. juz carried umbrella to walk around.
xiao ren guo and leofoo chun is quite far from Taipei itself. u need to take bus there. might take a whole day coz of travelling time and depends on how long u wana stay at the park. i tot xiao ren guo is quite alrite to go, leofoo chun not that fun. u can consider gg if u have lots of time left. taoyuan can reach by train.
act when u reach taipei, u can get the free tourist maps and brochures that r very comprehensive but some of them might be in chinese.
if u wana shop, the shopping centres are not that advisable coz prices are either same or more expensive than Sin. not much variety as well.
thk the shopping mall might be Shinkong mitsukoshi. i bought mi clothes mostly from wufenpu and Shilin shops. rest are too expensive and pricey. not worth buying.

If typhoon just missed taiwan, then usually is just lots of rain. So no problem walking around. But if its a direct hit, then it depends on the grade of typhoon, more serious ones, govt will close schools and most companies will declare a "typhoon holiday". On average, taiwanese get about 2-3days of such holidays each year.

I'm not sure abt public transport to Xiao ren guo &amp; liu Foo Chun. But if u've transport, 1 day for both of these place is good. and yar, liu foo chun isnt such a fantastic theme park. so skip it unless u're bored

thanks pierced and Idono for information....

pls dun mind me asking....do you really enjoy your trip in TW? What is to be expected of there?

The more i read, the more i find it bored leh

YY,

Dun have to be so worry. Travelling is an enjoyment. Just let things take its own course. If the typhoon hit Taiwan in the north, you go south loh! Anyway, you will be surprised at their speed of clearing up the town in no time, after hit by a typhoon. Just expect to have some new encounters. =)

Went to xiao ren guo and leofoo chun (1 days each), more fun if you have kids. The unlimited games and rides will wear you out by end of the day. NOT advisable unless you have plenty of time. The entrance is a bit pricey as well.

Clothing there in shopping mall are expensive. So can go night market and wufenpu.
BTW, summer is good fruit season, grabbed their mango. Very sweet and juicy. Eat some of this year harvest liao. Yumm Yumm... Dun miss out the Ice Monster at Taipei near Din tai Fung.

If you are a naturalist, can go shifen Alishan. Have a huge waterfall and more greenery. Cool weather up in the mountain.

Oh yah! In case you are waiting, my friend have not get back to me on the beads shop.

ginger....

if your friend get back to u do let me know. Actually i have some leads from pierced liao so one of the day i will go there....

BTW, I thinking of going to their SOHO paper museum...isit bery far off from the station?

might go Taiwan during Dec. Does anyone know how's the weather like over there during Dec? Heard it's cold, so not advisable to go??

ahem..yes, if u dun like cold, please avoid all countries in the northern hemisphere anything above bangkok and all mountain areas

Idono....sigh....

mother in law and brother in law is saying abt typoon....i know their good intention but i realli not in the mood to change anything.....

I think i will not care but carry on with plan also my air ticket with SIA is an electronic ticket so ti think cannot change, right?