Taiwan F&E

hi cow,
may I know how's the conditions of friend's hotel you stay? initially when we went there wanted to stay there but after we read reviews that it's something like hotel 88 kinda of hotel business, we decided to drop the idea. But the website shows the hotel room is so nice and some more it says the room comes with jacuzzi bath.. And the price very reasonable too..mmm..can feedback? if it's good, i might go to taipei again with gf and stay there this time round :P

you went to alishan too and manage to see the sunrise! you're so lucky, when we were there and there were lots of cloud

precious,
we stayed at alisan house when we were there! yep, a bit costly (think it's about 300+ per night for triple room) but extremely nice!! we stayed at the new wing! but the breakfast is so so..

hi mrc, i stayed before at two branches of the friends hotel. one is yo yo at zhongshan mrt and the other is yochun at minsheng west road mrt. the room at yoyo was a bit small but the one at yochun was very nice and reasonably big. we requested for a japanese style room at yochun and was v pleased, cos the room actually looked like what was showed on their website.

overall, the rooms and bathrooms at both hotels were clean and neat, no complaints about that. the lobbies are also ok, looked respectable. we didn't see anything sleazy going on.

when we were at alishan, it was raining the whole evening and we were so worried it wouldnt clear up in time! but larki it did, phew!

Hi ladies, I am travelling to taipei in november and looking for hotels to stay in. It seems that all the hotels costs around $130 and above.
May I pls know if there are any cheaper hotels to stay in Taipei and is convenient?

:-)

yo blursotong... i also gog early nov and book my hotel call New World... nbr stay there b4 lah... so cant comment much... is cheaper and is in Xi Meng Ting wor... so when u gog

hi everyone~

I need your help here

i plan to go F&E 6D 5N during end of nov, may i know hw's the weather ter?
i found few hostel which are quite cheap, any1 heard about Guest House Taiwanmex? May I have you gals suggestion which hostel is cheap,clean & convenient?
I will be in Taipei, hw am I going to Hualien & Alishan? Will it be very very far? How about BeiTou Hot Spring?

I really appreciate all of your adv, thank u very much~

Hi jellytots i am going in late nov on the 23 November time. How much is new world and how do u go about booking it? Which website?

Hi blursotong, i'm oso intending to go there on 23... most likely will follow package tours.

are you going with tour or free and easy?

Hi blursotong, u can try Onestar Hotel - http://hotelnews.com.tw/hotel/hotel.php?hotel_id=550, just open someway in July, is near to Rainbow Hotel and is must newer.

u can just call them from here to doing a booking, don't need to put deposit, u call check the price, if ok tell them yr name and booking is done.

By the way, i notice by calling them direct is cheaper as compare booking tru their party ..

i wl be going on 30/10 to 07/11, below is my tentative itinerary ..any commend are welcome

Day 1 - 30 Oct - Sunday
2145 Tourch down Taipei. Take Coach to Taipei station than take MRT exit Ximen.
2330 Check in Onestar hotel. Wl try Shilin mkt ...

Day 2 - 31 Oct - Monday
0730 Ximenting Breakfast.
0900 Taipei train station - Buy train ticket to Hualien for 01/11.
1000 Beitou à Hotspring (2hrs) and Hotspring Museum.
1530 Danshui àLao Jie and
1900 Yu Ren Ma Tou for Lover's Bridge
2100 Shilin mkt ( MRT- JianTan Station )

Day 3 - 01 Nov - Tue
0600 Morning train 0645 to Hualien
1000 People from Minsu wl pick us up, than they wl arng for us to tour ard Hualien.

Day 4 - 02 Nov - Wed
0800 Tour at Hualien…
1730 Train to Taipei
2100 Reach Taipei, back to hotel than go Ximenting / Shilin

Day 5 - 03 Nov - Thru
0700 Ximenting Breakfast.
0800 Yeliou ( take bus to Keelung, than take cab to Yeliu…)
0930 Keelung, Jinguashih
1100 Jiufen à Dir bus frm Zhong Hsiqo Tung Rd, abt 1.5hrs à Keelung bus co. at Keelung city – Chinkuashih & get off at JiuFen, abt 40mins
1230 Rueifang ( take bus from Jiufen ) ( take train to Shi Fen )
1400 Shi Fen ( waterfalls ) ( from here back to Rueifang then to Keelung )
1600 Keelung à Miao Kou Night Mkt
2100 Ximenting / Shilin

Day 6 - 04 Nov - Friday
0830 Lungshan Temple
1000 CKS memotial Hall
1130 Sun Yat Sen Memorial Hall
1230 Taipei Station underground/Zhong Xiao Dong Lu/Guang Hua Shang Chang/ Chong Qing Nan Lu
1600 Wu Fen Pu wholesale mkt. ( HoushanPi MRT, along Zhong Hsiao Rd, 5 min walk ..)
1900 Rao He Nite Mkt ( Songshan Railway statin exit, walk across the bridge to RHNM )
2100 Ximenting / Shilin

Day 7 - 05 Nov - Sat
0830 Go Wulai ( Waterfall and Hot spring ) - Wulai Old Street, Aboriginal Village,
1900 Ximenting / Shilin

Day 8 - 06 Nov - Sunday
0830 Yang Ming Shan and TianMu
1900 Ximenting / Shilin

Day 9 - 07 Nov - Monday
0730 Ximenting Breakfast and last min shopping.
1100 Jacky Wu Dessert shop ( MRT to ZhongXiao Dunhua Station, exit 4 )
1200 Din Tai Feng for lunch.
1500 Airport and home sweet home…

Hi Eddie,

Your intinery is very details leh..
I'm travelling from 6th-13th Nov so about the same day as you but I will be covering Sun Moon Lake and Alishan.. ;p

Can I checked with you how near is the onestar hotel to Rainbow hotel and hw much did u booked per night?
Did u choose the twin bed A or B package as all is in chinese a bit headache to read it..

BTW, did u all arrange to Misu to picked you up at Huelian?
How do u did it? Do u have contact for it?
Does it include lodging also?
Tour ard Huelien beside the Taraoke Lake wat else is nice to see hah? I notice on the 2nd Nov u also touring Huelian.. is there a lot of things to see there as we just planned to stay for a day at huelian when we reach then travel out again..

yo eddie... wow u went so many days hur... care to share how much u pay for the accom per nite per room... also which airline are u travelling... me also staying near Xi Meng Ting wor... maybe we will bump to each other hor...

Hi Precious,

Information from the forum was ard 5 min walking dist .. or one street away ..if i am not wrong, Rainbow is nearer to the MRT.

As for the Hotel rate, the rate i booked (Q/K size bed)was weekday NT1680 and weekend NT1920. The rate include of taxes.

When u call and book, don't forget to mention what type of bed u need .. 2 single or one double bed ... to play safe, one or 2 wks b4 u fly off, give them a call again.

Are u starhub user? If yes, u can call 018 to Taiwan, no IDD charges ...

By the way, they is 2 ways u can pay for the hotel bill when u over there, u can either pay one shot for all the days u stay or u pay day by day ..

I did try to check from the 3rd party for the hotel price ... it cost more, SA quoted me $100+ for Onestar and Rainbow ...

The minsu http://home.kimo.com.tw/ix0701/index.htm was recommend from another forum, u can either call them or email them (i try to call them but can't get thru so email them, but later i found i call the wrong no.. hehe)..they wl pick me up at the Hualien train station and they wl arng for me the tour .. or u may want to refer to below link

http://tour-hualien.hl.gov.tw/english/index.htm
http://www.taiwantourbus.com.tw/ch/east.php

u may want to visit the below forum ... one of the tread discuess abt Taiwan, v long but informative ... it take q some time for me to finsih reading ...

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=718173&page=158&pp=15

Hi Jellytots,

I booked the hotel here but hv not make any payment yet hehe, hope they wouldn't put aroplane ..Onestar cost Wkday NT1680 & wkend NT1920, as for the minsu was NT1500..
i am fly by SQ ($806 incl tax for 2 person)

So when u going and which airline u travelling?

yo jazz... wow u manage to get the SQ promo hur... i try leh... cant wor... and the tix is so ex wor... so u spent 8nites there at the hotel hur...

me flying by jetstar wor... and gog on the 02/11 to 09/11 wor... staying at New World Hotel... think quite "log" man... but is cheaper ba... i pay abt S$500+ for 7nites...

yo precious.. i pay abt $312 for jetstar leh...

Hi Jazzboy,

I think your Day 5 is too rushed. May not meet those timing. Day 7 is too loose unless you intend to spend time savoring tea at Wulai

For pple looking for low cost accom, you dun hv to stay at XiMenTing area. Becoz its ex there. There's also nothin' much to see / eat (special) in this area in the morning, so staying else where would be a good options. Maybe look for hotels near Shilin / TianMu area. A bit cheaper.

Hi Idono,

Tks for the adv, actually i also notice my day 5 very pack ... maybe wl do some changes when i over there, so far lot of people said Jinguashih
is nice .. maybe wl spend more time on this place ..

u went to Wulaii b4, any places i shd go in Wulai or shd i give Wulai a miss?

Anymore places u can recommend?

Hi Jellytots,

for SQ promo, u hv to bk the ticket early in the morning, normally after 10+ ... ticket wl sold out ..

i wl stay at Taipei for first 2 nite, than go Hualien for 1 nite than go back to the same hotel, so i can leave my lauggage at the hotel when i go Hualien .. so i don't vh to carry so many things to Hualien ..

Hi Jazz,

I would think maybe you give ShiFen a miss. The waterfall aint much to view and requires an entrance fee. Unless you like to take a look at the villages around ShiFen area and relax there.

For Yeliu, may need more than 1.5hrs. Personally, I like the place and will usually take a walk all the way to the end of the track where there's a lighthouse. It can be a bit cold & windy at this point of the year though.

For Hualien, I would suggest that since you made the effort to travel there, do spend 1/2 - 1 day for a tour to Taroko Gouge.

Hi Idono,

Tks for the adv, maybe wl give Shifen a miss.

For Taroko Gouge, don't worry, i die die wl go .. hehe

U went Wulai b4? anything to do there? still thinking shd i go Wulai?

Hi Idono,

If you remember, I ask you about the private cab driver which u known.. can you try to help me to search whether u stil hv his contact?

I may need him to transport us from Hualien to Sun Moon Lake and to Alishan if it is possible..

Thanks a lot..

jazzboy,

i just went wulai last friday, nothing much, 1 waterfall and a park, weather was bad, drizzling, v warm n humid. took the tram ride but din go to the park. we left after 1 hr.... No flower at this season. Alisan was much better.

For cheap n convenient hotel, try Royal Castle, 5min from XiMenTing.

Took Jetstar too, din realise it is so cramp... tot was ok when i went to BKK with Jetstar...

Precious,

If its from hualien to Sun Moon Lake, then maybe you shd negotiate wif Hualien's local driver. Coz dun make sense for you to pay him to travel from XinZhu to Hualien (which is abt 5hrs drive) then to sun moon lake. Will probably cost u more.

hi jazzboy, it shouldnt take more than an hour to get to wulai from taipei. nothing much at wulai besides the spa. the amusement park is terrible and not cheap to go into either. i din go into the spas, but i passed by a row of them on the bus, they looked v nice!

hi jazzboy,

Take MTR to Xindian, then change bus, think 20-30min. can also take the bus from taipei train station, then will be 1 hr? I think the Spas n hotspring places at Beitou is much better...

can anyone help with YMS....

i understand that there is a inter bus service that travel ard YMS which u can alight and reboard the bus with no charges... however i think the waiting time can killed... i intended to take the bus and only alight at some stops... but anyone can recommend which stop should not be miss...

Hi Jelly tots and Eddie, thanks for info. I booked the Paradise Hotel at NT 1900.

Hi JT Bliss, i will be travelling to taiwan on 17- 22 Nov on a package tour. We extended another 4 days at taipei. So we are wondering what we can do there. most probably we will be going to Beitou hotsprings and then to Danshui Lao Jie and Fisherman's wharf. The last 4 days is more of a R&R for us.

I heard there is this place that selss cheap shoes. Anyone knows where it is?

Hi Blursotong,

so what is yr itinerary for yr package? All in Taipei or u going other area? And how much u pay for the package?

u mention u extended another 4 days, but u wl be going Taiwan on 17-22, that is 6 days .. so i believe this date don't include the extra 4 days ..

not sure where can buy cheap shoes, if i can find, wl post the address when i come back...

Hi Jazzboy.. i cannot remember where i am going. Quite a few places. I am going to Hualian, Taichung, some hot spring (not the beitou one), Kaoshiung.

I am thinking of Alishan but it is quite a distance to travel from Taipei. Also to Beitou hotspring.

blursotong,
u going to taiwan this mth hor? u going pkg tour?
me will be going end feb also lor... I booked with Hong thai.Wat abt u?

thinking of bringing my 1yr old son to taiwan for a short trip. Can anyone recommend accomodation and places to vist. Thanks

HI Newbbi,

I also booked with Hong Thai. heheh. Alot of pple signed up with them. My friends as well. I booked the 7 day tour. What about u?

I'm planning for taiwan on jan. I was reading this thread for the entire morning...

i will be in Taipei for abt 9 days,
7 days will be using at yang ming shan, beitou(hot spring), danshui(sunset), national museum, night markets(shopping).. thou of using 2 days outside Taipei.

I thou of Alishan, but it's winter, guess i will be froze by the time i get up there...hahah...

anyone has suggestions of 2 days trip...
i don't like tour buses, becos half the time i felt i will be getting up and down the buses..

any tea planation stay...????

Hi Angee,

I find that 7 days in Taipei alone is abit too long. Why don't consider shorten it to 5 days. Can spend a day at 野柳 & ä¹ä»½ (northern end of taiwan, above taipei).
As for 阿里山, I went there during Christmas, temp abt 10-15 on cloudy day. Just wear something thicker. Not snowing. Nice scenery when you overlook 玉山. No need to follow group tour. Take their train from Taipei to 嗿Е, take another train up the mountain. Pls check the train timetable, slightly complicated. Must see sunrise at 阿里山, hence book the tram tickets and have to wake up in the dark. Btw, nightsky is beautiful there.
Not sure where is the tea plantation, but if you want 海芋 plantation(a type of flower that look like lily) can be found at 阳明山. Other than that, still have lotus plantation (not sure where, it is a town near taipei), etc.

Hi Angee,

You might have interested in the farm stay. I'm supposed to go there during my last summer visit, but miss it due to typhoon, hence cannot give you further comment on the place. It is a relaxing place.

DATA:清境瑪格莉特花園
■營業時間:10:00~21:00
■地å€ï¼šå—æŠ•ç¸£ä»æ„›é„‰å¤§åŒæ‘信義巷39-1號(清境農場附近)
■電 話:049-2802923
â– ç¶² å€ï¼šhttp://0492802923.travel-web.com.tw

this is my first trip to taipei.

anyone kind soul can tell me the itinerary that i plan is good?

Hi Calicoat,

Is it worth going to Xingnan Nite Market and Nanya?

For Miramar ferris wheel, do i have to wait very long before my turn? am thinking of going there on my first nite to shilin nite market. for shilin nie market or other markets, what time the stalls there are closed?

Pls ignore the above post

this is my first trip to taipei.

anyone kind soul can tell me the itinerary that i plan is good? \

Day 1 - The big Freego coach doesn't go directly to Stars; it goes to Taipei Main Station, where you can either 1) take a taxi (TWD75) for the short ride to Stars, or 2) take the Freego shuttle from the drop-off point at Taipei Main Station to Stars (price included in your airport-to-Taipei ticket). Make the arrangements for the free shuttle pick-up at Taipei Main Station when you buy your Freego ticket at the airport. (Tks Liebetaube, Puffish & Nutty!). Then off to Shilin Night Market

Day 2 - Chiang Kai-shek Memorial, Sogo Main Store & Zhongxiao E. Rd. Sec. 4---you can walk along this major shopping road from Sogo to the Sun Yat-sen Memorial (the East Metro Mall is located underground along this section as well)---Sun Yat-sen Memorial, Taipei 101, Wufenpu, Raohe St. Night Market

Day 3 - Confucius Temple, National Palace Museum, Beitou hot springs, Danshui, Miramar ferris wheel

Day 4 - Jiufen (no need to get there early), Keelung "miaoko" snack area, Ximending

Day 5 - Wulai, Lungshan Temple, Huaxi St. "Snake Alley", Ximending

Day 6 - Xin Guang Shan Yue (Shin Kong Mitsukoshi) Main Store, Taipei Main Station Metro Malls

The above itinerary is just a suggestion.... I'm sure Nuttyazn could provide an excellent itinerary for you to consider...Avoid doing Jiufen, Danshui and Wulai on a weekend.
I've left out Taipei Sea World because it's gotten complaints from the locals for being a rip-off for the price, so don't expect too much. It's located across from Shilin Night Market.
Weather in December is cool, sometimes chilly, not cold.
Transportation:

Day 1: MRT to JianTan and walk to Shilin Night Market.

Day 2 -
1. MRT to CKS Memorial Hall Station (for CKS Memorial Hall)
2. MRT CKS Memorial Hall Station to Zhongxiao Fuxing Station (for Sogo & walk along Zhongxiao E. Rd. Sec. 4)
3. Walk from Sogo to SYS Memorial Hall, then from SYS Memorial Hall to Taipei 101
4. Taipei City Hall Station –Taipei 101 (NYNY, Warner Village and Shin Kong Mitsukoshi are all located in the Taipei 101 area
5. MRT Taipei City Hall Station to Houshanpi Station (for Wufenpu & Raohe St. NM)

Day 3 -
1. MRT to Yuanshan Station;walk to Confucius Temple http://www.ct.taipei.gov.tw/Eng_2005/index.htm
2. MRT to Shilin Station, then Red 30 Bus (for National Palace Museum)
3. Taxi from Museum to Miramar (May Lee Hwa)
5. Miramar shuttle bus to MRT Jiantan Station, then from Jiantan Station to Xinbeitou Station (for Beitou hot springs) No. 267-NT$15/- from JianTan MRT to Miramar.
5. MRT Xinbeitou Station to Danshui Station

Day 4 - 1. MRT to Taipei Main Station; train to Rui-fang, then bus to Jiufen
2. Bus to Keelung (for "miaoko")
3. Train to Taipei
4. MRT to Ximen Station (for Ximending)

Day 5 -
1. MRT to Xindian Station; Xindian Bus "Wulai" route; return via same route
2. MRT to Lungshan Temple Station (for LS Temple & Huaxi St.)
3. MRT to Ximen Station (for Ximending)

Day 6 -
Walk or Taxi to Taipei Main Station (for Shin Kong Mitsukoshi & Metro Malls)

Just to add on Freegou airport coach do take u directly to one star hotel at ximenting if we are talking abt the same hotel.. the freegou will let u drop somewhere at the city area and transfer to a smaller mini van which will take u directly to one star hotels.. another thing to add on is one star is definetly very central and at ximenting although is not like rainbow hotel which is located right inside ximenting.. personally find dat one star is newer and cleaner and definetly worth the price os staying..

We took about one whole dat at the national palace museum as there was a lot of things to see.. would suggest u cater more time for it..

Miramar ferry wheel starts to have quene ard 6 plus so wld suggest u all to go earlier to avoid the crowd and waiting time..

Anyone booked Taiwan F&E recently for Dec or Jan trip? How much is it? I have just called one agency and for 5D4N, it is 870 inlcuding airport tax. Is it a good deal?

blueblue,

which airline is that? Does the price include accommodation? How many days accommodation?
Just for your info, 5D4N you properly have 3.5days to wonder around, usu in Taipei if you are flying to Taoyuan Int'l Airport.