Solemnisation at Amara Swimming Pool

hi rainne,
You can see the previous post by user, amy, whereby she posted the pictures of the site. I guess it is best that you called up Amara and have a look. Personal feel is the best. You will not regret it. I even went to Amara swimming pool for my PS last Thursday.

hi dreamdream,
I wish you and your hubby everlasting love...
Don't forget to share share your pictures.

hi cherz, rainne, and jas,

thanks so much for your wishes!

my rom went smoothly, despite the short drizzle. im really glad i used amara. good service, good food, and cheap too! value for money!!

actually i didnt plan much for my rom, even left the march-in song selection to michelle. hubby and i only heard the song about 30 mins before my guests start to arrive. both of us were not particular about march-in song, so we just went with whatever she chose for us. and anyway, both of us don't remember much about the song. basically didnt 'hear' it! cos there were so many other things in our minds to pay attention to the march-in song. my photographer wanted us to walk slowly so that he can capture good photos. and there was a short drizzle then, plus my gown had a short train, so i had to walk carefully to ensure i dun trip or slip! then the guests were clapping and cheering, so we also had to look pretty & handsome and smiled at them at the same time. and b4 we knew it, we were at the solemnization table at the pavilion aldy!

cos there was a short drizzle, the banquet captain held an umbrella and walked behind us to shelter us to the pavilion. then when we finished the solemnizaiton ceremony, we had the different grps of guests come to the pavilion to take photo with us. he also sheltered some of our guests.

fortunately for us, the drizzle was a short one, so we didnt have to shift everything to a function room. only thing was, the guests had to sit in the shelter area in front of the buffet and tables instead of just in front of the pavilion. there was mics for both the JP and ourselves. so our guests cld still hear despite sitting some distance away. but our mic kinda went funny when it was my turn to say the vow. it didnt work. but that didnt bother me. i went ahead to say my vow anyway. it's meant for my hubby's ears, so as long as he can hear me, that's good enough.

many of my guests complimented the food. they especially liked the prawns, said they were very fresh. the choc cake was very rich too. choc cake lovers wld love it. and the thai desserts were good too. in fact everything was good! when finished, the food were replenished.

as both hubby and i didnt eat much then, the banquet guys sent some food to our room after everything was over. i asked for a glass of soft drink but the banquet captain returned with a full bottle. i thot that was quite sweet of him.

one thing thou, i think someone asked about having a emcee for the event. we didnt plan for one initially. but if u r having a march-in, its better to have someone announce it, so i got my sis-in-law to do a short welcome speech at the last minute. fortunately she had some emcee experience, so it went well. it might be good to have an emcee unless u've arranged with ur JP to do the welcome speech and announcement.

the 2 hrs passed by very fast. and before we knew it, all our guests incl our families had left and its only 2 of us left in our room. both hubby and i cldnt remember much of wat had happened! but we knew our guests were happy and we were both smiling from beginning to end.

hi dreamdream,

wow, great to know that you, your hubby, family and guests enjoy your ROM.....

Though there are some hipcups, but generally it went smoothly....

Hmmmmm..... You make me so hungry now! I have not taken my dinner yet.

Thanks for your tips on the emcee. Will get my emcee to announce.

dreamdream,

thank you so much for the detailed 'report'. think cher n I are happy that we signed up with Amara...esp after hearing what u have to say

think i will arrange for a emcee....just to annouce march in . seems like u dun have champagne pouring, i might cancel that as well.

wow...dreamdream makes me want amara leh...hehehe... Jas, great choice for taking PS at the balinese pool, very nice n will be very memorable ;)

btw, Michelle told me the shelter area for buffet line besides the pool can only take up to 5 tables. Anyone tried 6 tables b4? And anyone deco the pool at ur own?

D.O.G,

yup can only take 5 tables.how many tables r u looking at?i be having 5.

decorate the pool??the pool too far rite?or u mean the pavilion?

i guess one table will not b under the shelter.

wat is the timing of yr rom??mine is 1pm.i dun intend to hav a cocktail.do u hav to pay for it?

i wont b decorating coz i like it simple.hee save $$ aso.

mine is dinner, will b my wedding n not rom. I ROMed hehehe... I planning 6-7pm: Cocoktail & 7-9pm dinner. My package is freeflow of softdrink n mixer. Michelle said I can bring in hard liquar n get the bar guy to mix into cocktail like gin tonic, etc loh.

btw, those who had the wedding already can share with dishes are nice? I am going to take the dinner package.

oic.

hmm dinner timing shd b veri romantic ya.
but the dinner package is quite expensive rite,abt $70plus per pax

Hello chez, my is buffet dinner so that can be served by the pool. Is $55/pax. Anyone had dinner by the pool b4? Tat day I went it was very dim, very first impression is that they dun have enough lightings as the pool closes at 6pm...hmmm....maybe they dun equip with too much lightings in this case.

I din really ask will there be extra lighting. Oh...i shld describe as dark. Too dim to be considered romantic.

I m new to this thread.... jus like to share that i would be takin Amara poolside for my Solemnization too... my FH and I are even considerin usin Amara for our weddin banquet. the disc at the weddin fair is not bad,u all might 1 2 check it out

For those ROM at amara, it is stated the package is mini 30 person. May I know does this includes the JP?

Hi Cherz, there wasnt any ROM package at the wedding fair.

Rainne,

i tink u hav to include the JP as one of the 30pax.the hotle wont give the JP a free meal rite.

D.O.G,

mine package is the standard one.if u wan champage foundation,u pay for the champage,the hotel will do the set-up.

cocoberry,

heard the wkday banquet package is much cheaper than the wkends one rite?>

me too gonna book them for the pool side solemnization ...

hi D.O.G,
i dun think can bargain for extra things ...
999 nett for hi tea or buffet lunch for 30 pax ..
they will arrange the champagne pouring glasses (if want) ... but must provide own champagne ..
corkage charge for wine = 20+++

rainne,
u gotto include the jp in your 30 pax ...

I find their wine corkage charge is v v expensive...haiz... Anyone serving/served wines? How many bottles to prepare?

hi D.O.G,

yup ... it's exp ...
a bottle already cost around that price ..
i'm only thinking of serving ...
for me i think a table at least 2 bottles

maybe u wanna consider getting sparkling juice ...
no corkage charge ..

did u get any extra perks from michelle ?

sparkling juice no corkage charge ah? U sure? Can consider coz some dun take alcohol wan. Same like u, i find it hard to bargain for things, I got ask but Michelle replied all got charges loh, can't throw in. I only managed to extend the 2hrs event to 3hrs but verbally leh, no black & white. U leh, got any extra perks???

Cha Bo,

mine big day aso in 2007.u can start doing research 1st n making forum frenz to exchange info wif one another.

wow....how to DIY everything???like making yr own gown?

yup seen amara's pool.like the settings dats y booked wif amara alreadi.

cherz> u can mail me ur details nt? My fh finally open up his mind wanna go n see the plc ald. Still deciding between carlton n amara tho.

Hw much dep u place?

Merry Christmas!!!

I agree with Cherz, like the pool so much that why I booked with Amara.

By the way, anyone has any idea if during our solemnization, are the hotel guests "allow" to swim in the pool? Hmmmm... was imaging that what if during solemnization, people wearing bath robe and walking around.

jas, pool closes at 6pm. Wat time is your solemisation? My cocktail starts frm 6pm so I am safe on no outsiders.

hi D.O.G,

yup ... no corkage charge for sparkling juice ..
i've checked with michelle.

oooOOoo extending the hours ...
at least something ..
i didn't know can extend ..

are u planning to add into the decor ?
i was thinking of strapping some decor around the pavilion ... but dunno wat to strap ..

cha bo,

how are u diy everything ?

hey... suelynn ..
i also have the package details ...
can forward to u ..
u forgot about me liao ah ?
i have both carlton and amara package ...
deposit for both is 300 ...

wonder how come cherz manage to pay 200 the other time ...
he he ...
cherz .. any tactic ?

hi lynn,
in a moment will be forwarding u the package ...
look out for my mail ..

jas,
i think surely got ppl walk around ...
cause it's a public area ...

D.O.G,
mine is solemnization during lunch time ..
hope it's too hot for other guests to come down to swim ..

hi coytoe,

Mine is at 6.15pm. At first I thought the swimming pool close at 7pm. So meaning quite safe.

hi ck,
Since you are holding in the afternoon, have you ever though make it more casual and than let guests to swim also? Just like those party shown in the TV. hehehe... just an suggestions.

someone told me closes at 7pm but when I check with Michelle sahe said 6pm leh and she oso mentioned she will put up our wedding signage at the reception area, I guess the hotel guests won't be so thick-skinned to barge in loh :P

jas, i like ur idea abt pool party ;) But got to check with Michelle are we allowed to use the pool ;) I won't be doing tat coz the bride CAN't SWIM...wahahaha

D.O.G and jas,

u taking the buffet dinner solemnization package ?

jas,
ha ha .... dun think got extra perks for the swimming issue ..
he he ..
it's gonna be casual ...
dun want the guess to be overly dressed up ..
after all is alfresco ...

hi ck, i m taking the ROM package but no solemisation. Is actually my wedding day loh but since its a small scale thingy so I took the ROM package instead ;)

wah so many postings!

merry xmas everyone!!

ck,

tks for sending suelynn the details!!
i din pay $200 lah.i paid $300.hee i not to special to pay lesser deposit leh.

yup,the pool wldnt b closed for the solemnisation.its a great idea to hav a pool party .

wat do u all intend to wear for the solemnisation since the guests r dressing more causual?r yr FH goin to wear suit??

Hi Cherz and CK,

me and my gerfrens like to do handcrafts and also decorative stuffs... Plan to take a simple course on flower arrangement and create my own hand bouquet and also wedding favors (for ladies only)

Even my future home, i plan to paint it myself with my own color selections, patterns and etc... :p THat's my hobby, i guess .... hehehehe..

Anyway, my wedding is on year 2007... So, i got plenty of time to plan....

Have you seen Mayfair pool in GoodWood Park Hotel? Oso v. nice...

Btw, how many ppl can amara pool side accomadates??