Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

hi adeline, me too don't like the shark's fins & dessert.
But my uncle said good shark's fins supposed to be like tat, not so starchy & sweet.
Our Dessert abit cheap hor?
Maybe u can consider crispy chicken (though common) but quite nice.

Pinkdot, thanks for sharing.
U got great ideas!
where are u getting the sugar coated almonds?
How much?
Marriott going to reduce $$ when u don't get the favours (chocolate i suppose) from them?

hi pinkdot, the theme can mix?

Mist, agree hotel food cannot expect too much.
We are paying for the ballroom rental & location.

Gals, reminder about the corkage charges of $20+++ per bottle if u get wine externally.
u source externally, the wine has to be real cheap in order to save cost.

Hhmm...i think unless we really wanted a particular brand or type, else i think get from the hotel is more worth it...the corkage change is so high...

unless u can get corakge charges like $100 for 12 bottles...heheh

Hi Bugbear,

Like wat CT said, dun expect alot.

Hi CT,

Yup, the desset, yucks. Not nice hor. Duno the Almond creme nice anot.
My HB said the shark's fins taste funny ...

The 2 veggies look cheapo too.

Lucky the fish is nice!

Hi Pinkdot,

I olso wan to mix the theme but duno how to do it leh ???

adeline, yes, 'funny' is the word.
Wat to do how to change?
Veg, our remark, presentation can be improved.
Hehehe..
Did u give your alot of feedback? We did.
Hope they can improve on the items we have commented.

CT,

Yup, I did.

I commented both veggie 'too normal' and the dish with celery too little portion and presentation needs improvement.

I actually dun like the taste of beancurd sheet with veg. can't chg leh.

hmmm, the shark fin, duno with bamboo pith better or with fried fish maw??

still wondering shld I chg the ribs cos too sweet liao.

dessert duno almond creme nice bo?

ai .............. how??

think the fish maw with conpoy one looks more presentable.
Ah lor, the clery dish so little, saw more chilli than anything else.
If the rib is too sweet, consider the chicken lor. It tasted ok, at least passed.
Anyone here tried the almond creme dessert??

hi CT,

you mean dun need to pay corkages fee of $20+++ if you get wine from marriott???

but i thought mine still need to pay corkage fee even if i get wine from marriott leh......

ok gals, back from my food tasting and here's my comments:
Almond cream dessert is very nice! Personally I liked the taste of almond and their almond taste is strong.. Ade, you might want to consider.

My vegges is spinach with braised mushroom (w/o the beancurd sheet). We got a shock when they served this dish cos the mushrooms were HUGE! hahahaha nevertheless, it's tasty too but we commented that smaller mushrooms are preferred.

Braised Eefu noodles is one of our favourite tonite.. even the children loves it! Shark fin with fish maw & Conpoy is better in terms of quality..it was a bit saltish.. so was crispy Roast chicken.

Seabass with fried yellow bean was good too! and we decided that it's not necessary to upgrade the fish. oh yes, we had clery with chicken and shrimps.. the presentation was good and both parents liked it.

overall, I would rate the food 7.5/10 (-2.5 pts for crispy chicken, Vegges) but the portion was just right, not too many yet enough for all.

No, they wont charge you corkage if you're buying wines from Marriott.

their "standard" corkage cost is S$20+++ per bottle of wine, but you must try to negotiate for a package deal, as I've mentioned in my earlier posting.

Hi Mist
after taxes, marriott wines cost abt S$25...
didnt managed to visit the wine merchant today.. will keep you ladies posted again. Usually it will be on consignment basis so whatever unused wines can be returned.

Abt the theme, actually if you dont like some setting of your confirmed theme, you may ask them to change.. for example, if you decided on the vineyard theme but doesnt like the VIP seats' cover, you may ask them to change to the Red chair used in the oriental theme etc..

I havent managed to source for sugar-coated almonds.. am trying very hard. SIGH!

Hi CT, hotel will not reduce the price, so I thot of taking their wedding favours too, just additional stuff for guests lor.. I might display these nicely outside the ballroom during the reception for guests to help themselves (shld I managed to get my own favours!)

Oh, ade, just to add further, I took out the beancurd sheet from the vegges cos I think it will make the dish look "cheap".. Mine is just Spinach and braised mushrooms.. was yours Spinach too?

Am gg to have my dinner @ Marriot this Nov. Signed up with them last year actually, my planner was Sunil who has left, & its Mark now. My dinner is on Sat. Previously, what he gave was

2 nights stay in the bridal suite
2 extra rooms for helpers
24 bottles of wine
free waiver for wines
free food tasting for 10 - 11
melting hearts for dessert (no need to top up)

hope it helps. did not know can negotiate for free projector, so did not ask for it. though will choose it as one of my wishes. is there really a lot of new perks now as compared to last year? so sad :-(

anyway, hmmm my min table was 38, down from 40.

really like their location & best is, that it is the only ballroom. & located centreally in town too.

got a headache too in deciding which themes, though i too think their flower deco & theme a bit plain, but Sunil was saying this will be affected by the "beautiful" lighting effects :-) heeeee

anyone chose the birdnest? how good?

heard from frens that the food sucks, when i told them i signed up with Marriot, i got a lot of questions & weird looks, but since i really like the place. who cares right

Wow Angelsky,

you've got so many perks!!!
esp the melting hearts dessert and the extra night's stay and rooms for helpers too!

How did you do it? Is it cos urs is weekend and u have so many tables?

My planner is also Mark but I dun really have a good impression of him.He seems to be quite irresponsible...

Hi Angelsky,

Wahhh ... yours is better than ours!!!! Why????
My coordinator refuse to gv extra perks!

Hi Pinkdot,

Almond creme nice??? hmmmm maybe I shld chg it ...
You also think Shark fin with fish maw & Conpoy is better??
Mine also spinach ... dun like the taste of the beancurd leh ... shld I take out the beancurb sheets?
Dun u find the portion for celery with chicken and shrimps too little?
Is crispy chicken nice ... duno wan to chg the spare ribs anot?

Hi Angelsky, u got a veri good deal!
With so many perks, u still entitled to the wish list, I would say they were veri kind to u!
So long as u like it, nobody can say anything about the venue.
It's your wedding!
Hubby had been to a wedding at MArriott also thot tat the flowers decor for ballroom too little & plain.
Did anyone request for more flowers or improvement in the decor?
Is there birdnest in the menu?
For sats only?

Pinkdot, thanks for your feedback on the dishes.
Wedding favors stuff will reconsider.

Wow Anglesky, you are very lucky indeed.. are yours weekends dinner? sigh, we have to pay for corkages if we were to purchase outside hotel.. and you have the melting heart dessert without additional cost!!!

Hi Ade, yes, they almond cream is really nice, but you must be an almond-lover inorder to enjoy as much as I do. some pple dun like the smell of it..

it would be nicer to serve the Roasted chicken cos usually in banquet, pple expect good stuff like prawn, fish, sharkfin, chicken.. so you might really want to consider taking the chicken instead of the spare rib.

Yes, definitely the conpoy and fish maw is better! both are consider expensive compare to crabmeat, which is soo boring.

Hi CT, if you dun want to serve sharkfin, you might change to birdnest, but I believe you will need to top up!

Will seriously consider the almond creme dessert, since I'm an almond lover.

pinkdot, how does the almond creme look like? White paste? Sweet with strong almond smell & taste?

Pinkdot,

Do your parents and PIL like the taste of the almond dessert too?

Pinkdot/CT,
Is the presntation of the crispy chicken gd?
May I noe which theme cards you gals took?
I had the oriental card and hv problems tying it.

hi adeline, I will be collecting my oriental cards soon.
U meant the strings are difficult to tie?
Didn't the printer teach u how to to do it?

Crispy chicken presentation is normal. Not fantastic, think more inportant is the taste for this dish.
Some may think it is a little salty, but my family think its ok.

Pinkdot, conpoy is dried scallop rite?

Hi CT,

Nope, din get Lil'art to teach me ocs the cards were send to Marriott directly.
I tried tying 20 cards aslt nite and it looked horrible. My mum asked me to send cards w/o the ribbons.

hi angelsky,

Your perks are really good. I doubt any of the girls would be able to get something similiar now. I thought my offer was already very good. Maybe I can share some, so that potential BTBs can have a guideline when negotiating with the planners.

1. 2 nites at bridal
2. 1 complimentary table
3. free flow of beer
4. if 1 projector - foc; if 2 projectors, utilise 1 of the wish list
5. cockage waiver for ALL alchohol drinks (hard liquor, wines, stout, champagne)
6. 1 rm for helpers
7. min 25 tables only
8. free food tasting for 10 psns on full 8 course (mine is a weekday dinner)
9. house wine is $20+++ per bottle
10. menu change flexi between all weekday menus

I think that's about all.

Hi Isabelle, how come you say Mark is irresponsible? What about Angela?

Hi Niuniu,

Your deal is gd too!!!! Any $$ discount per table?
Who is your coodinator and when did you sign up???
When is your AD?

Ade => huh? tot I told u I didn't sign up with them tho it was a good deal? It's becoz of the planner's service lor. So rather forego the good deal. Just in case got problem later.
I'm not applicable for the $50 discount per table coz my date is not this year.

Isabelle => hope to hear your reply...

Hi Niuniu
So what did the planner advices? why did they not like Marriott leh?

SIGH!!! mine very standard one! got only 1 night bridal suite, helper room (fr the wish list)... SIGH!!!

Hi Ade Hello CT
Yes my parents and MIL love the Almond dessert.
Not too sweet, just nice (but not sure will the standard remains on actual day.. ) It's white milky "soup-base".. not starchy kind. and they served it HOT, that's the best! haha

You're right CT, conpoy is "dried mini scallop".

I took the off-white cards.. actually my MIL prefer the red ones but we managed to persuade her to change her mind cos it will cost us more to print 2 different cards.. :p Will stick the Chinese "XI" on the envlopes.

Not staying extra nite.. haiya, no need lah, dun waste $$$.. unless you're getting free one! hehehe

think will try to negotiate for the projectors..
really prefer to have 2 front screens instead of 1 at the side.. SIGH..

angelsky
i'm also getting hitch this nov & also signed up with Sunil which is taken over by Mark now, but i din get such good perks ... so fortunate of u!

pink_dot
guess my contract is the same as u ... sigh
btw, i will be getting the off-white cards too .. i like that design, wonder if i can change the colour of the ribbon? ... oops guess i shd start getting the cards from marriott...

Looks like you all got a very good deals. I don't think I get the 2 night stay. Will go back and check tonight. Or you all bargain for it? BTW, Mark or Angela is better?

hi Angelsky & Niuniu, both of u lucky gals!
Did both of u negotiate for the packages during the MArriott fair?
They threw in the perks or u negotiated???

Really veri good deal u know?!!!

Adeline, collected my cards.
U can tie the ribbon in the center of the card. Secure the inserts by glue on one side.
Or move the ribbon to the folding part of the card.
Try & let me know if u got problems.

hi pinkdot, u mean if we have 1 project then it will be by the side?
If 2 projects, then in the center?
ME puzzled liao???
Can explain further?

hi angelsky,

i think you've got quite a good deal leh..... so fortunate..

hi pinkdot,

is it?? i think i saw my contract, still need to pay corkages charge even if i obtain wine from marriott leh... think i better go home and read again...

hey, thanks for your review on the food...
looks like you quite enjoy it...

sorry niu niu for the late reply. Was too caught up in work.

I think that mark is irresponsible cos he always says "I'll get back to you" but after that I don't hear from him. But that's just my impression.

I dunno abt Angela.

Btw, ur perks are also very GOOD for a weekday 2005 wedding! Who served you?

Mine is also min 25 tables for a weekday.
But for complimentary room for helpers and extra night stay, mine is subject to availabilty.
And they just refused to waive corkage for wines!
How did you convince them?

Yah, my package was very gd. And I got it before the wedding fair. We didn't negotiate for those perks. Just ask only & we were given. But they are only available superficially. All the items and perks of my package were promised to us verbally. When we requested our wedding coordinator to pen down all that was promised to us on the contract, that's where the true colours emerged. They didn't follow up with us on the promo deadline. So slowly, one by one, the perks were taken back.

So we decided not to sign up with marriott coz the confidence in them is gone. We kind of feel cheated. We rather they be upfront with us on what we can have and what we can't, than overpromising us in the beginning just to lure us in. Fortunately we did not give up our tentative bookings with other hotels. But we did give up some thinking that Marriott is the one. We had wanted to change co-ordinator but in the end didn't bother to since we were thinking of dropping Marriott already. We were very upset & disappointed with the service, considering Marriott to be a 5* hotel!
We had even wanted to talk to the director & didn't do it in the end bcoz we wouldn't want the planner to be whacked.

So for those who are considering choosing which hotel to have their banquet, make sure you have everything in black and white and until the contract is signed by both parties, nothing is confirmed. And don't be so naive and be taken in by sweet talking.
"Everything also can!" That's salesman talk!!!

Hi bugbear and bottle,

I dun think I can disclose my banquet venue as the said party in my above posting are reading this forum.

So sorry about that.

Hi Niuniu,

since u are not signing up with marriott, can u tell us who was the coordinator who made all those empty promises to u? Then we can be more carful in our negotiations with him/her?

And how do u know they are reading this forum?

Thx!

Hi Ade
do share with me after your meet up session hor!!
I had 4 gowns indoor, 1 gown outdoor and 1 causal outdoor, so total 6 lor. did you manage to sell off the GHA package? why did you not want their service?

hi pinkdot,

sure! btw, wat shld i ask fm Marriott for my AD ....?
not yet selloff .... cos i've signed up another bridal package as i love their gowns more.
GHA was signed more than 2 yrs ago ...........

hi pinkdot/ CT and all,

Are you getting red wine fm Marriott? They've a few varieties ... any idea which type is better?

hi pinkdot/ CT and all,

Are you getting red wine fm Marriott? They've a few varieties ... any idea which type is better?
I'm meeting Angela tomorrow to finalise my AD theme ... may i noe shld I ask for anything?

halo everyone

me chose Marriot too

will be getting married in Dec

i think the perks basically depends on the numbers of tables u get from them.
the more tables u get from them, the more perks they are willing to give in.

Hi Ade
Sorry for the late reply, was too busi to log in!
So how's your meetup session??? and have you decided on your wine too? Not sure which to get but most probably the cheapest one! hahaha
otherwise, might source externally lor.

Hi Bottle, yes, there will be corkage charges if you're not buying from hotel.

Hello Ade
as mentioned earlier, I've confirmed the oriental theme cos both my FH and myself dun like the metal "gates"..
for VIP tables, am using the wan hao chairs instead. Flowers - roses, but hve not confirmed the cols. Think might get the wine from hotel too, since there wont be much different if I get externally.

Saw some nice wedding favors like candles, chopsticks but have to top up additional $1. for scented candle, it's $1.20. dun know if I shld opt for it.

How abt you? which theme have you decided?