Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

henny

Hi Mel

I'm considering the Oriental theme too but was afraid that it's too "ang" (red). What modifications did you make for yours? Do you need to pay extra?

Pianokey, thanks for sharing the feedback on the melting hearts dessert. I thot that's quite unique and might be more memorable. But I'm worried about the costs.

henny

Just to share : like what Melissa said, it's better to print the wedding cards earlier. You will hv to meet up with the printing co to decide on the wordings for the cards. They'll need a few days to do a sample layout for u which u need to go thru and confirm with them. The printing takes about 2-3 weeks fr the day of your confirmation. Then u need about 1 week to mail out the cards. The printer advised me to allow 2 weeks for RSVP and to give some time for myself to adjust the guest list if necessary. If you need additional cards, Marriott charges $2 per card (excluding printing). You'll need to allow more time for printing if u think u might need extra cards.

catura

Hi Henny,
YES! He's Siva! ahahah! I'm so absent minded..
OH ok.. u signed up thru the marriot show.. *phew* tot I missed out on something..

I like the aisle flower arrangements from the oriental theme but the rest I like the vineyard theme.. So was thinking of mixing and matching so it wont be so "ang"..

Hi pianokey,
True true.. nothing much else to choose..
For me got la.. cos beer and photomontage is already 2..

Whats the melting hearts dessert? Forgot to check with Siva on wat the names of the desserts mean..

oct04_bride

Angela told me that we'll have to top up abt $70+ (for weekday package) per table should you want to change the dessert to Melting Heart. It will be served at the reception area after the last course and guests can mingle with the couple before leaving..

It's a great idea but expensive.

ran_mel

I think top up for the candle is $1 per piece or $2. Can't remember. My package is different from 2004 and I didn't get free flow beer for more than 36 table. Maybe that's why i get to change the chocolate to candles lor.

lemoncake

Long time didn't drop by the thread as I dun have any infor to contribute =P I did asked about Irene's mini-cakes as dessert, Angela told me to top up $60 per table! Hmm... can I know what is melting heart?
Between, I have done a search for the wedding favors, it costs about $8 for 20pcs of the same candles if you are able to get from Thailand flea market.
Hi Melissa,
Can I know how much beer consumed during your wedding? Thanks.

ran_mel

hi lemoncake

talking about beer, they are so expensive. About 3 barrels of 30L and 1 barrel of 20L were already finished only at the 5th or 6th dish. After that , my hubby asked to stop the beer and serve liquor only. The beer alone costed us almost 3k.

henny

Hi Mel

Do the 3 30L barrels and 1 20L barrel of beer include the complimentary barrel provided by Marriott?

pianokey

Hello catura and lemoncake,
It's individual haagen daz ice-cream, I guess it must be heart shaped. My friend tried and said it was veeery good. But $70 a table ah? piangz. faint. Per table is already 888, plus 70 that's 958. yeeks.
Mine's free flow beer, cos signed at wedding show.

girlz

Hi gals!!

Wah!! long time never come into this thread liao...hmmmm...very active leh!!

Melissa, ur wedding favour very nice leh!!! but have to top up $$...dun think i'll be going for it liao.. wah! ur guest consumes so much beer!? btw, did u serve wine during ur wedding? oh ya...who did u use for printing of ur wedding cards leh?? the one that Marriott tie up with, the location of the shop is abit out of place leh...

lemoncake, u planning to go to Thailand to get ur favours meh?? unless u got plans to go there for holidays, then it will be juz nice lah...otherwise not really worth it mah...

i've heard abt the melting hearts...my coordinator also tried promoting that to me...but then after hearing the top-up price, i nearly fainted liao...dun think it's really worth lor, since it's the last course, and usually not most of the guest stay thru out the whole course one....but then again, the dessert is really very tempting lor..

lemoncake

Hi Melissa,
Wa! Your guests consumed so much beer!!! But I guess it's b'coz your wedding was hold on new year eve, if I remember correctly. I was so silly to thou that I can have 42 tables so as to have free flow of beer, but now I have seriously cut down the guest list and my free flow is not valid liao! Do you think 50L (30L from wedding show and 20L as one wish) is enough for 30 tables on a weekday?
Hi pianokey,
Thanks for clearing my puzzle about the dessert... it is so ex!!! Do you think we can have a real multi-layer wedding cake from outside, then cut to share as 2nd dessert? heee heee
Hi girlz,
Really long time didn't see you here! Ya, Melissa's favors r nice but too ex if we have to top up =( heee... of course not worth travelling there just to get the favors though we have Air-asia to go there at $60/flight. I jus have a short trip to Thailand few weeks ago, but I didn't get the favors b'coz I bought too many stuffs for new house instead. But I think, if you have friends travelling there, maybe can ask for their help then?

lemoncake

Hi lovyaa2,
I remember we can have 25 tables in Oct, but you must have at least 30 tables for the rest of the year. Guess you better check with the co-ordinator, maybe you can have a 2/3 of the grand ballroom (actually it is combined by 2 smaller function rooms) instead of the entire space then.

riushiki

For me, my wedding is in Oct this year. I had mini of 25 tables and free flow beer ! Got this deal during the wedding show :p

henny

Hi Mel

Since the 20L is complimentary, then you only paid for 3 30L barrels right? I thot each 30L barrel costs $650, which means you have to pay $1950 (3 x $650) for beer. How come u ended up paying $3k leh?

henny

Hi Riushiki

U're so lucky to get free flow of beer! I think many of us signed up during the wedding show too but we are not given such priviledge of free flow of beer...hmmm...why is Marriott so inconsistent?

henny

Hi lemoncake

Like u, i was hoping that 50L (30L from wedding show and 20L as one wish) will be enough for my 24 tables. From Melissa's feedback, I'm worried that the beer will cost a bomb as my guests might drink more since the day after my wedding is a public holiday. So, i'm praying hard!

Btw, will u be serving hard liquor?

Hi Mel,

How many bottles of liquor did u served? Were they duty-paid or duty-free? I hv several bottles of duty-free liquor but Marriott told me
I can't bring them in.

oct04_bride

Hi Riushiki

Who's your coordinator, Angela??
Yours is a weekday or weekend dinner?

Hi Henny
can I've your email add? need to check with you on something. thanks!

Hmm, if it's $1 extra for the candles, I really dun mind.. if I source outside, it will definitely cost more!

ran_mel

hi girlz
i didn't serve wine leh. Cos we bought in quite a few bottles of liquor. So save on the wine. For the printing, I used the one marriott ties up with. Er...lil something Art. The place very wuloo and can't find carpark.

hi lemoncake
are many of your guests beer drinker? I'm not very sure if 50L will be enough. But since it is a weekday, think ok lor, cos next day gotta work. Maybe you should bring more liquor in, just in case. We had 40 tables and many of our guests are my hubby's regular customers and friends, all very good drinker, therefore very fast finish, and somemore that day New Year countdown, everyone in drinking mood.

hi henny
how come yours so cheap? i don't think the 30L beer is 650 nett. Have you gotten your contract? It should be $693+++. Think you better check with your coordinator, in case there are some misunderstanding about the pricing.

And I made a mistake about the beer thingee. Just check my receipt, total we had 3 30L ($639+++ x 3 =$2402.16), one 20L ($489+++ x 1 =$565) and another complimentary 20L. So in all paid about $3k for 130L of beer = 390 glasses lor.

As for the liquor, think we bought in about 12 bottles. All finished. Not sure is duty-free anot cos my MIL had all the bottles covered with the 'xi' word... Think they are a mixture of paid and free.

henny

Hi Mel

Thanks for reminding, I'll check with my coordinator regarding the pricing for the beer. Btw, how many did u hv?

As for the liquor, duty-free liquor comes in 1 litre bottles while duty-paid is only 750ml (smaller bottle). If u really managed to bring in duty-free ones, pls give some tips on how u did that leh...thks!

riushiki

Oh I know why I got free flow coz my wedding is on a Friday. Fri to Sun will have free flow of beer hee :p

Hmmm .... personal opinion okie ... some pple dun really 'care' what kinds of wedding favours u got .. some of my friends spent a lot of money on the wedding favours and yet some pple dun even bother to bring it back.

For myself, I collected a few from Raffles Hotel, Hyatt etc etc but in the end I dunno where to place them ... just put them in the drawer. For guys, they will def throw away I guess :x They will be more happy with a piece of chocolate hee

saigon

I am interested in Marriott too...Would like to check if any of you attended their wedding show last year? when was it held leh? Heard it will always be held in Oct every year, is it true huh?

catura

Hi Riushiki,
I totally agree with you! I was cracking my brains to think up of something interesting and original to give to my guests but at the end of the day, I still think that all these favours would probably end up chucked somewhere in drawers... So I guess I'll just stick to chocs! Maybe get better quality chocs or something

girlz

Hi Melissa,

do share with us how u brought in ur hard-liquor leh...my mum actually bought alot of duty-free liquor for my wedding...but if can't bring in then it will be all wasted liao..
I juz confirmed my wedding printer to be T-dragon, like wat u say lor, that printer Marriott has tie up with is too ulu liao...

lemoncake, understand that u might have bought alot of stuff for ur house...hmmm...must be bring 1 bag come back with 2 leh!! ;p

Riushiki, i also agree with u lor...initially wanted to change the favour to leave a deeper impression on my guest lor...but after some thought, it's not worth to pay the extra lor, must as well spend in on wine or other stuff..

oh ya!! Sunil have left the hotel leh!! so sad...my wedding coordinator now is Angela liao...

ran_mel

hi girlz
Good for you to get Angela for your coordinator. She more easy going lah, not so strict. Have you talk to her about the liquor thing? Think she will give you a very good suggestion. Because somehow you need her acknowlegde, then the trick to smuggler the liquor in will work.

er...don't mention that Melissa told you ya. Hee...

girlz

Melissa, hehehe...i get wat u mean..
..dun worry, i won't mention ur name..

I haven't got the chance to meet her yet, hopefully she will be as easy going as u mention lor...

oct04_bride

Hi Till
if i'm not mistaken, every month they have different requirement... min 25tables during Oct but more for other months..

so did anyone call up to check on the candles as favors? do we still need to top up any $?

lemoncake

Min. requirement for weekday is 30 tables. the month of Oct is 25 tables. But I think month of Oct is quite full, all the dates I wanted in Oct is already booked.

I already gave up the thou of looking around for favors liao. It is up to fate, see whatever Angela give me as favor I will just accept... I would rather develop the photos and give my guest a copy after the wedding. So far, no body give me a copy of the photo taken during the banquet leh... like this how to remember, right? heee... just my thoughts..

sunkiss

Am new here ... anyone kind enough to share your comment on the food! Am considering taking up their weekday package ... was told the min tables is 30. Thanks in advance!

girlz

Hi Till,

There's diff min tables for different months lor...It's best that u can call them up to check and u can do a tentive booking if they have the dates u want...

pink_dot, din manage to check lor...like lemoncake, i think more or less i'm giving up the idea of changing the wedding favours, must as well save the money to use it on wines or other stuff...

Hi Tan SK, i think generally the food is ok lah...so far there isn't any bad comments lah, but depend on wat u wan for ur wedding, if u are going for food, have to hold it in restaurant where their forte is food, but if for ambience u will have to compromise on the food slightly lor... hope it helps!!

henny

I also gave up looking around for the favours. Found out from several suppliers that the favours generally cost $2+ & above for each, depending on the type and the quantity.

My friends also shared that they dunno where to keep some of the favours. Some just gave them away. So, we might as well save the $ for something else.

henny

I happened to pop in during one of the wedding dinners at Marriott. The couple chose the Vineyard theme which my MIL commented was "too white". I've not seen the actual set-up for the Oriental theme and is worried that it's too red!

Anyone like to share any comments please?

lemoncake

Hi Henny,

I agree that the favors are all starts from 2+, not really worth it.

Need not worry about the colour. Other than roses (red or white), you can choose another one... like daisy/ small sunflower which is colourful and refreshing... I don't know what is the name. But I remember Lilac used that for her wedding? Maybe you can check with your co-ordinator too.

Personally I like the Vineyard setting, but also find the white roses make it "too white". I am thinking of using Vineyard theme, but red roses instead.

lilac

Hi, I used yellow Geberras for my vineyard theme. I had people telling me that they looked very cheerful

henny

Hi Lemoncake & Lilac

Thanks for your suggestions. I will modify the setting to add in more colours. Besides the flowers, any suggestions to other decorative items/accessories?

Lilac, did you need to pay extra for the yellow Geberras?

Any pictures/photos to share?

forest

hi henny,
u can also opt for a mixture of the oriental setup with vinyard setup... i've seen tt setup b4 when i visited marriott... as the couple tt day wanted the oriental setup yet do not want it to b too red!! they basically use white curtain drapes for the stage (vineyard theme), but the march in n table settings were of the oriental theme.

henny

Hi Lilac

Thanks for sharing the photos
!

Hi forest

Thanks for your suggestion. I'll definitely check it out with my co-ordinator
!

henny

Hi Mel

U're right about the 30L barrel beer. I checked my contract, it stated that the 30L barrel costs $800 nett! Aiyoh...it's going to burn a hole in our pockets liao...

cawaii

hi forest, any idea whether marriott has pictures to show on the mixture of the two themes. was thinking of having the vinyard theme as my WG is fuzia pink. but not sure whether my parent and pil will like the idea of white roses.
any idea whether we can a mixture of white/pink roses?

forest

hi cawaii,
im not sure if marriott has photos of it... i jus happened to see it tt time when i wanted to ve a glimpse of the oriental theme.. n the couple tt day did a variation of it.. im sure tt u can speak to ur coordinator abt it.. n they will prob give u suggestions based on prev experience.. HTHs....

camomile

I am new here and would be thankful if anybody can advise whether is the tentative booking valid only for 1 to 2 weeks? Didn’t ask further as Mark is neither helpful nor friendly. Many Thanks

henny

hi forest

Your suggestion sounds good...a combination of vineyard theme & oriental theme, not too white nor too red either
. I'll discuss it with my co-ordinator when we meet up next week to finalise the details for my wedding! 1 more month to my wedding, so excited...

girlz

Hi camomile,

usually the tentative booking is abt 2 weeks...but actually they can even hold it longer as long as there isn't any other couple that's interested in the same date that u have booked.

If u find Mark not helpful, talk to other coordinator lor, u can look for Angela.

Henny, ur wedding juz ard the corner liao!!! Congrats!!! mine is another 2 more months... hehehe...did u get the video montage as one of the wishes??

henny

Hi girlz

Thanks! Congrats to you too! Yes, I'm probably getting the video montage provided they hv enough time to do it since my wedding is only 1 month away. Do you know how long does it take for them to complete the video montage? But my photos will only be ready in mid-Mar leh. so, dunno whether can finish in time or not...

What about you? U having the montage too? What's your other wish?