Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

mist

hi melissa,

thanks... so it's not really very big loh.... i only see the pix of the suite, thought it's nice and big....

forest

hey mist,
same.. i also nv see the suite... quite a few times i asked, its all full.. so, nv get to see it... same like u.. saw it frm the pix in the brochure only.. i also thot it looks big...

hi melissa,
so, any cd player in the suite huh?? no bar area ah? so, u dun find it special huh??

lilac

Hi forest, there are no CD player in the suite. There are two bathrooms. The one attached to the bedroom is very big and spacious. In terms of size, the suite at Marriott is nothing to shout about but at least they have a decent sitting area and a big enough makeup area. You can also find an iron with iron board near the closet, in case you need.

hdbride

Hi Lilac,

Do you think it is big enuf to accommodate 15 ppl to squeeze inside the room? Cause I need to hold my tea ceremony there.

If not, need to find somewhere else to have my tea ceremony liao....

lilac

Hi Yong, think should be okay, cos the room has 2 sections - seating area and bedroom. You can make use of the sofa and do your tea ceremony in the seating area then your relatives will all stand around and some will spill over into the bedroom.

forest

hi lilac,
i seee.. kekeke.. was even thinking if there's a cd player, can listen to music mah.. kekekekek....

ish

Hi pink dot,

have checked with www.wedding-favourites.com ... the price will be $2.30 for the mint-in-a-tin if you order more than 380 tins... if you want to have your photo on the tin, an additional 10 cents per piece. btw, i saw shotglasses on the website.. seems not bad..

back to the halal food.. i think 70+ per set is quite expensive! What about vegetarian? any idea?

ish

hi melissa,

thanks for letting me know. it will be quite a headache then... I can't possibly separate my friends just because they are vegetarian or require halal food..

ran_mel

hi ish

if there are only 2 or 3 friends getting the hala or vegetarian, it is still not very expensive lor. but more than 5, you might as well open one table.

catura

Hi forest and mist,

I just signed up with Marriot this afternoon! Heheh!

Hope I've made the right choice...

mist

hi catura,

yah, pray hard loh.... comments from senior here, is rather good on marriott.... but most of them had dinner banquet...

mine is lunch banquet, so not sure if there will be any difference... yours is dinner too??

forest

hi catura,
yeah, also hope for tt... so far, have read good comments on marriott, so we shd b quite safe!

btw, is every1 getting wine from marriott??

mist

hi forest,

we don't know yet leh... but the corkage charge is not waive and is rather expensive....

you geting wine yourself??

catura

Hi mist,
Yup mine's dinner. We had a bit of problems with the co-ordinator but luckily my planner managed to sort things out with them

Hi forest,
We'll be most probably getting wines from them since there is a free 12 bottles option? But we tried the free wines offered and HB didnt quite like the red...

forest

hi mist,
ya lor... the corkage is not waived.. n its really exp... i also havent decided.. cos' i havent tried their wines yet...

hi catura,
good tt u sorted things out.. so, u hve a wedding planner???

u tried free wines?? got free wines offered meh? i was told that every fri or wkend, they ve wine buffet, n we can go n try their wines then.. bt so far, havent gone for it yet.. not sure abt their wine.. whether nice or not leh.. y ur hubby dun like the wine leh?? which one r u referring to???

catura

Hi forest,

For the package I signed up we get to choose 3 wedding wishes. some of the wedding wishes are things like free 30L barrel beer free, 12 bottles of wines free or 1 night stay for helpers etc... For the free 12 bottles of wines they are offering angaro something I cant quite remember. It's a south african wine i think.. hb didnt like that red cos he said it was "tasteless" hahah! but the white was ok.

We tried the wines when we met up with the co-ordinator. Actually it was the planner who asked for wine tasting heheh!

Yup yup we enaged a wedding planner cos we wont be in Sg most of the time

Will you all be following the themes set out by marriot? I was thinking of doing up my own theme but then might be more cost effectove just to keep to their themes...

forest

hi catura,
oh ya... the wedding wishes are in their pkg... im a wkday wedding.. so, i'll get to choose 2.. but when i asked to taste the wine, i was suggested to go for their wine buffet instead! lucky u!! can get to taste the wines foc!! keekke..

oh, i see.. ya, since u r out of town most of the time, then it'll def b more efficient to engage a wedding planner...

for me, i think i'll stick to their themes... their themes r pretty nice, so i ve no probs in using theirs...
n u r rite.. it is def more cost effective for u to keep to their themes.. otherwise, u'll incur ballrm decor costs as well...

mist

hi forest and catura,

ay, i dun hv wedding wishes, like what you have leh... guess cos mine is lunch banquet...

anyway, i will see how first loh... i also need to check if we can buy our own wine... you think we can?

catura

Hi forest,
Maybe the next time u meet your co-ordinator do it in the lounge then just tell the waitress that you would like to taste the wines cos u'll be having a weddding banquet there. They might let u! ;)

Which theme are u looking at then? I like the oriental theme bouquets but like the vineyard theme colours :D

Hi mist,
We tried negotiating for free corkage on wines but they wouldnt budge leh.. U can try to push them
Did u see their wine list? Although there isnt a wide selection for the banquet, it's quite alright in terms of price.

mist

hi catura,

yah, we also try to negotiate for free corkage, they also say NO.....

but aren't most hotel waive corkage??? yes, i've look at their wine list, they say it's cheaper than other hotels, but am not sure yet leh...

catura

Hi mist,
I think most higher end hotels dont waive corkage for wines, only hard liqour.. My hb mentioned the other day that marriot's per beer barrel cost is also alot higher than other hotels..
I guess we're in a way paying for the name as well...

forest

hi catura,
kekekek... not mtg the coordinator anytime soon liao... since settled the contract already..

which theme ah.. kekeke.. i also havent decided... but i hve almost the same observations as u.. prefer the color of the vineyard theme.. but also find the bouquets for oriental theme nice...

hi mist,
nope.. actually quite alot of hotels do not waive corkage.. n marriott is one of the ones tt really do not budge with regards to corkage.. their wine list looks pretty ok.. but im jus concerned if the wine tastes good..

ya.. abt the beer, we also told the coordinator straight tt its so much more exp than other hotels.. but i guess beer n wine is something tt they really do not budge..

mist

hi catura,

oh, then maybe my friends managed to negotiate for waiver....

yes, beer at marriott is more expensive leh.... but lucky we have DBS cashline and they provide a complimentary 20litre... and we hv to pay for subsequet barrel....

yah, i guess is the name loh..... actually none of my friends had their wedding at marriott before, so they are really looking to attending mine... ahahaha... ;p

catura

Hi wedding9999,
Mine's a Sunday wedding but still considered weekend package. For a weekend package, you'll be able to choose 3 wedding wishes from a list that marriot provides. List includes,
complimentary 30L beer with next 30L at a discount of $150
complimentary 12 bottles of wines
complimentary photomontage and usage of projector
45min ensemble during cocktail or free scenting of ballroom
deluxe room stay for helpers on wedding night

The rest of the perks are similiar to what the rest of the hotels might provide like soft drinks, food tasting carpark etc..

Hope that helps!

Hi forest,
U're right.. beer and wine.. no negotiations..
Maybe u should go for the wine buffet (sounds sinful :D) closer to your wedding date

Hi mist,
WAH! DBS got complimentary beer? That's good! Heheh I am sure your wedding is going to be absolutely spectacular ;)

I cant wait for food tasting!! I am such a glutton..

mist

hi catura,

if you hv DBS cashline, then you will hv complimentary 20litre beer... think so, i can't remember the litre...

aiyo, i dare think abt being spectacular, hope to keep it simple and dun screw things up.... else will be stress on that day....

food tasting?? when's your wedding??? thought will hv it only closer to your wedding date?

hdbride

Hi Mist, I also book the lunch banquet but I dun hv complimentary beer. Also never heard my coord told me abt the offer. When u book yours? I also hv DBS cashline leh...Is that written in the contract?

catura

Hi mist,

My wedding is in early Jan 2005.. and I am already looking forward to food tasting.. hahaha!

I'm sure everything will turn out well!! Dont stress

mist

hi yong,

the co-ordinator never told me, i just happen to see my DBS wedding bliss brochure... so i show them loh.... and initially they told it's for dinner banquet, but later we saw the printings include lunch as well... hehehe... so they honour it loh. it's not complimentary beer leh, we just hv free 1st 20 litre only...

and it's also stated on the DBS wedding bliss brochure that hv to book the banquent by 31 dec leh... that's why we quickly sign before 31.

you may wanna check with your co ordinator again... also dun use your DBS cashline chq to pay hor.....

hi catura,

hahaha... Jan 2005 and you are thinking of food tasting liao??? hahahaha.... you so cute... ;p

yah, me try not to stress now..... else i will explode when it's closer to the wedding day... :p

hdbride

Oic... I think they won't give me this offer evenif I show them now cause I signed oredi (though also before 31-Dec) and also stated the price of beer in the contract liao.... unless I got chance to speak to the coordinator.

Sigh....I miss the chance to save money liao...Actually thinking of not serving beer cause my frens are wine drinker leh...dun know good to do tat way or not.

catura

Hi mist,
Heheheh! Thats why I say I am a glutton lor.. Trying to LOSE WEIGHT now.. :p

Hi yong,
U might still like to try to negotiate for this free beer? No harm trying?
Also if u think most of your friends are wine drinkers perhaps you could serve beer by the glass instead? Just a suggestion

mist

hi yong,

well, you can try asking.... can save $500 plus plus leh...

btw, are you getting wine from them huh?? dun know shd provide wine anot leh....

hi catura,

hahaha... then you hv to wait til end of this year, then can hv food tasting loh...

aiyo, me also trying to lose weight leh, think it's due to the CNY goodies, i realise that my skirt is tighter than normal leh... aiyo, and my male colleagues commented that i've put on weight... die liao, must go jog jog this weekend.... last week, i climbed 30 storey staircase leh....

catura

Hi mist,
30 storey??????? *pengz* U must be really fit... I cant even climb 10 not to mention 30! :D

I always console myself that even if skirt is tighter, if can still fit in it, it's not too bad.. hahaha thats why I grow until so FAT! :p

mist

hi catura,

no lah, not really fit.... i heard climbing steps helps to burn fats faster, and also will hv more shapy legs... hehehe....

do it slowly loh, can make it one... but my legs aching the next day... ;p

soap

Hi Mist,

Can you pls tell me more abt the DBS thing. I have signed up with them last year but was not aware of this free 20litres of beer, need to talk 2 my co-ordinator.

If not convienient, can e-mail me at [email protected]

piggi

Hi Mist,
I'm a newcomer here but I've been following this thread quite closely. I've also signed up for Marriot wedd lunch & I'd like to find out more abt the free barrel of beer given by DBS cashline.

I remember I did check with Marriot b4 abt this DBS promotion but they said that we hve to either take their wedd Lunch promotion which is priced at $488/table or if we take the free litre of beer then the table price will be at the normal price(ie ard $600+). That's y tat time we choose to take their lunch promotion.

Did u talk to ur coordinator or DBS rgding this promo? Hmm, 20l of beer can save quite a lot leh!Do u still hve that brochure? I'm meeting up with my coordinator this sat, so hope to gather more infor from u first b4 I can negotiate with her.

mist

hi li,

is it?? my coordinator didn tell me abt the alternative leh....

we just asked him and he says we can hv the free barrel....

oh, like that die liao... don't know will he come back to me and tell me that my lunch banquet will be $600 cos i took the dbs cashline promotion....

i must go back and check my brochure loh, dun know do i still keep it anot..

btw, who's your coordinator and when's your wedding huh?

piggi

Hi Mist,
My coordinator is Angela, how abt urs? But in your contract w marriot, issit stated at the promo price of $488? Did they aso incl the free litre of beer?
My wedding is coming up real soon, it's on 7th of Mar, just one more mth away!. So just hope to see wthr can we get one more last bargain with her on the free beer.
When u mentioned u signed up w DBS, do u hve to inform DBS or filled up any form from them? Or u just show marriot the brochure?

forest

if im not wrong, u r entitled to 1 promo only.. ie. if u take the lunch promo price.. then u will not be eligible for the other promo (like the free barrel of beer)...

im taking the wkday dinner pkg.. n also did ask my coord abt the free barrel of beer frm dbs... but at tt time, there's the her world promo of $30 disc for ea table.. so, aft calc, its more worth it for me to take the her world promo.. n he told me tt i can take only 1 promo.. cannot ve joint promo....

basilyong

hi catura, i have been following this thread. surprise that ur wedding is in early 2005 and they allow u to book so soon??
when did u book ur date? i am looking into 2005 end but not decide when to book leh

mist

hi li,

i can't remember leh... i think i hv to go back and check liao.... i just show the brochure to my coordinator only.... mine is mark.

wah, your wedding is next mth!!! can share with us your experience after your wedding?

piggi

Hi Mist,

Yup! No prob! Hopefully everything turns out well!

Okie, so u chk & let me noe?

Thks so much!!

mist

hi li,

yah, i let you know. me must go dig out the contracts liao, think is with my hubby....

dun worry too much and relax....
hehehe... me speaking for myself... ;p

catura

Hi basil,
I booked my date sometime mid Jan... apparently if I book early I get to enjoy 2004's rates or something.. :D Most plcs I went to allowed me to book at least 1 yr in advance? But then I must add that my wedding date is very early Jan 2005! :D Maybe thats why I was allowed to book.

End of 2005? Perhaps you can start looking into hotels and if Marriot's your final choice then check when you can start booking? I should think mid 2004 should be ideal..