Silverlining Bridal Couture

• Thread starter Thread starter putise baby
  • Start date Start date
Hello cheesecake,

Haha. I know what you mean. But I fell in love with the gowm immediately when I wore it. Nothing else I tried after that (all the low backs, nettings, crystals, etc) seemed to as nice. Even the rest of the classic gowns at other places. That's why decided to make the same gown. I also felt very comfortable with Helan from Divine, so it wasn't a very hard decision. Just that I wish I had decided sooner. Then I would have been able to take the off the rack gown before it got snatched up. Can save $1000. But nvm lah, since decided already.

Appt with jit is in early April. Hope everything will turn out ok too.

Hi almond

I am sure your WG will be nice. Yeah ! u got to follow your heart then you'll wear it with full confidence
Most important you must like the gown

Now you got almost everything settle and can relax a bit liao hor. How nice
btw, when's your PS and where are you holding your dinner?

Hi forest,

The Her world mag out liao but hor a lot of advertising leh (i thought of getting some new ideas) But... ...

Hi cheerio

I'm looking forward to c your CS leh

hi bread,
oh no... so sorry to hear tt.. yeah, the weather jus suddenly changed!! but do take heart tt u'll b all fresh for ur outdoor shoots lor... which tues r u referring to huh?? hope its not today leh!!!!!!

hi alexus,
wow.. so exciting... first fitting in may!!! btw, did jit recommend u to use ivy?!?!?
hope tt u'll b able to get ivy then!!!

yup, decided to wait b4 i get my shoe.. still got time anywayz... kekeke... too KS lah...

hi cheesecake,
yeap, i was in the same situation as u... also kena pestered by another BS... but aft i met jit.. really very pleased... cos he's so nice n frenly n sincere abt his work... n i also fell in love with his designs b4 tt... so, its def silverlining for me!!!

aiyoh i'm so blur! the message i posted earlier on about the torrential rain was of course for bread, not alexus. hehe. bread, nvm, take it as another day to have fun... and you'll look fresh for your outdoor shoot. hope you don't have to pay too much though.

hi cheesecake, my dinner is at fullerton in december. dunno when exactly photoshoot is yet. think 3 months before. what about yours?

hahaha, forest, no need be as KS as me about shoes. cos it's difficult to find nice flats... so i started very early. i'm sure you'll be able to get pretty shoes. i saw so many nice high ones while shoe shopping.

hi cheesecake,
really ah! alot of advertising ah!!! hmm... wondering if i shd get it????
how abt styles wedding???

hi almondbun,
im thinking of getting flats leh.. cos hubby not much taller than me.. less than 5cm leh.... kekekeke...

Hi forest,

me too oso fall in love with jit's design

Hi almond

Getting shoe early is better then late. (sometime dont even have the design or colour we want) so early is alright
my PS in july. And my banquet will in at orchard hotel. (Last minute make reservation n thats the hotel left - all hotel fully book liao
) So my conculsion is earlier is better then late. Sorry i very cheong hei hor

Hi forest,

I find it a lot of advertising leh. of course they do show some gown. (But not my tpye) i am waiting for the style mag. Do u know when is the mag out?

hi fish,
saw your pics 1 more time.. this time in more details... agree with you that your WG is quite different from jit's norm.. so it is inspired by Lord of the Rings huh.. hehe.. hey, you could look like the elvish princess then.. i like that.. and your venue is outdoor somemore.. would look so cool..

hi almond,
hehehe... no wonder I read already a bit blur.. but I know the message is for bread lar...
heard about Eric Er.. his photos are all very bold
.. you will have fun for your PS
hey, at first I also thot you looking for elaborate back design cos you chose divine & silverlining
.. anyway dun be sad over the money part, ok? Think of it that MTM you will get to wear a brand new gown lor, right... hope it makes you feel better

hi cheesecake & forest,
I also bought HWB on Sunday b4 going down to jit’s place, hoping to get some ideas .. but a bit disappointed lar.. not much gowns shown & also not to my liking.. so I heck it and just go with empty mind lor hahaha... anyway can check out the websites that the gals recommended.. can get some ideas from there.. me waiting for Style Wedding too.. dunno why so long haven’t come out.. but heard shd be this weekend.. hopefully before cheesecake’s session lor.... cheese, I very kan cheong for you now leh... it is THIS SUNDAY!!!

WOw gals

You all must load up your WG pics leh when its ready....I want to see! I want to see!

Haha... alexus. I've always dreamt of having a fairy tale wedding but I guess I didn't communicate good enough. I'm too paiseh to tell Jit that I wanted an elvish look becos I know that my FH will laugh at me for being a fat elf.
So that's why my EG ended up with french lace. I have thought of making a leaf green EG and showed Jit a picture of a floaty gown by Vera Wang. But Jit and my cousin said the design is too simple, will make me look like a guest rather than the bride. So, I get swayed into making a more elaborate EG. But since I cut off the top, I ask Jit to shift the beadings to the skirt. I'm very impressed with the beadings on the skirt now.... the design reminds me of willow dangling in the water. Unfortunately I didn't take any pics of my EG.

Actually, I had also fallen in love with Flamingo gowns... very floaty and garden like but my FH doesn't like them as much as I do. But no regrets signing up with SL lah.

Yup.... I find that HWB is not as good read as Female Brides. I've waiting months and months for Female Brides.... just don't know when it'll be out.

Cheesecake....so excited for you! Please do bring along some pics of gowns that you like. After all, pictures speak a thousand words!

Wahh.. so many posts to read

Sure you can see my pics, Bread, still got your email addy, and also the rest of the gals
But might not be so soon, coz I am thinking of taking pics during my 2nd fit with trial MU

Yah.. that day's rainfall is really astonishing, boy! many places flooded. But think on the bright side, you and your hubby no need to rush for the whole day loh, can take your time for the studio and another day for outdoor. But luckily you enjoyed the session!

My trial MU should be sometimes next week, not fixed yet.

Alexus, I have requested for Vicky liao, hope that she will not disappoint me loh, after hearing good comments on her..

And Cheese, don't be kan cheong lah, will remember to email you too when I took the pics, k?

Hi cheerio

okie, will wait for your email

hope everything turn out gd for u
i used to learn music (electone-organ) but due to my workload i stop liao

yep , i know what i want for my gown but it may or maynot suits me. i'll ask jit tis sun

Hi fish

Dont worry, i'll show u my pic when i go for my fitting in end may of june

hi cheesecake,
ya lor.. kekeke... tts y we r SL brides now...

im like the gals... gan cheong for u!!!

hi cheerio,
hey, rem me also!!!
if u r taking pics of ur MU trial... do send me too!!

sorrie.. me not learning any instrument.. im not very musically inclined...
r u learning now?? wat r u learning???

hi cheesecake, alexus n fish,
hmmmm... seems that HWB is not tt worth buying huh......

Thanks, Cheese for the well wishes
, hope you got your dream gown too..

Sure won't leave you out one lah, Forest, in fact I have created one email group just for all of you at Silverlining which I called it "Silverlining Kakis"
, easier to exchange info mah..

Yah, me learning violin now, but one problem is can't practise too late coz the sound is very very very very sharp and loud

heh heh.. a bit old then learn this..

oh yah, for the mags, my advice is don't buy too many, soo exp and might not be too useful loh, gather info yourself and ask around frens more useful and don't cost

me "guo lai ren", bought so many last time then all collecting dust..

why don't you all buy diff ones and exchange?

Hi cheerio

Wah, you really very on leh. I've been learning piano from my JC friend but have given up half a year ago... so paiseh..... anyway she's busy with her Masters course now so I better don't go and disturb her... gosh... I'm always cooking up excuses for my laziness...

Any of you gals have booked your AD photographer already? Can share with me how much you are paying and what's included in the package?

hi cheerio..
kekeke... tks tks!! cant wait to see ur pics!!
wow, pei fu ni leh... can learn violin... is it tough???

oh yes, actually some mags r really quite useless.. n each issue ve quite abit of contents tts a repeat frm the last.... but wat to do.. i seem to ve a weakness when it comes to bridal mags... but some of these mags r really quite exp hor.... kakaka

hi fish,
wah... learn piano... tho me not musically inclined.. but i ever thot of learning piano leh.. but i cant read the musical notes.. me very bad at it...

oh yes, i've booked my AD photographer liao.. its the same as my PS photographer.. The Edge.. andrew's pkg is $950 for 7 rolls of film - inclusive of b&w n color photos, n album... n cos im engaging him for both PS n AD.. i'll get 2 rolls free....

Hi cheerio

u are not old lah. i think learning musical can be of any ages
ya lor! buying too many mag is a waste of $. So where did u learn your music?

Hi forest,

so sad hor? the HWB not much gown design n tis issue i find it not worth buying. It benefit only those people sourcing for banquet.

Hi fish

I think my AD photography about between $650-800. I have not really talk to him abt the price 'cos its still early.

Hi forest,

Hey! how's your hmwork liao? After my gown designing, i can shake leg liao
Also the bean sprout(music notes) is very easy to read

hi cheesecake,
i havent bot this issue of HWB leh... but so many lousy comments really made me think twice abt buying it.. mayb can jus go to kinokuniya to browse...

hahaha.. actually i havent start my homework leh... still procastinating...
how abt u??? got any designs to show jit?? hahahah.. u happy lah... u'll b shaking legs 2 wks b4 me leh!!!!!

do update us next wk hor... i'm on lve these 2 days.. so, can only check SB again next wk... kekeke... cant wait to read abt ur gown designing session!!!!

Hi forest

Yep maybe u juz go to the bookstore to browse the mag. i do my hmwork (only a bit), i'll tell jit what i want and let him comment
Hooray then can shake leg lor
enjoy yourselve tis 2 days

I am having violin lessons at Sonare, Compasspoint @ Sengkang, quite fun, good teacher and frenly staff
. Price very affordable too as compared to some other schools. I am learning one song to play for my hubby in the banquet, 4 months to do that so can consider this as a crash course

actually learning music is good, like what my teacher mentioned. Coz you need to utilise both your left and right brains and coordination between the 2 hands. hope can prevent senile, heh heh..

as for AD photographer, I am considering Gxxxxx Mendes, saw his website and like the photos he took.

for the mags, yah.. browse in bookstores first, if you really really need it then buy loh.. sometimes diff mags might feature the same or similar gowns so don't waste $ lor..

hmm.. I am wondering how come my CS still not ready for collection??

Thanks for the info. Looks like AD photography also quite pricey leh. Maybe I should stick with the photographer my cousin used.

hi cheerio,
that’s so sweet of you... so you keeping it a secret from him?? he will be definitely be very touched.. if my FH does that for me, think I will cry leh... for me I can’t lar cos not musically inclined... hope you jia you, ok? what song you planning to play? btw you still got the first dance with hubby thingy right? think your wedding is going to be so romantic leh

hi fish,
I took a special package with Hilarion Goh for studio and AD so price is different, but his AD rate is $1338 for unlimited digital pics I think.. anyway he just formed a new company for studio so I might get his partner, Triston Yeo for AD instead.. going down to view his works soon..

hi forest,
so envy you.. got long weekends leh .. you going anywhere for short getaway?? anyway, enjoy yourself, ok?

hi cheesecake,
countdown liao .. 3 more days

Heh heh.. yar loh, he don't know that I am playing violin for him, I am learning "Wonderful Tonight" by Eric Clapton, its a special song for the both of us lah

Thanks for the jia you, Alexus, I will def jia you

Yah.. Still having the dance thingy, heh heh..

Hi fish,

o! bu yong ke qi lah
since ur cousin can recommend u a gd n $ resonable photographer, go ahead
For me, i am very not very particular on my AD photo, so i m oso using my sis photographer

Hi alexus,

Hey! u are making me even more kan cheong liao ( juz joking)
. i really looking forward to tis sun leh but at the same time very scared
So now u can relax liao hor? btw, u n i are having the same problem that is got to get a 4-5" shoes. o yah, when your 1st fitting? (early may or late may)?

Hi cheerio

Like alexus saying, jia you. u can do it

Thank you, thank you, Cheese and Almond

It will be romantic and sweet PROVIDED that the tune comes out nicely, or at least resembles the original song

Cheese & Alexus,
2 of you getting 5" shoes??! Sure or not, hard to walk leh, unless its platform but platform not elegant lah

can't get a shorter stiletto?

Hi cheerio

mostly likely i'll wear it 'cos my FH very tall leh. i know it hard to walk. but no choice. i'll practise it early
everyday practise walking (juz like baby learning how to walk)

Hi fish, thanks for informing, just now lunch time go beo but did not see it.. later sure must go buy

hi cheerio,
no choice leh.. jit says got to wear, initially ask me to wear 5” later discount to 4” liao.. so I cannot complain already.. thinking of getting platform else my poor legs will suffer leh... but not that nice hor... sian...

hi cheesecake,
we in the same boat... if you manage to find any nice 4” shoes must tell me leh.. cos I went look around cannot find any 4” heels, maybe becos I did not ask the sales staff lar... my first fitting not sure early or late May leh... hope it is early lor hehe.. very eager to see the gowns
good luck for Sunday, ok .. dun need to be scared.. it’s quite fun

me too feel like sleeping... how I wish no need to work .. but going to knock off soon lar... 1 more hour to go

Hi alexus

YOu're welcome!

Actually Jit also ask me to wear 4" heels. I can't find nice ones in 4" so I ended up buying 3". But luckily FH not very tall so I won't look too short next to him lor.

Hi cheerio! You're a true blue romantic! I didn't even think of singing for my hubby leh

Fishy, sing lah! Touch him till he cry
, it will be so memorable! Are you getting a videographer? If yes then can capture the whole process..

Cheese & Alexus,
Think standard practice for Jit to advise wearing 4" heels, the other time he also say that I can go look for those 4" ones. Actually I got no problem with that, coz wear higher heels will make me look less fat
, but the problem is difficult to find nice high ones leh..

Try the places that I mentioned before lah, Metro Paragon, Far East Plaza, OG etc.. quite a wide selection to choose from

I am working out a checklist, when are you gals goin to do the following?
1) print inserts of invitation cards
2) confirm invitation list
3) meeting up between both sides parents
4) buy bedsheets, little lamps, Shuang Xi stickers
5) sending out invitation cards
6) designate jobs to frens
7) choose jie-meis & xiong dis
8) go through song selection
9) ask a fren to monitor the consumption of beer
10) prepare angbao boxes
11) book projector (for montage)
12) meet up with coordinator to run through the flow of event
13)draft itinerary for actual day (photo-taking esp)
what else??

pls input!!

Hi cheerio

I think have to ask those people with experience when to do all these. But in the mean time i think u can look around for your angbao box, song selection and start to print your invitation card
its better to be early then late
Hee! for me i very free 'cos my FH will be doing most of the job

Thanx will look around but notice most of them are platform type. Will inform each other if we happen to find the shoes, k?
btw, how's your CS liao, collected?

How many outfit will u all be wearing during the banquet?

hi ladies... its friday....
today weather so gd... hope to have e same weather on tuesday, my 2nd photo shoot... got to pray really hard to get tis weather

cheesecake, i will b wearing my WG n EG... me very lazy

Hee cheerio. Very paiseh lah. Anyway, I'll be marching in for ROM. That's gonna take up some time, so I'll do away with entertainment lor.

Hi bread, saw the crystals on your EG. Very glam isn't it? Hope the regrets you've earlier on for the low cut is gone? I noticed it rains in the afternoon recently but bright sunlight in the morning. Maybe you want to have your outdoor PS in the morning to play safe?

Cheesecake, I'll be wearing my WG n EG. No point changing clothes too many times....will drag the dinner till very late

Hi bread

ya lor today weather gd, got sunshine. i hope that weather for tuesday is the same as today
no rain and with sunshine

thanx i thought every bride must wear more than 2 outfit. i went to beetles thread and was told that the couple can view their PS pic on the same day, after the PS.
how abt u?
btw have u negotiate $ wif your photographer?

Cheese, think for really high heels more or less got a bit of platform one lah, otherwise considering the gradient, will be very tiring on your ankles. I ever saw a pair quite gorgeous, champagne bronzy colour and very high heels with a bit of platform at OG, nearly bought that. Now still thought that its quite nice
But I already got 2 pairs so stopping myself to buy somemore..

My CS ah, haven't call me yet leh
Maybe later I will call up to check, hope she don't find me mar-fun

Me wearing all my gowns+CS for the banquet, still figuring how to do that
CS prob will wear during the last part at the entrance thanking guests for coming. Pink teadress maybe wear for the dance so that definitely won't trip on my dress

Bread, heard from my colleague that 21 to 23 high tide and if rain places will flood, don't know how reliable is the news, you want to check with the Met Station? Better to play safe loh. Sorry if I make you worry, but thought better let you know since you pay extra for the re-schedule..

Fishy, you are having your solemnisation at the dinner itself isit?

heh heh.. its a bit paiseh lah coz most of the guests are people you don't know

I am a typical fiery Aries, very thick skinned one so.. heh heh..

Hi cheerio,

u not mar fan lah. (customer is always right) moreover your PS in 2-3 weeks left.
okie, i look around for shoes, thanx

Frankly speaking, to perform in front of stranger is not easy, very scary
need a lot of courage to do it

Heh heh.. that's why I say I very thick-skinned loh

just want to add in some spices to make it memorable lah.. otherwise just eat and go like very sian