Silhouette the Atelier

odie

Hi Aureus

Giving my thumbs up for Sil.

Had checked them out because of the positive comments I got here.

They are not pushy... didn't call to push for an answer or even pressured us to sign on the dotted at the 1st appointment. Decided to go with them after just one appointment. They are very professional indeed.

They do not have standard packages. Rather, they will hand you a checklist and ask you to tick what are the items you require (gowns, makeup, car deco, suit, photography etc). They will then quote you a price base on what you have ticked. But the gauge is about $5k for the full works. It is better for you to speak to them and get them to quote you the costs according to your requirement. Slightly on the high side... but definitely money well spent.

rhs

Hi aureus,
I'm ex-Sil bride too and very happy with their service. Why don't u pay them a visit and see if u can communicate well with the designer? That's one of the most important thing in selecting bridal shop. No point paying high price for something that doesn't make u comfortable

aureus

Hi hihi all

thanks so much for your replies..really appreciated it....

daphne, 3 days before can still do fitting?? won't it be a little too close to the actual day?

odie, that sounds good, that you select what you want...coz i dun need the makeup artist and flowers..coz i got friends who would be doing..checked with other shops, and the most they were willing to take out was $200..which i thot was not really worth it... does that mean, i just select what i need and she quotes? but majority of the cost lies on the dress right?

will definitely make a point to go down and visit after hearing all the good things abt sil...so far, dun recall reading anything bad about them yet...but have read quite a bit about other high end shops tho....scary!!!

sorry priviledged..forgot to include my email...could you pls email to [email protected] thanks

would really love to see all your gowns....

btw, where did u gals hold ur wedding dinners?? can share pls? me thinking of doing in mandarin, but dunno if its a good place...coz location wise, its easier for most ppl to attend... do drop ur comments about the place too....thanks

priviledged

aureus, you've got mail.

I had my dinner at the Regent. It was fabulous. The ballroom was just renovated last year. The food was the talk of the 'town' after my wedding. I thought of the Mandarin too but the service from the start was bad. Nobody to answer my queries. Heard that the food is so-so.

yahkid2609

Hi Auerus,
I did my wedding last December with Silhouette and I will not say it's a good experience... it's a GRRRRRRREAT experience! You'll not regret signing up with them. My designer was Minda and i really loved the gowns she did for me... will let u see the photos if u want... jus send me an email at [email protected].

Have fun with your wedding!

God Bless.

Hi Auerus,
My wedding was in 2002 and up till today, I'm still full of praises for Silhouette. Heath did my gowns for me and I really enjoyed my whole wedding prep with him. Minda and Miah were really friendly even though I didn't work directly with them. My friend who got married last year also signed up with them and she loved all her gowns. Two thumbs up for Silhouette!

annabelle

Hi LYY,

Wow... your gowns are GREAT!!! Soo unique...

I really love your gowns especially your EG (the red gown) wow... it was really beautiful...

Could u advise me on the price and contents of the package u have taken?

Best Wishes

aureus

Hihi all

thanks for all your photos....i must say im very very impressed with all your gowns..after so much good recommendation and experiences..think silhoutte is on top priority list

but one more question, will it be very expensive? dun want to blow my budget..
think i asked in the earlier threads about the average cost...and someone replied it ot be around 5K....has anyone gone less than and more than 5k? could you please tell me what was in the package so i roughly know how to work out my budget and stuff?? thanks thanks

hi privilidged...me was also considering that factor, but apparently, two brides from the other thread on banquets and stuff recommended a guy called henry from mandarin..said he was a really great guy who did more than expected....sighz...so many decisions to make...
glad my wedding was pushed back to next year....hehehhe

yahkid2609

Hi Annabelle & Aureus,

Yes, having gone thru the wedding, i know budget is a great concern, but shld just go ahead and make an appt to take a look. sometimes we worry so much and keep thinking about it, but if we never try, we never know what is possible.

What i did was i booked an appointment with Minda and tell her what i want in the package and she's very nice. The feeling i had was that she's more interested in making the brides look great in their gowns rather than run it like a business deal.

select the things you want and tell her your budget, then she can tell you what she can do. To me, mine was a very very good deal... and the feeling for me is that i really get 100% MORE than what i've paid for. The work that was put in, every detail, from gown to the flowers, everything was really well done, and she went the extra miles for me...

Every bride is different, in terms of design n materials. for me, the price is very affordable and within my budget (my budget was less than 5k too). I can tell you that Silhouette's quality of materials and sewing is as good, if not better, than all those top bridal shops out there... yet the price is much more reasonable... e.g. Tan Yoong or Irene's Creation, just one mtm wedding gown costs more than 3.5k. Way too expensive for me...

Jus make an appt and see whether you like what they offer you.

daphne

hi aureus,

the last 3 day is the FINAL FINAL fitting to make sure that the bride has not lose too much weight lah

khoosm

hi LYY, i'm newbie here and had just started looking around for bridal shops. Maybe i sound a bit sua ku but just wondering if sil has pakages that includes photography by professional photographers? Does your pakage includes pre-wed photography?

crystalbelle

Hi all, after so much compliments, I am so interested in Silhouette!!
I am actually lokking for a package which includes misc things like bridal car, flowers, father's suit.
Do they offer that as well in a package? Roughly how much would that cost??

yahkid2609

Hi Bertbert,
Sorry for the later reply... haven't been visiting the forum.
Yes, Sil does have packages that include prof photographers... in fact, all the photographers with them are prof... that includes the popular ones like Chris Ling, Andrew, Utopia...

Hi Crystalbelle,
Sil includes everything... from bridal car decor to the corsages... and tell them to include your father's suit, and discuss how much that will cost. They are very nice and negotiable.

mexx

I'm full of praises for Silhouette too. Had my wedding end of last year.
To me, they seem nicer than shops like Ted Wu, bridal veil as they do provide things like kua if you request for them. & at least you get to meet the designer before you actually sign up. Minda is also very nice to work with, very professional and goes the extra mile to help sometimes.
Most if not all my girlfrens (+ some guy friends) commented that my ball gown + my evening gown were very nice !
As for package, mine was about 5k including basic photo package with Utopia, MTM gowns, flowers, car deco, no groom's suit. My friend got hers for <5k using a different photographer + groom's suit. So the final package price all depends on which photographer you want, the amount of detailing &amp; type of gown you want. I think every cent is worth it too !

maverick

I've signed up with Sil recently. Went down with my FH and was so impressed with Minda's professionalism that we signed up on our 1st visit even though my FH and I agreed nvr to sign up with any BS during the 1st visit. After visiting so many BS, I'd say that all the packages are more or less the same(the most u save a few hundred $) Initially we thought that Sil will be way beyond our budget but after meeting with Minda and trying a few gowns, we find that the package Sil offered is value for $!!! Total all in including actual day photography and videography, we expect to spend around $6.5k! Hope this helps all brides to be!

organise

Hi LYY,

read that you used Wesley as a photographer. May I ask if it was for the actual day or pre-wedding?

I am very interested in using him for my actual day, but his rates are really expensive. I guess i want to find out if he is worth the money and was he easy to work with on the day itself?

daphne

hi j,

opps sorry, i just realised that u were referring to actual day photography. i only used wesley for studio, his actual rates were rather expensive...

<font color="ff0000">Experience Silhouette</font>!

Silhouette The Bridal Atelier new website is now up! Check on the new range of gowns by clicking on Simply Corselette section. There are also 3 complete ROM packages to be won. For more details, click on Coming Attractions link on the new website!

c0co

hi gals... a friend of mine keen on silhoutte.
may i know who is the best designer from this bridal ?

rhs

Hi c0co,
There are no 'best' designer, they are all very good. Your friend won't go wrong with any of them

wiggle

just visit their website i must say Silhouette had outdo themselves again!!! luv their simply corselette ideas!!! wish i could do my gowns again with them :D

chinchilla

wow ladies, i am definitely going to sihouette for a visit after hearing so many good comments. : )

do we get to try on afew wedding gowns during our first appointment? i read from a very early thread that the designers will sketch some designs out for u. but i would prefer to put them on to try instead of sketching. cos its difficult to visualise at times. can u gals confirm on that?

Hi chin,
Yes, you will get to try on a few gowns first before they sketch out the gowns for you. As you're trying on the gowns, they will ask you questions to find out more about your preference and your personality so it's easier for them to create a picture for you. Hope this helps.

maverick

Hi Chin,

I'm also a Silhouette bride... I took up their package after scouring through many bridal boutiques!

Sil is v unlike other BS in that they are nvr pushy in their sales. Minda, their designer is also v v professional! During your 1st appt, Minda will let u try out a few of their gowns. Just ask her for her professional advice abt what gowns she thinks will fit u best... Concentrate on determining whether the Sil style appeal to u and whether u r comfortable with their service!

IMO, this is one BS that I feel will give u more than what u pay for and really make u feel special and impt! I think all the designers from Sil are equally professional...

Last but not least, call to make an appointment with them and see if their service is as good as what is written in here
Sorry gals, I just can't help singing their praises because I really feel that their service is v gd! No regrets abt taking up their package!!!

ssmilezz

Wondering if anyone is kind enuff to send me some of their pics? I'm curious to see Sil's gowns after all your wonderful reviews! Kindly PM me your pics or URLS?

Hi JC, Care to share what's your package like?
How many designers are there at Sil ?

Thanks everyone!

rhs

Hi ssmilezz, PM me if u want to see my gowns.

There are 3 designers at Sil: Miah, Minda, and Heath. All are equally good. They will ley u try some gowns on 1st appointment and Miah did some sketches to recommend the styles that he thought suited me.

ssmilezz

Hi rhs

I've just PM-ed you. Looking forward to your reply.

I'm more comfortable with female designers though. It's a strange quirk of mine. hehe...So that leaves me with Minda only i guess. Do they have any helpers to assist them?

So Miah was your designer? Was your gowns all MTM?

rhs

Hi ssmilezz,
Got my reply?
I'm the opposite of you, prefer male designers
Some guys can do women's job better than women (like chef, make-up artist, hairdresser, etc). There's a lady called Theresa who helped me dressed, fix my gowns, etc. Dunno if there are others but so far I've seen only one.

Yah, Miah was my designer. All my gowns are MTM. Actually they're more into MTM than OTR gowns. But with current economic situation, they said a lot of ppl choose OTR to cut cost.

maverick

Hi silvery and smilezz,

The packages at Sil is more affordable than u expect it to be. Its kind of difficult for me to list down what they are offering cos they are diff from other BS. They do not have their own in house photographers but they engage those photographers that r v good in the wedding industry! Their package do include photography but some photographers such as Utopia, Andrew Choi, u have to top up a few hundred.

Make an appt with Sil and go and try out their gowns b4 u decide... they are nvr pushy in their sales so u don't have to worry even if u decide not to take up their package! I'll give them 1st class for service!!! Just ask the rest of the Sil brides here.... cheers all!!!

ssmilezz

Hi rhs!

Yes..thanks i am slowly admiring all your pics! You look very sweet! Are you a singaporean?

i really quite shy at times...:p so will more comfortable with a lady designer. I will pop by next time to take a look~

Hi JC~

Are u also an ex-Sil bride?? Thanks for your advice. I'll see how it goes yah. Will definately shortlist SIL as one of the BS to visit. Do you have any pics to share with me?

jam

Hi rhs,
Would you mind sharing your photos with me as well? Can email me at [email protected]. I'll be meeting Minda in 2 weeks' time, haven't finalised my bridal shop yet. So would like to see more photos first. Thanks! =)

ssmilezz: Surprised to see you on this thread too! guess we are having similar choices in mind huh? =)

maverick

Hi ssmilezz

I'm not an ex-Sil bride, in fact, I'm a Sil bride, my wedding is on the 17 Nov this yr! So excited abt the whole thing

Sorry, no pics to share yet... But maybe I can share w all the brides to be my 2cents. Just to let u know that I've compared so many BS that I've lost count and I'm also someone who is v concerned abt the budget! In the beginning, my FH commented that Sil looks really ex and that it should be beyond our budget. Originally, we didn't even want to make an appt w Sil.

Me and my FH made a pact that we will nvr sign any BS on the day itself cos we were v afraid that we might just sign on impulse. As wedding is really a v impt affair, we thought tt we have to be extra careful! After visiting so many BS, we shortlisted a few BS, namely, Kai Bridal, Bridal Art(now bought over by Bridal Concept) and The Wedding News.

We like the photos taken by Bridal Art(at MS), their makeover(before and after effect) was v impressive. The Wedding News was somewhat similar to Bridal Art in that the photos were v well taken and the service seems to be v good too(lots of sweet talk). We almost sign for the Wedding News because we were so convinced that they could do a good job in the photography, we almost decided to sign on the dotted line(didn't bcos we promised nvr to sign on our 1st visit). As for Kai Bridal, my FH find that the gowns there are really nice but the price was also v nice. On top of that, their package does not include the men's suit as they only specialise on gowns there... they will recommend u a men's tailor which is also on the high end side! All in all, we calculated, taking up Kai could cost us up till 8k!!!

We would have sign up w The Wedding News if not for my FH checking on their forum and finding a few complaints abt their services... these gave us some doubts and hence my FH decided that we should look at one last BS which is Sil before we decide. In the end, we sign up w Sil during our v 1st appt w them... my FH said that he didn't want to look around anymore cos he found that the package offered by Sil was a v good deal!

Sil's package does not include a Bridal Car, which we intend to borrow from our friend, so not a big problem there. We were v impressed w Minda's professionalism, her advice and she gave me the impression that this wasn't a biz deal to her, she seems really sincere abt wanting the bride and the groom to look the best!!!

Even after paying the deposit which was 2k, the service provided was still as gd if not better. Minda helped me come up w the design for my gown v patiently. She allowed me to try many diff gowns to see how I looked in each of them, commented on them and gave me her v honest opinion on what she felt suited or did not suit me. I'd rather the designer tells me honestly how she find a certain gown on me rather than just "sweet talking" me into believing that I look good in any gown!

Overall, I'm v pleased w Sil and I'm also v sure that what I paid for is worth every cent if not more! Hope this helps! hehe... pai say huh, so long winded!

rhs

Hi ssmilezz,
I'm Indonesian

Jam, check your e-mail!

Similar experience here. Initially didn't consider Sil and only called them after we couldn't find one that really 'click' with us. We were very impressed with them, the shop looks very professional, Miah was very nice and not pushy, and the gowns that I tried were all very beautiful. Few days after our 1st appointment, we received a postcard from Miah! He said thank you for visiting Sil, etc. Wow!! Actually we had decided to go with them but after receiving the postcard we were even more sure. Absolutely no regrets!! Still thinking about my WG until now ... couldn't bear to return it to Sil, kekeke ...

ssmilezz

Hi jam ~ *waves*

Yah, same choice!! hee..let me know how your appointment with Minda went ok? See if you can "click" with her.

Hi JC ~

Have you gone for your 1st appointment yet?? And do you mind sharing your package with me? If not, can PM me to let me know instead? Wow, the deposit is $2k ah? Quite a lot hor...

No no.....you are not long winded! All these info are very useful for me and will motivate me to visit SIL too. hee..i really appreciate your help !

Me excited for you too!!! My AD still a long way but i'm always so excited when i hear abt someone's else AD!! Happy that you found a BS that you like. I'm sure you are in good hands.

Hi rhs ~

Yeah, thought you look Indonesian!
How abt your hubby? Is he an Indonesian too?

And how much did your total package cost? What abt your AD photography?

See you all later!!

rhs

Hi ssmilezz,
Yah, we're both Indonesian chinese. Our package with Sil is $4280 without photographer. We signed up separately with Chris Ling for PS. Our AD photographer is Kelvin (Beetles@Work). Can't remember how much, I think around $1900.

Hi sweatcorn,
Pls check your e-mail

ssmilezz

Hi rhs ~

Why did you sign up separately? I'm not sure byt Chris Ling not tied up with Sil? I'm still quite confused abt which photographers tying up with which BS. :p Pls bear with me.

My colleague had kelvin (beetles @ work) for her PS. The pics were nice too...

jam

rhs,
thks so much for sharing. think both of ur WG &amp; EG suit you really well

was at ted wu yesterday. feel in love with their detailed and generous embriodery. but after counting in all the little things in their package, price is a little steep... can't decide whether i wanna splurge

now i have high hope for sil... hope sil can really offer similar quality (if not better
)but at a more reasonable price.....

looking forward to my appt with minda really

maverick

Hi Ssmilezz,

PM u liao... Btw, I've gone for my 1st appt w Minda already. And she has helped me come up w the design for my gown, so I'll be taking mtm since I'm a little fussy... hehe... Make an appt w Sil, u won't go wrong!

Hi Jam,
hope to welcome u aboard the Sil ship soon

ssmilezz

Hi JC ~

Thanks. I will check my email later. hee...so how did your 1st appointment go? Did you have lots of fun discussing your ideas?

Hi Jam ~

Just curious but what's your budget for BS? Around $5k - $6k?

Yah, TW is really very ex......heart ache man..just thinking abt the costs. :p hee

rhs

Hi ssmilezz,
Chris Ling is tied up with Sil. We signed up separately because at the time we signed up with Sil we still hadn't decided which photographer to use. Also Chris Ling only give discount for basic package if sign-up through BS. If we upgrade, then no discount. However, in the end we got discount from CL coz we signed-up on our 1st appointment and we upgrade to premium package.

Kelvin was Chris Ling's assistant before. He has similar style with Chris. That's why we engaged him for our AD. Can't afford the master, then go for the student, kekekeke .... If you engaged Chris for AD, he will also bring Kelvin. So you get 2 photographers, both colour &amp; BW pics, both digital &amp; film. Of coz price also expensive lah.

Ted Wu's gowns are also very nice. But embroidery on his gowns are all the same/similar (coz it's his signature). Sil can do very nice embroidery and we can design ourselves.

jam

ssmilezz,

i dun really have a fixed budget. guess i'll try not to pay more than $5k upfront for the package, so at least i have some buffers to pay more for the photos or AD photography later.

think i just wanna make sure money is well spent. after all, i won't be keeping my gown, so a bit hesitant to splurge on the gown alone lor.... I also wanna be sure that the whole wedding preparation process to be as pain-free as possible. so all the good comments about Sil's service &amp; professionalism really help!