Silhouette the Atelier

hi mintee,

i paid $40 per hr for my PS transport, total used for 4hrs.

as for AD, i paid $328 for 6hrs use on actual day and 1hr car decor on eve of AD.

but tis pink cabby a bit siao one, he quotes everyone different prices...my friend called him to enquire, he wanted to charge her $368 for half day use.

PM me if u r keen to try...

hacpict,

u shld juz call and make appointment with bernard and drop by to look at his portfolio, and discuss the PS details and also get to know him b4 the PS. it is quite important for u guys to click with the photographer..makes ur PS session more enjoyable leh

Feeling very confuse dont know which BS to go to (SIL or AMANDA). Wanted to take OTR gown.

How ppl choose OTR gown? saw the gown b4 sign or sign then dig through the collection?

hi summerice,

if i were u, i will sign after i found the dream gown...safer. it'll be worse if u sign liao then cant find it and hv to take one tat is so so only..

juz my 2 cents

Hi midas

i also think i should find then sign, but hor a bit paisei to keep on asking them to take more gown for me to try right. Then they will think why i so fussy.
So far i am o.k with some gowns but yet to find the one which i cannot forget.

hi summerice,

for Sil & Amanda, u will not encounter black faces from them so dun worry...juz let them know u looking for OTR, they'll let u try till u find the ONE...

err...for AL, i only can gaurantee Miah wun be mad but not the rest hehehe

Hehehe hope Amanda wont be mad with me coz i am thinking of asking her to show me more till i find it.

What will be good ball gown or Aline...not sure which one i want to get.

hey summerlce! i was also in ur shoes, stuck btw AL & Sil! esp coz i dealt more with miah than amanda when i went down to AL n i love his designs so much. even now that ive signed up with Sil, a lot of the gowns that ive tried n liked there were designed by miah too. but somehow, i feel he couldn't be free to make alot of decisions (such as whether to give me the little extra perks or nt) without consulting amanda (coz i guess ultimatly, she's the boss lah), plus i could realli click with my desinger at Sil, so i went for them instead. haha. but AL staff all hv very good service! thumbs up! hey, u noe, esp since u r taking a OTR gowns, u realli need to find ur dream gown then sign. =)

Hi Twinstarz ya i have to find then sign if not will end up with MTM. How u know which gown is design by which designer since they are no longer there?

Am thinking of Ball gown or Aline, which one you gals think will be better.

AL say she dont have much Aline in satin.

I am also thinking since last time all the designer was at SIL n they are there longer then AL maybe will have more gowns to choose from.

hi summerice,

u need to be tall enuf to carry of a ballgown (at least 170cm with heels)..otherwise u'll look funny with a big puffy skirt. why dun u choose a slimmer A-line with a long detachacble sash/train for ur church march-in? its a IN thing now to hv a slimmer cut gown to show off the bride's figure

i'm talking about something like this one..
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1/304840.html?1155301217

ya, Sil may hv more WG to choose from but they may be older(tis BS is >10yrs old)..whereas AL is a newer BS thus will hv newer gowns lor. but Sil has 3 designers as compared to 1 in AL, so i guess quantity wise Sil is still the overall winner hehehe..

hi mintee,

i reply ur PM liao..

booking thru smrt more ex than calling them direct. but some still charge quite high. for me, i book half day he charge me $328 instead of $398(SMRT). but my friend got qouted $368 for same hrs. i think depends on his mood tat day also..

$328 for half a day quite x leh... the cabbie owns the cab izzit? mintee, got red london cab ar?

summerIce
i dig thru the racks make sure i like a few WGs in the shop b4 i sign.. but problem is i forgot look at the EG section. hee hee

i wonder if my BS will mind. ok i will try to call bernard talk to him. now he shldnt b too bz right..

Am thinking of Aline too, dont want my butt/bottom to be too big.
Then again i want the best look i can get lor....so cannot decide which kind to get.

The sash thing i saw from the net of one designer that was a spring/fall collection of 2002. Dont tell me spore so slow? I like the sash look also, which i try from SIL, nice color but its with a ball gown.

The problem is that i cant see my back only from the side view so very hard to have a clear picture how i look from behind. Maybe should bring a mirror along hor?

I like to take pic and see if i look nice on the gown but most designer wont allowed that. Happen once that i try one gown n took a pic, look at it from the pc and my mum commented that how come the bust area can see throw like that like without bra. i didnt notice that only after looking at the pic, in fact that was the beadings there.

Worried that other gowns will be like that, dont look nice in pic.

Most BS keep their gowns, u cant look throw them like in D'sire or Allure. Even if you can like in SL too many gowns u wont know how it looks like if u dont take it out.

So i guess will just have to depend on the designer to help u pick the best gown from what they have in house.

hi hapict,

london cabs r not normal merz cars...there r only very few in spore thus the high rental prices. especially the pink one, its the one and only in the whole world..u cant find a pink one even in london itself. the cab is very spacious, can sit 5 big size pax at the back and one beside the driver. on my AD i not having any following cars, so i squeeze 2 jiemeis, 1 xiong di, 1 photographer and my hubby wif me, juz nice 6 pax
savings on follow up car rental and driver&petrol Ang baos hehe.

now still 7th month, the PS shouldn't be busy lah. most pple will do a bit commercial shoots tats all. even u haven't sign up wif them also can go down and check out their porfolios not an issue..if ur BS finds out, u can tell them u passby and stared at their shop and then kena invited into the shop lor hehehe.

summerice,

yar..spore very slow. the color sash thingy only started happening 1-2yrs ago. even till now, 90% of spore brides still thinks its too bold to hv color other than pure white on their WG...sigh.

how come u cant see ur back view at Sil? they hv two wall to wall mirrors facing each other mah. can see from the reflections...otherwise, u can get ur hubby or some friends to tag along and help u see. i think BS normally dun let u take pics unless u already signed up with them. but still can try asking them if u using low-res phone camera to juz take the back view maybe can?

hi hapict, yes there's red ldn cab in Singapore! In fact I think there's ard 10 colors of the Ldn cab. You can see all of them on SMRT website. ;)

Hi midas i am a person who love colors, hopefully i can get a gown that i like with colors. if dont have then too bad lor stick to the normal ones.

401422.jpg
401423.jpg

hi summerice,

i see...then u may want to take AL coz amanda luv to make dresses with coloful details. i shortlisted them becoz of tis reason too...white white one quite boring hor.

401434.jpg
401435.jpg

tks for advice on the tpt...
my BS offering champagne colored WGs leh, but they dont suit my skin tone so those r out.
BS stopped me fm talkin to photographer when i havent signed up with them. *shrugs*

summerIce
i love the 2nd pic!!! omg, where did u find the pic fm? got a bigger resolution one can email me??? i would love a red & white WG like the ones u posted above but afraid ppl say national day colors.. =p
yea u shld b able to see your reflections at silhouette. i could leh.
takin pic? there was once FH said the WG looked nice on me when he looked in the mirror at me but not when he looked at me in real person. ;| i din take any pic hope will look nice on me...

mintee
thanks. sorri i so suaku..=p

hey hey midas! those 2 gowns u posted r just beautiful! i like the 1st one! haha..maybe i should do sth like that for my evening gown! whr did u get it from?

summerlce! i agree with hapict...the 2nd gown u posted is really nice! v elegant.

anybody got robin as ur photographer? think its really time for me to decide btw robin n o..sigh. i noe i should go down to both to take a look at their work....but would like to see some pics if any of u can share?

hi hapict,

u can try looking at tis website if u like tat kind of WG with bold colors...

www.theknot.com

thousands of WGs to look at, most r US designers...a few r from europe.

i initially wanted champagne color WG too, but Miah say too close to my skin tone...the gown will disappear on me. so i ended up with ivory instead.

twinstarz,

the 1st WG i posted is from a french label..christian lacroix. he is very famous in US and europe. some high end US boutiques carrys his designs. very unique hor.

by the way, u already saw my PS with O-studio rite? no need to resent hor?

hehehe i surf too much, forget which web site but will check it out when i have time o.k.

SIL the mirror too far apart...i want to observe myself closely mah....hehehe

midas i like the 2nd gown embro design, but i dont want the dreamy look for my gown...prefer satin look.

i havent select photographer also.....hehehe still looking around. will go to more this fri n sat.

hi blurBTB, i replied to ur email liao..

hi summerice,

if u like the design but prefer satin then check out these three..

401738.jpg

I find that most designer like to use satin to make ball gown right. Ball gown some will make u look fat some not as fat but still big.

i like the first embro design...the 2nd one, top is a little empty, the 3rd one i dont really like the front bottom embro too heavy.

Ball gown will give a princess look but big bottom, Aline will look normal. So which one....ai yo me still cannot decide leh.

hi summerice,

since u taking OTR, juz try until u find the ONE lor. let heaven decide for u Aline or ballgown lor hehehe.

is that duchess silk satin or something like tat? *drool*

summerIce
TWP designer advised me not to get ballgown as i m petite n FH tall so ballgown will overwhelm me..hope this will help u in your choice...

hapcit ya that time when i try from MB she also say something like that.....i notice from a picture that the bride n groom stand very far apart due to the gown. if he stand near i think the gown will be squeese or his legs will be hidden.

Thanks for reminding. Dont want my HB to be far from me on that day

summerlce, im going to go for duchess satin coz i like the richness of it! but im nt v tall but i m goin to wear damn high heels! =) u like duchess satin too?? its really nice yeah? thx, i will check out the bonny bridal link!

hapict, u spoke to the guy designer at TWP? i got him when i went down during my appt last time n he told me that the gown i like is not suitable for me too....sigh...but din say y..so weird.

the pics tat i've posted r all Silk Satin gowns...ex ex. the 2nd gown is an Aline, the other 2 is ballgown. i think summerice can try Aline if not wearing high heels

wow satin n silk. there are nicer gowns oversea then here i wonder why. Is it because we find that the gowns are greener on the other side?

More or less i have decide on the gown already, think i will select one from the 3 gowns which i have impression.

Very tired to try more and i think i wont find bonny bridal kind of style. HB told me yesterday that his friend's wife went into 1 shop and try the first gown OTR and thats it.

So i am fussy lor.

hi summerice,

the overseas gowns r really nicer coz pple there can spent $10k for WG alone...still haven't factor in the shoes and accessories leh. All Lazaro gowns also comes with matching veils..if the gown is lace one, then the veil will hv the same lace, if gown got embro then the veil wil hv same embro...and tat veil will cost u min. USD500. Me also copied their idea and had a matching veil made at $250 hee.

since u like the Bonny gown so much, why dun u MTM one? u said u want OTR becoz no ideal design...now u said can't find Bonny's style..means tat Bonny's design is the ONE lah. Juz print out the pics and show to ur designer lor. Wedding is once in a lifetime, must wear the gown u like most...otherwise will regret man.

midas ya, worried MTM gown may not turn out as expected. Then spend the money still not happy. Somemore going to cut cost if possible. Like you said still havent count in shoes n veil leh..and many more.

At first i wanted to have wedding favour but those nice one are not cheap n HB say ppl dont bother whether u give or not, so safe money dont want lor. Maybe i will buy some for immediate families, jie mei and xiong di. Will c budget first.

HB not sure if we r going to have the church wedding alone or include banquet. He say better make sure all are happy with our wedding. So if have banquet will add another 10k.

hi summerice,

yes, i agree u can save money for stuff like wedding favors...but i dun agree tat u shld skim on the dress of ur lifetime. a wedding is about u and ur hubby being happy, not making everybody else happy. so for me, despite splurging $7k on gowns (and accesories etc.) and $7k on PS, i skimmed on the banquet. we spent about $3.5k in all on a 9 tables wedding lunch reception after our solemnisation and tea ceremony. in tis way, i made sure all min. requirements from parents r met and at the minimum they will not be unhappy tats all..by the way, wedding favors r not ex if u know where to search. i got mine at $1.70 each..think its reasonably priced ba.

402098.jpg

as for the WG design...i hv a suggestion. u request to try WGs with all sorts of cut eg. Aline, ballgown, mermaid, sheath...bustier, halter neck, off-shoulders, v-neck etc. Pick the best cut u look gd in and infused it with Bonny's details...like the gorgeous floral embro on ur pics. so u get the best of both worlds! and a one and only WG design unique to u

juz my 3cents...

wau v nice leh your weddin favour!!! it's something where u can clip paper n cards on top right?? ;p
wow your gowns n PS so x!! got photos show us or not???

bonny is a designer in US?

u shld post your veil online let us see! (for me to drool further)

summerIce
eh i went to more than 10 BS ok! i even took leave went alone cos FH refused accompany me to more cos he said i duno wat i wan. i even more fussy... but now lowered xpectations a bit cos of budget. haha..goin alone is gd. i get to make rational decisions n i have excuse not to sign up on spot.

twinstarz
i spoke to Mel at TWP. she looks v young but surprised by her professionalism n gd advice n intelligent qns. =)

hey hapict! Was the designer that advised u not to take ballgown Mel? how big is the difference between your FH and your height? When trying ballgowns there, she said it's ok for me and I'm 20cm shorter than FH leh. Summerlace, actually it's not true that the groom has to stand away from the bride if it's a ballgown leh! I tried one silk satin one at TWP, with ken ken underneath. Mel purposely asked my FH to stand on my right and she herself stood on my left to prove that the ballgown won't "bounce" pple away from me! ;)

hi hapict,

ya, u r rite. its a memoclip, but u can clip anything tat is not too heavy...even small photos

u interested in my veil ah...wats ur email addy? i email my PS link to u. meanwhile here's hw my veil looked like..

402355.jpg
402356.jpg

u looked like 1 local actress!!! argh i cant rem her name!!! sori...
your veil is gorgeous!! n the hand bouquet too!! i wanted to get red roses but ppl said the color too strikin wil distract ppl fm me n my WG so i was thinkin of somethin like yours.. er is it pink roses??

mintee
yea mel advised me not to. yea also 20cm difference.

hi hapict,

thanks for the compliments..

my AD bouquet & matching corsages were made by Miah himself. it consists of 'center pink roses' plus 'wax flowers' and brunias...
402531.jpg
402532.jpg

my PS bouquet was done by Miah too..consists of yam roses, eustomas, hyacintus & sweet williams

402533.jpg

hapict, wha u actually took leave. For me i also search about 10BS liao....some i try the gown some i didnt. When u go alone, no one to give comments leh.

As for me my HB go with me to all the BS. He knows that i dont know what i want also, but he is very supportive...didnt complain about driving around and all the waiting.

Yea i finally decided on the gown and BS liao, hopefully its not wrong.

Mintee some ball gown will be too overwhelming, so the groom will not look good.

Midas, u got a good deal from miah leh.

hi summerice,

congrats to finally found ur WG
its not Sil rite?

i also took leave for BS hunting..actually i've only shortlisted 6 BS. so i used up one whole day for 5 BS during my leave and went to the 6th one after work on the following day. i went alone to all BS, so far all pple i met accept AL (sales gal) gave comments leh. Miah was the most enthusiastic one, he let me try on a gown of similar cut to my dream dress and took out all kinds of fabric for me to see..and he drew sketches of the WG for me. i felt as if i'm already a Sil customer. needless to say, i made my decision on the very next day tat it wld be Sil..despite the fact tat it has the 2nd highest price tag (after Ted Wu)

Hi Girls

thinking of getting my jie mei dresses- do you have any good suggestions on where to get OTR dresses? the other alternative will be to try MTM for them..

midas how u know har? Actually i wanted SIL but a few concerns i have so decided against it. HB also say the other gown looks nicer on me.

For me i go to those BS and photographers on sat only. Plus i have to go to our new house on sat also. Very pack for me on sat but we manage to do lots of things.

AL (sales gal)? which one?

blurBTB u can try those Yen or Yam designer. Can go to c.k tang not sure if it is 2nd level. They have many dresses there.

Anythings i need to find out b4 i sign with BS and photographer? Already decided on them but just want to know what things to be listed down in black n white just in case.

hi summerice,

can guess lah...u purposely din mention means tat u din pick Sil. Maybe minda scare u off hehehe.

i can't recall the sales gal name i think it starts with 's'...like sylvia or serene or something. it was the first BS i visited on tat day and my appointment was 11.30am, still early so din get to meet Amanda. she juz kept asking me to try on gowns and when i mentioned my AD is only 4.5mths away, she has no reaction. all other BS i visited, especially when a designer attended to me say the timeline is quite rush. some say ok, some say no...

by the way, can share which BS u signed up? PM me leh...

midas hahaha not minda leh, she let another designer attend to me. Thats why.

When i go AL i didnt c other ppl except Amanda herself n Joe. i went there 2x also didnt see a sale gal.