Silhouette the Atelier

Most of you have MTM gown, but i am not thinking of that....coz i dont have certain design that i must want for my gown. For me i will most likely take OTR.

Those problems that i mention, the gown is not really my size, but i am not so sure that after alteration all these problem will be gone. To be safe i think i better get those that almost fit properly on me.

yea summerIce
the gowns at ritz couture fit me perfectly so now deciding btw ritz n d'sire loh. wanted MTM but now no time liao n FH afraid the end result will be horrendous.
btw, u actually spoke to the designer at D'sire? heard he's the owner. he was very tao when i went down n totally ignored me, din give any comments when i was wearing his creations (assumed he designed it) n whcih gowns would suit me better. since it's a new shop he shld be nicer to us mah. ;p and u know lah, sales coordinators will say the gowns fit me etc. so when i next go down, i m bringing FH n my extremely critical sister. haha

hi hapict,

MTM WG will not be horrendous if u r willing to spend on a gd designer boutique...i personaly nvr heard of any bad comments from Sil brides

by the way, i did my MTM gowns in 4months time..signed up in Dec and PS in Mar.

i think it is very important for u to click with the designer...if D'sire one is tao then maybe u shld go with Ritz instead?

hi midas
i wanted MTM WG at Di Gio cos i really clicked with designer there but too bad FH dun wan.
wow so fast? but my PS in sep/oct leh cos my AD in jan. ;p
i havent seen the designer at ritz at all but the cuttin of the WGs there are fabulous...

hey hapict! i went to ritz couture during my BS hunt too. the plc is so nice rite. but too bad, i din see any gowns that i like. n it seems, they dun hv any duchess satin gowns which i really lurve coz of the richness. =) they do hv nice teadresses though. i agree with midas, u reali need to click w the designer, else u'll dread going down to meet him / her each time..then how to design a nice gown together..u know wat i mean?

hi summerlce! sorri, i meant im not an embro kind of gal, that's y din go with AL. but if u like embro, i think sil has quite alot of gowns with embro leh! u should ask them to take it all out for u to try. there's this gown w big train w black embro, v v classy!!! but i cldn't carry it off somehow. hai.

hi midas, did u get jackie to do ur AD shots as well?

hi hapict,

actually hor i had my PS juz 1 month b4 my AD.. O-studio rushed out the albums for me in 3.5weeks. and i had 2 albums somemore (coz selected 130pics :p). despite the rush, both albums turned out really nice with all digital layout nicely designed and all. so my point is tat if u r willing to spend, u get excellent service

if u really liked Ritz gowns u shld go down again and meet their designer and see if u can click with him/her..coz it really determines whether u will enjoy the rest of ur wedding preps time in the months to come.

hi twinstarz,

no i din get Jaki for my AD PG, i've gotten Raymond instead coz tat time O-studio is having a Xmas promo of $499 for AD. so after reviewing Raymond's work i went ahead with him

u can PM me if u r curious about their works..

hi midas, I checked out the link to your PS and wow you are really pretty. Love your big big eyes

You have many locations for your outdoor shoots! Cld you share with me where they are taken? Is one of them the ballroom at ACM? Are you having your banquet there hence they allow you to take pics there?

hi mintee,

thanks for the compliments...i think its the makeup tat makes me pretty haha..

i only hv 3 locations for outdoor shoot...the ACM, Fort Canning park & Clarke Quay. And yes, the orange function room is ACM's but photo taking in ACM is free, u juz need to call the mgr and arrange the timing and they'll inform the security to let u in. and off course they'll tell u if the room is having an event u can't go in lor.. i had my banquet at Peony-jade restaurant @Clarke Quay, so i took some photos there too

Hapcit, really he dao meh...maybe u go alone so he think u not potential customer. I went in with HB he very friendly, in fact he help me with the lacing of the victorian gown. hehe Even offer us coffee or tea, ask me had my lunch already.

twinstarz ya i try that black embro gown...at first i told her the color i dont prefer, but she told me to try, in fact all those gown i try there are with embro. HB say all the gown i try on look nice.

I went to Ritz also, didnt really c any gown i like. Went to JustinAgnes they have the lastest collection on handburn design, but the gown look funny on me.

summerIce
u spoke to Dennes of D'sire?? he was in the shop when i went there again with FH in tow. he even saw me wearing at least 3 of the gowns he had absolutely no comments at all n treated me like transparent. is it cos i dun look like the ideal bride he had in mind for his designs? upset now. :|
yvonne assured me when i confirm gowns he would b there with me to discuss whcih gowns i shld choose. a bit late rite. but he jolly well b there cos i wan to ask him to add embroidery to bottom of hem for the WG i shortlisted already. ;p

btw, what's handburn design?? i also wanted to go justinAgnes but heard they r x.

hapict in fact JustinAgnes is not ex...almost like D'sire. They can do MTM for u to take back at less then 1.5k according to the designer.

Ya i spoke to Dennes. He did ask me what kind of gown i had in mind i told him not sure so he suggest a few, when i try on he didnt say much like how to make it nicer lar...just that when i say i look fat with the victorian gown he say can wear can can to make my butt dont look so big if i am worry.

handburn according to the designer is call applique (dont know if i spell it correctly)

summerIce
they let u take pic of gowns? i din dare do tat at any of the BS i went to in case they think i try to copy their design elsewhere. pl send me. thanks!!

Hi Midas, wow ACM is really nice! They allow pple to take photos there for free! So nice of them!
for such logistics like calling to book, wld u have to do it yourself or your photographer will do it huh?

hi mintee,

photographers doesn't do logistics one...u must do all the liasing on ur own. for ACM, its quite easy, u call the hotline and enquire...the hotline person will gv u a number to call. call the mgr in-charge and tell them ur purpose and details like timing and name of pple going in (dun bring a large entourage along hor). i do encourage u to plan ur PS on a weekday so more chances of getting to shoot anywhere u like without the crowds

I wanted to take pic of SIL gown also but worried that they might think i am trying to copy their design. Anyway if we really wanted to copy their design no need pic also can.

The designer at justinagnes suggested that i take pic of the gown i try on, since she already say so then i take pic lor.

you can view the pic at http://photos.yahoo.com/blu3y_1

wow! it looks lovely! the decor of the shop looks like margaret bride's..

my BS in tanjong pagar area so likely go these shophouses area i think weekday it would b v crowded with loads of office hr staff n weekend would be better with no one staring at us. but i wanna go sentosa and weekday better for sentosa...how ?? ;p

Hi hapict,

You book which BS (D'sire)? so have u selected your gown design? Which PG are you using?

Oh it is very different from MB, MB give u a home feeling, where this one is a normal bridal shop....but the fitting rm is big...only one so if got many ppl have to wait.

Hi hapict,

if u like shop houses and not crowded one, i suggest u go to Blair road...quite nice. i took these pics during a weekday, no pple and even traffic on the road is scarce during office hrs...

399083.jpg

399084.jpg

399085.jpg

summerIce
yea i booked with D'sire..photographer is ave 8's bernard, engaged by D'sire.

thanks so much!! it looks v nice n really v empty. haha
when do u think is the latest for me to take PS? my AD in jan 07..

hapict what about AD PG? Who you looking for can give me info? Me looking for AD PG...went around looking at a few last week but all above 2k if we want the digital montage. Hubby like benny ang digital montage...he likes his style of the candid shot.

Any one knows who have this kind of style and cost less? We prefer more candid to post pics. Most of the PG give 4R pics and those pics hubby say can ask friends to take no need to pay so much just to get something normal.

Hi Summer,

you can try my AD photographer, desmond ho. he's doing it freelance and pretty cheap, definitely less than 1k. i find his shots quite natural and most of all bright and colourful. sorry got no pics to show you (cos my AD is on May 06) but you can email him ([email protected]) for details. there's quite good comments about his work on the styleweddings forum. Hope this helps!

hi hapict,

i think the PS timing depends very much on how fast they can do up the albums for u...typical timelines is 2-3 months. But my PS studio did it for me in 3.5 weeks coz i only taking PS one month b4 AD. Even though i told them i'm not displaying the albums at my banquet recept they still finished the two albums for me on the eve of my AD

so maybe u shld go down to ave8 and find out wat they say about it. oh, and b4 tat u must know when ur gowns wld be ready...if u r doing MTM then could be a bit rush. check wif ur BS first then discuss with ur PS...

come to think of it...i did everthing in about 5mths time..BS hunt, MTM WG&EG, PS and AD. i signed wif Sil in dec and got married in april hehehe.

hi SummerIce,

if you are interested, i can recommend you my AD photographer. Well he is not as cheap as some photographers, but you pay for the quality and a peace of mind, knowing that he will be there on time for your AD to capture all your moments.

To me, that is what is most important, knowing that he will turn up on my big day and that his photos are of good quality (cos i had seen his portfolio when we first met up).

One more thing, his style is more of natural candid shots to capture the spirit of the day.

If you interested, drop me an email at [email protected] and I will send you a link to his website.

Hi blurBTB can send me the link? you mean he take about 3 mths to do your album?

Hi springpigz ya we like the natural candid shot....hubby like those pic that show the mood like more journalistic. How ex is he, like those big name photographer's price? i just sent u a mail

hi summer.. sorry typo mistake, my AD is in May 07.. can give me your email so that i can forward you his quote and link to his portfolio?

hi blurBTB hehe o.k....i am planning mine AD to be march...any website for me to go refer to his pics?

Springpigz saw the mail thanks

thanks..
i also rushin everything within half a year...OTR gowns for me..BS dont allow me talk to ave 8 separately leh..

hi hapict,

har...how come like tat one? i nvr heard of such thing leh. if they dun let u communicate with the photographer, how is he going to know wat style of PG u like and plan ur PS itenerary & outdoor locations etc.? after ur PS, u also hv to go down and select photos one mah...wat if u call ave8 without informing them? will they know? wat will they do if they know??

sorry...i'm juz quite puzzled about the whole thing :p

hapict really? That time Dennes told me i can just walk down the street and look at the photographer's work, coz very near by only, but that was when i have not confirm anything with him.

Ask SIL brides something, the first time i went without an appointment Minda is the on i talk to, so if i am going the 2nd time, can i call n make appointment with another designer or have to be Minda? Am not sure which designer is better for me so if i look for another one will it be not nice if she saw me attended by another one?

hi summerice,

i suggest u call and specify who u wanna make appointment with better, other than minda, there's kenji and caroline i think..minda wun mind one lah, she is super busy and i think she'll be glad to let her fellow colleagues attend to u

hi blurBTB Desmond is not free leh...sms him yesterday, today he sms me telling me he is doing reservist. Have you met him n look at his folio already?

yea they did tell me the studio is v near D'sire but when i wan to go down talk to bernard, they discouraged me, sayin he is engaged by them...

hi hapict,

ave8 is a consortium of several PS...do u know bernard belongs to which one?

i still think u shld tok to ur PS personally..

Hey Midas, thanks for sharing the tips on Blair Rd!!! Didn't know got this nice area in Singapore!
I stayed in a shophouse for almost 20 years b4, so really love shophouses!

Hi summer,

i did meet up with him early this month and signed up with him.. maybe you want to wait until he's done with reservist to meet up with him?

hi hacpict,

talking on PS day itself is a bit too late...u dun even know who will be providing the PS transportation do u? which place u will be driving to first? then follow by which next? wat to prepare and bring along on PS day? if ur BS isn't going to let u tok to them then u must make ur BS be the middle man and tok to them for u...but i doubt they'll be so free to do tat for every couple.

hi mintee,

there isn't a norm...tats the problem, u hv to ask them about it. some photographers prefer to drive on his own, some prefer to sit in ur car. if dun hv car, some may hv lobang for maxi-cab rental..my PS doesn't hv car, so we either arrange our own vehicle or book maxi-cab thru them. i rented a pink london cab for PS, can take pics wif the cab too

as usual luckily i come to this forum talk to u all n know more abt all these.. =)
my BS providin transport for outdoor locations. outdoor loc abt 2-3. wat to prepare n stuff i have read quite a bit fm forums, but BS havent advised me yet. agree totally wif u tat discussin with Photographer tat day of PS too late, abt style n wat to expect etc. i also wan to go down talk to him personally b4 we sign up but to no avail. so now i hope to insist on talkin to bernard on the outdoor locations n stuff n more...thanks! =)

yes midas, i saw your pink london cab in your photo threads!
I actually also intend to rent that pink london cab on my AD! Am also contemplating the red london cab... red it more striking but pink is cute and romantic. haha... how much did u pay for the rental huh? it's per hr charge rite?