Silhouette the Atelier

Yah, I went without makeup, just moisturiser and most important, sun protection. My MUA told me to get my own compact powder, and also I noticed that she don't put any makeup base. When asked her, she said it's best to consult our own beautician (if we have one). I'm currently looking around for compact powder, understand Laneige has got this which is purple in colour and read that it help to brighten the face, not sure if I shld get it or not, will probably decide later.

kokoryo
Yours is a lace gown, how much did you pay for it? I always like lace, but when Minda try putting the lace over my gown during 1st fitting, it make me look slightly more mature. So, decided to do away with it.

And also about the MUA, no worries, I was told that if you're not comfortable with the original one after the trial, you can request for a change. However, not sure if you're able to arrange for another trial for FOC or not. You may have to check with Minda.

As for caterer, we've confirmed with Lavish. Read on the thread that the food is pretty good.

It's TGIF, have a good weekend.

Hi girls, finally back after my holiday! Just touched down late last night. Quite tired. Didn't buy much clothes cos they were all too big for me. Only bought chocolate. FH bought a lot of things for himself - DVDs, work shoes, work bag, timberland shoes, lots of clothes! Didn't see the brand Fresh tt Mudpie recommended though...

Welcome Kokoryo!

Quite exciting cos it's 7 months to go and wedding preps proper can begin!

Mad, seems like u're very organised leh. U already have march in song and worship team. And someone to sing! So nice. We're still hunting ard cos of some changes in our church CG - our CGL is changing church... Got a march in song but not the other songs so far

Speaking abt MUA, i think Sil has a few MUA and most brides use Gin? I'm engaging Jasmine Tiong separately. Intending to do trial makeup in mid april...

Kokoryo, i'm also trying to lose weight. After all the buffets and fast food in US. I did try to restrain myself there but it was difficult cos of all the food, and the chocolates i bought back! Heheheh. Don't worry abt ur height - Minda also told me tt my gowns have to be simple cos i'm quite petite (1.6m) and far from the lanky, willowy and slim model-types *envy*

U girls are looking at wedding cards really soon! Hmmm... Thinking of just a simple, std design for church invites w/o much fuss. So hopefully can settle it quite fast. Cos i've yet to visit any florists or card printers so far. Been procrastinating abt it... Sheesh

Btw Kokoryo, my AD is on 11 nov so u're the earliest among us girls!

Hello count, welcome back. Wow, thought you'd be flooding your baggages with all your shopping stuff, but in the end, it's your FH...... Guess you're right about the sizes available there, it's all pretty big. Remember when I walked into Victoria Secrets, didn't even dare to try them on, cause they're all in such big sizes, and, really, am so embarressed to ask them for smaller sizes..... You didn't see Fresh?? Sigh..... I'll go have a look when in London next week.

Hey, one of my friend uses Jasmine Tiong for her wedding too, her wedding was couple of years ago. She was also a Sil bride, then Jasmine was tied up with Sil, so she choses her. Her makeup was pretty nice.

And talking about the gown, I really think I look like a pear in my gown. He....he....

Oh yes, did you also go into one of those gift shops to have a look too?? Cause I went into one of the gift shops and was so facinated by the things they have for weddings......so much more interesting.

Hi Enuka, I don't have any pictures of my WG and EG cos they are all on paper designs only. Perhaps I can share with you my experience at Sil. I first popped into Sil during lunch time cos it was near my office and Minda was quite happy to show me some of the gowns and even try them on. And I didn't have an appointment with them. I went on to a few more bridal shops but some of those the designers don't talk to you until you have signed up and if you are getting made to measure, I think it's important to get a feel of the designer to see if you can connect with that person.

Mudpie, yeah I heard Lavish is good... I'll probably go talk to them soon. For the gown, mine is not full lace cos I think full lace also look kind of heavy and mature. So it's patch on bits and pieces.

Wah I'm the earliest but haven't done much! I better buck up a bit:P

kokoryo
Yes, look for lavish, there's really alot of good comment about them. And don't panic, I'm sure e'rything shld be in place by your wedding.

Enuka
My gown is not ready yet, still very raw, e'rything's very plain.

As for my package, it's approx $4480 with e'rything inclusive other than EG, as i'm not going to have dinner.

Hope this help.

Sorry for MIA for awhile. Been pretty busy at work. I bought a pair of really ex skates over the weekend. My bf and I thot we should start picking up something that we can do together. I have got a CG member who is a rollerblading instructor so he is teaching some of us. If any of u interested, do let me know...i am sure it will be fun to learn together....maybe can lose weight too ;)

Welcome back Count. It has been really quiet without you. Until Mudpie had to ask what happened to this thread!

I am not organized. But just kiasu....and maybe excited as well. Just settled the march-in song but not the rest of the songs. My bf and I have got a few in mind that are like our 'all time fav'. However, must make sure that it matches the whole theme of our wedding and message we want to relay.

Talking abt foundation and make-up. I am so 'lost' now. Have been using Origins' powder as I love the texture and it does not clog my pores. However, they have discontinued the colour that I have been using! Got my friend to check it out in States as well and she confirmed that its discontinued worldwide. So now I have to switch to another brand. Was thinking of going back to either YSl or Chanel.

Anyone gg for the outdoor wedding fair at Bugis this weekend?

Mudpie, u do not look like a pear in ur gown! U look pretty ok! And u look well balanced and not bottom heavy so definitely not pear-like... Victoria's Secret has very pretty nighties, but i will only buy after AD. Cos buy now also never use and no space to keep. Hee. Sad thing is i'm not well endowed so i don't think i'll look as nice in lingerie. sob sob

Yes, they have plenty of gift shops there. I also saw Godiva chocs as wedding favours - but so very expensive! Their wedding gifts are very unique, saw a Strip Chocolate game which we wanted to buy as a gift for a friend but it was too big to bring home

Kokoryo, u're also having lace on ur gown? That's nice. Don't worry abt wedding preps k, cos i haven't bought my wedding bands too! Hahahah i've been talking abt getting them for the longest time somemore...

Mad, busy at work too? Rollerblading is very cool but too bad it's not my cup of tea. I can't even cycle leh! And when i tried to rollerblade last time, i flopped badly cos i couldn't figure out how to stop except by crashing into a wall! ;)

Origins has a gd charcoal mask also for removing blackheads. U girls shd try. Heheeh. For makeup, i use prescriptives but they have discontinued in spore so must buy in US... Usually i'm lazy so i don't apply makeup. Terrible right?

So what's the theme of ur wedding? I still have no idea abt themes and colours...

Any of u all going for the outdoor fair? Was thinking of popping by on Sunday perhaps...

Oh there is a wedding fair for outdoor weddings at Bugis this weekend?? Can just pop in or must register through magazines/newspapers? Anyone knows where exactly is it in Bugis? Cos Im having my wedding outdoors and would be nice to go take a look...

I like rollerblading too... been doing that on and off since secondary school! Once in a while I still go east coast to blade but usually at night when its quieter.

Count, I also have the charcoal mask from Origins... had it for quite a long while already cos I'm lazy to use masks. It does feel quite good though... skin feels clean after using that.

For makeup I usually use MAC... find their compact powder quite good to use and very convenient. I just put that in the morning, some blusher and lipstick. In less than 5 mins I'm done.

thanks kokoryo and mudpie! been to Sil, & met designer Kenji. Very friendly & nice setup with nice WGs, but the pricec quoted was quite exp.. $6000+, includin photography from Chris Ling.. so now shortlist Sil, and oso considerin other BS

the charcoal mask sounds gd.. mus go check it out! haha..

i didnt know prescriptives has discontinued here in S'pore! This Origins mud mask sounds good..maybe will buy one and try.

Hey kokoryo, i dun think u need to register for the wedding fair. u can check out the info when u enter the Singaporebrides website. they are advertising it now.

I dun really have a theme per say now but more of a colour theme. I guess we will have the songs, wedding invites wordings etc to revolve around a bible verse that we will ultimately pick. guess its more meaningful that way.

Hi enuka
I didnt know that Sil has increased their prices from last year. However, my pkg does not incl photography so it may not be a good comparison too. I feel really comfortable at Sil and the ppl there are generally so nice. Remember to choose a designer that u are comfortable with. and of cos within yr budget! ;)

Mudpie is travelling again!! And count just came back. BTW, forgot to welcome Count back!! Hey Count, nice to hv u around again. Hope u had a good time in the states.

Hey Kokoryo, i like east coast too! Like to go jogging in the mornings and then breakfast there, or strolls at night after dinner at the hawker centre there! Heh

My guy fren recommended the charcoal mask to me. And i quite like it though i look ugly and have a "black face" when i apply it!

Btw, how come u manage to apply make up so fast? Is there an art to it? 5 mins is really quick cos i take at least 15 mins and most of the time i'm already rushing to work cos i jog in the mornings so tend to be quite tight in terms of timing...

Mad ah, yes i had fun cos we ate and shopped a lot, and saw lots of interesting stuff. Like how suaku me finally saw tundra and mirages in the desert for the first time. Thanks for the welcome back! I missed local food so happy to be back! And missed my family too!

Yes, we tot of looking for a theme verse too but no inspiration has hit so far. Btw, i went down to Woodsville today. Their package is pretty gd and they are quite flexible. May go with them cos they are doing the flowers for Fullerton and the other bride using my church will be having her dinner there. So having the same florist may help smooth things out and give us a better deal. But still am planning to slowly visit a couple of other florists to make sure

Mudpie, have fun on ur trip and stay safe! Travelling yet again, lucky u! Chat when u're back k?

Enuka, my package is w/o PS too so cannot really advise u. Are u intending to take up Chris Ling? Otherwise u could just take a package from Sil and get ur own PG?

Hi Count, how is the pricing like at Woodsville? heard they r good but may be pricey. I think I mentioned b4 that I wanted to decorate my reception venue (Fort Canning Centre) with balloons. However, I went to see the venue over the weekend again and realised that the room is huge and the airconditioning is from the ceiling so I dun think I can cover the ceiling with balloons. So now I might have to think of alternatives again. sigh...

I like to go East Coast as well though I live pretty far away. Went to West Coast last night to blade. Pretty fun...but still scared. Kokoryo, since you started since sec sch, u must be really good now. Can u do the fanciful things? I always admire ppl who are so confident in skating.

Count, I really admire your discipline to go jogging and in the morning somemore! Me have no stamina to jog and no discipline... hiaz really need to make it a habit to exercise frequently.

Prefer to blade though east coast is a bit far for me. Used to do that every weekend with my bf/colleagues until work became busier. Guess I was lucky to pick up blading in sec school cos at that time, I wasn't afraid to fall down or try some stunts... in fact fall many times and have cuts and bruises everywhere. Even dislocate my tailbone heh heh. Now I can still do those things but I won't dare to try anything new for fear of scarring or breaking anything. But don't worry Mad, it's pretty safe if you stick to crusing on the paths and try to get your strokes correct then you will be pretty stable. And must wear protection.

I put quite light makeup.. no foundation just pressed powder and blusher. No eye makeup also. I like the look with mascara but always dread taking it off later cos the eyelids would be oily, some lashes will drop and have to tug the skin around the eye area. Maybe I'm not using a good mascara cleanser? Currently I'm using biotherm's eye makeup remover.

Hey Mad, the pricing is all right. They have a $330 package for church deco but it's very very basic. If i go with them i'll top up cos the package only has the basic stuff such as 2 floral stands, 18 posies for the pews, 1 centrepiece etc. Would want to upgrade to at least 4 topiaries, and organza to be tied along the pews lining the centre... My fren managed to "bargain" with the owner, but i only met the assistant yesterday. Will prob meet his boss in the next fortnight. Will keep u updated on their package and cost of my upgrades if u're keen

Kokoryo, forced to exercise cos FH is really thin... And cos i want to remain in shape and not gain weight after starting work! Hee. U are quite fit also what, blading and all...

Mascara is actually very pretty but suaku me doesn't know how to use it... Sigh. I only use prescriptives' traceless (tinted moisturiser), some blusher and lip stick w/o eye makeup when i doll up! If i don't doll up, it's only sunscreen! Lazy me... Must ask my MUA for tips when i see her next fri...

So are u all going for the wedding fair? What day? i still cannot cfm the day and time cos i have to see my CS seamstress on sat and buy some house stuff on sun... sigh

wow, sorry for late replY!!! my white dress in the park is just a simple white dress i have at home, and i thought white would look quite wedding-like so i wore it lor

Hi Count, thanks for letting me know abt Woodsville pkg. I called them yesterday and the asst who picked up the phone was really nice and friendly. Might fix an appt to meet them this weekend. See how first cos its a little out of the way for me. Their basic pkg is really affordable. When u say floral stand, is it the same as topiaries? Cos other florists did tell me b4 that topiaries are cheaper as compared to the floral stands.

Talking abt make-up removal...i am currently using shu umura. Heard than Fancl's remover is the best. I love mascara but dun reallly use it cos i tend to stain my bottom eyelid by afternoon even if it is waterproof ones. So it always makes me look like I have got dark eye rings.

Hey, hv all of u found your wine supplier already? I just went to one recently and they offer a wide range of wine with very good prices. Many of my friends also order from Carrefour.

Verie, where have u been? U MIA for so long i tot u disappeared into marital bliss! ;)

Madmad, floral stands are diff from topiaries. Woodsville is charging more for topiaries, and i think other florists too? Cos topiaries require more flowers than floral stands, unless i'm wrong... At least tt's what the Shang florist told me too. Btw, just a helpful tip re appts with Woodsville - u can ask Cecilia to meet u at Fullerton cos they do the flowers there. So Cecilia can meet u there on weekday evenings which may be easier and more conv for u and FH... Only found out after my fren told me

Hey girls,
Mascara sounds like a real headache to apply and keep on! But i love the drama effect it gives to the eyes. Aiyo, must ask MUA for tips already!

Too bad i cannot order wines fr Carrefour. Silly us didn't bargain for a waiver of corkage so it's $25/bottle! Not worth it to bring in wine cos Shang's house wine is $42 i think... So will just take their inhouse wine. How many bottles do u think u need? Not sure how wine consumption will be like at my wedding...

Verie, how was the wine consumption at ur wedding? How many bottles shd i make provision for, assuming it's 40 tables with only red wine and w/o beer? U girls have any idea?

Hi Count

Why dun u still give it a shot and try to nego. for waiver of wine? Even a little disc will be good. I remember helping a friend to nego. with that hotel and they were very inflex at first but managed to compromise after much persuation.

My wedding dinner is on a Sunday so I will not need as much alcohol as a Sat dinner. 1 btl of wine usually pours ard 4-6 glasses. So u will hv to see the kind of crowd u hv for the dinner. A good extimate will be 1.5 glass per person. So u can do the maths...(1.5 x no. of persons). N of cos white is not as pop as red...so stock up more of red. The only prob with using the hotel's wine is that u hv no control over the no. of btls they serve. Cos when u bring in ur own wine, u know exactly the max amt u need to pay at the end of it. So u might want to get someone in-chrg of wine or tell the hotel that u will purchase a certain no. of btls and if the demand goes higher than that, to inform the in-chrg.

So glad its Fri!! Will most likely go blading in ECP tomorrow morning.

Mad babe,
Yes intend to nego for waiver when i meet my coordinator. Have arranged to meet her in mid-May! Keekee. Will ask her nicely and hope she relents... Yep, i get what u mean abt being able to monitor wine consumption. Think my wine consumption will be quite high cos a lot of the guests will prob drink. My fren told me horror stories of her wedding - her hubby was half Jap and invited lots of Jap relatives and frens, and by the 2nd dish, they had wiped out 2 barrels of 30L beer and 50 bottles of red wine when she only had 30 tables! Wah... she nearly fainted when the hotel asked if she wanted to add more alcohol!

TGIF! Could do with some rest this weekend! Wah u still so "on" can go blading... Will be busy tm for my CS fitting, the wedding fair and looking for FH's cousin at LH to look at wedding bands. Then on sun must buy furniture for new house and running shoes so my two days are "burnt" already... can't wait for the wedding to be over! Then can relax every wk end! Kekekekek

hi count, work very busy nowadays so no time to log in man! the wine consumption at my wedding was quite in the average zone. my father in law insisted on getting more because he thought his friends and relatives would drink a lot. So we had 10 crates of wine, 9 were red and 1 was white (nobody knows how to ask for white one, but i liked the white so i order). We also had 2 barrels of beer, both free from GCW
one was complimentary with the ballroom, one was from the bridal show offer.

at the end of the night, i think almost all the beer was gone....maybe left like 30% or so (but i hardly saw anybody drink beer leh!) for the wine, i had 39 bottles of red left and about 6 of the white. I had a total of about 50 tables, so the wine consumption is about 75 bottles...which is 1.5 bottles per table..that's about the recommended range for wine qty.

i think if you don't have beer you better provision at least 2 bottles per table. Also consider if you are serving it for cocktails. I served mine for cocktails but phew, it was enough...but it was a Sunday and i suspect a lot of people didn't drink as much as they could have.

If you buy from carrefour you can't get consignment right? Get consignment wines if you do not know the qty which is needed as you can return and save a bit. Anybody wants my wine supplier? He sells the Cornerstone by Provignage that i bought at about $15.50. Its delicious and nice to drink. It isn't very light but it isn't that strong and heavy as well and most people should like it.

If you would like even cheaper wines you can try Bottles and Bottles at tanglin. They sell WolfBlass eaglehawk ( a very low-end wolf blass wine) at about $15 as well and they sell #13 wines. Even with your corkage it's still cheaper than the $42+++ you have to pay. However, the $13 wines aren't great to drink lah.

Do try to negotiate for some wine corkage waiver, i didn't have to pay wine corkage at all, saved me so much money!!! imagine 75 bottles of wine corkage at $25!!! HORRORS!

Mascara is not difficult to apply once you get the hang of it...i used to think its difficult and gives me black rings but good brand mascaras are clean and clear the whole day! I use loreal panorama, its waterproof. First you curl your lashes with the crimper, then u apply the mascara, VOILA, you have nice beautiful curling lashes! it really brightens the eyes!!!

mudpie,
are u back from london already? How was ur trip?

Btw, mudpie, madmad
u girls are planning to use Lavish right? Who shd i liaise with if i intend to pay them a visit? Understand tt we have to pay for food tasting? Visited Angeli last wkend and thinknig of gg down to Lavish cos of the rave reviews. What food is nice?

verie,
ya lah. Ur post so long! But nm, i'm also another long poster. Cos i very luo suo i think! Heheheh. Ur advice on alcohol consumption is very useful. So now i know tt i need to buy more red wine, cos we don't intend to have beer. Ya man, the corkage sounds like it can add up to quite alot! So u're married and can relax now... Us poor girls still have to run ard with wedding stuff!

kokoryo and other girls,
did u all go to teh wedding fair? We did. But only tried the cake from Pine G*rden. Very nice, liked their lychee martini cos it's very light tasting. Now toying with the idea of a real wedding cake heheheh

At least our weekend was productive. Got our wedding bands from LH - FH's cousin gave us a very very gd staff discount so we decided to just buy. Thanks for recommending Belmont Mad dearie, looks like no chance to check it out already. Cos the offer was too good to resist! And we got back $600 on our Sealy bed cos the promotion price was lower and the sales pple reduced the price for us! Kekekekek

Hi Count, no prob lah....as long as u got a good deal and something that u like

I went to the wedding fair as well. Went yesterday. I didnt check out the Pine but was looking thru the catering booths and Far East Floral.

As for Lavish, u can either look for Richie or Zowena. These are the two that I usually work with. Nice ppl. And very flexible too. AS for the food tasting, i have not requested for one so I am not sure abt it. But i am quite confident of the food so might not do food tasting. The laksa is good!! service staff are always very friendly..

I'm back. What have I missed out? The trip was tiring, cause this time, we took a drive into London instead of flying. Stopped by at Nottingham to do some grocery shopping. Sounds funny huh?? Grocery shopping...? Cause that's a huge wholesaler and e'rything we bought was in bulk. Bought 2kg of rice, 5ltr of dishwasher, loads of toilet paper & kitchen towels.....etc.... Loaded e'rything into our car and drive back. It's more cost-saving than to buy them frm Ireland. Oh yes, bought a lot of ice-creams too....hee....because it's so much cheaper in UK, so we bought 4 tubs and 3 bxes of magnam......yumm..yumm...

Anyway, while in London, went by Fresh counter, but no salesperson there, so didn't buy anything frm them. But bought La Prairie highlighter for eyes. Asked about their eye cream, quite ex, but managed to get some samples to try...he...he....

Count, you considering Lavish?? Yes, heard that their food is good, but for food-tasting, think need to pay $80 for 4 pax. If I remember correctly, Jerry is letting us have it as we hve confirmed with them. Mad is right, heard good review about their laksa and they are very professional, that's why hubby confirmed them

Verie, you MIA for so long, welcome back.

Hey, you girls talking abt mascara, don't really use very often, but Loreal has got this "Volume Shocking" in Europe, looks really interesting, it apparently gives 12x more volume to your lash. Not sure how true though. Intend to get one to try.

Welcome back Mudpie!

Such a gloomy Tue morning...I was caught at the station for half an hour cos didnt bring umbrella!

Mudpie, that sure sounds like alot of things to load into ur car. Wat u said reminded me of the huge supermarts I went to when I was in Vancouver. Everything in there were extra large size...but it was fun cos somehow the whole place gives u a happy atmosphere.

Need some advise...r u gals getting the caterer to decorate the recep venue for u? How does it work? Cos i saw some caterer incl floral arrg etc in their pkg. So does that mean we dun need to engage another florist to decorate the place?

hey girls
Mudpie ur shopping trip sounds great! Tell u girls a secret - i love shopping at convenience stores and grocery stores! Hee. And i love going to such stores overseas too. So will surely run wild if i come across such places while travelling... Esp happy to go to the baked goods section with muffins and cakes!

Now change of boss, office quite busy sigh.

Angeli decorates the venue for u with fresh floral deco. As for the others, i'm not sure. Perhaps only basic silk floral deco...

Trying to arrange a food tasting with Lavish. Mudpie, where did u do the food tasting? Did u meet the Lavish pple at the same time? And what dishes would u recommend tt we try?

Madmad, would appreicate ur input on Lavish food and dishes to try too...

Hi Count

Still trying to crack my head on wat were the food items that I tried which I liked. Their pasta dishes are generally good. I remember hvg this Teriyaki Chicken which was good too. During one of my office function, we ordered Swedish meatballs which were wiped out real fast. Actually, most of their dishes are generally good...u just have to pick those that appeals to you. Try to go for the menu with hot station and carving station as they tend to be very popular.

Hv u met up with Angeli yet? HOw are they and the prices?

Mad, you bet there's loads and loads of food stuff to load in the car, to the extend that we have to use blankets (which we brought along) to cover up the back seat to avoid car theft when we are not in the car.

Count, agree with you, it's really fun shopping at these huge superstores for groceries. The one I went to is warehouse size, all in all we spent more than 2 hrs there.

About caterer, Mad, Lavish do work with a few florist for venue deco, do let them know of your requirement, and think they can arrange for you to meet up with them, or give you the contact. Jerry did give me a name and number, can't really remember, but did speak to her on the phone. You can check with Lavish for the number, as I don't have it with me. About the additional $$, I'm really not sure if you need to top up, cause for mine, Jerry did say that e'rything is inclusive, provided I'm not expecting complicated deco.

Count, I have not gone for the food tasting with Lavish yet. But vaguely remember that he mention he'll arrange for us, will have to check with him when we're back. As for the meeting, we chose to meet Jerry at Raffles City. But you can also go their office as well.

Hey girls

We met up with Angeli last fri and their manager, Lee Ten, seems very earnest. They include fresh floral deco if u have at least 300 pax and a real wedding cake or brownie w ice cream if u have at least 400 pax. The food was pretty gd, we tried their mee siam, spring roll, soon kueh, chicken wings. But pricing wise, it's kind of steep for tea. At least $12/pax which i find a bit diff to accept cos Lavish and Fost*e have $10 menus...

Mad, what's ur budget for ur church recep and how many guests are u having?

Mudpie, the place u went to sounds like Costco! We went to Costco in US cos FH wanted to buy DVDs, and i was amazed at the fact tt they sell in bulk only! Their muffins are huge and they are sold in min quantities of 24 for e.g.! Was telling FH tt only pple with huge families and appetites can finish all the food! But for ice cream, detergent and other household stuff, buying in huge quantities is gd cos can keep...

Now trying to set up a food tasting session with Lavish. But must coordinate with the other BTB on choice of dishes, so a bit tougher. Thanks girls for the input on dishes though

Btw Madmad, u studied in Vancouver? Is that why u were shopping in grocery stores there? Or do u have a grocery store fetish like me?

Verie,
Now i know why u look like Ericia Lee. Ur secret must be mascara! Cos i remember u had very long lashes in ur photos! Learning to apply mascara shall be on my list of "to do" things for this weekend so i can have big pretty eyes!

Btw, the food tasting with Angeli is free. Lee Ten mentioned tt the food was prepared fr scratch and the cook had pastry experience so he can customise desserts/wedding cake...

hellow!

I went to the wedding fair on sat and went through a few caterers there. Didn't like any of them. I tried some cakes at Pines and I agree that the lychee martini is really nice and refreshing. Will make an appointment to go down and have a proper session with them. A real wedding cake is a priority for me cos I love to bake but too bad cannot bake my own cake! Might attempt to bake cupcakes and stack them like wedding cake for my best friend's wedding in Feb though.

I met with with Richie from Lavish last Friday and went to see one of their corporate setup at Asian Civ museum and I'm pretty impressed. The setup was quite zen and classy with fresh flowers and lots of tea lights. They also seem quite accomodating with the deco and additional requirements. I'm arranging a food tasting session with them pretty soon after I finalise which dishes I would like to try. I don't have to pay for food tasting but not sure if its because I'm going for an expensive package since mine would be a full buffet sit down dinner.

So far I have met four seasons, select and royal catering but i must say lavish gave the best service so far

mudpie, do you know what are the things you can negotiate with them and get discount/waive?

Hi kokoryo,
Wow, you're pretty fast, alrdy selected the dishes. I think your package shld be the same as mine? Is it the $70/pax one? That's why they can be so accomodating.....ke.....ke.....!

Anyway, so far, we hve only met up with them once and then sent them a cheq for confirmation. Hve not gone into much details yet, will meet up with them when we're back in Jun to finalise more details with them. So, can't advise much, but maybe you can negotiate for things like the corkage charge waiver or maybe something better for wedding favours, or nicer flower arrangement.... really don't know man. Hey, btw, what theme hve you decided on?? I'm still cracking my head on that. I do like their black colour table linen and seat cover, look so cool. But, everyone told me not to cause it's afterall a wedding event.....sigh.......

Count, the one I went to is "Hyperama Cash & Carry" it's actually a really really huge gigantic warehouse. Yes, they hve e'rything there, frm food to utensils to tobacco to kitchenware to household stuff........... Actually, talking abt ice-cream, the Magnum is so much much cheaper in UK, for a box of 4, it's only about £1 and over here it's more than €4 per box. Guess what, we may be going home for good very soon......so happy, but at the same time, think I'm gonna miss the fresh air & peace here. Sigh......I'm so contradicting.........

Hi Mudpie, it seems like most of u are doing a sit down dinner buffet and hence the pkg will incl decor. For mine, its a recep after church solemnisation therefore its not as elaborate. BUt I will ask Lavish again and see what they can do for me. R u really coming back soon? when will that be? Yah, i guess u will miss the peace and quiet, fresh air, the space etc. Well, at least u can be here to plan the wedding!

Kokoryo, u r doing the wedding cake for ur friend? that is so sweet! I attended a friend's wedding last year and the bride surprised the groom by baking their own wedding cake. SHe got help from Pines (if i remember correctly) to do the simple tiers of cakes and she baked the cupcakes herself to decorate the cake. Pines helped her to pipe the cupcakes and added flowers too! it was very pretty.

Count! I went to Costco too!! and yes, i saw the gigantic muffins! was so tempted to buy them but i knew i wun be able to finish it. NO lah, i didnt study in Vancouver...i wish i did. My very close cousin lives there and I was there for almost a month sometime back and she brought me to Costco. It was really fun. Like Mudpie says, these places sell everything. I bought pyjamas from there too and am still wearing them till now ;)

Does anyknow which are the florists Lavish ties up with?

Mad, if I remember correctly, think it's JM wedding, Dolly is the person, no. 93800173. Jerry gave her contact to me. But am not sure if I'm going to get her.

Give her a call, let me know the outcome, think I should also seriously start doing some research on the list of florists.

Kokoryo
Interesting tt u like to bake too, cos i love baking and cooking! Only problem is tt these take a lot of time and effort, and the end-result often goes to my waist cos i always bake and cook too much! Cupcakes is a cool idea. Seems like this is quite popular nowadays cos i had a fren who did this for ur hubby as well. If u can do up the cupcakes and get piping as Mad suggested, it'd be very unique cos u can play ard with the frosting colours etc

Mudpie
Am truly happy for u tt u may be coming back finally. Tho i'm sure u'll miss having more greenery and fresher air there, i guess being closer to family and frens will be a bonus for u. U can also start looking for a job and stuff here WHen will u be back?

Re black theme, i saw a setup using a marquee at the Bugis wedding fair. They used lots of bright red roses interspersed with pearls, as well as coloured napkins and plates to draw one's attention away from the black tablecloths. Think i also recall red/pink sashes being tied ard the chairs. Hardly noticed the black tablecloths. So i guess if u want black, Lavish can prob do sth similar for u to satisfy relatives who may be more superstitious...

Mad
Absolutely! Costco is amazing stuff cos their things are all so cheap and huge! Their pizzas, muffins, chocolates and DVDs! Think if i ever have to stay there long-term i'd be a member. Then can go on shopping sprees there!

Fyi, re florists, Dolly is also the florist for Shang and Orchard Hotel. Have met her once when we went down to her nursery near TCS at Upp Thomson. Very nice lady and accommodating. One thing tt i recall is tt she seems to truly enjoy her job, and is actually quite generous with flowers. Cos she told me and FH tt she would generally not charge for flowers specifically, but try to work out a package which would be better for couples. And my Shang coordinator highly recommended her if we wanted to stick w/i our floral budget. Prob getting her for our banquet

count, I'm actually not sure when we'll be back, but if e'rything goes right, we shld be back by the latest Oct if not earlier.

As for the the colour theme, guess I can only decide after my 2nd meeting with Lavish to find out what other colour table linen they hve.

Hey girls,
Sorry for the belated reply. Was and am still busy helping FH shift house over the weekend. Now trying out the internet cos it just got set up. Yes, Dolly fr JM is the florist for Shang as well. U shd go down and meet her, she's a nice lady

Verie, can see u blushing already lah! Hahah!

Had my trial makeup yesterday and very pleased with the results. Will be getting Jasmine as my MUA cos she knows what kind of look i want. And she's super friendly and enthusiastic also. Wah... but the mascara was so very hard to take off! So ma fan, think i will only wear mascara on special occasions and in good mood

Sians... Now change boss then office mood also changed. Job scope prob gg to increase and get even busier blergh

Hi count,
Ok then, I'll get in touch with Dolly when I'm back.

Wow, you've gone for your trial makeup, did you take any pics??? I totally agree about the mascara, it's quite a hassle to get it out at the end of the day. I seldom use it, except for occasion or sometimes, when I feel like it.

Hey, I feel like going to try the eyelash perming thing, so don't hve to curl my lash. You know, i've got really stubborn lashes, it's just so difficult to get it curled. Heard of this place just at the same bulding as Sil, they've got really good review so far.

You change boss......hmm......yah, I know how it feels, the atmosphere will be tensed for the 1st month, cause e'ryone is trying to get to know one another, and there'll be alot of anticipation.....not knowing what's coming next.

Verie
So now tt u're married any BB plans soon? FMIL was just asking me over the wkend! *gasp*

Mad
When's ur trial MU? Haven't seen u here in a bit too. Busy at work ah?

Hey girls
Trial makeup was good. Liked the styles tt jasmine tried out on me tho i preferred the princessy look rather than the classic look. Even jasmine suggested tt i stick to the girlish look cos i look v young and will not look as gd in the glam/drama looks. Hee. But not used to having so much MU on and so many hair pins!

Which is the eyelash perming place u're talking abt?

Btw, which hairstylist did ur MUA recommend? Was told to go to Inc at Int'l Bldg and thinking of gg there for a haircut now, tho have to dye and cut again closer to PS date

Quite a bit of uncertainty on the work front with the change in boss, cos of diff working styles, job scope etc. Hope this blows over soon and they come up with sth more definite

HOw was ur weekends?

count, i'm not sure, must go back to the eyelash perming thread to find out, will let you know. As for the hairstylist, Gin didn't really recommend anyone, just told me that she go to the one at FarEast. Anyway, am actually looking for one good one to colour my hair. If you are going to Inc., let me know the feedback okay?? Thanks.

Sorry for MIAing. So busy over the long weekend. It just went by so fast!

Hey Count, my trial MU shd be during my first fitting...so that is ard July I guess. Did u take any pic during yr trial MU? Show us....I kay poh

My friend went for eyelash perming too. I think it lasts for only a few months and it straightens out again. My lashes are not so long to start off with so I guess there is no point perming them.

Hv any of u thot abt whether ur make-up will smudge on the day of the wedding? esp when we get emotional and cry? I am worried abt it cos I am pretty sure I will get emotional. Dun want to look like panda! Verie, how abt u? any teary moments during yr wedding??

Mudpie
U mean Gin didn't recommend anyone specific to u, except to go to FarEast? Jasmine recommended Rick at Inc. Intending to go for a haircut soon, perhaps next wk if i have time so can provide feedback. As for hair colour, will only do so in July so can only update later

Madmad
Ugh. My trial MU photos are not clear at all! Tot of uploading but i realised tt they're not clear. Ah well, there are a few close ups but not tt nice. Look kinda weird. Anyways, if u and Mudpie and Verie want to take a peek, leave ur email addies here. Then u girls finally get to see how i look like. Hahah. Cos i only know how Verie and Mudpie look like so far, but not Madmad, despite us all chatting here for so long

But my hair style is v basic. Will prob get my hair pinned up halfway instead of a complete bun cos the latter makes me look more mature

Verie is it true tt photos taken with digicam will not be an accurate reflection of the MU taken with professional cameras? Cos Jasmine said so when we snapped some pics during the trial

And fake lashes will drop if u cry or get soaked in the rain. So Madmad must try to refrain fr crying. I'm also the emo kind so must resist and put on a "strong" front!

Mad, yes, the eyelash perming only last for a couple of mths. The thing is my lash is long but not curve, it's always so difficult to get it curled, even with the curler, thought I go give it a try before the PS, and see how's the effect. If it's gd, will get it done again nearer my AD. Cause Gin said that she'll use fake eyelash for PS but not AD. As for whether the makeup will smudge or not, hmm.....hven't really thought of that. Anyway, the most emotional part which was during my ROM is over, so I'm not so worried.....ke....ke........ The church ceremony is only formality.

As for hair, think I've decided to go for having all my hair up, cause I've got really small face, think with my hair up I'll look better.

count, it's ok, just let me know the feedback on the haircut, cause I too need to go for a trim along with the colouring. Thinking of keeping my hair slightly longer after the PS for my AD.