Silhouette the Atelier

was on MC yesterday....so sad. Feelings very drowsy now.

Went down with my bf to Sil on Sat. I am so glad....we have decided on the WG colour. He is ok with the off white. Phew! and he likes the EG design too. Minda can finally start working on the gowns.

Did any of u watch the recent Academy AWards? Saw quite a few hairstyles that the stars wore...very nice. Might get sme inspiration from there.

Mudpie, thanks for sharing with us the photos. Ur gown is really grand. And it compliments you! The heart shape neckline suits u too. I really like the train of ur gown. Hope ur church aisle is really long so that u can show off the train

Hey Count....tulle is really in now huh? I love tulle alot too. But not too sure if it is as timeless as compared to duchess satin. Well, i believe if u want to achieve the princessy and sweet look, tulle will work. As for A line or ball gown...i really dun think A line will make ur butt look big lor. Dun worry. BAll gown on the other hand gives a totally diff effect and feel as compared to A line. Maybe u can opt for an in between? I am hvg a modified A-line. So its a cross between A line and ball gown.

Hi Count,

Thanks for your compliments. In fact i like the way Gin did the eye makeup for both the day and night. Totally very different look.

Hi Mudpie,
Can I kaypo yr fitting photos too? Can send to [email protected]
I've sent mine to you already.

Mad u poor girl! Rest more. U shd take a couple of days more MC if u're ill and still weak

Yes i watched the Academy Awards and noticed their pretty hairstyles. But first, must settle my gown design. Sigh. Big headache. Surprisingly many of them wore tulle. Cos i wanted tulle all along so i didn't know tulle was in fashion again. Hmmm... What is a modified A-line like? My fear is tt the ball gown will make my butt look big, rather than the A-line.

Yeap, duchess satin is way more timeless and classic but it is my lifelong dream to get a tulle gown *giggles* always dreamt of getting married in a tulle gown. Silly right?

Back to work now... Counting down to my holiday now! Still haven't started packing!

hey count heath did my CS, its actually just green shantung silk with touches of pink with the chinese buttons and then he did a detachable feather flower pearl brooch to attach at my collar. i like green and pink a lot, its on my favors and cards hahahha.

duchess satin is more timeless but tulle is so fabulous, glam and princess! i wonder why i didnt do tulle! hahahha

i got inspiration for evening gown from academy awards too, but many styles and materials way over the silhouette package price to do hahah!

Hi, it's me again.

Count, you packing for holiday at last, hmm...the day must be near. How long will you be away? Wow, isn't it the right time to go, it's beginning of spring now. Remember to bring more skincare products to protect your skin, oh yes, and also those sunblock, it may look harmless, but it's worst than in S'pore.

My hairstyle, that is just one of the style Gin propose if I want a younger and sweet look. But think I may want her to do my hair up to have an elegant look. Not decided yet though, she will try out a few styles for me during photoshoot. Also, in her reply email, she just told me to take care of my skin, be diligent in my skincare routine. I guess most of us who are staying in Europe has this same problem, one of my friend staying in Paris who's also getting married in July has the same problem too. Must really be the weather.

Verie, I agree with you about the long wavy curls, look so sexy. And I really like your CS, it looks so gorgeous. I wonder if Minda will agree to loaning me EGs for my photoshoot?? Think must give her a call.

Mad, you poor thing, hope you're feeling better now. Yah, the drowsiness must be due to the side effects of the medication. Once you're off them, it should be alright. But do remember to rest well and hve plenty of water.

You've got your WG's colour at last, so, what's your design going to be, and what's the material of your gown? The Academy Award?? Yes indeed, they really give very good inspirations, but as my gown is already done, I do not want to look further for I know I'll look back and start regretting......gosh.....so fickle minded, can only look at their hairstyles.....

JJ, just rec'd your photos, you look really gorgeous, I just sent mine over to you too. Hey, are your bridesmaids wearing lavender dresses?? We're considering lavender as our theme colour, getting MIL to help make the bridesmaids' dresses too, gathered a few designs alrdy, will need to show it to the girls when I'm back.

Hi Mudpie,
Thanks for yr compliments.
My bridesmaids' dresses were lavender tulle. Same colour, different design.

I also saw yr pics. I like the bodice of your gown. It's very unique.

Hi JJ,

Thanks for your comment.

Hey girls,

Gin was mentioning to me abt this skincare, Laneige. Went into the thread to have a look, seems to be really good. Check it out.

Verie
I like the photos in the park! Very cute esp the one with u pouting! Was it at labrador park cos it looks familiar? How come u had another white dress in the park as well? U have so many outfits!

Mudpie, will be away from 18th march to end of the month. 2 wks of holiday so quite happy. But alas, it's March madness in las v*gas so hotels are quite ex. Have bought sunblock and moisturiser cos my skin is dry too!

JJ, where did u get ur bridesmaids' dresses made?

Going to see Minda later. Hopefully can finalise my gown designs... Argh...

Thanks for all your concern..I am feeling much better now. But somehow i am loosing my voice. So i sound really manly now! Haha...

Looks like I am missing out on some pics sent by JJ and Verie? Can I have a look too pls? [email protected]
JJ: i was also thinking of using tulle for my bridesmaid dresses. But not sure what material to use underneath the tulle though. But my colour theme is cream and champagne. So I will prob use either brown or off white tulle. Still exploring ideas.

Hey Mudpie, thanks for sharing with us the skincare brand. It sure sounds familiar. Did Gin tell you where we can get it from? Anyone any idea? My current skincare is finishing soon so may want to try that out.

Went to see Minda yesterday. Was a little sad cos Minda shared with me that the Vera Wang design i have been dreaming all along is getting really popular amongst many brides that came to her. So she is asking if I want to reconsider. After discussing with my bf, I think I may still stick to the design cos i really like it. But somehow, I am still a little sad abt it
guess I will brainstorm with Minda more and see how we can try to make the gown as unique as poss.

Count! U r leaving next week right? U must be so excited now!! Remember to take lots of pics okay. And layer moisturiser...and sunblock. I love the shopping in States. Hmmm....wish I can go on a holiday now.

Count, u flying alrdy?? wah, must be so so excited. Remember to slap in more moisturiser..hey, maybe u shld go to laneige, they hve counter at most of the shopping malls, wisma, bugis, etc.... get this Water Sleeping Pack, heard it's really really good for pple flying, it help to maintain moisture in the skin

Mad, it's the korean brand, apparently has been in the market for abt more than a year. Go get sample or ask the lady at the counters.

Abt your gown, which one u referring to??? Can show me?? Anyway, since it's what you've been dreaming to wear, just go for it. Same case for me, really think that my gown is so so common, but have always dream to wear a gown like that, so, just went ahead. It's once in a lifetime to look what u want if u know what i mean. As a matter of fact, I'm still not very satisfied with mine, but due to time & logistic constraint I've no other choice but to go ahead with it.

Count, u flying alrdy?? wah, must be so so excited. Remember to slap in more moisturiser..hey, maybe u shld go to laneige, they hve counter at most of the shopping malls, wisma, bugis, etc.... get this Water Sleeping Pack, heard it's really really good for pple flying, it help to maintain moisture level in the skin

Mad, it's the korean brand, apparently has been in the market for abt more than a year. Go get sample or ask the lady at the counters.

Abt your gown, which one u referring to??? Can show me?? Anyway, since it's what you've been dreaming to wear, just go for it. Same case for me, really think that my gown is so so common, but have always dream to wear a gown like that, so, just went ahead. It's once in a lifetime to look what u want if u know what i mean. As a matter of fact, I'm still not very satisfied with mine, but due to time & logistic constraint I've no other choice but to go ahead with it.

hi gals...
just got a citibank leaflet on a silhouette promotion at 4.6k. cld u guys tell me more..as in wat kinda gowns are they gd at?
thanks thanks

Hi Count & Mad
The bridesmaid dresses are made by a seamstress called Kim. Recommended by this forum. She's rather good.

We showed Kim the pic and she told u the material is tulle. She recommended us to use satin for the underneath. Prob u can consider this.

Madmad,
What is ur WG design like? Now very curious to find out cos u said it's a well-liked style. Describe leh! When was ur last holiday? US sounds like a real heaven for shopaholics. HOpe to buy more stuff there! U can always take leave and go off in June what! Are u better already, has ur voice recovered? No tauhu telor during this time okie, at least until u're ok?

Hey Mudpie
My WG is going to be very common as well. But i think what matters is tt each of us likes how our gowns turn out. I just hope our gowns turn out the way we want them too, and we can fit into them on our AD! Heheh

JJ
I'm getting a CS from Kim too! Yes, i think Kim is good. She's very amiable and her charges are reasonable. Will show u my CS pics when the CS is done up. And i'm using Heng for PS as well, though only in July when he's back!

The weekend is finally here! Hahaha. U girls have plans for this weekend? I'll prob start packing!

Froggie
Don't really know but u may want to make an appt to try on their gowns and see if u feel comfortable with Sil's designers. Tt will give u a better idea cos they have various sorts of gowns

Hi Count and Mudpie

Actually, I was a little apprehensive to point out which gown I hv in mind cos I am sure many will go and check it out...u know what i mean? But oh well, there are many other better things to worry abt...if u got the newest issue of the Style weddings mag, Yvonne Lim was featured wearing Vera Wang gowns. Its the first gown. the one with the brown sash. I think the gown was a little too big for her so it didnt look very good. I tried the exact same one last time and it took my breath away!

Thanks Mudpie, I will go to the counter and check out the products from laneige. I always believe that ASian brands like SKII, Shiseido are better suited to ASian skin than other big American brands.

So glad the weekend is here. This week has been horrible for me cos of my cough...still recovering and now hvg really bad headache. Sigh....

Hi Count,

It's true. find Kim's charges reasonable.
When's yr CS ready? Must remember to show me yr pics.

Lucky u... got Heng to shoot for you after his trip back from US... another skill level up.

Enjoy the weekend and your trip.

Hey girls
It's Monday again! Sigh... At least 4 days to the weekend! Must think positive mah...

Mad,
Are u better already? I think i know which WG u're referring to already. It's very striking and pretty. My fren got a similar styled gown for her wedding late last yr, but had a pink sash instead. Very very glam esp when she tied up her hair and curled it. We all loved it

Mudpie
When will u come back again? Have u lost weight since going back, since there is no more local food to feast on in Ireland? Heh. Think i heard of Laneige before too, at Isetan or sth is it? Did u get all ur products from there now or just selectively? Cos i'm thinking of changing brands but haven't decided. Have blackheads on my nose and my fren swears by Origins' charcoal mask and their stuff, so may give it a try as well!

JJ
Yes, will surely show u the pics of my CS. First fitting is in mid-April after i return from holiday. Btw, when u got Heng to shoot for u all, who did u liaise with? Cos we signed up and have been liaising with Christine but now don't know if we shd do so with Heng directly. Sort of confusing cos we paid Xinepix but i think it's not too convenient for them to work tog... Hopefully coordination will not be a prob. Did u contact Heng to schedule the PS or did he contact u first?

Ashley, sorry but i've no pics cos my gowns are not ready yet

count
I'll be back late May, and losing weight?? He..he...hasn't really done anything, cause though there isn't any local food here, but e'ryday, all I do is eat and sit, so, am not very hopeful. Guess I'm happy if I can maintain my current weight, which, is a challenge.

So, you heard of that brand before huh, heard that they hve this Water Sleeping Pack Plus, it's really very good. Gin tried it too, and told me that it's good.

Mad, I know which gown, e'ryone is so into Vera Wang's gowns. It's really very pretty, esp with the sash ard it. Seems like this sash thing is quite an in thing now huh. Saw similar one e'rywhr, remember when I was at The Wedding Presents trying out gowns, they let me try one too. Think one of the ex-sil bride also has the same design. Well, as long as you like it and look good in it, then it really doesn't matter that e'ryone is having the same design. Anyway, e'ryone is different, so will definitely look different in it even if it's a replicate design, so don't worry. I'm sure Minda can think of something unique for you.

Wah, you girls going to have CS, sigh....too bad, I'm not having any dinner, otherwise, would love to have a CS too. Always wanted to own one, was telling myself that I'll probably have one tailored for my wedding, but now, no chance to wear it at all.....

Ashley, I do hve pix, but is really very raw, just very simple structure (only my 1st fitting), will show you after my 2nd fitting, when they hve added all those embellishment (if you're still interested by then), okay.

Hello everyone..
Its Tues! was trying to get on the thread yesterday but was not able to view it...not sure why.

Thanks for the encouragement gals...u all are so sweet
Well, I am mtg Minda today and she said she has thot of some designs...so I am keeping my fingers crossed. I guess its prob almost impossible to have a design that is truly unique and no one else will copy. But its also a horrible feeling to know that many many ppl are doing the same thing. I will just see how it goes. If i still cant think and find anything tt I like, i might just go with it.

Mudpie, u no need to lose weight lah. Just maintain will do. U look just fine in ur pics. BTW, u mentioned that u were not totally satisfied with ur gown. So what was it that u were not happy with? I think its always better to tell them how u really feel. Cos it is ur special day and we gals have always dreamt of it right? Moreover, u are paying so much for the gown, make sure u are truly satisfied with it ok? I am sure u can drop them an email and tell them...dun give urself the excuse that its too much of the trouble.

Count, u are leaving this week right? Wow! Remember to shop for wedding shoes! I am sure u will be able to find really nice ones.

Mudpie
Don't be sad abt the CS k? U can always tailormake one to wear for nice dinners etc. Not necessarily for wedding! Do u usually cook for hubby and urself at home? What do u usually do at home when he's at work? Maybe can exercise if u want to maintain weight? Agree with Mad, u're just nice. No need to lose weight!

Mad
Yes, the thread had something wrong yesterday and couldn't log on. So u're the one meeting Minda today! Cos i wanted to go down to settle my embroidery during lunch and she said she was busy. So gg tm instead. Wrt gowns looking similar, i sometimes get quite exasperated with guys. Cos they can't really remember details abt gowns and all. Basically they only can recall stuff like white colour bustier. Tt's it. They pay little attention to detail. So FH once said if not for me making an effort to show him the diff types of gowns, he'd think they're all roughly the same! *slaps head* Thankfully he's better nowadays and can give helpful info during gown design

So how did ur session today go? Have u finalised the WG and EG designs?

Had some misunderstanding with Minda. Sigh. She actually agreed to do embroi along the skirt of my WG w/o top up but now said need to top up! Ugh... Did u girls top up?

Leaving early on Sat morning. Quite excited! But only done a bit of packing! Yes, looking fwd to shopping there. But for WG shoes, may use a pair of white/silver shoes i bought a couple of months ago. 3 inches high and quite bride-ish. Haha. Then only need to find EG shoes. Cos i'm scared cannot find so many things in US. FH keeps reminding me tt we must also sightsee, not shop!

Hi Count

We signed up with The Pond direct. Therefore was liasing with Christine all along. Probably u might want to call Xinepix to check since u signed up with them. Otherwise, can check with his assistant Betty.

Mad, you hve the same prob? Me too, some times not able to access into certain threads too, don't know why.

Anyway, about my gown, not that I'm not happy, just not extrememly impressed with it that's all. Also think that I don't look as slim as those models I see in the similar design, esp my hip, sigh....big hip. Well, maybe it's because of the ballgown structure, that's why, can't help it. Anyway, me being so fickle minded, this is normal....he...he..... I'll be okay. I'm sure with the proper embellishment, makeup and hairdo, I'll look okay. Maybe need to wear my hair up. Still looking for a nice hairstyle to go with it.

So Mad, no worries, as long as you are happy, just go with the design you want. At least, you'll hve no regrets. Put it this way, wedding gowns are almost the same, if someone want to be different, then do it in a different colour, that will definitely be different. So, don't worry.

Count, guys being guys, they are all the same, just don't look into details at all. Even little things like doing the dishes, so sloppily done. And, about the gown, maybe there's some miscommunication, you should just talk to Minda and clarify. What does she mean when she mentioned about the FOC for embroi, maybe she meant some simple embellishment.....you shld check with her.

Wow, you leaving on sat, hve u been to the states before?? Cause the last time when I was there, when check in our luggages, they didn't allow us to lock it, as they'll usu do a random check on our bags after the checked in. Well, if you still can't find the shoe, I strongly recommend Bangkok, it's really a good place to find wedding shoes. Anyway, I guess, it's really not so impt, cause, the shoes will be hidden under those gowns, so not many pple will be able to see them. BTW, since you mentioned that the pair you hve is white/silver, can't it match yr EG too??? What's the colour of yr EG?? About sightseeing in US, you shld do it, cause all the way there, must definitely do it.

And about cooking, I'm usually the one doing it, but at times, my hubby will do it too. Most of the time I'll read, watch TV (not much), housework, surf the net.....Am thinking of taking up some courses too. When spring/summer comes, I'll probably go for walks, it's just too cold to do it now.

Met up with Minda already. She really did some research and I am so thankful and impressed! So we have decided to go with a similar design but its just done slightly diff. i trust it will turn out good. So there we go! My WG and EG designs are settled. Now we just need to settle my bf's measurements..and we are set for 1st fitting maybe in July...so excited!

Hey Count, totally agree with u! my bf also the same. Before we started this whole wedding planning and gown designs, he was totally clueless. Like u said, all gowns are just white and the same to them. So funny. But i must say he has improved alot. Maybe b'cos he takes pics so he is a little more observant. HE can tell me he dun like certain designs cos its not flattering etc. WRT to the topping up....yes,i did top up quite abit for what i am doing. But b'cos Minda knew pretty much what i wanted right from the start so she quoted me something which covers all the detailing i need. my pkg is more than 4.5k without photography....so i am sure urs is still lower right? embroidery usually need to top up quite a bit too...other places are like dat too. If ur what she is quoting u now is way above ur budget, then let her know...see if she has got other suggestions.

Mudpie, i guess ballgowns will always make one look abit heavier. Anyway u can tell them to reduce the pleats so that it will not emphasize ur hips so much? i am sure there is a way that can be done.

Oh dear, gotta run now. Mtg bf and I am late. Talk tomorrow then. Good nite!

hi gals!

i haven't logged on in ages... really miss all these wedding prep chats. you are all getting me excited all over again.

time flies. it's my third month in US. worked out a rough design with Minda before i left last december. will be browsing thru more mags and stuff... the wedding mags here are so much cheaper. ha! guess that's one of the good things about being away. other than that, i'm really looking forward to going back to Singapore... n getting married.

Hi Count, so u r coming to the US? when? where? for shopping, the chelsea premium outlets are good. when i first got here, they were having post christmas sales and i bought so many things! had so much fun... but i'm staying off the outlets for a while. my pocket needs to recover.

also read about you making a cheongsum? i think i'd like to wear something chinese for the tea ceremony. saw sil's kua in someone's pictures. thought that it looked quite plain. am hoping for something more elaborate. like those from house of etiquette. but heard it's $300+ just to rent. doesn't quite make sense right? hmm... tell me more about your cs.

Hey JJ thanks for the info. Yep, we signed up with The Pond directly too, just tt Christine drafted the contract to be under Xinepix. Will have to speak to her abt it soon

Mudpie, i think the secret is to wear higher heels which will give u better posture and make u look taller! Then u will look slim like the models. Tot Minda said u and Mad are quite tall so shd be ok? How tall are u all? I'm only 1.6m so less choices. Btw, my EG is turquoise so thinking of finding a pair of silver/turquoise shoes to match. Silver may be more practical cos can use next time?

I love walks! So lucky! Can go walk walk. My favourite is to go to places like East Coast for walk/jog then lazy breakfast!

Mad, u settled ur designs earlier than me and ur first fitting is later! Argh. Hope i can settle my design soon. My package costs slighlty less cos i'm getting my own MUA. But initially tot no need to top up. Will prob ask Minda for ideas this time ard...

Ling, long time no see! Come join us and chat here lah! Coming to US this Sat for 2 wks - LA, LV, SF. Going to shop a lot cos i've already marked out all the Chelsea Premium outlets along the way. Kekekee.... Which part of US are u in and when are u coming back? Think ur design will prob change a little when u next meet Minda cos i changed my mind too!

My CS is a classic cut with cap sleeves, and a long one. First fitting in mid-April. Keep u all updated then! Oh, it's made by Kim, who did JJ's bridesmaid dresses

U girls have any recommendations for gd resorts in Bali? Thinking of honeymoon there...

Hello everyone!

Count! Everytime u talk abt the outlet shopping in US, i get so envious...u will surely enjoy urself. And i think after that, u may stay off shopping for awhile
Thats what happened to me when I shopped till i drop (literally!) in NY. Hey! I got good recommendation for Bali. Remember I told u I am in hospitatility line right? I have one hotel under my chain. Went to stay there too last year. Got private beach front so its really nice. I can get good rates for you too. Give me ur emaill address..then I can let you know more. I will most likely go to Maldives for honeymoon. Was thinking of South Africa but thot it might be too hectic after all the wedding preps.

So how tall r u Mudpie? U look pretty tall to me from ur pics. I am 1.73m. So i guess i dun need very high heels. And cannot wear too high too if not I will be taller than my bf! BTW, are all ur FH making their suits with Sil too?

Now that the topic of CS and teadress is being raised...I am starting to think if I need one too. Thought against it last time cos I wanted to save some money. But really tempted too again!

Ling, someone did mention on this thread abt a kua place in chinatown i think...u may have to read the previous threads to find the link. She did mention that her kua is pretty elaborate. I think its was JJ that mentioned it right? Cant remember.

Finally its mid week! two more days to go...

Madmad,
Cool! Yes pls do send me details at [email protected] we're thinking along the lines of a private villa with infinity pool in Bali. Kekekke. Originally wanted Maldives but it was too ex, and since we both didn't go to bali before, tot it would be a cheaper alternative

S Africa is v fun! My fren enjoyed himself there! But funny thing happened there - he lived in some nature reserve and had giraffes and animals walking really close to his room

U girls are both so tall! Then look tall and got model build! Pretty pretty!

Btw, my FH is making a suit with Sil too. Prob a black suit/tux. U all?

Mad ah, if u really want a cheaper tea dress/CS maybe u can consider my seamstress. Show u the pics of 1st fitting after mid-April then u can decide. At least cheaper than getting from elsewhere. Abt $250 so i feel less heart pain ;)

Ling - i think it's House of Etiquette. Ard $200-300 to rent the kua if i recall correctly

yes yes, midweek blues today! hehehe. am supposed to recce hotel venues for D&D today so it's like venue hunting all over again! not many choices left cos the preferred date is a sat this yr and not 7th month or during ramadan so u can imagine...

Wow, so many comments within just half a day.

Mad, so good to hear that Minda has come out with an impressive design, hey do remember to take a few shots and share it with us during your 1st fitting, okay??

Anyway, count, yes indeed, it's really nice to talk a walk in parks or along the beach. Well, can't say much good things about Ireland, except for the nice fresh air and it's generally clean country, really good for walks. And so, you're also one of those who go to East Coast for breakfast, me too, just love doing it once in a while.

Talking about height, wow, Mad, you are tall. I'm only 1.6m, believe it or not. But people do mistake my height as ard more than 1.6 to 1.7, don't know why. Even my hubby, when he first met me, thought that I'm much taller, and was so shock when I told him that I'm 1.6m. I too won't be wearing too high a heel cause I don't think I can balance myself properly in it
kao_embarrassed.gif

Hey you and JJ are using Pond, their photos are not too bad too. But in the end, we ended up confirming Utopia instead.

Hmmm.....talking about honeymoon, actually haven't even thought of it at all. Will leave it to Hub to decide on that. Maldives is awesome, so Mad, have you decided alrdy or are u still thinking?? How much is it going to cost for 2? And S. Africa, sounds good too, you may want to keep it till your 1st Anniversary....he...he.

count, Bali is nice too, Mad, can you also email the details, maybe can pop by there for a break when we are back in s'pore for holiday. Need some good sun before we come back to Europe again.

Btw, my hub is also having his suit done by Sil, it's a tux in something dark brownish colour (more coffee colour). He's getting his mum to do his vest & cravat, we bought the material when in BKK.

Ling, it's been a long time since you pop by. Hope you've settled in well in your new environment. Which part of states are u in? Is it still cold over there. Over here in Europe, weather still seems a little unstable, even though we're into spring. And yes I agree with count, heard that the Kuas in House of Etiquette are pretty nice.

count, must yr D&D be in hotel, how about some nice, cool restaurant? You can always reserve the entire restaurant for the event, at least it's something different, of course, that is very dependent on the preference and also most imptly the number of pple attending.

Madmad,
Got ur email. Yes, i think he did mention going to Alila in Bali, but not sure if he went to a private villa as well. Hee. But he did say it was fun

Mudpie,
U r only 1.6m like me? Surprising cos Minda did say tt u and Mad were tall unlike me! At least u look tall, which is a blessing! Btw, Utopia is gd as well, if u like the romantic look. Think one of the ex-Sil brides used them and i saw her pics. Very dreamy...

Am supposed to start visiting caterers and florists in April after the trip. And hunt for wedding bands! Kekeke. Will prob go to LH cos FH's mum insists we go there and get FH's cousin to give us a discount. Cos she's also buying my SDJ from there. At least i get to pick - had this nagging fear tt she'd give me the thick yellow gold chains for SDJ!

D&D hunting is problematic. Actually we tot of restaurants and country clubs but their capacity is too low or location is very out of the way. And a lot of Muslims so need to ensure tt the food is halal. Heh

Count, u r so funny. Actually, I am also so afraid that I will get lots of thick chunky gold stuff during my wedding. But I really hope that my relatives can see that I dun wear gold and hope they have good taste lah! Seriously, does anyone our generation still wear gold?? Seen some nice gold pieces b4...but the color just does not suit me.

Yeah...D&D hunting can be a pain. The prob is there are not many hotels in S'pore that does Halal food. At most NPNL. So u have to really hunt. I think only Royal Plaza has halal if I am not wrong.

Hey Mudpie - u r only 1.6m? Really does not seem like it. When was the last time u measured? Like for me, if u dun see me standing or walking, u will prob think that I am not so tall too. So looks can be deceiving. Like my bf claims tat he is only 1.76..but he looks so much taller than me. Either he has grown or I have shrunk! Abt Bali, just let me know when u want to go. I will get the rates for you. I have ur email...so I will email to u which hotel i am talking abt.

As for honeymoon, it seems like we are pretty set on Maldives. The cost of the airtickets seems to be pretty affordable. We last checked for SQ and its only $600+ per person. I get staff rate for my hotel there...so can save abit. Was thinking of gg to Clubmed there too just to have some fun and activities too. Mudpie, I like ur idea of gg to South Africa for 1st year ann. Heh...

HOw much time in advance shd we get our wedding bands? I thot its still early. Will maybe start in Aug/Sept? Is it too late?

My bf has not gone down to take measurements for the suit yet. So furnie that they are unlike us. Of cos we can see that the emphasise is what the bride wears and not the groom! R ur FH wearing the same suit for both day and night?

Count, yes, I like Utopia's style, and also my hub, he didn't like those whereby they make him pose like models, he find Utopia's style very candid and natural, that's why we've settled for this.

Btw, you leaving on Sat right, I came across this thread about hydrating mask, there's this brand call "Fresh" which in available in only Korea, HKG, Europe and US. The review of their rose mask is very good, go take a look. www.fresh.com check it out.

He....he....very deceiving right, can't tell my height at all.......unless u actually take measurement.

Mad, can u email me the details of the resort which has it's own private beach to me?? Pls....was telling my hub abt it, just wanted to show him, maybe we can consider that as a destination for a break. Thanks.

Yap, I like the idea of taking a trip at our 1st anniversary......can start planning now....he...he

Usually for the guys' suit, it'll take just a short time for them to sew, and besides, the design are all pretty standard....so, that's why they don't hve to take their measurement so early. My hub is only hving one suit, anyway, he has quite a few suits at home, so, don't need to make so many. He has one mandarin collor one, probably also use that for photoshoot as well.

Mad,
The benefits of being in the hospitality line! So nice to get discounts esp for overseas hotels. Kekeke. Actually, re SDJ, i have heard of MILs who pick the jewellery w/o allowing brides to decide. Then they get the thick gold chains cos according to my mum it serves as a display of wealth. So quite thankful tt FH's mum is nice enough to let me pick

Club Med is also great - buffets all day and tons of sporting activities! Btw, u may want to get ur wedding bands earlier if u're gg to use them for PS. Our PS is in July so have to start hunting earlier. If u're doing urs in Oct, shd be ok to start looking in Aug/Sep, or maybe slightly earlier. Cos i think they need abt 2 months on average to customise the bands

Mudpie, looks like u're a real expert on skincare products! Now looking at Fresh stuff - gd it's available at dept stores so i shd come across it when i'm there. Trying to pack and minimise my luggage but difficult. Cos i'm an over-packer; need my snacks, comfort food and little things like nail clipper and comb keekkeke

For guys' suit, i think it's quite std for most guys. Prob a dark coloured suit, with or w/o vest/cravat. FH is gg to wear the same suit all day, but will prob change the shirt inside. He wants either a tux or vest/cravat i think

How cold is it in Ireland now? Cold winters are best enjoyed by a warm fireplace with hot chocolate and marshmallows. Can imagine the scene right now - so cozy! ;)

Hi count,

I'm no expert in skincare, just that lately I have a little breakout after the trip back frm S'pore. So little panicky. Thank God! E'rything's subsided, followed Gin's instruction, apply purifying & moisturing mask e'ry night. And on top of that, just bought Cremem de LaMar when back in S'pore (It's cheaper to buy it in Asia than in Europe). It really help, now, my skin is so much smoother, brighter and the little pimples are healing well.

No choice, must take care, can't go for any facial here, just don't trust my face to anyone over here......have to DIY. Moreover, with the photoshoot in Jun, better take care first, otherwise, with the layers of makeup Gin's gonna put on my face and the sun.......it's going to be worst if I don't take care now.

Anyway, back to your trip, yah, do go take a look at the product, think they hve it at Caesars in LV. Asked Gin abt it, she said that it might be good, cause Rose is supposed to help skin look younger and balance our homones.

As for the weather here, hasn't been keeping track of the weather forecast, so not sure of the temperature, snowing quite a bit yesterday morning and this morning sleet a little. It's a PH today, St Patrick's Day, there'll be a Parade going on at noon, not sure how they going to go on with it as the strong wind is going to destroy the floats.

Anyway, you girls have a good weekend.

Hi Mudpie

I am still alive! I guess Count is also in States so our thread just suddenly died.

Nothing much happening for the wedding prep right now....well, but I did sort of confirm my wedding march-in song...so I am pretty excited abt that.

Wat is on ur schedule next to do?

Yah, really nothing much now too, as I'm just waiting to be back to continue with the prep. However, once we're back, we'll have to go for our MPC, 2nd fitting, PS and followed by selection of photos the following week, meet up with florist, printer and also visit some of my relatives to inform them of the event.

Have came out with the design of our invitation card, but am waiting for my friend to come back to me with the detailed design and also quote from printer, cause if it's over our budget, we'll probably go for the normal conventional design.

March-in song?? Which song u using?? For me, managed to get 3 CDs to be played during the luncheon that's all, it's all French/English Jazz. As for the church march-in, got a free CD from purchase of the Irish papers, it's the conventional wedding songs, will just make use of them for the church march-in. But we have not decided on the march-in song for the luncheon though.

hello gals... im new to the forum... actually not too new... been mostly reading but this is my first post.

im also with Sil... do you know who are the makeup artists they use? Did you specify who you wanted or did Minda choose for you?

Mudpie: looks like there are lots u need to do but will hv to put on hold till u are back. Do let me know if you need any help over here and I can try to help u if i can....my march in song is also a contemporary christian song...will hv my church band to play it so we will have it live. My bf's sis will be doing the singing as I walk in...talking abt invite cards.. I got onto card blanche's website and is quite impressed with the stuff they hv there. So might visit them soon to check it out.

Hi Kokoryo: welcome to the sil thread! I did not specify which mua but minda recommended me one which she thinks i will like. I think minda will know our character and recommend someone that will suit our style etc. I know mudpie's one is a diff one from mine. I hv not comments on mine yet cos I hv even gone for my first fitting. when is ur wedding?

Hi Mad,

Yah, you're right, e'rything has now come to a stand still till I get back. Wow, that's cool, having a live band and also someone singing for you. As for the card, you can also go visit the few wedding website to get an idea of the designs too before visiting any of them. ie. wedding channel, brides.....etc.

Hi Kokoryo, welcome, regarding MUA, I've seen one of the ex-bride's photos and really like her makeup, and therefore requested for the same MUA. According to Minda, she'll usually make recommendation based on your characters and style. Btw, I'm using Gin, have gone for my 1st fitting and trial makeup. When's yr big day?

My big day's on 23 Sep. Just finished designing my WG and EG some weeks ago... going for trial makeup and 1st fitting mid Apr... quite excited but anxious also... wonder how the gowns will turn out:P

Im designing my own card.. and printing myself on inkjet... much cheaper for the kind of design i want. When are your wedding dates?

Hi kokoryo,

Wow, so, you've got about another 2 more weeks before your 1st fitting & trial makeup. Hmm...can imagine the excitment there, for me, I was feeling so thrilled, cause I was pretty confused of the design I want and also the designing stage happens like in a flash, and the next I know, I'm going for my 1st fitting. So, you mind descriping you gown?

Oh yes, you were mentioning about MUA, so, who have they assigned for you?

As for card, isn't it lovely to be able to design you own card. If I'm in Sin, I'd probably do that too. It's more cost saving. But good thing my friend is helping me on that, have given him a few sample on the design we have researched on, hopefully it is not too ex for the type of design we have chosen.

u all must be very creative...esp kokoryo. Though i am left handed and is supposed to be the creative one...but nope! no designing for me.

my wedding day is 2 Dec for the recep and 3 dec for the dinner.

mid april 1st fitting..wow! mine is not till july i think. do u go without makeup for the fitting since make-up will be done?

I'm having a lace gown bustier, A-line with a small train cos having dinner in garden, easier to walk around. Otherwise i will have all the frogs and grasshoppers under my skirt.

Feeling excited about the fitting except I'm trying to lose a bit more weight so a bit stressed there... I still don't know who will be my MUA. Does that mean once you have the trial makeup, you cannot change MUA anymore? And yes, I will prob go without makeup... just moisturiser.

Yeah i was also confused of the design i wanted and seem to want too many things on my EG. Minda had to bring me down to reality that those pics I see out there are all models so of course anything looks good (Im very short mah so must keep simple... boo hoo)

so many things to settle... now I have to look for a caterer:P