Silhouette the Atelier

hi everyone!

i'm new here. really enjoyed reading all your posts. got me all excited about getting my gown made. i'm thinking of signing up with sil.
can anyone advice on the lead time required? how much time should i give between my first meeting with them, and my wedding itself?
any other advice is also most welcome.

Hi ling,

The designers at SIL told me when i first signed up that one should give at least 6 mths before their AD. But, if can give more time (more than 8 months), then it would be better...cos dont have to rush.

Because the gowns need to be ready for your PS, it actually means that the gowns will need to be completed within 4 months (assuming that your photo studio needs about 2 months to get your photos and album ready).

Hi pearly,

No need to debate anymore lah. You have seen the good comments every bride here has to say about SIL. But, most importantly is how you feel. So, why dont you go down, talk to them, try on some gowns and see how you feel.

Hi Aleixis,

Thanks for the info. I haven't fixed a date for my wedding yet. but likely to be mid 2007. problem is i won't be in singapore the whole of 2006. will ask them whether i should start the process, and then take a one year break, till i return end of 2006.

I have an appointment with Minda on 10 sept. So exciting!

Hi Alexis,

Your assurance words broke my debating thoughts..hahaa. Yes just fixed a appt with them so I will keep my fingers cross till I meet up with them this weekend.

I am also meeting up with Minda for the first time..

hi ling and pearly,

my wife and i had our gown and suit done up by sil. excellent service! no worries abt pushy ideas or whatsoever.

Hi sgwestie,

Thank you for the comments. With one more great comment from you guys... I am definitely looking forward to experience it myself. Cos, had a couple of friends whom had been experiencing problems with some of the BS ..so somehow abit worried initially.

where did u get ideas for your gowns? which magazines or websites? i'm thinking of duchess satin, nice train for the church wedding, maybe A-line... still don't really have a complete picture in my mind.
For those who've already started the design process and gone for their fittings... do u mind sharing ur pics with me? Email me at [email protected]. Thanks. Much appreciated.

Hi Ling and Pearly,

Glad to hear that you have both made appointments and will be seeing SIL soon! Share with us how it goes ok?

If you have any other questions after your appt, (sometimes we cannot remember to ask everything during the meeting), feel free to post your questions here. I am sure that alot of us will be able to and will be more than willing to help.

Yo Alexis,

Yup looking forward to check SIL out. Will let all know how's my experience with them... Now trying to organize my thoughts what are things I wanna ask them..haha but as you said probably at the mtg I will forget to ask this and that esp. if I am too excited
Bet I will be checking out with you guys on many other more and really appreciate all the help in-advance. Cheers!

hey ling i wanted to do empire a-line cut, then i tried the princess ballgown and the designer said i simply had to do that cut instead because it fit me perfectly and didn't make me look short and dumpy! moreover my banquet ballroom's very big so i gotta get a gown befitting of the size and grandeur!

hi to all SIL brides!
just to reassure any new or yet-to-be SIL brides that you're all in good hands! my AD's next sat and i must say i've had a wonderful experience with them! my designer's miah and he's been so great... he gives suggestions but never pushy with them, and listens to the ideas that i had... i had some idea for my WG but completely no idea for my EG, so he said he would suggest something for my EG and i must say my EG turned out GORGEOUS! at least it's gorgeous to me... hehee....

sorry girls, will have no photos to share cos my FH is not supposed to see my gowns till the actual day itself, it's meant to be a surprise for him!
but just know that the designers at SIL are all really, really good, and i've absolutely no regrets signing up with them!

happy preps, everyone!

Hi rokko,

Congrats to your big day nxt wk! Bet you must be very excited now as time draws closer.
Glad to know that miah had designed your perfect gowns and I am crossing my fingers till I meet them cos right now I am simply confused with ideas!! Haha. Hv fun counting down to that final moment and be a beautiful SIL bride. Cheers!

Hi Rokko
U sound really happy with yr gowns..too bad we can't see yr beautiful dresses yet. I met up with Minda instead of Miah...everyone seems to talk abt him but not Minda...u hv any idea if she is good?

woww no sheit rokko, your hubby has never seen your gown? my fiance has been to almost all my fittings with me and given me his comments so he's seen it many times!

ling - i gotta get the photos out from fiance's HP, don't have any at the moment
hope to get them soon.

hey, which MUA you guys taking...any comments? i don't like the drama look and my MUA wants to put fake eyelashes and much glitter....yaaaks, i scared the photos come out kena the "hey who's that girl?"

When must we book our MUA?
Did you girls had to buy your shoes so that you can wear on your first fitting?

Hi Madeleine

Rest assured that all 3 of the designers at Sil are very talented. Although my designer is not Minda, I think she's got a good eye for design. she gave me some comments on my gowns as well.

Hi ryes

Its better to have your shoes ready by the first fitting so that your gown length can be adjusted acordingly. I got my shoes from Walking Culture at Millenia Walk and Allure Charix at Amoy Street. Allure Charix has a great selection of dramatic, diamante shoes. your designer will help you book your MUA. I had my trial during my second fitting.

Hi verie

My MUA is Gin. My trial makeup turned out quite natural, as far as bridal makeup goes. She gave me a choice not to wear fake lashes for day, but for night I'd have to, cos I opted for the drama-mama look to go with my evening gown.

Hi Verie and andrea,

har, it's better to get the shoes fitting? I scare I dont have time as my first fitting's on 17th but Miah's gonna push back for me and I am now in the midst of setting up my home, so darn busy.

The shoes are worn to see how high I intend to wear right? Can I say try on a 2" heels on first fitting, then source for a 2" heels later on?

Hey andrea, did you have to tell miah which designer you want?

Hi ryes

You mean which MUA I wanted? I didn't know any of the MUAs Sil ties up with, so I left it to Miah to decide for me. He chose Gin and Jasmine, because they're good with the natural look, but in the end I got Gin due to schedule clashes with Jasmine. I think she's great, very friendly and open. She would check with me which colours I prefer and give me skincare advice.

Yup, think you can just wear the shoe height you want at the first fitting, then take your time to shop. I bought mine very quickly because the price was right; both pairs cost under $70 each. But bridal shoes aren't always so cheap, don't rush into it.

Now I'm shopping for accessories in time for my photoshoot next Wednesday. Sil doesn't have much accessories to choose from, so better start sourcing early.

hi guys, thanks for the input. does anyone know if Gin charges for doing hair styling for the bridesmaids? i only have a few...guess i'd have to give her angpow anyway huh? or can don't give since she's paid for her services?

yeah her style is natural and nice although quite a lot of eyeshadow...but oh well, otherwise eyes will look bland...at night i hope she does not give me drama look as I will be having solemnisation before dinner, so scary when people see you upclose...especially with fake lashes, so freaky leh...

Hi Madelaine
As far as I know, Sil doesn't make tea dresses. I asked them about borrowing a tea dress or Kua for my tea ceremony, and Miah said they only have Kuas. If you wanna get a tea dress, you can try empire and olive suite.

Hi verie
My mum wants her makeup and hair done by Gin also. I will find out if she charges extra when I see her during my photoshoot and let you know. I'm having my solemnisation before the dinner also, you're making me worried, haha! Maybe you can try those fake lashes in small bunches, instead of full ones. They look more natural.

Hi Andrea,
Still remember me? U kindly sent me pictures of ur beautiful gowns. Can show us pics of Gin's makeup after ur trial and whether Gin will do makeup for ur mum and the cost? Pretty pls? Probably intending to do the same thing as u. Can't decide whether to get Jasmine cos it is kind of costly and we're on a budget... =)

Tks in advance!

hi andrea - let me know, thanks

Madelaine - yes they do tea dresses, only made to measure to buy, probably cost a few hundred.

Thanks Verie...
Anyone has any pics of their WG,EGs to share? Pls email to me [email protected] cos I was not blown away by the gowns I tried on but was impressed by their service and professionalism. GUess looking at some of yr pics will help.

i think they had this full lace gown (super expensive) that my friend tried and she nearly melted to the ground because it was extremely gorgeous! i like their gown with the thick fat embroidery on their postcard as well, and also the ones with experimental materials...cool stuff...

Hi verie & andrea

Gin does charge for mothers and bridesmaids' makeup n hairdo. She did mention to me during my photoshoot but I forgot how much it costs already. She said got to let her know in advance so that she can plan her timing.

Hi andrea,

thanks for sharing with me. Yes, Miah did tell me abt gin and jas as well, seems like he's trying to encourage us to take them up. Saw their work in ads, nice though.

As for shoes, wow, below $70, that's a grab leh.

Hey, do share how is your photoshoot with Jaki k..

Hi rokko

Your big day is tomorrow, huh? Congrats, gal!

Hi Ryes

The photoshoot went great! Trust me, you'll enjoy yourself like I did when you turn comes! I'm actually a little sad now that its over, cos I had a great time. Will share the pics with you when they're ready.

Hi Andrea

Great that you enjoyed yourself! I hope i will man. I postpone my photoshoot by 2 weeks to 25th nov,coz my first fitting has been delayed to 1st oct and I need time to lose some fats too.

Now I am afraid late Nov will be a rainy season..how how..

How many places did you go to outdoor?

Hi Ryes

The weather scared me a bit as well. It was raining quite heavily the few days before my shoot. Panicked when it was cloudy in the morning. Luckily the weather turned out ok by late afternoon. Don't worry, Jaki won't charge you for the extra day if it does rain, I've checked.

I went to One Fullerton, where my FH proposed, and Sentosa. Most of my shots were taken at the studio. Here's where you have to do a bit of homework and look for the places you want to go for your shoot. I had no idea when I went down to meet with Jaki, and had to make do with the most popular spots because we just couldn't decide! But of course, he'll try to help by showing you albums to see which type of backdrop you prefer. At Sentosa, I went to the waterfall outside the Shangri-la Rasa Sentosa, and Tanjong Beach. There were 4 other couples at the beach waiting for their turn! And I had to change in the car! It was a crazy but fun day.

You've got loads of time to diet, so stay healthy, yah? I'm enjoying my last pig-out before I go back to my diet routine again.

Hi Sil brides,

Finally experienced the "SIL experience" that you have been sharing with me. Both FH & I had a pretty gd first impression on them esp. with the service and their professionalism.
Tried a few gowns as I still had no idea initially what style I prefer but Minda gave me great tips and I more or less know where I am heading towards.hehe! It was a great experience but now very headache cos trying to decided btwn them and another BS. Hmmm.. Btw any idea do they do the flowers decor themselves or do they tie up with a florist on that aspects?

Hey andrea,

Sounds real fun leh. I'm also very worried about rainy days, coz I've delayed to 2nd last week of Nov, and Vivian mentioned it might be the rainy season as well.

No doubt they dont charge extra if it rains, we have to engage the MUA again. Any idea how much it would generally cost if we wereto engage the MUAfrom silhouette?

Yeah, think we gotta go racky and see where are the places we want to go.We did consider gg to bintan or batam forphotoshoot, but that would limit the background to just beaches, resorts etc...I want to take somephotos at my hoteltoo.

My first fitting will be on 1st october, so by when would I need to faster book my MUA liao? I met Freddie last week when I went dwn to SIL.

Hi Ryes,
I thot the MUA is included in the std package which costs abt $4K? At least tt is what i seem to recall. Have asked Heath how much they will knock off if we engage our own MUA and he said it will be abt $400-500. Hope this helps! =)

Andrea dear,
ur PS sounds fun! Thank God for the fine weather so u could take more photos! Must show us the beautiful photos k? Btw, u don't need to diet lah. Saw ur fitting photos and u look slim... Me must diet instead! Have been eating a lot since i started work and am getting a little tummy =( So did Gin agree to help do ur mum's makeup too?

Went for my first meeting with Minda over the weekend. it was fun... of all the gowns i tried, i like the very first one that Minda took out for me to try. its the one on their postcard. so nice! shall continue doing more research now that i've narrowed down my options.
Andrea, your photoshoot sounds fun! i'm still trying to decide on a photo studio. of those that Sil ties up with, we've narrowed down to Pentaserve and Utopia. any comments about these studios?

Hi ling
Happy 2 know u had a good time at Sil. Like u, I also liked the very first gown I tried on at Sil, so I chose to have a ballgown.
Great choice with Pentaserve! Kwang's works r very artistic. I only managed to go to 2 studios, O Studio n Chris Ling. Chris Ling's photos r so-so, but they do nice videos. As for Utopia, their website looks good. I also like Ray Ong of Photolanguage. Decided on O Studio becuase they gave me a good price on the whole bundle of pre-wedding photo and actual day photo n video. Jaki was also highly recommended by frens who've tried him out.
Will share my photos with u when they're ready.

Hi Tiffgal

Sil does not hv standard pkgs unlike other BS. They will tailor a pkg that suits yr needs. If u hv not gone down for an appt...do so, u will like it. They are all very friendly n professional.

Hi tiffany,

Agreed with Madelaine that the Sil are really friendly & pro. Had a great time chatting and trying the gowns there. Very gd impression and FH could not stop mentioning abt it. Infact, I am still debating my BS choice..and FH already made up his mind for me to just go for SIL...haha

hey Ling, hey the dress on the postcard is so gorgeous! wow, i should have done something like that but i am one of those not too sure what i like altho i like everything type of person.....then after changing designs 2 or 3 times and then going for a few fittings i wish i had the huge embroidery instead...hai...amanda lee weddings has this gown which is white with striking black embroidery....very dramatic....you might like to do a design with striking different colours for embroidery.....

Hi Madelaine,

I think i know which gown the gals are talking about. Its the one with a very long train with big, bold & black embroidery on the train. Heath showed me the gown as well a few months ago....he mentioned that that kind of embroidery needs alot of work and because of that, need to top up extra $$. The photos of the couple was taken by O Studio in NZ. I believe it is on the O Studio website:

http://www.ostudio.com.sg/zealand.htm

You will have to watch carefully (somewhere near the end) because the pictures change quite fast and i think there is only 1 picture where you can see the train of the gown. If i am not wrong, that is the one used on the postcard.
I hope this is the one that Ling & Verie is referring to...

Thanks Alexis...i think i know which one u are referring to. Sil has used it quite a few times for their other ads before. R u a Sil bride too?

Hi Madelaine,

Yes, i am a SIL bride too. My designer is Heath. Such a darling!
My AD is in late Oct and everything is done already. Now just waiting for the final fitting before the AD.

My experience with SIL has been FANTASTIC!!

How about you? Are you a SIL bride too?