Silhouette the Atelier

Hi Martha...

Hope that my experience helps! For my bridal car decor, Miah showed me a photo album of all their past works and asked me what type of car we were using.. cos this affects the type of decor you can have, so do take note of the car door handles (i.e, are they full handle type or the taxi type) and the front of the car (ie, a merc would have the emblem that you can arrange flowers on) and what is at the back of the car. They ask you about this.. one week before the big day

Then,if u have a theme, they will try to recommend the type of flowers to use. I had silk flowers and they were cream colour with brown ribbons. They didn't restrict me to the types of flowers, but u have to bear in mind the weather and if the type of flowers you like wilt easily. My hubby's corsage was rose and u know what.. under the hot sun, it wilted by the morning!

To WG,
I can understand the frustration that you have but like all the other brides in this forum, i am sure that SIL will not give you a 2nd hand gown. But i do encourage you to ask your designer about your questions on the design cos, the dress is a "BIG" thing for a girl, and you should be 100% happy with it! at this point, since it is only your 1st fitting, dun feel bad. In fact, for me, i ask them to change the entire EG skirt after the 1st fitting cos it didn't look right and they changed to for me
so dun feel bad about asking. You should be happy about your decisions.

steph

Hi Silhouette brides,

Silhouette is one of my shortlisted BS. Since I cant really decide if I prefer lace or thread embroidery on my dress, I would like a more versatile designer.

Understand that Silhouette is good with thread embroidery, but how do they fair with lace?

Also, has anyone made a CS as EG with Sil? Am wondering if they are good at that.

hi all silhoutte brides,

Does silhoutte use fresh or 'silk' (is this plastic) flowers for the car decor?

Can i also find out which mk up artist is recommended?

Also know that they charge DRY CLEANING for ur OWN GOWN after the PS. Pls correct me if i m wrong. is it $50 per gown/ suit?

Many tks!

Hi gambit
My WG is lace while my EG has beading and enbroidery. I haven't seen the finished product for either yet, but the OTR ones I've tried on are very well done.

Belle
They use silk flowers, don't think its the same as plastic. Looks more real. Fresh flowers will wilt very quickly under the sun and from the engine heat, so I guess that's the rationale behind using fake. Yes, drycleaning is $50. Will be having my makeup trial by Gin on 6th Aug. Update you gals soon.

Hi Andrea

Tks for ur info! ok ok i m abit confused with the diff. pkgs i got in my list. Cos some i know really uses FRESH flowers. U have a point here cos of the heat in Sg, flowers will wilt very fast.

Arrgh they really charge dry cleaning..so i guess hv to add this cost into my pkg.

Is it normally more economical to get the pkg with photography OR w/o & we go direct to the photographer. Any advice ?

Thanks again!

Hi belle

If for BS like Sil, they usually tie-in with photography studios and cost about $1k+ for a basic package, of maybe say, 20 pics.

If you decide to go straight to the photographer, you can make use of any promos they have, could be in terms of more pics or bundles like with AD photo n video etc. You can then opt to deduct the $1k from the bridal package. That's what I did. I went for a bundle deal (PS+AD photo n video) and they were willing to throw in many more photos for me. So I signed up with them straight.

At first, I was also a bit confused with this and was worried about having to choose from a fixed number of photographers as specified by the BS. The list only serves as a guide; you still have full freedom to choose the photographer you like.

Hi Andrea,

Thank very much for your advise. Indeed it's very helpful for me.

Now i m just goin to visit one more photographer at his studio to determine my choice

Also depd on wat they offer me etc so then i will choose my bridal pkg. Hee..i will go with my instint & chemistry with the photographer.

So which photographer are u with? Which MUA is doing ur mk up?

Hi belle

I'm with O Studio, highly recommended by friends. I also like Chris Ling, their video is good. Yes, do shop around before deciding so there won't be regrets. Its your big day after all!

Gin is doing my makeup. Haven't met her yet but heard that she teaches makeup. Maybe I'll be able to pick up a few skills from her too.

Good luck in your search!

Hi andrea,

its the dilemma we are always facing rite? hee..should we? should we not. aiyo. headache

Yep i will REVIEW their works slowly..then i decide haha.

Thank u!

dear silhouette brides

does anyone know if Sil does tulle gowns? also, which MUAs does Sil tie up with, besides Gin?

thanks in advance! =)

Hi count

What I know is the designers at Sil work with all kinds of fabric. If I'm not wrong, tulle is a sheer fabric that is slightly stiffer than organza, rite? My evening gown has a tulle overlay then.
But if your preference lies in airy, floaty fabrics, you can try Divine and Tan Yoong also. My knowledge is very limited, that's all I can offer...

Sil also works with MUA Jasmine.

Thanks for ur replies. Very useful information... Quite set on Sil already, just trying to decide which MUA tied up with Sil I shd take. Does anyone have any recommendations? Which MUAs are linked to certain types of looks such as glamourous, natural etc?

What materials are u girls using for ur gowns? Love the look of tulle cos it's so princessy, but wondering whether it would be appropriate for a church ceremony... =)

hi count

I hear my MUA Gin is good with natural makeup. But i've yet to try her out.

My WG is a lace and duchess satin ballgown, very simple and old school type. Why don't you check with the designers on the suitability? They're well-informed and give good advice.

Just came back from an appointment with Heath. He's really sweet and awfully patient. From all your positive feedback, I am fully confident of their gown making know-how. However, before I sign up, just want to find out all the little details.
1) Do the makeup artists they tie up with charge extra for things like ampules(?), fake eyelashes and etc.?
2) Can we use the trial makeup session for our ROM?
3) Are we responsible for dry cleaning of the WG, EG and kua after PS? If so, how much does it cost?
4) Can we borrow the Kua for AD FOC?
5) How is the florist? Heard they tied up with Steffi's. Does the silk flowers for the car look nice?

Sorry for bombarding y'all with so many questions. Appreciate all the help from Sil and ex Sil brides!

Thanks tonnes!

hi guys, wow diminished has a lot of questions that I never realised I had to ask...can anyone provide the answers so I can know as well....

as for florist, how come they tie up with stefii's? Thought they did the flowers themselves, yee, i dun like stefii's too much...

tin tin, did i tell u my other nick got banned because i mass posted.

i tried my gowns the other day, the bust part so tight, i dunno issit put on weight but my tits dun look any bigger so...the flowers on my evening gown a bit small but damn, it's too late to say already. I initially thought we were going to make BIG flowers for the bottom part of the dress but if I tell that to heath now he'd probably get hurt...

the cheongsam was probably not worth the money after I discovered a damn good and cheap and nice seamstress in Bishan.

the wedding gown very nice, gorgeous, can't wait for more of the beads and shiny stuff to go on, otherwise too plain...

oh well...

Not too sure but I was told that ampoules ensure that the makeup can be applied evenly. Was told that only older women and those with dry skin need ampoules, and that MUA often ask clients to use ampoules so as to increase their profit margin. Anyway, was told that Oil of Olay's serum is a good enough (and cheaper) substitute.

Don't know how accurate this is, but a MUA told me this!

Have any of u girls thought of going for diff fabrics such as tulle? Or is tulle too girly and impractical? Dilemma cos my mum says that tulle will make me look "poofed up" and fat! Any input is welcome!

hi count, i love tulle! but i was so undecided at the time of designing. I love layers of tulle, i like chiffon overlay, i like duchess satin with embroidery and I like shantung silk and thai silk and raw silk as well! I like brocade also! the lace at sil isn't very nice but overall lace can be very nice too! try on a tulle skirt at sil first then decide, sometimes we can like things but on the body we may feel otherwise. ;P

Hi verie!

Hmm... wonder if my gazillion questions scared all the Sil and ex Sil brides away. Hopefully, they've just gone abroad during the National Day holiday. Maybe I'll go down again and ask Heath. Will let you know if I find out anything!

Hey verie,
I love tulle! *hi five* tried on a tulle gown at Tan Yoong and loved the skirt. He did a really nice tulle gown with a train... Anyone knows if Sil can do that, cos Tan Yoong is so ex!

So verie, what material is ur WG?

hi count, i decided on duchess satin with silver gold embroidery...wanted to overlay the skirt with tulle or organza or chiffon but when i saw gowns there with it and they let me try, i felt it looked too soft and I couldn't stand it that the skirt couldn't have embroidery so i decided to stick with no overlay. I like shimmery and glittery embroidery all over the skirt down the train, i felt its more outstanding...maybe im jus in love with the idea of tulle looking like a present! hahaha

Yeah, you can check it out at Sil, they can do anything one!

Hi count & verie,

I am a Sil bride as well and i have just gone for my second fitting recently. Not sure whether Sil does tulle gowns but you should really discuss with your designer if you really love it and see what they say.

My gown is also duchess satin with silver embroidery but my embroidery is on the organza. I really wanted the 'princess' sort of look and i thought that the gowns that i saw with the 'flowy' look was on chiffon but Heath told me that it is actually organza. And, true enough, the effect when my gown was completed is exactly like what i saw in some of the photos.

I really love my gown!!
The effect, once the beads & shiny stuff went on really completed the look. The front of my gown (bustier and skirt) is simple because I wanted more details and focus to be on my train.

Verie, if you want to add a few more embroidered flowers (big flowers), you should talk to Heath. He is very sweet and is always open to suggestions. See what he can do. Maybe it is not too late to add in abit more?

My FH always had some comments or ideas during my first and second fitting and Heath has always been open to his suggestions. He will also try his best to see what he could do. If it is not possible, he will tell us upfront.

One thing is for sure... i have never regretted choosing SIL for my BS because the entire experience has been sooo enjoyable!

Hi Sil brides!

Aleixis, you're done with your second fitting so soon! Your gown sounds great! Did you take any pictures? Maybe we can share via PM. I just went for my first fitting last Saturday and saw some other gals at Sil. Anyone here was at Sil on Saturday morning and early afternoon?

My gown is still quite incomplete, with bits of lace sticking out all over, but the overall structure looks good so far. Its the body that's wearing it that needs a bit of work done, haha. My evening gown turned out good too. My mum n fiance liked it a lot. Its different, I guess, b'cos of its multiple colours. Can't wait for the shiny beads to go on.

hey hey, i'm not regretting but just a bit lamenting...don't think can make the flowers bigger because the exact areas that the flowers are supposed to be already have the not so big flowers. TO do a bigger flower they would have to unpick everything and then sew a bigger flower! quite poor thing for them!!! Heath should have drawn out every of the flower designs for (control-freak) me but maybe he didn't have time to do ALL the designs for me to see so have to forgive him for that...

Dear Aleixis, Andrea and Verie,

Can share photos of ur WG and EG with me, even if uncompleted? Pretty please? =)

Feel like going down to Sil again to try gowns but quite paiseh. U think it's all right? Have any of u done that before?

hi count, you already tried gowns once and want to do it again? Make an appt i think it won't be a big problem...you just have to be a bit thick-skinned and don't think you are being mean to them hahahha.

my dress not completed, i got one which is backview and it's too damn tight...sure u wan to see it? hahhah

Dear Aleixis,

Ur gowns are simply beautiful! Very very pretty... How did u get inspiration for them? Did u do a lot of research or simply allow Minda to provide ideas? =)

Dear Verie,
I want to see, even if it's too tight! After seeing Aleixis' gowns, I think I'll go with gut feeling and sign up with Sil! Must show me ur pictures ah? Hee

Sorry for the typo, I mean Andrea's gowns rather than Aleixis... Must be the sleepy afternoon causing typos... *sheepish look*

Hi count

My gowns are by Miah. I tried on a similar wedding gown when I was at Sil the first time and both my fiance and I loved the classic look, so we decided to go for it. More details will be added on to the back as I'll be having my solemnisation on stage.

My evening gown was Miah's brainchild. I told him I wanted an Indian style gown and he came up with the peacock feather embroidery. I merely chose the colours. Overall, I'm quite pleased with how the gowns turn out.

Thanks for the compliment! I'm sure your gowns will turn out just the way you wanted them.

Hi Andrea & Count,

There is still some changes that needs to be made to my gown and my EG. Especially my EG. I will be going for my third fitting very soon. If you dont mind, will share the pics then, ok?

Andrea....you went for your first fitting already?
Wow..thats fast too!!
My PS will be in 2 to 3 weeks time so i dont really have much time there.

Talking about the 'body' needing more work......i definitely need alot of work there.. hahhaa..

Lost abit of weight and Heath will have to make some last minute alterations. But, stil have a long long long way to go....hhehe.. :P

No problem abt that Aleixis. Good things take time so we'll wait patiently for ur photos. Must tell me how it turns out cos I'm intending to work with Heath. Felt that he was quite easygoing and creative when I visited.

Aleixis dear, u lost weight! Must have been working hard at the gym? I also just started going to the gym more regularly now... Hee...

Andrea, let me say again that ur gowns are fabulous! Motivating factor for me to take Sil! =)

hey andrea, i was at sil on Saturday morning! with miah! what time was ur appointment? i might have seen u! btw ur gown sounds fabulous! when is ur 2nd fitting gonna be?

btw ladies, just wondering whether anyone will be taking medication to prevent your menses from arriving near/on AD? realised i get hugely bloated before the menses arrive, and it definitely makes a huge difference to whether i can fit the gown or not! my gowns are tailored to the T!

Hey, I was the blur sotong who barged into Sil at 11am when my appt was actually at 1pm! So paiseh. Miah had to shoo me off to lunch first.

My 2nd fitting's on 30th Aug, a Tuesday, cos I kena election duty on the 27th! Apparently its the teachers' turn to do the duty this time.Sigh! Now eating salads for dinner everyday for a last-minute diet attempt.

Will email u some pics, verie.

andrea: orrrr, i was the bride who was there at 11am with miah! hahaa! i was wearing jeans with a brown shirt... actually i wasnt there very long cos i was there for a refit. at my first fitting, i couldnt fit into my WG and EG! panic! so i had to go down again for a refit when they loosened the gowns for me.. hehee... paiseh miah had to shoo u off then ;p

but hey if i remember the fleeting glance of u, u dun need to go on diet eh! very 'biao zun' already! me on the other hand, i think i need to watch my diet abit more - i cant have another refit again! hahaa... miah will have a BIG headache! ;p

my second fitting's on 27th, if jasmine is free to do trial makeup for me then! u teacher ah?? hehee me too leh... hee

Dear Aleixis and Verie

Can you email me your gown photos as well?

HI Andrea,
Thanks so much for sharing your gown photos, you look very pretty in your gown.

Leila

Hi rokko

So u were the bride i gatecrashed! So sorry... aiyah, didn't have a good look at u. Your AD is on 10th Sep (very soon!)...That was my initial choice, but it was too rushed for me. We teachers can only get married during school holidays, haha. So you're going for your honeymoon in November/December? Where? I still can't decide whether a want a short, relaxing spa holiday, or a longer, further destination.

Hi there!

Was wondering if anyone could help me out.

I am on the verge of signing up with Heath coz of the service and the positive feedback from this forum. However, I haven't seen anything I really liked on the racks or tried on any gowns that made me go "wow". This makes me a little hesitant and nervous. Did any of you actually see a gown you liked before signing on? Would really appreciate it if current and past Silhouette brides would share their gown photos with me for reassurance.

My email address is [email protected]

hi schzoid, i feel that Silhouette has more expertise in embroidery and heavy detailing with sequins, beads, etc on a variety of materials. If you are into details and intricacies, definitely go with them!

hi racher, our packages are all different so we can't really tell you what we have. What you should do is just call them up and make an appt to go down and have a chat with them. Over there, you can try the gowns or just have a talk over the package and your needs lor =D They are very nice friendly people and the place is very nicely decorated as well so you will have a great time!

hi racherlle,

i agree with verie. being a groom-to-be, i feel comfortable being there. no pushy sales and forcing of ideas. hope u've a good sil experience there!

Seems that you gals are having a very great time with Silhoutte. I am very keen to chk them out too but yet to find time haha! But gd to know from you gals that their services are great...that sets my heart at rest..but hmm not too sure if it fits into my budget though.

it's so expensive
but the service is excellent, the people there are really nice and friendly and accomodating. they have great ideas and can really help you fit your gown to a T!

Hmm verie,

Expensive..Hmm..sometimes its really hard to comprehen btwn cost, service & designs factors sigh!! Now just debating to go and hv a look or not ..