Silhouette the Atelier

Just an update of my visit to Sil yesterday. Fickle me, changed the design again. Finally decided on turquoise, while the embroidery and beading is now multi-coloured peacock feathers. Can't wait to see the end product.
My first fitting has been postponed to early August instead of mid-July, because of the elaborate embroidery and beadwork. Nice of Miah not to ask me to pay more for the labour-intensiveness of the EG. Another reason why Sil has so many fans! They are more interested in creating that perfect gown.

My MUA is Gin. Anyone had their trial or photoshoot already? Any comments?

Hi Andrea,

Your EG already sounds so gorgeous!! I definitely trust SIL's design and workmanship!! I can only imagine your excitement.

Hi Ryes

I think it depends on the individual. My WG is a copy of an existing gown that they have, so I did not spend much time on the design. All we talked about was the fabric and where additional embellishments would be. My EG was designed from scratch, so it took me 3 visits of about an hour each to get it finalised. Don't worry, they'll let you take as much time as you want. Just be sure to feed them with ideas so the gown would be your brainchild as well as theirs.

Hi Aleixis
Thanks for the encouragement! Now I think I better lose some weight to do justice to the gown.

Hi Andrea,

wah, 3 visits in order to finalised just 1 EG, I dont even know if I have the time to make so many trips dwn, given that my first fitting is in Sept and must give Miah time allowance to do the gowns also..chan lor...

As for WG, I yet to source for designs or patterns which I like yet as well...opps

hi ryes, just to share my experience - for me i took 3 visits too! first visit to discuss WG design, 2nd visit to confirm WG design and start on EG design, 3rd visit to confirm EG design and taking of measurements! WG was the easiest cos i already had something in mind for WG - EG was the hardest! i had nothing in mind! heh...

hi andrea, im like you! each time i went to miah my EG design changed! i almost went for a turquoise coloured EG too but in the end settled for a light pink with black lace + crystal embellishments. i honestly cannot visualise what the final effect will be like, so it's worrying while exciting at the same time! just gotta trust miah! hee

Hi rokko

In this case, how is your 3 visits like? once every week or 3 times within say 2 weeks like that?

Cham lah, as day pass, I am getting more worried, because I left with only 1.5 weeks left to confirm my design with Miah and I have not even started looking around...

ryes, hmmmm i cant remember but i think i met miah once in march, another time in april and then the last time we met (for final confirmation and measurements) was only 2 weeks' ago in june! but that's becos we started designing early and pretty much took our time... dun worry, start browsing bridal magazines or even www.knot.com to get ideas... and miah will definitely have something in mind for you - you can also let him suggest what is suitable for you! he's the expert and im sure he'll churn out something fabulous for you!

For me, it took me 4 appointments with Heath before i could confirm the designs of both my WG and my EG. That was because the first 2 times, i went with my best friend and the 3rd time, when i went with my FH, he had some ideas and Heath had to make some changes to the WG embroidery design and the EG designs. In the end, it took the 4th appointment before all the designs was confirmed.

But, because my PS is in August, my appointments were about 1 to 1.5 weeks apart.

Hi Ryes,

Really happy to hear that you have finally settled on Sil as your BS!
I am sure that you will have a great time designing the gowns with Miah. You should start doing your research so that you can share what are some of the designs or styles you like with Miah. He should then be able to tell you whether those designs or styles suit you or not. Have fun!

Hi CAT

Can u enable your PM or give me your email address so that I can send you the package details? Dunno if its a good idea to publish the details here, because their package is more or less ala carte.

Hi Ryes

I'm sure you have a rough idea what kind of gown you'd like.
Style: Classic (lace and satin) or romantic(chiffon and organza, Divine-type gowns)?
Neckline: Halter, toga, strappy, strapless?
Silhouette: Empire-line, A-line, ballgown, mermaid?
The list goes on. Have you tried any of their gowns? I was clueless like you when I first stepped into Sil, but once I tried on the gowns, I had a better idea what I look good in. For me, I opted for a drop-waisted ballgown cos I have a short torso n I'm having a military wedding. If you can't make the frequent visits, you can always correspond with Miah via email. He replies promptly.

Hi Aleixis,

Nice seeing you here. Yeah, finally managed to convince hub to allow me sign with silhouette.

Hey andrea, I think your points are very useful for me!

When you all go for WG designs, do you get to try on the gowns to see the different style etc? My heart is pinning on a halter, organza long flowly kind of gowns, but I like big fluffy ballroom gowns that I tried at silhouette as well. So how..

hi ryes, have u made an appt with sil yet? yes yes u shld try the different type of WG to see what suits you best! why dun u tell miah what type of gowns u like so that u can try on the various designs to see what suits you? and miah will also give his suggestions which i find really helpful!

once u have a design in mind, miah will then sketch out your WG on paper so that you can visualise it better!

Hi rokko,

appointment as in my 1st appointment to discuss the designs? not yet leh..kekeke...They dont open on sunday then sat I am busy with my house renovation leh....

cham. Must find soem time very sooon. I want to try the gowns again to see what type suits me....

Hi CAT
U've got mail.

Hi Ryes
Make the most out of your every appt by bringing lots of pics to show Miah. Heehee, I totally understand what you mean. Now that I've chosen my ballgown, I'm lusting after flowy, dreamy gowns. Too bad lah, gotta choose. Maybe for photoshoot, you can borrow from Sil another gown in a style thats different from your WG. Thats the best idea i can think of.

Hey Andrea, thanks for your email...the package is far too expensive man...the cheapest is still expensive for me...haiz...but the gowns are really nice...and of cos with that price..I bet they not pushy leow...haiz...maybe I have to go look around again...price too steep for me leh...
boo hoo...

Anyway, really thanks alot for your information.

Hey andrea,

yeah, the thing is I dun have pictures!!!! so blank man. So you are taking the ballgown? no more flowly gowns??? I want a long train, so think ballgown cannot right?

Hi Ryes

There are many bridal magazines, both local and foreign, that you can get for reference. The day after my FH proposed, I went to Kinokuniya and bought all the local bridal mags, haha. I dog-eared or tore out the pictures that I liked and that also helped me decide which BS to shortlist. Yeah I know it seems like searching for a needle in a haystack at first, but slowly you'll find yourself drawn to certain types. For me, lace was my poison.
kao_drool.gif

I think you can still have a long train on a ballgown. Maybe like an organza train over the satin skirt. Have you seen Steph's gown pic somewhere on this thread? Hers is a satin train. But I'm no expert. Email Miah in the meantime, he'll definitely be able to help you.

Yeah, I decided that the ballgown looks the most flattering on me, altho' I tried on some really nice flowy gowns at Divine. My hubby will be wearing his miliary suit during the first march-in, so a ballgown would also be more matching. I'll try to borrow a flowy gown for photoshoot.

Hi CAT
Yeah I do admit Sil's package is pricier than some BS, but its b'cos they belong to the designer boutiques. If you compare them to others in the same category, they are actually quite competitively priced. Tan Yoong is rite up there, man. I also cannot afford. No worries, dear. Just follow your instincts, I'm sure you'll choose the BS that suits you best. All the best!

Hey andrea,

I have the local magz too, but not the foreign ones. I must really find time go to knots to check out the different type of gowns...

I saw step's gown. I like. But I still prefer flowly dreamy at the back for my train with lots of lots of organza. It's just the structure, duno ballgown or not. Then I want to have a corset as well leh, make my waist smaller, coz I tried a ballgown at 1 BS, wah, the balgown make my waist so small, even when I sit, I cannot hunch or bend dwn, it's that straight and forces me to sit up straight, which is REALLY good. Hope to have Miah do that for me lor...

Hi Ryes

Was reading about your search for the perfect gown! when i was researching.. i had this very good magazine to help out - its a foreign magazine, Oprah Winfrey Weddings. I got it a borders and it is a lovely mag, with lots of gown ideas as well as ideas for wedding favours, song selection etc. U can check it out at Borders alright? Hope that it helps!!

As for the corset.. Do u know that my gown is two piece? So i had the corset top and a A-line skirt. THe original one that was at SIL is a thai silk skirt that is very flowly. Maybe u can ask Miah to show that to you? U are right, the corset really helps! and the ones at SIL are not uncomfortable at all
only that u have to get very good jie mei's to help lace you up!

superbunny

Hi Andrea..thanks for all the information. Well...I will have to give this up cos it's too pricely..um......

Well gers..ciao got to do bridal search leow!

Hi steph,

okay, will go look at that magz this weekend...hubby's scolding me for spending so much...

your gown dun look like 2 piece leh..the chocolate one right?

Hi Ryes....

Yes the chocolate one.. it is a two piece
so i could have the best of both worlds.. something for you to consider while thinking about your gown design.

superbunny

Hi Ryes

Hey, its once in a lifetime. I'm sure once your hubby sees how beautiful his bride looks, he won't regret it. I paid for the entire package myself, so my FH has no say on this issue at all, haha. But still heartpain...

Hi Jesmine
I've emailed to you. Disclaimer: price subject to variations in gown design etc. You might have to pay more if the materials are expensive or need more effort. When's your wedding?

Hi andrea,

If only i have spare $, I would have paid the whole pkg myself and then I'l just shut him up. But alas alas, I will be paying half of the pkg lor...

Hi Angel9c,

I did not take up a package with Sil as my hubby was not interested in the photography.

What I had was a MTM WG and a trial and AD makeup at $2800.

A bit expensice bec I asked for MTM with beading and french lace. It is a 3 piece gown, a bustier, a pair of pants and a detectable train.

Mine was an outdoor wedding and I wanted to incorporate pants as part of the gown. Went to a lot of BS but none of them was able to conceptualize what I wanted until I sat down and discussed with Miah.

Looking back, I dun think I will ever regret my decision to sign with Sil bec they created for me my dream gown.

I posted my wedding photo on

www.snapfish.com

The e-mail is [email protected]

The password is clarence

Hi Teddy Wee,
Thanks for sharing your beautiful pics. Very unique WG
Its really alot more convenient to move around in pants. I still got a long way to go on my AD prep.

hi, can i ask a question.
i had my gown made at sil, and now im a bit worried. my gf's complained that their bridal studios told them their gowns were mtm for them only, but they found out that it was a modified second hand dress. they only altered certain parts and claimed that it was a made to measure for them. By the way, these gals did not do it with sil...they did with some other bridal studio, two of them with two different studios.

im now abit worried coz i also am doing a mtm wedding gown and evening gown. will sil give me a second hand one too? i dont want to pay so much and get a second hand one. also, i intend to buy and keep my wedding gown. i really want it to be first hand.

im now thinking, when i first saw my gown for the first fitting, the embridorey on it was already finished. but we have not really confirmed the design, i only gave a rough idea what kind of pattern i like. but how come the pattern already sewn. But since i liked it, i never thought about it till my other two gf started complaining about theirs. now i am worried.

do you think mine is second hand? how to check?

Hi WG,
tho I'm not a Sil bride, but I can assure u that Sil will not give u a 2nd hand dress.
And when u had yr first fitting, the embriodery has def to be there, unless u r taking some other designs like lace appliques. then it'll oni be pinned on yr gown during yr first fitting to get the final design.

Dun worry
.... have faith Sil. They are good.

not really chosen, but i roughly said i liked a pattern on a dress that they let me try. thats why i worreid that is it they got a second hand dress that looks similar and they just modify it?

i didnt say what i want exactly, just say, maybe like this and like that. i thought my first fitting then they will decide what kind of thing to sew. but when i saw it, i like the design they sew already, so i didnt say anything. the embrideory all done up already somemore

do you think it is a second hand dress?

Hi WG,

I totally agree with TinTin and the other gals here. I have absolute faith in SIL and that if you paid for a MTM gown, then it will definitely be MTM and first hand.

For my first fitting, which was about 6 weeks after i confirmed my design, the embroidery was already sewn on the WG as well. However, I understand that the next step, which they will complete before the 2nd fitting is the beading which is more tedious.

As to why the embroidery was already sewn up when you did not confirm your design, i think there must have been some misunderstanding or miscommunication between you and the designer because SIL will never start work on your gown before you confirm your design of both your WG and your EG. I understand that there are normally 2 fittings, so definitely by the first fitting, almost everything (maybe 80%)of the WG and EG will be done. What's left may be some details, beadings, add-ons, etc.

How about your EG? Have you confirmed your designs as well and was it ready when you went for your first fitting?

Personally, I have seen or heard anything bad or negative about SIL...and my own personal experience with them has been nothing short of FANTASTIC!!!

Just like to share my epxeriences so far with silhouette.

First of all, thanks to Minda, my fiancee's WG and EG are simply wonderful. And they are definitely first hand MTM cos we went through the process of designing the gown from scratch and saw the gowns from starting to completion. Definitely not some alteration for some exisiting gown. In fact, her gowns are not even similar to any of the exisiting gowns in the shop.

Secondly, the suit and tux are simply wonderful. The suit is made of a rather unique material (don't know what is it though) but it shines very nicely. The tux is also wonderful as I like the combination of the wing-tipped shirt with the coat.

All in all, superb worksmanship by Silhouette.

And also, Minda also did a very nice hand bouquet for our PS. Actually we had no idea at all what we wanted so we just pointed out that we like a bit of this and a bit of that from the magazines she showed us. After that, viola, it turned out beautifully, especially in the photos. As our album is still not completed, so I cannot upload any photos.

Speaking of photos, I must really commend on my MUA - Amy Chan. She is very nice and also really very good in what she does. My fiancee looks simply gorgeous in the photos (of couse she is already gorgeous without makeup haha). I see my fiancee with the makeup, my jaws dropped :p

So I would highly recommend her if anyone is looking for a MUA.

Thanks to Minda again for introducing such a wonderful MUA to us.

Just like to share my epxeriences so far with silhouette.

First of all, thanks to Minda, my fiancee's WG and EG are simply wonderful. And they are definitely first hand MTM cos we went through the process of designing the gown from scratch and saw the gowns from starting to completion. Definitely not some alteration for some exisiting gown. In fact, her gowns are not even similar to any of the exisiting gowns in the shop.

Secondly, the suit and tux are simply wonderful. The suit is made of a rather unique material (don't know what is it though) but it shines very nicely. The tux is also wonderful as I like the combination of the wing-tipped shirt with the coat.

All in all, superb worksmanship by Silhouette.

And also, Minda also did a very nice hand bouquet for our PS. Actually we had no idea at all what we wanted so we just pointed out that we like a bit of this and a bit of that from the magazines she showed us. After that, viola, it turned out beautifully, especially in the photos. As our album is still not completed, so I cannot upload any photos.

Speaking of photos, I must really commend on my MUA - Amy Chan. She is very nice and also really very good in what she does. My fiancee looks simply gorgeous in the photos (of couse she is already gorgeous without makeup haha). I see my fiancee with the makeup, my jaws dropped :p

So I would highly recommend her if anyone is looking for a MUA.

Thanks to Minda again for introducing such a wonderful MUA to us.

thank you all for your assurances

my evening gown was less finished then the wedding gown. thats what make me even more worried. only a lttle of the wedding gown pattern i dont really like, but on the whole. i liked the patterns very much, so i never think too much.

but i havent decided it yet, thats why very surpreised that all sewn up. even if dont like also too late to ask them to undo. But i would have liked it slightly different. But its still very pretty.

you very sure its totally new right?

hi worried gal
dun be worried! im also a sil bride, and all the MTM gowns are designed based on what you and your designer have discussed. i've seen many of their works and each piece is so unique and special to the bride herself! like what tintin mentioned, sil has a reputation to maintain and im sure the previous and present brides can vouch for their integrity in this matter!

perhaps it wld be good to talk to ur designer so that he or she (btw who's ur designer?) can address your concerns and your fears.... i also had fears that my WG would not be completed in time - actually it's more becos i was stressing over the design, the wedding, blah blah - and miah knows that... hahaa.... so he has been very nice and reassuring and my gowns are definitely in good hands ;p

first fitting is normally the time when you can still give ur inputs and ask for certain things to be rectified.... but like u said, u liked the design, so that shld be fine!

Hi WG
Maybe you should voice your concerns to your designer? They should have a satisfactory explanation why the embroidery has been done. I don't think they would ruin their reputation passing off a second-hand gown for first hand. Sil is known for good quality.

Hey Ryes,
How did your gown designing go? Fill us in with the details!

Hi Andrea,

My design is not yet confirmed, coz I'm undecided for the organza style for my WG. It's gonna be a halter with lots of flowy organza at the back and with embrodiarys on it

For EG also halter, (love halter leh), and it's gonna be chiffon with satin. It's very sexy and sensual, I love it so much. Will share pix when it's ready....

thanks. no lah. not nice to say who, i know they are very professional and i also dont want to spoil it. im just worried only.

not good to ask the person also. dont want to make the person feel like i dont trust.

hi WG, my designs were drawn out for me on a tracing paper...rough guide lah, but from there, they will work on it and embroider nicer. Of course you got to leave it to them to work out the embroidery themselves cos they are the experts right? So definitely won't be a 2nd hand dress cos they drew out some rough embroidery designs for you right? anyway, most of the dresses they got there too small to zip up anyway...humph!

on another note, does anyone know how they handle their bridal car decor, bouquets, corsages etc? brides who are already married do you know? I don't want chut chut bouquets or corsages! I hope they don't restrict me to certain types of flowers like those stupid florist shops!